TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION
Workforce Development Letter

ID/No: WD 25-20

Date: October &, 2020

Keyword: Child Care

Effective: Immediately

To: Local Workforce Development Board Executive Directors
Commission Executive Offices
Integrated Service Area Managers

ArogerD Aalds

From: Reagan Miller, Director, Child Care & Early Learning Division
Subject: Child Care Provider Maximum Reimbursement Rate Increases
PURPOSE:

The purpose of this WD Letter is to provide information and guidance to Local
Workforce Development Boards (Boards) on increased child care provider
reimbursement rates.

RESCISSIONS:
WD Letter 23-19

BACKGROUND:
On October 6, 2020, the Texas Workforce Commission’s (TWC) three-member
Commission (Commission) took action to ensure that Boards’ maximum reimbursement
rates are set at or above the 30th percentile of the most recent Market Rate Survey
(MRS). Additionally, the Commission’s action ties enhanced reimbursement rates for
Texas Rising Star programs to the 75th percentile of the most recent MRS.

PROCEDURES:
No Local Flexibility (NLF): This rating indicates that Boards must comply with the
federal and state laws, rules, policies, and required procedures set forth in this WD Letter
and have no local flexibility in determining whether and/or how to comply. All
information with an NLF rating is indicated by “must” or “shall.”

Local Flexibility (LF): This rating indicates that Boards have local flexibility in
determining whether and/or how to implement guidance or recommended practices set
forth in this WD Letter. All information with an LF rating is indicated by “may” or
“recommend.”

NLEF: Boards must be aware that regular (non—Texas Rising Star) rates for all nonrelative
provider types that currently fall below the 30th percentile of the most recent MRS will
be increased to the 30th percentile. These rate increases are effective October 1 of the
year during which the MRS is released.



NLEF:

NLF:

NLEF:

NLEF:

Boards must be aware that if a local reimbursement rate for a category of care was in
effect before October 1 and is higher than the calculated increased rate for that category,
the higher rate continues to be in effect after October 1. No provider rates will be reduced
based on this guidance.

Boards must be aware that the Texas Rising Star rates have been calculated based on the
most recent MRS and continue to be based on the following benchmarks:

e Set reimbursement rates for Texas Rising Star 4-star providers at the 75th percentile

e Set reimbursement rates for Texas Rising Star 3-star providers at 90 percent of the
local 4-star rate

e Set reimbursement rates for Texas Rising Star 2-star providers at 90 percent of the
local 3-star rate

Boards must be aware that TWC will calculate the new rates and enter the rates into The
Workforce Information System of Texas (TWIST) for each category of care for each
Board. The new rates are included in Attachment 1, “FY’21 Child Care Provider
Reimbursement Rates.”

Boards must ensure that provider agreements that contain specific rate information are
updated to reflect the new rates. Boards must ensure that all affected agreements are
updated by November 30 of each year.

INQUIRIES:

Send inquiries regarding this WD Letter to childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov.

ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 1: FY’21 Child Care Provider Reimbursement Rates

REFERENCES:

Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations §98.45, Equal Access
Texas Workforce Commission Chapter 809 Child Care Services Rule §809.20, Maximum
Provider Reimbursement Rates
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