Second Quarter 2017

Texas
Business
Today

Ruth R.

Commi

ometric
Imekeeping in
he Workplace

Texas Payday Law m Ul & Home Health m Chargeback Protection m DOL Updates




TexAs BusinEss TobAy

Texas Continues to Stay Competltlve

Commissioner’s Corner

Dear Texas Employer,

Welcome to our 2nd quarter issue
of Texas Business Today! Texas
employers continue to lead the way
and keep our state’s diverse economy
strong. Together with our 28 local
Workforce Development Boards,
we work closely with employers and
connect them with skilled labor. Our
continued partnerships are helping
provide the skills needed to keep
Texas businesses competitive in the
global marketplace.

In February, Texas Workforce
Commission (TWC) announced
the “Texas Internship Challenge,”

a joint partnership between TWC,
the Texas Education Agency,

and the Texas Higher Education
Coordinating Board. The Texas
Internship Challenge is a statewide
campaign to increase and promote
paid internships for Texas students.
TWC has created a website where
employers can post internships
and students can apply for them.
Through this challenge, we are
addressing a workforce need heard
from employers across the state that
students need to acquire workplace
skills. If you are interested in
taking the challenge, please go to:
TXInternshipChallenge.com.

In March, TWC awarded the first
Texas Industry Partnership (TIP)
grant in the amount of $97,293 to
Workforce Solutions Southeast
Texas in partnership with Entergy.
The grant supports collaborations
between Workforce Solutions,
private employers or corporate
foundations, and addresses the skills
needed for industry demands. This
grant will help Entergy increase the
region’s training capacity for Energy,
Petroleum, and Chemical Products
industries in 13 high-demand
occupations. For more information
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on the TIP grant, please visit: www.
twe.state.tx.us/texas-industry-
partnership-program.

In April, Operation Welcome Home
Texas Transition Alliance met in
Killeen in support of Texas veterans
and their families. Along with the
Office of the Governor, Texas Veterans
Commission, Texas Department
of Licensing and Regulation, and
local workforce boards located near
military installations, the Alliance is
tasked with reviewing and helping to
enhance employment outcomes for
transitioning service members who
have expressed intent to stay in Texas
upon separation. The goal is to provide
outreach 180 days prior to or post
separation. The Alliance combines
best practices, resources, and expertise
from regional and state partners to
help ensure a seamless transition to
employment. For more information
about Texas Operation Welcome Home
and the Transition Alliance, visit:
www.texasworkforce.org/jobseekers/
operation-welcome-home.

Each year, organizations across
Texas and throughout the nation
celebrate Small Business Week from
April 30—May 6. Small businesses are
the backbone of our Texas economy
and play a key role in the success of
the state. Texas has been listed as the
most small business-friendly state in
the nation, and also earned an A+ for
entrepreneurs who started a business

Operatlon Welcome Home Texas Transition Alliance meets in Killeen in support of
Texas veterans and their families.

in Texas. Our approach is simple: we
make our quality talent pipeline a
priority, we continue to focus on low
taxes for our employers, and we have
reasonable regulations for starting
and maintaining a business. We want
to make business smarter for Texas
employers, not harder. The state has a
lot to be proud of and your hard work
and dedication has helped lead the
way. Happy National Small Business
Week!

Don’t miss an opportunity to attend
one of our Texas Business Conferences
we hold throughout the year. These
seminars provide an opportunity
for employers and small business
owners to connect directly with the
state’s preeminent employment law
attorneys and learn about important
legal updates and how to successfully
manage their employees. For a list of
upcoming conferences, see page 4.

We want to ensure all Texas
employers have access to the resources
they need to start, grow, and thrive
their businesses right here at home.
When Texas businesses prosper,
Texans prosper! W

Sincerely,

o

Ruth R. Hughs
Texas Workforce Commission
Commissioner Representing Employers


http://www.texasworkforce.org/jobseekers/texas-operation-welcome-home
http://www.TXInternshipChallenge.com
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/texas-industry-partnership-program
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. Check presentation to Workforce Solutions
Southeast Texas in partnership with Entergy in Beaumont.

2. Visiting with Tarrant County Delegation.

3. Texas Veterans Commissioner presented TWC with
the Government Entity award for their efforts in
hiring veterans.

4. Visiting with the El Paso Delegation.

5. Touring M&G Chemicals with their HR Manager and
local leaders of Corpus Christi.

6. Visiting with Governor Greg Abbott at ceremony to mark
the opening of the Charles Schwab & Co. Inc. new North
Austin campus.

7. Touring the Workforce Solutions mobile workstation with
local leaders in Laredo.




;TEXAS BUSINESS CONFERENCES
EMPLOYMENT LAW UPDATE

Pleose}oin us for an informative, full-day or two-day conference 20] 7 CON FE RE NCE DATES

where you will learn about relevant state and federal employment

laws that are essential to efficiently managing your business and Temple ... May 19
employees.

We have assembled our best speakers to guide you through Bastrop-Lost Pines .................. June 2
ongoing maftters of concern to Texas employers and to answer any
questions you have regarding your business. .

Topics have been selected based on the hundreds of employer i June 8
nquiry calls we receive each week, and include SUCh. ”.”O”ers o Fort Worth ..........eeveeueeennnnneee. June 16
Hiring Issues, Employment Law Updates, Personnel Policies and
Handbooks, Workers” Compensation, Independent Contractors and
Unemployment Tax Issues, the Unemployment Claims and Appeals Beaumont.........ccceuniniinninnnnn July 14
Process, and Texas and Federal Wage and Hour Laws.

The non-refundable registration fee is $125 (one-day) and $199  T€XArKANQ........cccueveiinnnnes August 11
(two-days). The Texas Workforce Commission and Texas SHRM State
Council are now offering SHRM and Human Resources Certification  LubbocK............ccoueennene.e. August 25
Institute (HRCI) recertification credits targeted specifically for Human
Resource professionals attending this conference. Also, attorneys Galveston...........cuuuueeee. September 8
may receive up to 5.5 hours of MCLE credit (no ethics hours) if
they aftend the entire full-day conference, or 11 hours for the two- San AnNtoNIO....eeveveeenvnrnnen.. Sept. 14-15

day conference. For more information on how to apply for these
Professional Development Credits upon aftending the Texas Business
Conference, please visit the Texas SHRM website. Confinuing
Education Credit (six hours) is available for CPAs. General
Professional Credit is also available.

To register, visit www.texasworkforce.org/tbc or for more
information call 512-463-6389.
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Business and Legal Briefs.........ccccciiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiissirsreeeee s 12-13
Texas Legislation: 85th General Session Update........ccc.cccooviimmmmmemccciniirrnnsccnnsnnnns 14-17
Frequently Asked Questions from Employers Answered............cccccommmmmmnnsnnnnennnns 18-19
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Quick Basics of Texas Payday Law

Texas Payday Law (state law)

Every private employer must pay
its employees in full and on time
on regularly scheduled paydays.
“In full” means the full pay that is
due to the employee under the pay
agreement that was in effect when
the work was actually performed.
“On time” means just that -
employees are paid on the scheduled
paydays. If the payday falls on a day
the company is not normally open
for business, the payday is extended

to the next business day. Employers
must pay non-exempt employees at
least twice per month and exempt
employees at least once per month.
“Exempt” means exempt salaried
employees as defined under the Fair
Labor Standard Act (FLSA) (high-
level employees whose primary duty
is exempt in nature and who receive
a salary of at least $455/week).

Three categories of deductions
from pay are allowed under the
Texas Payday Law:

1. Deductions ordered by a court
(child or spousal support,
bankruptcy garnishments);

2. Deductions required or
specifically authorized under
state or federal law (such as
payroll taxes, IRS tax levies,
guaranteed student loan wage
attachments, administrative fees
for certain required deductions);

3. Deductions made for a lawful
purpose and authorized by the
employee in writing.

Deduction Problems Under the Texas Payday Law
Under the Texas Payday Law, all deductions, other than payroll taxes, court-ordered garnishments, and other
deductions required or specifically authorized by law, must be both lawful and specifically authorized in writing by the
employee; the same applies to wages in kind.

Required or Specifically Authorized by
Law — no further authorization needed:

Lawful — Employee Authorization Needed:
Meals, lodging, and other facilities

Court-ordered child support/alimony Voluntary wage assignments

Guaranteed student loan wage attachment Loans, including store credit account payments®

IRS tax levy
Withholding tax
FICA tax

Any garnishments mandated by a federal court (such as in

bankruptcy cases)

Child support/alimony administrative fee*
Student loan wage attachment administrative fee*

Wage or salary advances

Vacation pay advances

Wage overpayments

Union dues

Uniform and uniform cleaning costs®

Misappropriated cash*

Payments toward a property return security deposit™

Any other deduction for a lawful purpose®

* Potentially restricted as to minimum wage under the FLSA or court decisions
(see www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable deductions.html).

Final Pay

The deadline for the final
paycheck depends upon whether
the work separation was voluntary
or involuntary. If the employee was
discharged or laid off, the final pay
is due by the sixth calendar day
following the effective date of the
work separation. If the employee
quit, i.e., left of his or her own free
will while continued work was still
available, the final pay is due

by the next regularly scheduled
payday. Commissions, bonuses,
and severance pay are payable

according to their respective plans or

agreements.

Fringe Benefits

Paid leave, paid holidays, and
severance pay promised in a written
policy or agreement are enforceable
parts of the wage agreement under

the Texas Payday Law and are
enforced according to the terms of
such policies. W

William T. (Tommy) Simmons
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs


www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/allowable_deductions.html
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o/UMNETRIC Timekeeping

Do you remember that spy action
movie (any recent spy movie will do)
where the protagonist hero has to
break into a very secure, classified area
and, in order to enter, has to overcome
security measures such as a handprint
scanner, a retinal scanner, and a voice
recognition lock? These advanced
security devices are no longer just
found in movies or at secret military
installations. Employers have begun
using this type of biometric technology
to replace traditional time clocks in
order to track employees’ work time.

Merriam Webster defines biometrics
as “the measurement and analysis
of unique physical or behavioral
characteristics especially as a means
of verifying personal identity.” Most
biometric identifiers are related to the
shape of the human body. Common
biometric identifiers include, but
are not limited to, fingerprints, face
recognition, DNA, palm print, hand
geometry, iris recognition, retinal
scans, and voice patterns. For more
information, see https://en.wikipedia.
org/wiki/Biometrics.

The use of traditional time clocks
allows employees to engage in the
practice of “buddy punching,” or
clocking in and out for coworkers
when the coworkers are not physically
present at work. This translates into
a monetary loss for the employer,
which could be substantial. Several
workforce management web sites
noted in 2014 that, according to the
American Payroll Association (APA),
over 75 percent of companies lost
money from buddy punching, and
that employees reported stealing
roughly 4 % hours per week. That’s a
total average of 234 hours—or almost
six workweeks—per year! See: blog.
thewfcgroup.com/2014/01/06/
buddy-punching-costs/ and www.
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Employers have begun using biometric technology to replace traditional
time clocks in order to track employees’ work time.

inceptiontechnologies.com/blog/
workforce-management/the-high-
cost-of-buddy-punching/.

By using biometric timekeeping
methods that require individuals to be
physically present in order to clock in,
employers could put an end to buddy
punching. Biometric timekeeping may
also reduce clerical errors and help

employers defend against wage claims.

In addition, because biometric data
cannot be guessed or forgotten, like
passwords can, or lost or stolen, such
as ID badges, it can be used to control

entry to secure rooms or areas where
businesses wish to monitor or limit
access. For these reasons, employers
have begun to embrace the use of
biometric systems.

However, before implementing such
a system, employers need to be aware
of the legality of using biometrics for
employee timekeeping. Federal law
doesn’t currently regulate a business’
use of biometric data. Texas law
addresses biometric identifiers in its
Business and Commerce Code. Read


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biometrics
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biometrics
http://blog.thewfcgroup.com/2014/01/06/buddy-punching-costs/
http://www.inceptiontechnologies.com/blog/workforce-management/the-high-cost-of-buddy-punching/
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the full text of the statute at: www.
statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/BC/
htm/BC.503.htm.

Under Texas law, entities are
allowed to use biometric data for
commercial purpose, but must give
notice and obtain consent before
using such identifiers. Biometric data
may not be sold without consent. In
addition, entities are also required to
protect such information in the same
manner as any other confidential
information. The law is enforceable
by the state attorney general and
permits civil penalties up to $25,000
per violation. Bottom line, Texas
employers may legally use biometric
data for timekeeping purposes with
prior employee notice and consent.
The National Law Review recently
compared Texas and Illinois laws
addressing the use of biometric data.
See: www.natlawreview.com/article/
six-things-you-need-to-know-
collecting-biometric-information.

Even though legal, some employees
may object to an employer’s use of
biometrics. Some of these objections
stem from privacy concerns. Many
employees don’t feel comfortable
with the idea that their fingerprints or
retinal images could be used by others
for some unknown or unforeseen
purpose. It may be useful to explain to
employees that the majority of systems
available to employers do not capture
and store images of biometric data.

Biometric scanners review certain
characteristics of each employee’s
data, and convert these into a unique
number, or template of sorts, that
represents an individual. This unique
data representation is used for
comparison in the future, but cannot
be used to create an image of the
original data scanned. In other words,
there is no copy of the image stored in
the system, just a code.

Despite these safeguards, some
employees may still object because of
religious reasons or due to concerns
with a scanner’s ability to detect some
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Even though legal, some employees may object to an employer’s use of
biometrics due to privacy, religious, or disability concerns.

medical issue or condition. Employers
with fewer than 15 employees are free
to handle these cases as they see fit.

Employers with 15 or more
employees, however, are covered by
the anti-discrimination statutes that
cover religion and disability. If an
employee refuses to use a biometric
scanner citing religious or disability
concerns, employers should follow
the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission’s (EEOC) guidelines
and consider whether a reasonable
accommodation would be appropriate.
For religion see: www.eeoc.gov/laws/
types/religion.cfm. For disability see:
www.eeoc.gov/laws/types/disability.
cfm.

Failure to explore an employee’s

request for reasonable accommodation
can be costly to employers. In 2015, the

EEOC won a suit in federal court in
an employment discrimination lawsuit
based on an employee’s religious
beliefs. According to the EEOC’s
lawsuit, Beverly R. Butcher, Jr. had
worked as a laborer at an energy
company in West Virginia for over 35
years. The company implemented a
new biometric timekeeping system, a
hand scanner, to track hours worked.
Mr. Butcher informed the employer
that the new system violated his

sincerely-held religious beliefs.

The employer refused to consider
alternate means of tracking Mr.
Butcher’s time. He was informed that
he could be terminated if he refused
to use the new system. The EEOC
alleged that the company forced Mr.
Butcher to retire rather than provide
a reasonable accommodation for his
religious beliefs. The court awarded
over half a million dollars in the suit.
More information about this case
can be found at www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/
newsroom/release/8-27-15a.cfm.

Ultimately, the use of biometric
data systems for tracking employee
work time and controlling access to
secure or private areas will continue
to grow as the technology advances
and becomes easier and less costly to
use. While employers may enjoy the
benefits of the latest technology, they
must stay abreast of the relevant rules
and applicable laws in order to prevent
costly pitfalls.*

Elsa G. Ramos
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs


https://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/newsroom/release/8-27-15a.cfm
https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/types/disability.cfm
https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/types/religion.cfm
http://www.natlawreview.com/article/six-things-you-need-to-know-collecting-biometric-information
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/BC/htm/BC.503.htm
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Unemployment Claim Rule for the
Home Health Industry

Photo by iStock/Thinkstock

Under the standard rules, if a job assignment ends and no new assignment is
immediately available, the employee will be considered to have been laid off

due to a lack of work.

A common issue with
unemployment claims involves
determining who triggered the
job separation. In order to answer
this question, the Texas Workforce
Commission (TWC) relies on two
main sources: 1) the laws found in
Texas Unemployment Compensation
Act (TUCA); and 2) TWC precedent
cases that interpret the TUCA. The
precedent cases can often define the
rules under which an unemployment
claim is analyzed. Most industries fall
under the same general rules, and our
TWC precedent cases are available for
viewing here: www.twc.state.tx.us/
unemployment-benefits-appeals-
policy-precedent-manual/.

These general unemployment
laws establish some basic rules.

First, the employee either quit or was
discharged; there is no in-between.
Layoffs fall under the discharge
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category. If it is a discharge case, the
employer will have to prove that the
claimant was fired for misconduct
connected with the work, because
unemployment claims operate on

a fault-based system. Misconduct

is not established if the job ends
through no fault of the employee, even
if the employee knew that the job
assignment was temporary.

These rules prove problematic for
employers that provide home health
services. Under the standard rules,
if a job assignment ends and no new
assignment is immediately available,
the employee will be considered to
have been laid off due to a lack of
work. This means that employers
will not be able to prove misconduct,
and the employer’s account could be
subject to chargeback, resulting in an
increased unemployment tax rate.

Luckily, however, a special

TWC precedent case applies to job
separations involving employers in the
home health industry. This precedent
case can be beneficial to employers
because it provides a chance to avoid
a layoff situation when an employee’s
assignment ends. The following is the
relevant language from that precedent:
Appeal No. 97-006341-10-060597
In the home health care referral
industry, either the worker
or the referral service may
initiate reassignment. . . . An
employment relationship such
as this one continues until one
party clearly notifies the other
party that the employment
relationship has ended, even if
there is some passage of time
during which the employee
performs no services and earns
no wages.

Under this precedent case, the
employee is no longer considered
to be laid off when an assignment
ends, even if a new assignment is
not immediately available. Instead,
this precedent case states that when
an assignment ends, the employment
relationship will continue until one
party clearly notifies the other that
the employment relationship has
ended. The precedent case even allows
employers to place the burden on the
employee to initiate reassignment.

In order to enjoy the benefits of
this precedent case, employers should
develop a policy that is in line with
the precedent. The policy should 1)
let employees know that they are not
laid off automatically at the end of
an assignment; 2) explain that the
employee must initiate reassignment;
3) describe the procedure by which
an employee should request a new
assignment; and 4) explain the


http://www.twc.state.tx.us/unemployment-benefits-appeals-policy-precedent-manual

SeconND QUARTER 2017

consequence of failing to adhere

to the reassignment policy (the
employee would be considered

to have quit the job). By covering
these four points, the employer

can show that it never intended

for the employment relationship to
cease, and the employee’s failure to
request reassignment as required is
what caused the job separation. If
the policy is reasonable and clear,
and the employee does not follow
it, the employer can argue that the
employee’s failure to request a new
assignment constitutes a voluntary
resignation without good cause
connected with the work.

The reporting procedure should
outline whom to contact, how to
contact, and when to contact after
an assignment ends. Employers may
also require employees to continue
reporting on a weekly basis. This
would further show that the employer
wanted the employment relationship to
continue. Staff should receive training
on the procedures in order to ensure
consistent enforcement of the policy.
Failure to do so could result in the loss
of an unemployment claim.

As an example, many employers
will have a policy requiring the
employee to report to a specific
person, in writing, within 24 or
48 hours of an assignment ending.
Employers should provide a
reasonable way to report, such as
in person, via e-mail, or by phone.
Employers should clarify if certain
days do not count towards the
reporting deadline. For example, many
employers with a 24-hour reporting
policy clarify that if an assignment
ends on a Saturday, the employee
will have until Monday at 5:00 PM to
request a new assignment.

Employers should take note that
having proof of contact—or lack of
contact—is crucial. If an employee
reports in person, he or she should
sign a log. If an employee reports by
phone, the employer should implement

Photo by iStock/Thinkstock

The precedent case does not provide indefinite protection against chargebacks,
but it does give the employer time to find the employee a new assignment.

a procedure for documenting each
call and should maintain excellent
phone records. If the employee
reports in writing, preserve the
document.

Many employers wonder how
long the employment relationship
can continue between assignments.
The home health precedent states
that the time between assignments is
not a layoff, even if the employee is
not performing services or earning
any wages from the employer.
However, there is no specific time
limit mentioned. A lack of a new
assignment after more than a week
may still be viewed as a layoff,
depending on the circumstances.
Therefore, the precedent case does
not provide indefinite protection
against chargebacks, but it does
give the employer time to find the
employee a new assignment. In the
event that the employee reports and
no work is available, if the employee
files for unemployment after only
a few days, the act of filing for
unemployment can trigger the job
separation. This would be a voluntary

resignation and should protect the
employer’s account from charge.

The TWC home health precedent
case can be very helpful to employers
in the home health field in terms of
preventing a layoff scenario in an
unemployment claim. The key is to
place the burden on the employee to
initiate reassignment and to provide
a clear procedure for doing so. If the
policy shows that the employer did
not intend to sever the employment
relationship, the employer can
have a better chance of prevailing
on an unemployment claim. For
further information, employers are
encouraged to contact the TWC
Employer Hotline at 1-800-832-9394.

o

Velissa R. Chapa
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs
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A Look Into Unemployment Claims:
Chargeback Protection

(@pe

The unemployment claim process
is something that many employers
have experienced. While the
details behind the job separations
in unemployment claims differ
in many respects, there are some
key components that are present in
most unemployment claims. One of
those components is a chargeback
decision, and it notifies the employer
whether it will be charged back
for benefits on the claim. If the
employer is charged back, its
unemployment insurance (UI)
tax rate can increase. This article
will explore some of the types
of job separations that can result
in chargeback protection for the
employer’s Ul tax rate.

Chargeback Protection
by Statute

The controlling section in the
Texas Unemployment Compensation
Act (TUCA) dealing with
chargeback protection is §204.022.
This section is titled “Exclusions
From Chargebacks” and outlines
a number of circumstances that
can spare the employer from being
charged back for UI benefits. These
circumstances can range from job
separations that were the result of a
natural disaster to those that resulted
from an employee quitting to take
care of a terminally ill spouse.
Accordingly, an examination of
some of the more common types of
exclusions can assist the employer
in identifying situations where
chargeback protection may exist.

Separations Caused by a

Medically Verifiable lliness
Sometimes we receive calls

on our office’s employer hotline

(800-832-9394) from inquisitive

employers wanting to know what to

10
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Some types of job separations can result in chargeback protection for the

employer’s Ul tax rate.

make of some of the unemployment
claim decisions they have received.
Some decisions can notify an
employer that a claimant has been
qualified for benefits, but that the
employer will not be charged back
as a result of the claim. As per
§204.022(a)(5) of the TUCA, this
can occur if the separation was
caused by the medically verifiable
illness of the employee or the
employee’s minor child. This could
happen even if the claimant might
have otherwise been disqualified
from benefits.

For instance, let’s say that
the employer has a points-based
attendance policy that calls for
discharge after an employee
accumulates eight points. If the
employee’s final absence under
the policy was due to illness, the
employee could be qualified for
benefits, since absences due to
illness are generally not considered
misconduct connected with the
work. However, if the separation
was caused by the employee’s
medically verifiable illness, the
benefits that the employee receives
may not be charged back to the

employer. This is referred to as
a “pay and protect” scenario; the
claimant gets paid benefits, and
the employer’s UI tax account is
protected from charge.

Separations Caused by
Operation of Law

Another “pay and protect”
scenario arises if the job separation
was the result of operation of
law. This type of exclusion from
chargeback is often seen in
professions that require a specific
type of license to perform the
work. As per §204.022(a)(1) and
§204.022(a)(2) of the TUCA, benefits
may not be charged back to the
employer if the job separation was
required by federal statute, Texas
statute, or an ordinance of a Texas
municipality.

For example, imagine that
an employer has employed an
individual in a position that requires
a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
Imagine further that after several
successful months on the job, the
employee’s CDL expires and is
no longer valid. This could result
in a situation where the employer
is thoroughly satisfied with the
employee’s performance, but cannot
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continue employment because the
employee no longer meets the legal
requirements for the job. Under these
circumstances, the separation could
be viewed as one that was caused

by operation of law and may qualify
the claimant for benefits, but protect
the employer’s UI tax account from
charge.

Other Types of
Chargeback Protections

There are additional types
of scenarios that can result in
chargeback protection for the
employer. Among them are
separations resulting from employees
quitting part-time work to seek
a higher-paying job, separations
resulting from military duty, and
separations relating to family
violence. For a complete list of
chargeback protections under
§204.022 of the TUCA, please

visit www.statutes.legis.state.
tx.us/Docs/LA/htm/LA.204.
htm#204.022.

Provisions Regarding
Chargeback Protection

Not all chargeback protections
are available for all employers. First,
non-profit employers who have
elected to be reimbursing employers
and governmental employers do not
get the same protections that tax
paying employers do. Reimbursing
employers still get billed for benefits
in many situations where the job
separation is related to an event that
would normally be associated with
chargeback protection, such as the
medically verifiable illness of the
employee.

Second, if an employer has
received three strikes for submitting
late or inadequate responses on
unemployment claims, the employer
could be charged back even if the

TEXAS BUSINESSES

Connect, Share, & Learn
at the

Georgetown-Sept. 11-12

Sheraton Georgetown Texas Hotel

Dallas—Oct.12-13

Renaissance Dallas Richardson Hotel

$300 Early-bird registration

merits of the case call for a “pay
and protect” scenario. For more
information on adequate response,
please visit Section J, titled
“Examples of Claim Protests,” at
www.twe.state.tx.us/news/efte/
ui_law_claim_notices.html.

Conclusion

Chargeback protection can be a
curious aspect of the unemployment
claim process because it can result
in a guard against an increase in the
employer’s Ul tax rate even where
a claimant is qualified for benefits.
However, the more employers
know about the exclusions from
chargeback, the better positioned
they will be in approaching
unemployment claims. W

Mario R. Hernandez
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs
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Texas businesses can learn how to successfully navigate
the workers’ compensation system at two upcoming Texas
Workers’ Compensation Education Conferences.

“Texas has a unique workers’ compensation system that
allows businesses to make decisions that best fit their
companies,” said Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation
Ryan Brannan. “The conference is the perfect resource for

GET EXPERT ADVICE ON:

businesses to get caught up on everything they need to
know about workers’ compensation. It is information that
can help save businesses a lot of time, effort, and money.”

The conferences will provide helpful tips and the latest news
on workers’ compensation. It is a great chance to connect
with business leaders, share advice and experience, and
learn from industry experts.

Workers’ compensation fraud m Workplace privacy issues
B Return-to-work strategies m Mental and behavioral

disorders among injured employees

For more information: www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/events/edconference or
email OPC@tdi.texas.gov.

Portions of the conference will count as continuing education credit for attorneys, adjusters, human resource

professionals, and rehabilitation providers.

11


http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/ui_law_claim_notices.html
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/LA/htm/LA.204.htm#204.022
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/events/edconference.html

TexAs BusinEss TobAy

Business and Legal Briefs

The following is a quick overview of important recent employment law developments

and upcoming enforcement actions:

CHILD LABOR LAWS

xas re ssion
Labor Law Section, Child Labor Enforcement
U.S. Department of Labor

www.twc.state.tx.us/
businesses/posters-
workplace

Some of the notices are designed to look like official documents from

government agencies.

Free workplace posters
Every year, many employers
receive what look like urgent notices
that they need to update their posters
at the workplace or else face stiff fines
and penalties. Some of the notices
are designed to look like official
documents from government agencies.
In some cases, employers look at
the notices they receive and believe
that they must order the posters from
the company that sent the notice.
In reality, the notice is actually an
advertisement, and the company
sending the advertisement is one of
many offering such posters. While it is
true that posters should be updated as
soon as the government agency issuing
the poster issues a new one with
information about new or amended
laws, such changes do not occur on a
yearly basis or regular schedule. The
Texas Workforce Commission reminds
employers that workplace posters are
free of charge from the government
agencies that publish them. For a copy
of that reminder, visit: www.twc.state.
tx.us/news/twc-reminds-employers-
required-workplace-posters-are-
free-charge.
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Texas Workers’
Compensation Education
Conference

All employers interested in
workplace safety and workers’
compensation issues should try to
attend the 2017 Texas Workers’
Compensation Education Conference
sponsored by the Division of
Workers’ Compensation of the Texas
Department of Insurance (TDI).
Attendees will hear from Texas
and national experts on laws and
best practices relating to workplace
safety, risk management, and
employee relations issues during
the two-day conference. To enable
as many employers as possible to
attend, TDI is holding the conference
on two separate occasions in
different cities. The conference sites
are Sheraton Georgetown Texas
Hotel (discounted room rate — 1101
Woodlawn Avenue, Georgetown,
Texas) on September 11-12, 2017,
and Renaissance Dallas Richardson
Hotel (discounted room rate - 900 E.
Lookout Drive, Richardson, Texas)
on October 12-13, 2017. Registration
will soon open online. For more

information, visit www.tdi.texas.gov/
wc/events/edconference.html, and on
Facebook, visit www.facebook.com/
TXEducationConference/.

Free Workplace Safety
Resources for Employers

Texas Department of Insurance,
Division of Workers” Compensation,
OSHCON: www.tdi.texas.gov/
oshcon/index.html.

Non-profit organization devoted to
driving and traffic safety—Our Driving
Concern: txdrivingconcern.org/
upcoming-free-webinars/.

Where Does the DOL Salary
Rule Stand?

There has been no change in
the situation regarding the U.S.
Department of Labor (DOL) overtime
rule since we last mentioned it in this
newsletter. For the benefit of the many
new subscribers, we reprint the status
report as it appeared in the first quarter
issue of 2017, followed by an update
from the DOL: As many of you have
heard by now, in the case of State of
Nevada et al v. U.S. Department of
Labor et al, (No: 4:16-CV-00731),
the federal district court in Sherman,
Texas has issued a nationwide
injunction against enforcement of
the DOL’s new overtime rule, which
would have increased the minimum
salary for a white-collar overtime
exemption (executive, administrative,
professional, or computer professional
employees) from the current level
of $455/week by over 100% to a
new minimum of $913/week, up to
10% of which could have consisted
of bonuses and/or commissions if
non-discretionary and paid at least
quarterly. The new regulations would
have also increased the minimum


http://www.txdrivingconcern.org/upcoming-free-webinars/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/oshcon/index.html
http://www.facebook.com/TXEducationConference
http:www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/events/edconference.html
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salary for a “highly-compensated
employee,” which has an easier
duties test to meet, to $134,004 per
year. DOL’s official announcement
on the injunction and its appeal to
the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals is
at the following link: www.dol.gov/
whd/overtime/final2016/litigation.
htm. The court ruled that the drastic
increase in salary was so high that it
effectively deleted the duties test for
the exemption, which was inconsistent
with the intent of Congress when the
law was first passed many decades
ago. The court also held that the rule’s
provision for automatic increases in
the minimum salary every three years
exceeded the agency’s authority. The
bottom line is that as a result of the
court ruling, employers do not have
to do anything to increase anyone’s
salary at this time. On December 8,
2016, the 5th Circuit Court announced
that it would expedite the appeal and
hold a hearing sometime toward the
middle of February, 2018. As far as
next steps for the salary increase are
concerned, it is unknown whether
the new administration will want to
continue the appeal process in court,
and another open question is whether
a new Secretary of Labor would try
to reissue a salary-related regulation,
at least in the immediate future.
Since that issue could be revisited at
any time, and court actions can be
difficult to predict, it would be a good
idea to frequently check the latest
developments on the U.S. Department
of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division
website at www.dol.gov/whd/.
Update from DOL as of February
22,2017: “On February 22, 2017,
the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit granted a request by the
Department of Justice for an extension
of time of sixty days, until May 1,
2017, in which to file its reply brief.
The additional time was requested on
behalf of the Department of Labor “to

7 4
2

ik

Photo by iStock/Thinkstock

The court ruled that the drastic increase in salary was so high that it effectively
deleted the duties test for the exemption, which was inconsistent with the intent
of Congress when the law was first passed many decades ago.

allow incoming leadership personnel
adequate time to consider the issues.”
Nevada v. DOL, No. 16-41606, Motion
For Extension to File Reply (Feb. 17,
2017). Source: www.dol.gov/whd/
overtime/final2016/litigation.htm.

EEOC Annual Report

On January 18, 2017, the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission
(EEOC) released its year-end report
showing its claim and enforcement
activity for fiscal year 2016 online.
The report contains valuable statistical
data on the numbers and types of
enforcement actions processed by
the agency. For example, the report
highlights the following numbers of
types and claims filed:

Retaliation: 42,018 (45.9 percent of all
charges filed)

Race: 32,309 (35.3 percent)
Disability: 28,073 (30.7 percent)

Sex (including LGBT issues): 26,934
(29.4 percent)

Age: 20,857 (22.8 percent)

National Origin: 9,840 (10.8 percent)
Religion: 3,825 (4.2 percent)

Color: 3,102 (3.4 percent)

Equal Pay Act: 1,075 (1.2 percent)

Genetic Information Non-
Discrimination Act: 238 (.3 percent)

These percentages add up to more
than 100 because some charges allege
multiple bases. One can see that by far,
the most common type of EEOC claim
filed is the kind in which an employee
alleges that the employer retaliated
against him or her for complaining
about alleged discrimination or for
filing such a claim.

The press release is online at www.
eeoc.gov/eeoc/newsroom/release/1-
18-17a.cfm, and the full data set of
statistics, including breakdowns by
state, type of claim, year, and more,
is at www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/
enforcement/. Wp

William T. (Tommy) Simmons
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs
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Texas Legislation: 85th General Session - 2017

All bills effective September 1, 2017 unless otherwise noted.

The 2017 general session of the Texas
Legislature that began in January,
2017 will end on May, 29, 2017. It
will be very important for Texas
employers due to the significant
number of employment-related bills
that have been and will be filed this
year. Although not all bills make

it into the law, all of the bills are

important because they tend to

reflect what is on the minds of the

members of the Legislature and of the bills that had been filed toward
the voters who elect them. Moreover, the end of 2016). As was done in the
some bills that do not pass in one earlier issue, the list is organized
session may pass in a future session, into subject areas and shows the bill
so they serve as predictors of legal number, the sponsor, and the bill
trends in the state. With that in mind, caption indicating the subject matter
here is a survey of some significant of the bill (companion or similar bills
employment-related legislation that may be shown together).

has been filed during the first three
months of 2017 (the first quarter issue
of Texas Business Today outlined

Civil Rights — Discrimination

Relating to a prohibition against certain forms of employment discrimination
e Turner, C. by state contractors.

Relating to the prohibition of certain discrimination based on sexual orientation
e PRl or gender identity or expression.
HB 1801 Blanco, C. Relating to the prohibition of employment discrimination regarding
SB 472 Ciete I B military service members and military veterans.

Relating to sexual orientation and gender identity or expression with regards
Bl Rl b to the rights of the elderly.
SB 1140 Zaffirini, J. Relating to the prohibition against sexual harassment in the workplace.
SB 1160 Garcia, S. Relating to a prohibition on sex discrimination in compensation.

Employee / Family Leave

HB 3041 Blanco, C. Relating to the ability of a nonexempt employee to participate in
certain academic, extracurricular, and developmental activities of
the employee’s child.

HB 3483 Collier, N. Relating to requiring certain employers to provide earned paid leave to
employees.
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Human Resources — General

Relating to the promotion of breast-feeding and the prohibition against
Farrar, J. ) i o )
HB 742 interference with or restriction of the right to breast-feed.
HB 863 Hern?ndez, o Relating to safety training for employees performing construction work under
SB 475 Rodriguez, J. a contract with a governmental entity.
HB 1104 Hernandez, A. Relati_ng to sexual assault .and domestic violence awareness training and
reporting by cosmetology license holders.
Relating to the consideration of criminal history record information of
HBH981 Johnson; E. applicants for public employment or an occupational license.
HB 2846 Miller, R. Relating to the employment of certain individuals at a sexually oriented
SB 1866 | Taylor, L. business.
HB 2863 White, J. Relating to confidentiality, sharing, sealing, and destruction of juvenile
records.
HB 3477 Neave, V. . - . .
’ Relating to prohibited adverse employment action against an employee who
SB 2181 Menendez, J. in good faith reports child abuse or neglect.
HB 3899 Neava Vi Relating to rest br.eaks for employees of certain contractors with a
governmental entity.
ek Murphy, J. Relating to the exemption of certain services performed by certain
SB 745 Kolkhorst, L. employees from the sales and use tax.
SB 1185 West, R. Relat.lng tp crlmlne_ﬂ_hlstory record information obtained or disseminated by
certain private entities.
Relating to the authority of a political subdivision to adopt or enforce certain
SB 1262 Huffman, J. regulations regarding whether a private employer may obtain or consider an
employment applicant's or employee's criminal history record information.
SB 1772 Miles, B. Rglgtmg to the right of an employee to time off from work to vote; creating a
criminal offense.
Relating to a general employment review of persons who apply to school
SB 1891 Bettencourt, P. districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and certain independent
contractors for employment involving direct contact with students or children.

Continued on page 16
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Immigration / E-Verify

Relating to requiring political subdivisions to participate in the federal electronic

A SIEICb e verification of employment authorization program or E-verify.

Relating to requiring state contractors and political subdivisions of this state

to participate in the federal electronic verification of employment authorization
HB 1453| Bonnen, G. program, or E-verify, and authorizing the suspension of certain licenses held by
private employers for the knowing employment of persons not lawfully present in
this state; authorizing a fee.

Relating to a prohibition against the knowing employment of persons not lawfully
HB 3792| Fallon, P. present in the United States and the suspension of licenses held by certain
employers for the knowing employment of those persons.

Pay / Benefits / Wages and Hours

HB 475 Reynolds, R.
HB 924 | Turner, C. Relating to the minimum wage.

HB 937 | Thompson, S. (HBs 475 / 992: $15.00/hour; HBs 924 / 937, SB 229: $10.10/hour)
HB 992 |Walle, A.

SB 229 Menendez, J.

Relating to employer retaliation against employees who seek recovery of

Azl hengeni, © unpaid wages by filing a wage claim with the Texas Workforce Commission.

SB 473 Rodriguez, J. Relating to paid rest breaks for construction employees of construction
' contractors and subcontractors; providing an administrative penalty.

SB 476 Rodriguez, J. Relating to claims for unpaid wages.

Public Accommodations

HB 3196 | Cortez, P. Relating to conciliation agreements under the Texas Fair Housing Act.

Relating to procedures for asserting claims under the Americans with

SB 827 Seliger, K. Disabilities Act.

Continued on page 17
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Regulatory Integrity / Enforcement / Criminal Penalties

HB 29 Thompson, S. | Relating to prostitution and the trafficking of persons, civil racketeering
related to trafficking, the prosecution of and punishment for certain sexual
SB 1569 Huffman, J. offenses and offenses involving or related to trafficking, reimbursement.
Relating to obtaining information from the child abuse and neglect central
HB 1970 Krause, M. registry regarding certain individuals who have or will have direct contact
with public school students.
Relating to authorizing the possession, use, cultivation, distribution,
HB 2107 Lucio Ill, E. transportation, and delivery of medical cannabis for medical use by
qualifying patients.
HB 2201 Vo, H.
Relating to the offense of unlawfully prohibiting an employee from voting.
SB 283 Watson, K.
HB 3769 King, K. . : . ,
Relating to improper relationships between educators and students.
SB7 Bettencourt, P.
Relating to improper relationships between educators or certain other
e Vet e school personnel and students.

Unemployment Insurance

HB 1304 Longoria, O. Relating to the classification of workers for purposes of the Texas

SB 592 Lucio, Jr., E. Unemployment Compensation Act.

HB 3890 Nz, _Rel_apng to a self-employment assistance program for unemployed
individuals.

o

William T. (Tommy) Simmons
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs
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Frequently-Asked Questions From Employers Answered

The following questions were compiled from past Texas Business Conferences
around the state and questions from Texas employers on our Employer Hotline.

Q: What does “predetermined
amount” mean in the regulations for
salaried exempt employees?

A: The term “predetermined
amount” refers to the agreed-upon
salary for the position, as explained
in the U.S. Department of Labor
(DOL) regulation that defines what
a true salary is for a salaried exempt
employee. See 29 C.F.R. § 541.602(a)
at www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/wh_part541.html#541 602.

It is recommended to assure such
employees that the employer will

not affect their salaries for any non-
allowable reason due to DOL guidance
and court decisions that indicate

that the salary basis for an overtime
exemption can be lost if the employer
has a policy or practice of reducing

a salaried exempt employee’s salary
below its predetermined level for

any reason other than the exceptions
allowed by law, such as payroll taxes,
repayment of loans or advances, or
to cover certain absences as outlined
in the salary definition regulation
linked above. For more information on
absence-related allowable deductions
from salary, see the following topic
in the book Especially for Texas
Employers: www.twe.state.tx.us/
news/efte/salary test for exempt
employees.html.

Q: My company has eleven
different locations around the state
of Texas. If we were to close one
particular location and offered all
the employees at that location the
opportunity to transfer to another
company location, would we be
responsible to pay unemployment
on any employees choosing not to
transfer and stay with the company?

A: The following factors would be
important in an unemployment claim:

1. In job transfer / office relocation
cases, TWC always looks at the
change in the commute for affected
employees. Assuming that the eleven
locations in Texas are fairly evenly
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distributed throughout the state, or
that the average distance between
locations represents about 45 minutes’
drive time or more, there is a good
chance that employees who are at the
closed location and who choose not
to transfer to another location would
be considered “laid off” and would
be able to qualify for UI benefits
based upon a non-disqualifying work
separation.

2. Such cases could also be
analyzed as voluntary resignation
cases. However, even though a former
employee would have the burden of
proving that he or she had good cause
connected with the work to quit,

i.e., not accept a transfer to another
location, that might be a fairly easy
thing to prove if they could show
that accepting the transfer would
essentially require them to move to
another city.

3. Any employees who might
qualify for UI benefits based upon an
office closure like that would still be
required to be available and actively
searching for full-time work in order
to be eligible to draw any benefits.

Q: We hired a young woman last
week, and she filled out paperwork
and did some training (a total of 5
hours). On the 4th day, she didn’t
show up for work, didn’t call, didn’t
return our calls. My question is... do
we have to pay her for her 5 hours,
if so, can I pay her minimum wage?
How long can I wait to send her the
check?

A: Here are the things to consider
about that situation:

1. The five hours spent doing
paperwork and training on her first
day of work were compensable hours
worked and would have to be paid.

2. The pay rate for the first five
hours would be paid at the same rate
that the company agreed to pay her for
the job for which she was hired, unless
the employee agreed to be paid at a
different rate of pay for the orientation
/ training time.

3. Assuming that the company does
not have any evidence of an agreement
that the first day would be paid at a
different rate, the company should go
ahead and calculate the entire week’s
paycheck at the normal rate of pay,
whatever it was.

4. Under the Texas Payday Law, the
final pay for an employee who quit is
due on the next regularly-scheduled
payday following the effective date
of resignation. In a situation like the
one described in your message, the
effective date of resignation would be
the day on which the employee was
expected to show up, but failed to
do so. Whenever the normal payday
would have been for her and her
coworkers for the days in question, that
would be the final pay deadline for her.

5. Keep in mind that the Texas
Payday Law also requires paychecks
that are mailed to be mailed by
registered mail (see Section 61.017(b)
(3) at www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/
Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.017).
Get a return receipt and keep all
documentation of mailing.

Q: How does my company
calculate overtime pay for one of our
non-exempt employees who is paid
at two different rates (a salary for the
primary duty and an hourly rate for
another job)?

A: In an overtime workweek,
the weighted-average method of
calculating overtime pay would be
used. The basic steps would be the
following:

1. Determine the total straight-time
pay by adding the salary for the main
job to the hourly wages earned for the
hours worked at an hourly rate.

2. Determine the total hours
worked in both jobs that week.

3. Divide the total straight-time pay
by the total hours worked that week —
that will give you the regular rate of
pay for that week. The overtime pay is
based on that regular rate of pay.

4. Now, since the total straight-time
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pay already compensates the employee
at straight time for all hours worked,
including the overtime hours, the
overtime hours would need additional

compensation at one-half of the regular

rate of pay. Multiply one-half of the
regular rate of pay by the number of
overtime hours that week — that result
will be the “overtime premium.”

5. Add the overtime premium to the
total straight-time pay to get the total
gross pay for the workweek.

6. You can find this method of
calculating overtime explained in our
book Especially for Texas Employers
online at www.twc.state.tx.us/news/
efte/i_employees two rates.html.
That page also features an overtime
calculation utility that you can use to
derive an employee’s pay in such a
situation.

Q: I was hoping to obtain some
useful information regarding
providing medical equipment for a
work station. What are we legally
responsible to provide? For example,
I have an employee requesting a foot
stool for her back and a neck rest for
her phone. Are we required to provide
this hardware?

If so, what do you recommend?

A: Assuming that your company is
large enough (15 or more employees)
to be covered by the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA) and that the
employee who is requesting a foot
stool and a neck rest for her phone
has a protected disability, furnishing
those items as a way of helping her
minimize the effects of her disability
could easily be considered a reasonable
accommodation under the ADA. No
particular equipment is required at any
particular work station. When dealing
with accommodations for disabilities,
each situation will be different, and it
is common to work out a customized
solution for each employee who
needs an accommodation. In terms
of legal obligation to furnish an
accommodation, the ADA would
require the employer to furnish an
accommodation if it makes sense
for the job and can be done without
undue hardship to the company.

In the situation described in your
inquiry, it sounds like the footstool

and the neck rest for the phone would
be very inexpensive and simple
accommodations to make. A good
resource for researching potential
workplace accommodations for
various kinds of disabilities is the Job
Accommodations Network, which is
a joint project of the U.S. Department
of Labor, the U.S. Chamber of
Commerce and other business
sponsors, and a university partner.
Learn more at askjan.org/.

Q: I’ve been looking for some
answers in regards to a company’s
ability to tell employees they have to
deal with professional work e-mail
on their personal phones. Are there
any Texas laws on that?

A: There is no Texas or federal law
prohibiting employers from requiring
employees to accept work-related
messages on a personal e-mail, text,
or social media account. That having
been said, if the company requires
employees to read, respond to, or
otherwise process such messages
during any off-duty time, the time
spent by the employee in such an
activity would be work time. Salaried
exempt employees would not have
to be paid anything extra beyond
the agreed-upon salary to deal with
work-related e-mails or texts during
off-duty hours, but non-exempt
employees should be paid for such
work time at their regular rate of pay.
If such work causes the non-exempt
employee to go into overtime for the
workweek in question, the company
would need to do an overtime pay
calculation for that week. Many
HR professionals and personnel
consultants are advising companies
to limit off-duty work activities such
as responding to messages from their
bosses, since it often boils down to
a quality of life issue that can affect
employee retention and morale.

One other potential issue involves
minimum wage: if an employee is
required to obtain a cell phone and
pay data access fees just to get work-
related texts and e-mails from the
employer, and the employee’s pay is
close enough to minimum wage to
where the costs for the phone and data
service would take the employee’s

gross pay below minimum wage, the
employer would need to reimburse at
least enough of the employee’s costs to
where minimum wage would not be an
issue.

Q: I own a child care center and
I pay unemployment taxes for my
employees. My bookkeeper wants
me to start paying myself; however,
will I have to pay unemployment
tax on myself? I would never fire
myself from my own business, so 1
wanted to make sure I didn’t incur an
unnecessary expense if I don’t have
to.

A: There are different possibilities,
depending upon the type of entity that
you operate:

1. If your company is a sole
proprietorship and you are the owner,
you should not report your wages
to TWC or pay state unemployment
taxes on your earnings. As a result,
you would not be able to file an
unemployment claim if the economy
fires your company, i.e., you have to go
out of business due to inability to stay
in business.

2. If your company is a partnership
and you are one of the partners, the
same result would apply — no wage
reporting, no unemployment tax,
and no unemployment claim if your
partnership has to close down due to
inability to stay in business.

3. If your company is anything else,
i.e., any kind of corporate entity, such
as a corporation or a limited liability
company, and you are a corporate
officer or a member of the L.L..C., you
would be an employee of the company
and must report your wages to TWC
as wages from employment. Your
company would have to pay state
unemployment tax on your wages. As
a result, you would be able to file an
unemployment claim if the economy
fires your company, i.e., your company
has to go out of business due to
inability to stay in business, and you
are laid off as a result of your company
going out of business for such a reason.

William T. (Tommy) Simmons
Legal Counsel to
Commissioner Ruth R. Hughs
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