Texas Department of Family and Protective Services Requirements for Listed Family Homes

The Texas Workforce Commission requires that relatives who care for a child in the relative's home be listed with the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) in order to be eligible to be reimbursed for providing child care services. Once listed with DFPS, you will be required to comply with DFPS rules and all provisions of Chapter 42 of the Texas Human Resources Code (the child care licensing law) that apply to listed family homes. As a listed family home, you must be aware of and comply with the DFPS requirements for listed family homes outlined in this document.

The following caregivers are required to list with DFPS

An individual at least 18 years old who provides care for compensation for three or fewer children, aged birth through 13 years, who are unrelated to the caregiver. The care is provided for at least four hours a day, three or more days a week, for three or more consecutive weeks or four hours a day for 40 or more in a 12-month period.

Total number of children in care

The total number of children in care, including children related to the caregiver, may not exceed 12*. A caregiver who is subject to regulation as a listed family home and wishes to care for any unrelated children is required to get an FBI fingerprint check for themselves and anyone else that is required to have a background check. A caregiver who is subject to regulation as a listed family home who wishes to care for more than three children unrelated to the caregiver must instead become a registered child care home.

*Note: Your Local Workforce Development Board may have a local policy limiting the number of subsidized children you can care for.

Annual Fee Renewal

You are required to pay an annual fee of \$20. DFPS will notify you when your annual fee is due. Failure to pay the annual fee will result in revocation of the listing permit and you will not be allowed to receive a subsidy for providing child care services.

Background Check Requirements

You must continue to submit background check information, using the Request for Criminal History and Central Registry Check, Form 2971, for the following:

- Individuals who regularly or frequently work or live in the home and are turning 14 years of age; and
- New individuals regularly or frequently working or living in the home.

Background check information for these individuals must be submitted within two business days after the individual turns 14 years of age or is newly present in the home.

You must resubmit background check requests for all individuals once every 24 months after you first submit an individual's name to DFPS.

There is a \$2 fee for each background check requested. Send completed Listing Family Home Fee Schedule, Form 3008, with payment to the address listed on the form.

Required Notification to DFPS

You are required to notify DFPS if you move or close your family home.