
Chapter 5: Services

…
5.8.2 Maintenance Services

...
	Maintenance Type
	When Provided
	Limits

	Regular weekly maintenance
	only for additional expenses incurred by the consumer (for example, lunches) and housing (if temporary relocation is required)
	· not to exceed $55 per week 

· ordinarily limited to 104 weeks for a consumer who is pursuing vocational training 

· ordinarily limited to 156 weeks for a consumer who has a significant disability and who is pursuing academic college-level training 

· ordinarily limited to 16 weeks for a consumer in self-employment 

	One-time maintenance
	one-time payment to the consumer or a third party to offset the consumer's excess living expenses

See Third-party Maintenance for examples of when to provide this maintenance.
	ordinarily does not exceed $40 per day
If the payment is over $400, do not use the pseudo number to create the service record. Contact CPBS to have the consumer established as a provider.


...
State Law Prohibitions on Warrants for Individuals

State law prohibits the state comptroller from issuing a maintenance warrant directly to a person who owes the state or federal government delinquent taxes or a defaulted debt (for example, a Texas Guaranteed Student Loan). For more information, see the guidance document, When a Consumer Owes Money to the State or Federal Government.
5.8.3 Transportation Services

...
State law prohibits the state comptroller from issuing a transportation warrant directly to a person who owes the state or federal government delinquent taxes or a defaulted debt (for example, a Texas Guaranteed Student Loan). For more information see the guidance document, When a Consumer Owes Money to the State or Federal Government.
...
One-Time Transportation

…
A one-time transportation expense

· is paid to the consumer or a third party providing the service, 

· may be paid before the expense is incurred, and 

· is used during any phase of rehabilitation. 

Do not use the pseudo number to create a service record for one-time transportation that exceeds $400. If the payment is over $400, contact Consumer Procurement and Business Services to have the consumer established as a provider.


