
 
 

Requirements for Listed Family Homes 
 
 
The Texas Workforce Commission requires that relatives who care for a child in the relative’s 
home be listed with the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) in order to be 
eligible to be reimbursed for providing child care services.  Once listed with DFPS, you will be 
required to comply with DFPS rules and all provisions of Chapter 42 of the Texas Human 
Resources Code (the child care licensing law) that apply to listed family homes.  Additionally, 
information about your listed family home will be posted on the DFPS Web site and you could 
receive inquiries from individuals needing a caregiver for their child.  As a listed family home, 
you must be aware of and comply with the DFPS requirements for listed family homes outlined 
below.  
 
The following caregivers are required to list with DFPS: 
 
An individual at least 18 years old who provides care for compensation for three or fewer 
children, ages birth through 13 years, who are unrelated to the caregiver.  The care is provided 
for at least four hours a day, three or more days a week, and for more than nine consecutive 
weeks.   
 
Total number of children in care: 
 
The total number of children in care, including children related to the caregiver, may not exceed 
12*.  A caregiver who is subject to regulation as a listed family home and wishes to care for 
more than three children unrelated to the caregiver must instead become a registered child care 
home.  
 
*Note:  Your Local Workforce Development Board may have a local policy limiting the number 
of subsidized children you can care for. 
 
Annual Fee Renewal: 
 
You are required to pay an annual fee of $20.  DFPS will notify you when your annual fee is due.  
Failure to pay the annual fee will result in revocation of the listing permit and you will not be 
allowed to receive a subsidy for providing child care services.  There are no additional fees for 
the background check requirements described below.   
 
Background Check Requirements: 
 
You must continue to submit background check information, using the Request for Criminal 
History and Central Registry Check, Form 2971, for the following: 
• Individuals who regularly or frequently work or live in the home and are turning 14 years of 

age; and  
• New individuals regularly or frequently working or living in the home.  
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Background check information for these individuals must be submitted within two business days 
after the individual turns 14 years of age or is newly present in the home.   
 
You must resubmit background check requests for all individuals once every 24 months after you 
first submit an individual’s name to DFPS. 
 
Required Notification to DFPS: 
 
You are required to notify DFPS if you move or close your family home. 


