ADOPTED RULE WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS
REGISTER. THIS DOCUMENT WILL NOT HAVE ANY SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES
BUT IS SUBJECT TO FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE TEXAS
REGISTER.

Section 815. 119. Processing of Contributions Under the Voluntary Contribution Program

The Texas Workforce Commission (Commission) adopts new §815.119, Processing of
Voluntary Contributions to Chapter 815, Unemployment Insurance, Subchapter C. Tax
Provisions, without changes as proposed in the August 22, 2003, issue of the Texas
Register (28 TexReg 6801). The text will not be republished.

Section 204.048 Labor Code, titled Voluntary Contributions, states the conditions under
which an employer may repay the Commission for benefits charged to their Commission
tax account during the period used to calculate the Unemployment Experience Tax Rate
for the following year. Unemployment Benefit Chargebacks repaid under the Voluntary
Contribution program are not used in calculation of the Employer’s Annual Experience
Tax Rate.

The 78" Session of the Texas Legislature amended Section 204.048, Labor Code,
requiring that contributions made by employers under that section be due as prescribed
by Commission Rule. Prior to that amendment the statute prescribed the due date and the
Commission had no authority to extend the due date when circumstances warranted.

This prescribed rule states the conditions to be met by the Commission and the employer
when participating in the Voluntary Contribution Program.

The Commission received a letter from the U.S. Department of Labor indicating that the
proposed rule is in compliance with Federal Law.

For more information about the Commission and available services, see
www.texasworkforce.org.

The rule is adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.061 and §204.048, which provide the
Texas Workforce Commission with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as
it deems necessary for the effective administration of the Agency services and activities.

The adopted new rule affects Texas Labor Code, Title 4.

§815.119 Payment of Voluntary Contributions

Texas Labor Code, Section 204.048 (a), provides that an employer that is eligible for an
annual Experience Rate calculation under Section 204.041, Labor Code, may elect to

make a voluntary payment of contributions to the agency.

(1) The agency will notify employers eligible for an annual rate calculation
under Section 204.041, Labor Code, of the experience tax rate for the
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2)

3)

(4)

following year and the amount of charges that were used in calculating
that rate.

Voluntary contribution shall be due not later than the 60™ day after the
date on which the commission mails the employer’s annual tax rate notice.
When the last day for payment of voluntary contributions falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday on which the agency office is closed,
the payment may be made on the next regular business day.

The agency may extend the due date for the payment of voluntary
contributions; however, the extension may not exceed 75 days from the
date on which the commission mails the employer’s annual rate notice. In
no situation may the extension exceed the date imposed by the deadline in
Section 204.048 (e), Labor Code.

If the voluntary contribution payment is insufficient to cause a decrease in
the tax rate, the agency will notify the employer and grant an extension,
not to exceed 75 days from the date on which the commission mails the
employer’s annual tax rate notice to remit additional voluntary
contributions, subject to the limitations imposed by Section 204.048 (e),
Labor Code.





