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For the seventh year 
in a row, Texas has 
claimed Site Selection 
Magazine’s Governor’s 
Cup for business and job 
creation. The Cup goes 
to the state with the most 
major corporate location 
and expansion projects  
each year.

Commissioner’s Corner:
Texas Wins Governor’s Cup, 7th Year in a Row
Dear Texas Employer, 	

Welcome to our 2019 1st & 2nd quarter issue of Texas 
Business Today! Texas continues to be the place for job 
growth and economic development as Texas employers 
create job opportunities for our world-class, highly -skilled 
workforce. In 2018, the Texas economy added 391,800 
jobs and Texas’ seasonally adjusted unemployment rate 
remained at a historically low rate of 3.7 percent. 

In addition, for the seventh year in a row, Texas claimed  
Site Selection Magazine’s Governor’s Cup for business 
and job creation. Texas had 608 new projects in 2018, up 
from 594 in 2017. Texas is a state that always welcomes 
new employers and also supports our homegrown 
businesses, offering them the tools to succeed and build 
on our continued success as a global economic leader. 

One tool that employers continue to use is our premiere 
job training grant, the Skills Development Fund. This 
grant ensures Texas employers meet the challenges 
of today’s competitive marketplace. Last year, TWC 
awarded 50 grants with an average of $475,000. These 
grants assisted 90 businesses with their training needs 
and supported the creation of over 4,600 new jobs and 
the retraining of over 11,400 current employees. We want 
to encourage Texas employers to take advantage of these 
opportunities. We have a number of grants that can assist 
any business, no matter the size. For more information, 
please visit: https://twc.texas.gov/businesses/train-your-
workforce.
  To close out the year, TWC hosted the 22nd Annual 
Texas Workforce Conference in Houston. During this 
conference, we announced the winners of the 2018 Texas 
Workforce Solutions Employers of the Year. Eaton’s 
B-Line, a power management company located in 
Sherman, TX, was named Large Employer of the Year. 
The Small Employer of the Year Award was presented 
to PRESCO Polymers, a manufacturing company also 
located in Sherman, TX. The other top finalists were 
Samsung, Lowe’s, Kat Excavation & Construction, and 

La Vox 93.3 FM of Abilene. Congratulations to all the 
award recipients and finalists! 
   To help employers stay current with employment 
law updates, we announced our 2019 Texas Business 
Conferences (TBC) schedule. We started the year strong 
with three sold-out conferences in Houston, Brownsville, 
and Dallas, and have 11 more scheduled throughout the 
year. When you attend one of our TBCs, you will hear 
directly from our employment law attorneys who will 
guide you through a number of topics, including hiring 
issues, policy handbooks, and unemployment claims. For 
the full list of TBCs, please visit: www.texasworkforce.
org/tbc.   
    In January, TWC sadly lost its Executive Director, 
Larry Temple. Mr. Temple was a vital part of our agency 
and he will be truly missed. His work was recognized 
nationally and he contributed to Texas being a model 
workforce for the nation. A tribute to his life and work 
can be found on pg. 5.
  In closing, the 2019 general session of the Texas 
Legislature  has begun and will extend through the 
end of May, 2019. My office will be following all bills 
related to employment law and we will provide updates 
throughout the session. You can find a list of the current 
employment law bills beginning on page 17.
 As you continue through the year, remember our office 

is here for you. We are committed to helping you navigate 
the unique challenges of running a business. Please do not 
hesitate to contact my office if you need any assistance. 

Sincerely,

Chair Ruth R. Hughs
Texas Workforce Commission
Commissioner Representing Employers

https://twc.texas.gov/businesses/train-your-workforce
https://twc.texas.gov/businesses/train-your-workforce
http://www.texasworkforce.org/tbc
http://www.texasworkforce.org/tbc
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Making Connections
Across the State

1.

2.

1. Skills Development Fund Grant presentation to Lone Star
College in partnership with Daikin Industries, which will support the
manufacturing industry in the Gulf Coast area.
2. We Hire Vets ceremony recognizing Trailboss Enterprises for
their efforts in hiring our nation’s heroes.
3. Exploring breakfast hosted at Austin Community College
to recognize  our public safety entities and their local efforts in
mentoring students in their future careers.
4. Texas Lyceum 2019 Public Conference, which focused on the
workforce of 2036.
5. Texas Capitol Schoolhouse event hosted by Senator Larry
Taylor, which showcased 10 ISDs and gave them the opportunity to
demonstrate the advanced technology being used in their schools.
6. Tour of Dynamic Systems, Inc., which is a company that has
been vital to our growing Texas infrastructure and economy.
7. Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast set-up at the Women In Industry
Conference that focused on female students learning about careers
in the industry trades.

3.

6.

7.

5.

6.

4.
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Hiring Issues · Employment Law Updates · Personnel 
Policies and Handbooks · Workers’ Compensation · 
Independent Contractors and Unemployment Tax Issues · 
The Unemployment Claims and Appeals Process · Texas and 

Federal Wage and Hour Laws
The non-refundable registration fee is $125 (one day) and $175 (two days). The Texas Workforce Commission and Texas SHRM State 
Council are now offering SHRM and Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification credits targeted specifically for 
Human Resource professionals attending this conference.  For more information on how to apply for these Professional Development 
Credits upon attending the Texas Business Conference, please visit the Texas SHRM website.  Also, attorneys may receive up to 5.5 
hours of MCLE credit (no ethics hours) if they attend the entire full-day conference, or 11 hours for the two-day conference (one hour 
of ethics available). Continuing Education Credit (six hours) is available for CPAs. General Professional Credit is also available.

Topics have been selected based on the hundreds of 
employer inquiry calls we receive each week, and include 
matters such as: 

Please join us for an informative, full-day 
or two-day conference where you will learn 
about relevant state and federal employ-
ment laws that are essential to efficiently 
managing your business and employees.

We have assembled our best speakers to 
guide you through ongoing matters of con-
cern to Texas employers and to answer any 
questions you have regarding your business.

2019 Conference Locations

For more information and registration, visit:  
www.texasworkforce.org/tbc 
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On January 5th, 2019, the Texas Workforce Commission 
(TWC) Executive Director Larry Temple passed away at 
the age of 66. Mr. Temple faithfully served the State of 
Texas for over two decades, from 1997 until 2019.

No words can adequately express our sadness at Mr. 
Temple’s death or our gratitude for the opportunity to work 
with him. He was an unstoppable force. His commitment 
to helping the Texas workforce system changed thousands 
of individual lives.

Mr. Larry Temple came to the TWC agency in 1997, 
serving first as Director of Welfare Reform for six years 
before becoming Executive Director in 2004. Over the 
course of Mr. Temple’s state service, individuals inside and 
outside of Texas saw firsthand his integrity, humility, and 
compassion always on display. TWC strengthened under 
his leadership, becoming one of the most comprehensive 
and integrated workforce development systems in the 
country.  

Mr. Temple never deterred from his most important 
mission and purpose. He understood deeply the importance 
of providing exemplary service to his family, community, 
state, and nation. He befriended everyone he met locally 
and nationally—he loved life, and he loved his work. His 
strong leadership and problem-solving skills helped bring 
dignity and pride to working Texans. He understood that 
putting Texans back to work is the most honorable of jobs, 
and keeping Texas working is the greatest hope for our 
future. He continuously stated that the “best part of my 
job is knowing that I had a part in helping someone else 
get a job.”

Meanwhile, he was an extremely hard worker and had 
a natural authenticity that came with great wisdom and 
experience. He was deeply compassionate to others in 
need, and shared with everyone he met his well-refined 
sense of humor and charismatic self. 

Mr. Temple vigorously championed major 
transformative workforce goals. Over the past 20 years, 
he frequently testified before Congress and advised many 
states, sharing best practices on reemployment and other 
leading policy and program ideas. Under his leadership, 
TWC  also actively helped other state workforce agencies in  
times of crisis. For example, in the aftermath of Hurricane

Katrina, the TWC Unemployment Insurance Division 
handled thousands of claims for the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission, at a time when Texas was dealing with its 
own catastrophic damage.

Prior to serving at TWC, Mr. Temple served as Deputy 
Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of 
Human Services for five years. In Mississippi, he oversaw 
statewide administration of the state’s human services 
programs and led one of the early statewide welfare 
reform initiatives.

Mr. Temple was actively involved with the National 
Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA), the 
national organization representing all 50 state workforce 
agencies, serving at various times as both president and 
board member.

His work was recognized nationally and contributed to 
Texas being a model workforce for the nation. In December, 
he was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Hand Up 
Award by the American Institute for Full Employment 
(AIFE). We are forever in his debt. 

Mr. Temple faithfully served the State of Texas for 
over two decades, from 1997 until 2019.

In Memoriam: 
A Tribute to TWC
Executive Director 
Larry Temple
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Chances are that everyone knows someone 
who has worked in a family business. As someone 
who grew up working for her parents, I understand 
firsthand the unique issues that such companies 
can face. There is an extra level of comfort in 
hiring family, but there is also an added layer of 
complexity to the relationship that can lead to 
unanticipated problems. Many of these issues 
have been communicated to the Texas Workforce  
Commission (TWC) via our employer hotline 
(800-832-9394).

Working with family can be one of the biggest 
joys in life, but even joyful situations can create 
issues. Over the years, I have found that the best 
way to operate is to understand how the law works, 
anticipate problems, have a plan, and follow 
through. The following information is intended to 
help readers do just that.

Personal and Business Risks
Family issues in the workplace put employers 

in a tough personal position, regardless of the 
choices they make, and employers should be 
prepared for that. Working with family increases 
the possibility that family issues will make their 
way into the office. Sometimes family members 
can even be your worst employees, but disciplining 
or terminating them can easily lead to bad blood 
or make for an awkward time at Thanksgiving 
dinner. 

Sweeping things under the rug only means 
that there will be a bigger mess to clean up later. 
Excusing bad conduct can lead to disgruntled 
workers and intolerable working conditions, 
which can harm company morale and business 
flow. Failing to address these problems will only 
encourage continuing bad behavior and may 
expose the employer to a discrimination lawsuit 
or lead to other violations of law (see #s 3, 4, and  
5 in this article for more information).

Legal Risks
Let us begin with the simple answer to a 

common question: Is it against the law to hire 
family members? Nepotism is not illegal. However, 
there are several legal issues that employers should 
be aware of when family members are involved:

1. Wage and Hour Issues
There is a common misconception that hiring

family means that federal laws pertaining to 
minimum wage and overtime do not apply. 
Generally speaking, this is a falsehood. Many 
employees have filed wage claims against their 
own family members for money owed to them 
for work they performed. It is no defense that the 
parties are related.

2. Child Labor
Putting your children to work is often seen

as a win-win scenario; employers can keep tabs 
while their children help the business and learn 
valuable skills. However, employers should be 
aware of federal child labor laws, which exist to 
ensure that a minor’s working environment is safe 
and does not interfere with a child’s education.  
For one, children are not allowed to perform 
hazardous duties. Examples of what hazardous 
duties are in different industries can be found 
here:https://www.dol.gov/whd/childlabor.htm.  
 Also of note is that different rules apply depending 
on the child’s age. For a basic overview of these 
laws, please see the following link:https://twc.texas.
gov/news/efte/child_labor.html. The penalties for 
violating child labor laws include significant civil 
penalties, criminal penalties, and even a temporary 
prohibition on the sale or transfer of any goods 
produced by the employer.  

3.Unemployment Claims
Family members who are discharged or who quit 

may qualify for unemployment benefits. It does 
not matter that they were related to the employer 
by blood or marriage; such cases undergo the same 
analysis as any other case. As an example, when  
couples who co-own a business decide to separate, 
it is likely that one party will either leave the 
business or get pushed out. Those who quit a job 
for personal reasons are usually disqualified from 
unemployment; however, if the other spouse makes 
the working conditions intolerable, the person 
who quit may qualify for unemployment. In cases 
where a spouse is “pushed out” and discharged, 
the unemployed spouse may qualify for benefits 
because marital discord does not constitute work-

All in the Family: Working 
with Relatives
Velissa R. Chapa / Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

https://www.dol.gov/whd/childlabor.htm
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/child_labor.html
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/child_labor.html
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connected misconduct. For more information on 
the basic unemployment claim rules, please see 
the following link: https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/
ui_law_qualification_issues.html. 

4. Discrimination Lawsuits
There is no doubt about it: company policies

are difficult to enforce when family members 
are involved. Nobody wants to warn their son, 
daughter, or spouse for rule violations.

Although it is not against the law to treat family 
members more favorably, treating employees 
differently could expose the employer to a 
discrimination lawsuit. Perception is everything 
and it can often override reality. Although 
family members get a free pass because they are 
family, this will not stop employees from arguing 
that they were treated unfairly for an unlawful 
reason, such as race, color, national origin, U.S. 
citizenship, religion, age, gender, disability, or 
genetic information (see https://www.eeoc.gov/
laws/practices/index.cfm for more information 
on prohibited practices). Being treated less 
favorably can be all an employee needs to allege 
a discrimination claim. Therefore, it is a best 
practice to treat all employees the same, regardless 
of any familial relationship. 

5. National Labor Relations Act
Employees who are upset about their working

conditions tend to talk about these issues with 
one another. Employers who want to stop these 
discussions should resist that urge, because such 
conversations are protected under the National 
Labor Relations Act (NLRA). The NLRA affords 
employees the right to discuss the terms and 
conditions of their employment. Any attempt by 
an employer to curb these discussions could result 
in a violation of the NLRA. For more information 
on employee rights under the NLRA, see the 
following link: https://www.nlrb.gov/rights-we-
protect/rights/employee-rights. 	

Conclusion
For many employers, working with family is not 

only a preference, but a necessity, and it can be 
tempting to ignore certain rules or laws to preserve 
the family unit. Just remember, as the saying goes: 
everything is fine until it’s not. Keeping the above 
information in mind will help to guide and protect 
employers moving forward. 

Although it is not against the law to treat family members more favorably, treating employees differently could 
expose the employer to a discrimination lawsuit. 

https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/practices/index.cfm
https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/practices/index.cfm
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/ui_law_qualification_issues.html
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/ui_law_qualification_issues.html
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Delivering Wages to             
Hard-to-Reach Employees
Mario R. Hernandez / Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

Have you ever experienced a situation
where an employee vanishes into thin air and you
have no idea how to deliver the final paycheck?
Maybe you have experienced a scenario where an
employee has been incarcerated, but still needs
to be paid in accordance with the payday laws.
What if an employee has passed away? These are
all things that have happened to employers, and
this article discusses some rules and methods for
delivering wages to hard-to-reach employees.

The Basics
We start with basic rules that are in play when 

talking about the delivery of wages. The main 
law that employers should be aware of is the Tex-
as Payday Law. This law requires that employees 
receive their pay in full and on time on regularly 
scheduled paydays. Wages can be delivered to an 
employee in person, through registered mail (to be 
received by the employee not later than payday), 
to a third party that the employee has authorized 
in writing to receive the employee’s paycheck, via 
direct deposit, or in any other reasonable way that 
the employee has agreed to in writing (See Texas 
Labor Code §61.017).

In addition, after a job separation, there are 
different deadlines for payment of an employee’s 
final paycheck, depending on whether the job sep-
aration was involuntary or voluntary. If the job 
separation was involuntary, (i.e. the employee was 
discharged), then the employer has 6 calendar days 
from the effective date of separation to deliver the 
final pay. On the other hand, if the job separation 
was voluntary, (i.e. the employee quit), the employ-
er has until the next regularly scheduled payday 
to deliver the final pay. (See Texas Labor Code 
§61.014).

 Hard-to-Reach Employee
Scenarios:

The Incarcerated Employee
Sometimes an employer has an employee who is 
unable to attend work due to being in jail. A key thing 
to remember is that just because an employee is in 
jail, it does not mean that the employer is relieved 
from its obligation to deliver payment according to 
payday law. So, what is an employer to do? First, 

remember that one of the delivery methods that 
is permitted under the Texas Payday Law is to 
deliver the wages to a third party that the employee 
has authorized in writing to receive the paycheck. 
As such, if a family member, or other person who 
is in contact with the incarcerated employee, gets 
the employee’s permission in writing to receive the 
paycheck, the employer could release the paycheck 
to the person so authorized. 

Alternatively, the employer could contact the 
facility that is housing the incarcerated employee 
and ask about the procedures to mail the check to 
the employee. Remember, wages delivered through 
the mail must be sent by registered mail, unless the 
employee agrees to a different, reasonable method 
in writing.

The Deceased Employee 
When an employee passes away, employers 
sometimes ask what the proper method is to 
deliver the deceased employee’s final paycheck. 
The concept that employers want to remember 
here is that the final paycheck belongs to the estate 
of the deceased employee. This means that not just 
anyone can receive the final paycheck. The final 
pay would go to the legal representative of the 
deceased employee’s estate. If the employee was 
married at the time of death, a special affidavit 
can be signed to release the final paycheck to the 
surviving spouse if no executor or administrator 
was appointed to the deceased employee’s 
estate (See Special Wage Delivery Problems – 
Deceased Employee and Unclaimed Wages at: 
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/delivery_of_ 
wages.html).  

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.017
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.017
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.014
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.014
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/delivery_of_wages.html
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The employer should hold an unclaimed paycheck for one year and then contact the Unclaimed Property 
Division of the Texas State Comptroller’s Office for further instruction on what to do with the unclaimed 
check. 

The Disappearing Employee
Our employer hotline has received calls from 
employers who state that an employee has 
worked for them for a few days and then never 
returned to work, without notice or warning to 
anyone. In these situations, the employer should 
review its personnel file to see if it can verify an 
address for the employee. If so, the employer can 
mail the check via registered mail to the address 
that the employee provided. If the employee 
arranged to have pay deposited electronically via 
direct deposit, the employer could deliver wages 
in that manner. But what if the employer mails the 
final paycheck and the paycheck comes back as 
undeliverable? In this scenario, the employer may 
be faced with a situation involving unclaimed 
wages. Unclaimed or abandoned property reverts 
to the state after a certain period of time. The 
employer should hold an unclaimed paycheck for 
one year and then contact the Unclaimed Property 
Division of the Texas State Comptroller’s Office 
for further instruction on what to do with the 
unclaimed paycheck (See Unclaimed Wages at:
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/delivery_of_
wages.html).

 
 

 

Consequences for Failure to Pay?
The consequences for failing to pay an em-

ployee properly can be serious for an employer. 
An employer could face criminal penalties for 
intentionally avoiding payment of wages owed 
to an employee (See Texas Labor Code §61.019).
In addition, an employee who has not been paid 
accordingly could file a claim for unpaid wag-
es with either the Texas Workforce Commission  
or the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and  
Hour Division. 

While this is not an exhaustive list of conse-
quences, it offers a glimpse into what could hap-
pen if employees are not paid properly.

Conclusion
Delivering wages to hard-to-reach employees 

can be challenging, but it is not impossible. It is 
ultimately the employer’s responsibility to ensure 
that wages are delivered in full and on time, 
despite any unusual circumstances that might 
arise. As such, employers should be familiar with 
the proper pay methods and deadlines associated 
with employee paychecks. If you encounter 
a scenario not covered in this article or have 
any other questions, please feel free to call our 
employer hotline at 1-800-832-9394. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.61.htm#61.019
https://twc.texas.gov/news/efte/delivery_of_wages.html
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When Tempers Flare: Employee 
Violence in the Workplace
Elsa G. Ramos/ Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

Most employers do not expect their 
employees to engage in violence in the workplace.  
However, since stress is a large contributor to 
altercations between employees, and most would 
agree that at one time or another they experienced 
stress while at work, it should come as no surprise 
when disagreements or differences of opinion 
erupt into episodes where voices are raised, 
profanity flows freely, threats of physical harm 
are exchanged, and fists begin to fly. When this 
happens, many employers may find themselves 
wondering what to do.  Were they supposed to have 

a policy prohibiting violence? Should they fire the 
employees involved? What about contacting the 
police? Are they legally required to take any action 
at all?  

Workplace Violence Policy 
Employers have an obligation to provide their 

employees with a safe working environment.  
Section 5(a)(1) of the Occupations Safety and Health 
Act requires employers to provide a workplace 
free from hazards, including workplace violence, 
that could result in death or serious physical harm 
(https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/oshact/section5-
duties). To this end, while not legally required, 
having a workplace violence policy is highly 
recommended. The Occupational Health and 
Safety Administration, most commonly known as 
OSHA, recommends that employers adopt a zero-
tolerance policy toward workplace violence. Once 
a policy is implemented, it is important to train and 
familiarize employees on the policy. While neither 
OSHA nor Texas provide a workplace violence 
policy that companies are required to use, the 
sample provided at the conclusion of this article 
may act as a starting point for employers without a 
policy addressing this issue.

Discipline for Employees Involved
Employee discipline is a matter of employer 

discretion in Texas. This means that employers are 
free to choose the appropriate employee discipline 
for violations of employer policy. The same is true 
for incidents of workplace violence. Companies 
may choose to discipline employees differently 
depending on the nature of the offending behavior.  

For example, is this statement from a frustrated 
employee, “If I don’t get that invoice by the end 
of the day, I’m liable to slap someone!” the same 
as, “If that manager doesn’t get off my back… 
I swear!  He’s a dead man!” And what about 
statements that just indirectly reference violence, 
such as the familiar, “Maybe we should just take 
this outside?” Or, if one employee is verbally 
harassing and provoking a co-worker, without any 
physical contact, to the point that the co-worker 
resorts to physical aggression in return, are both 
employees equally culpable? What if two or more 
employees are engaged in a physical brawl, yet 

https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/oshact/section5-duties
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/oshact/section5-duties
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claim they were acting in self-defense? Should all 
employees be treated the same as the aggressor? 
While these questions may not have simple 
answers, organizations should consider different 
scenarios and be prepared with a plan for enforcing 
the policy. 

Employers have multiple disciplinary tools at 
their disposal, such as verbal or written reprimands, 
suspension, probation, demotion, pay cuts, or 
termination. Whatever the organization’s choice of 
discipline, employers should strive for consistency 
and fairness in their treatment of employees and 
compliance with the employer’s duty to provide a 
safe working environment.  

Contacting Local Law Enforcement 
Title 5 of the Texas Penal Code includes 

various chapters that address offenses against 
the person––from simple assault to criminal 
homicide––including specific threats of violence 
(see:https://law.justia.com/codes/texas/2015/
penal-code/title-5/). Depending on the severity 
of one employee’s conduct toward another, or 
on the conduct of a non-employee––such as a 
customer––toward an employee, employers should 
exercise their best judgment. Any decision to 
involve the authorities should consider the safety 

of all involved and the employer’s duty to maintain 
a safe workplace. Of course, simply because an 
employer chooses to not contact law enforcement 
does not preclude any of the individuals involved 
from reporting the incident to the police. 

Conclusion 
Hoping for the best while preparing for the 

worst is how most employers deal with violence 
in the workplace. To that end, having a policy in 
place that addresses this issue, and making sure 
that all employees are aware of the policy, is just 
the beginning of an organization’s action plan 
in ensuring a safe working environment for all 
employees.

Learn More, Do More
For more information on workplace violence 

strategies and prevention, visit:  https://www.osha.
gov/SLTC/workplaceviolence/ and https://www.
tdi.texas.gov/pubs/videoresource/stpwpvio.pdf.

*See page 12 for sample workplace violence policy

Any decision to involve the authorities should consider the safety of all involved and the employer’s duty to 
maintain a safe workplace. 

https://law.justia.com/codes/texas/2015/penal-code/title-5/
https://law.justia.com/codes/texas/2015/penal-code/title-5/
https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/workplaceviolence/
https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/workplaceviolence/
https://www.tdi.texas.gov/pubs/videoresource/stpwpvio.pdf
https://www.tdi.texas.gov/pubs/videoresource/stpwpvio.pdf
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Sample Workplace Violence Policy
XYZ Corporation (XYZ) has a zero-tolerance policy for violence in the work-
place. “Workplace violence” is defined to include: 

1. Physically aggressive, violent or threatening behavior, such as attempts to
instill fear in others or intimidation;
2. Verbal or physical threats of any sort;
3. Any other conduct that suggests a tendency toward violent behavior. Such
behavior includes, but is not limited to, excessive arguing, profanity, threats
of sabotage of XYZ property, belligerent speech or a demonstrated pattern of
insubordination and refusal to follow XYZ policies and procedures;
4. Causing physical damage to XYZ’s facilities or defacing company property;
or
5. With the exception of XYZ security personnel, carrying firearms or weapons
of any type or kind onto XYZ premises, or while conducting XYZ business.

If any XYZ employee becomes aware of or observes any of the above-refer-
enced behavior or actions by a co-worker, consultant, customer, third party 
vendor, visitor, or any other party, he or she should notify his/her supervisor, 
any member of management, and/or the human resources department im-
mediately. Employees should notify the human resources department if they 
are aware of any restraining orders that are in effect, or of the existence of any 
other non-work-related situation with the potential to erupt into workplace 
violence. 

All reports of violence in the XYZ workplace will be taken seriously and will be 
investigated thoroughly and promptly. To the extent possible, XYZ will keep 
the identity of the reporting employee confidential. However, under certain 
circumstances, XYZ may need to disclose the reporting employee’s identity 
(for example, to protect that individual’s safety). XYZ will not tolerate retali-
ation in any form against an employee who makes a report of workplace vio-
lence. 

If, after a thorough investigation, XYZ determines that workplace violence has 
occurred, appropriate corrective action will be taken, and discipline will be 
imposed on the offending employee(s). The level of appropriate discipline will 
depend on the facts in each case, and may include oral or written warnings, 
reassignment of responsibilities, probation, suspension, or termination. If a 
non-employee is responsible for the violent activities, XYZ will take corrective 
action to ensure that such behavior is not repeated.  

--Author: the late Renee Miller, Legal Counsel at the Office of the 
Commissioner Representing Employers, January 1989 – November 2011. 
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Frequently Asked Questions 
from Employers
By William T. (Tommy) Simmons / Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

Q: I heard that there is a new salary requirement, but I thought 
there was already a new requirement in 2016. 

A: The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) proposed in late 2016 to increase the minimum salary 
requirement for a salaried exempt employee to $913 per week, but that regulation was invalidat-
ed by a court decision in 2016. DOL spent 2017 and 2018 revising the salary proposal, and on 
March 7, 2019, that agency announced a new rule proposing a more modest increase, from $455/
week to $679/week. More information about the proposed rule is available at www.dol.gov/whd/
overtime2019. The DOL has invited comments, which can be submitted electronically at www.
regulations.gov in the rulemaking docket RIN 1235-AA20. Comments may be submitted until 
early May, 2019 - check the DOL website at www.dol.gov/whd for the latest on how the comment  

Can an employer automatically deduct one hour for lunch? It 
states in our handbook lunch is one hour for office employees. 
Some of our employees take a lunch, but won’t clock out. Q:
period and the rule are progressing.

A: An employer must keep exact track of all time worked by non-exempt employees. That includes 
any portion of a lunch hour that an employee does not take. Failing to clock out for a lunch break 
would be a policy violation. Failing to take a lunch break might also be a policy violation. In both 
cases, the legal response would be to administer appropriate corrective action for the policy vio-
lation. It would not be legal to fail to pay the employees for the time actually worked. It would be 
important to send a very clear message, both in the policy and through warnings, that employees 
must take their lunch breaks as scheduled and that they do not have permission to work through 
lunch unless they have advance permission from a designated supervisor. Also, make it clear that 
failing to properly record all work time and to clock out for lunch breaks will result in appropriate 
disciplinary action, up to and possibly including termination of employment. Before firing some-
one for persistent violations, it would be best to give them a clear, formal, final written warning 
– see item 12 in the topic “Discipline” in our book Especially for Texas Employers at www.twc.
state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html.

Sample Workplace Violence Policy

https://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime2019/
https://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime2019/
https://www.regulations.gov/
https://www.regulations.gov/
https://www.dol.gov/whd/
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html
http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte/discipline.html
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I have an employee requesting a foot stool for her back and 
a neck rest for her phone. Is an employer required to provide 
this equipment? Q:

A: Assuming that your company is large enough (15 or more employees) to be covered by the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and that the employee who is requesting a foot stool and 
a neck rest for her phone has a protected disability, furnishing those items as a way of helping her 
minimize the effects of her disability could easily be considered a reasonable accommodation 
under the ADA. No particular equipment is required at any particular work station. When 
dealing with accommodations for disabilities, each situation will be different, and it is common 
to work out a customized solution for each employee who needs an accommodation. In terms of 
legal obligation to furnish an accommodation, the ADA would require the employer to furnish 
an accommodation if it makes sense for the job and can be done without undue hardship to the 
company. In the situation described in your inquiry, it sounds like the footstool and the neck 
rest for the phone would be very inexpensive and simple accommodations to make. A good 
resource for researching potential workplace accommodations for various kinds of disabilities 
is the Job Accommodations Network, which is a joint project of the U.S. Department of Labor, 
the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and other business sponsors, and a university partner. Learn 
more at www.askjan.org.

Are there any Texas laws that require employers to tell their 
employees they have to deal with professional work e-mail 
on their personal phones?Q:

A: There is no Texas or federal law prohibiting employers from requiring employees to accept 
work-related messages on a personal e-mail, text, or social media account. That having been 
said, if the company requires employees to read, respond to, or otherwise process such mes-
sages during any off-duty time, the time spent by the employee in such an activity would 
be work time. Salaried exempt employees would not have to be paid anything extra beyond 
the agreed-upon salary to deal with work-related e-mails or texts during off-duty hours, but 
non-exempt employees should be paid for such work time at their regular rate of pay. If such 
work causes the non-exempt employee to go into overtime for the workweek in question, the 
company would need to do an overtime pay calculation for that week. Many HR professionals 
and personnel consultants are advising companies to limit off-duty work activities such as re-
sponding to messages from their bosses, since it often boils down to a quality of life issue that 
can affect employee retention and morale. One other potential issue involves minimum wage: if 
an employee is required to obtain a cell phone and pay data access fees just to get work-related 
texts and e-mails from the employer, and the employee’s pay is close enough to minimum wage 
to where the costs for the phone and data service would take the employee’s gross pay below 
minimum wage, the employer would need to reimburse at least enough of the employee’s costs 
to where minimum wage would not be an issue.

http://www.askjan.org
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Q:

WE 
HIRE
VETS

ARE YOU AN EMPLOYER? 
TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THESE OPPORTUNITIES

ARE YOU AN EMPLOYER?
IS YOUR WORKFORCE

COMPOSED OF 
10% MILITARY VETERANS?
WE WANT TO RECOGNIZE

YOU FOR OUR 
"WE HIRE VETS" PROGRAM

FOR MORE 
INFORMATION

GO TO: WWW.TEXASOPERATIONWELCOMEHOME.COM

TO LEARN MORE:  
TxHireAbility.texasworkforce.org

Employing individuals with disabilities is cost-effective.

33                       
  %   of hiring managers and executives reported

that employees with disabilities stay in their
  jobs longer. 

Employees with disabilities are rated by supervisors as being 
equally or more productive than coworkers and as achieving equal 
or better overall job performance. 

59%
of accommodations 
cost nothing, while 
most others have a 

one-time cost of  
$500 or less. 

http://WWW.TEXASOPERATIONWELCOMEHOME.COM
https://www.twc.texas.gov/partners/texas-hireability
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Business and Legal Briefs
By William T. (Tommy) Simmons / Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

Reporting and Taxation of Employees’ Tips
A frequent question is how to deal with tipped 

employees who do not seem to be fully and accurately 
reporting their tips. Some people mistakenly believe 
that tips are somehow exempt from reporting and 
taxation. That is not true. Under the law, tips are 
considered part of an employee’s personal income 
that must be reported to the IRS and income tax paid 
thereon. The IRS has prepared some helpful materials 
for tipped employees and their employers to use to 
track, log, account for, report, and pay tax on tips 
from customers. Those materials regarding tipped 
employees are on the IRS Forms and Publications 
pages listed and linked at https://www.irs.gov/forms-
pubs-search?search=tipped+employee. Reading those 
materials and using the included forms can greatly 
simplify the task of complying with the tax laws.

Don’t Let Discrimination and Harassment 
Go Unpunished

As the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals ruled in 
Smelter v. Southern Home Care Services, 904 F.3d 
1276 (11th Cir. 2018), a discrimination charge based 
on a hostile work environment cannot simply be 
dismissed if the facts show that the employer failed to 
properly handle racial slurs and degrading stereotypes 
that were directed by an employee’s coworker toward 
the employee. Once discrimination or harassment has 
come to an employer’s attention, the only prudent 
course of action is to immediately investigate and take 
prompt remedial action to stop further problems and 
deal appropriately with the offender.

Vocational Education Students Not 
Employees Under FLSA

The 10th Circuit Court of Appeals has ruled that 
vocational education students at for-profit massage 
therapy schools are not employees under the FLSA 
with regard to the massages they do as part of their 
training, and that they are not entitled to minimum 
wage and/or overtime pay for the work done for their 
training (Nesbitt v. FCNH, Inc., 908 F.3d 643 (10th Cir. 
November 9, 2018)). As the court held, “The district 
court determined that the six factors announced 
in Reich v. Parker Fire Protection District, 992 
F.2d 1023 (10th Cir. 1993), when considered in their
totality, resulted in a finding that the students were not
employees of Steiner (Nesbitt, 217 F. Supp. 3d at 1294).
The district court came to that conclusion because (1)

the students received vocational training from Steiner, 
(2) the training primarily benefited the students because
they were required to complete hours of clinical time
for their licenses, (3) the students did not displace
regular employees and worked under supervision of
Steiner instructors, (4) there was no genuine issue of
material fact regarding the profit Steiner made from
operating its schools, (5) the students were not entitled
to employment upon completion of their training, and
(6) the students and Steiner both understood that the
students were not entitled to wages during their time
spent training.” The appeals court agreed with the
district court's analysis on each point and affirmed the
lower court's ruling.

Age Discrimination Law Applies to All 
Units of State and Local Government

The U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in Mount Lemmon 
Fire Dist. v. Guido, 139 S. Ct. 22 (November 6, 2018) 
makes it clear that the ADEA’s prohibitions against 
age-related discrimination apply to all units of state 
and local government, even if such employers have 
fewer than 20 employees. The Court focused on the 
definition of “employer” in the ADEA (29 U.S.C. § 
630(b)): “The term ‘employer’ means a person engaged 
in an industry affecting commerce who has twenty or 
more employees . . . . The term also means (1) any 
agent of such a person, and (2) a State or political 
subdivision of a State . . . .” As a reminder, the ADEA 
and the corresponding provision in the Texas Labor 
Code prohibit age discrimination against employees 
who are 40 years of age or older.

E-Verify Affected by Government Shutdown
During the recent government shutdown in very 

early 2019, employers found that they were unable to 
use the E-Verify system for employment authorization 
checks. Many employment law attorneys told their 
clients that the best way to deal with such problems 
is to document the unsuccessful attempts to access 
the system, including proof of the date and time of 
the attempts, and obtain printouts of error messages 
that come up during periods of inaccessibility. Such 
documentation will help an employer show that it tried 
everything it could to avoid problems and perform the 
checks required under the law.

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs-search?search=tipped+employee
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs-search?search=tipped+employee
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86th Texas Legislature: 
Employment-Related Bills  
By William T. (Tommy) Simmons / Legal Counsel to Chair Ruth R. Hughs

The 2019 general session of the Texas Legislature will extend from January through the end of May, 
2019. It will be very important for Texas employers to follow the events of this legislative session due to 
the significant number of employment-related bills that have been and will be filed this year. Although not 
all bills make it into the law, all of the bills are important because they tend to reflect what is on the minds 
of the members of the Legislature and of the voters who elect them. Moreover, some bills that do not pass 
in one session may pass in a future session, so they serve as predictors of legal trends in the state. With 
that in mind, here is a survey of the most significant employment-related legislation that has been filed up 
through mid-January, 2019. The list is organized into subject areas and shows the bill number and the bill 
caption indicating the subject matter of the bill.

Civil Rights - Discrimination
HB 188 Relating to the prohibition of housing discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or 

gender identity or expression and to the enforcement of that prohibition.

HB 244 Relating to the prohibition of certain discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender 
identity or expression.

HB 254 Relating to the prohibition of certain discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender 
identity or expression.

HB 287 Relating to unlawful employment practices regarding discrimination in payment of 
compensation.

HB 393 Relating to certain unlawful employment practices regarding compensation. (prohibits 
salary history inquiries)

HB 619 Relating to damages in certain claims involving sexual assault or sexual harassment.

HB 850 Relating to the prohibition of employment discrimination based on sexual orientation or 
gender identity or expression.

SB 46 Relating to the prohibition against sexual harassment in the workplace.

SB 56 Relating to employment discrimination training for members of the legislature and state or 
legislative employees and interns.

SB 112 Relating to unlawful employment practices regarding discrimination in payment of 
compensation.

SB 151 Relating to the prohibition of certain discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender 
identity or expression. (condition of contracting with the state)

SB 160 Relating to a prohibition on sex discrimination in compensation.

SB 212
Relating to reporting requirement for certain incidents of sexual harassment, 
sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking at certain public and private institutions of 
higher education.
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Human Resources – General

HB 144 Relating to the consideration by employers of the consumer credit reports of employees 
and applicants for employment.

HB 495 Relating to the consideration of criminal history record information regarding applicants for 
employment. (“ban the box”)

HB 504 Relating to employment protections for a person serving as a grand juror.

HB 574 Relating to the consequences of successfully completing a period of deferred adjudication 
community supervision.

HB 618 Relating to the prohibition of certain required nondisclosure and arbitration agreements.

HB 621 Relating to prohibited adverse employment action against an employee who in good faith 
reports child abuse or neglect.

HB 682 Relating to the establishment of a pilot program for the issuance of digital identification.

SB 91 Relating to certain unlawful employment practices relating to the reporting of  
criminal offenses.

SB 120 Relating to criminal history record information obtained or disseminated by  
certain private entities.

SB 159 Relating to the prohibition of certain required nondisclosure and arbitration agreements.

Immigration / E-Verify
SB 197 Relating to requiring state contractors to participate in the federal electronic verification of 

employment authorization program, or E-verify.

Pay / Benefits / Wage and Hour
HB 48 Relating to a database of employers penalized for failure to pay wages or convicted of 

certain offenses involving wage theft.

HB 83 Relating to administrative penalties assessed by the Texas Workforce Commission against 
certain employers for failure to pay wages.

HB 106 Relating to employer retaliation against employees who seek recovery of unpaid wages 
and procedures in wage claim hearings conducted by the Texas Workforce Commission.

HB 133
Relating to the payment of gratuities to certain employees.
(Employers must allow tipped employees to keep all of their tips; no exception for tip pools 
or credit card fees).

HB 169 Relating to the requirement that contractors verify compliance with wage payment laws in 
governmental contracts with governmental entities.

HB 194 Relating to the minimum wage. ($15.00/hour)

HB 222 Relating to prohibiting a municipality from requiring an employer to provide  
paid sick leave.
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Pay / Benefits / Wage and Hour (continued)

HB 328
Relating to authorization for a county or municipality to establish a local  
minimum wage.

Relating to the period during which an employee may file a claim for unpaid wages with the 
Texas Workforce Commission. (deadline extended from 180 days to  
one full year)

Relating to the requirement that certain employers provide advance notice  
of employee work schedules.

Relating to the minimum wage. ($10.10/hour)

Urging Congress to raise the federal minimum wage to $15 an hour.

Proposing a constitutional amendment establishing an increased minimum wage.  
($10.10/hour)

Relating to the minimum wage. ($10.10/hour)

Relating to authorization for a county or municipality to establish a local minimum wage.

Relating to a database of employers penalized for failure to pay wages or convicted of 
certain offenses involving wage theft.

A joint resolution proposing a constitutional amendment establishing an increased 
minimum wage. ($10.10/hour)

HB 399

HB 640

HB 820

HCR 30

HJR 45

SB 113

SB 161

SB 162

SJR 22

Regulatory / Finance / Enforcement / Criminal Penalties
HB 579 Relating to the criminal offense of unlawfully prohibiting an employee from voting.

SB 370 Relating to employment protections for jury service.

Unemployment Insurance
HB 572 Relating to eligibility for unemployment compensation for employees who leave the 

workplace due to sexual harassment.

Workers’ Compensation
HB 750 /
SB 163

Relating to required provision of workers’ compensation insurance coverage for employees 
of building and construction contractors and subcontractors.

Workforce Miscellaneous
HB 285 Relating to work requirements and employment and training services for certain 

persons receiving benefits under the supplemental nutrition assistance program.

HB 459 Relating to the placement and use of video recording equipment in certain 
child-care facilities.
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