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CHAPTER 809. CHILD CARE SERVICES 1 
 2 
ADOPTED RULES WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS 3 

REGISTER. THIS DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS 4 
SUBJECT TO FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE TEXAS REGISTER. 5 
                                                                                                               6 
ON JUNE 14, 2018, THE TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION ADOPTED THE BELOW 7 

RULES WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS REGISTER. 8 
 9 
Estimated date of publication in the Texas Register:  June 29, 2018 10 
The rules will take effect:  July 4, 2018 11 

 12 
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) adopts the following new section to Chapter 809, 13 
relating to Child Care Services, without changes, as published in the March 2, 2018, issue of the 14 
Texas Register (43 TexReg 1236): 15 

 16 
Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §809.55 17 

 18 
TWC adopts amendments to the following sections of Chapter 809, relating to Child Care 19 

Services, without changes, as published in the March 2, 2018, issue of the Texas Register (43 20 
TexReg 1236): 21 
 22 

Subchapter A. General Provisions, §809.2 23 

Subchapter B. General Management, §809.13 and §809.19 24 
Subchapter D. Parent Rights and Responsibilities, §809.71, and §809.75 25 
Subchapter E. Requirements to Provide Child Care, §809.93 26 

 27 

TWC adopts amendments to the following section of Chapter 809, relating to Child Care 28 
Services, with changes, as published in the March 2, 2018, issue of the Texas Register (43 29 
TexReg 1236): 30 
 31 

Subchapter D. Parent Rights and Responsibilities, §809.78 32 
 33 

PART I.    PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 34 
PART II.      EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS WITH COMMENTS AND RESPONSES 35 

 36 
PART I.  PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 37 
The purpose of the adopted Chapter 809 amendments is to include changes resulting from the 38 
federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) final rules published September 30, 2016, 39 

and the CCDF Final Rule Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) published December 14, 2016, by 40 
the US Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families 41 
(ACF).   42 
 43 

The federal Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act requires state lead agencies 44 
to ensure that once a child is determined eligible for CCDF-subsidized services, the child shall be 45 
considered eligible and shall receive services for a minimum of 12 months before eligibility can 46 
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be redetermined. The December 15, 2015, Notice of Proposed Rule Making (NPRM) issued by 1 
ACF, the federal administrator of the CCDBG Act, allows terminating care before 12 months 2 
only in situations in which: 3 

--a change in family income caused the family's income to exceed 85 percent of the state median 4 
income (SMI); or 5 
--a parent experiences a loss of work or cessation of attendance at a job training or educational 6 
program that is not a temporary change as defined in NPRM §98.21(a)(1)(ii). 7 

 8 
As the CCDBG Act and the guidance published in the NPRM required states to demonstrate 9 
compliance with the 12-month eligibility requirements by October 1, 2016, TWC adopted rules 10 

September 6, 2016, to be effective October 1, 2016. Subsequently, in the final rules, ACF revised 11 
its initial position in response to comments, adding new limited circumstances in which a lead 12 
agency may discontinue assistance before the next scheduled redetermination. Given that TWC's 13 
rules predated the CCDF final rules, ACF's additional factors were not included in current 14 

Chapter 809 rules; to be consistent with federal law and to ensure that Texas receives the benefit 15 
of any additional federal flexibility, TWC must add these new additional criteria to Chapter 809 16 
rules. Specifically, care may be discontinued where there has been: 17 
--excessive unexplained absences, which continue after sufficient notice to the parent and 18 

provider; or 19 
--intentional program violations that invalidate prior determinations of eligibility, including 20 
nonpayment of the family co-payment.  21 
 22 

Termination for Excessive Unexplained Absences 23 
New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) states that lead agencies may terminate care in circumstances in 24 
which there have been "excessive unexplained absences" as defined by the state. Section 25 
98.21(a)(5)(i) also requires that before terminating care for excessive absences, multiple attempts 26 

must be made to contact the family and the provider, including notification of possible 27 
discontinuation of assistance. Additionally, the preamble to the CCDF final rules includes the 28 
following guidance:  29 
 30 

Regarding termination due to excessive unexplained absences, we stress that every effort 31 
should be made to contact the family prior to terminating benefits. Such efforts should be 32 
made by the Lead Agency or designated entity, which may include coordinated efforts 33 
with the provider to contact the family.  34 

 35 
If a State chooses to terminate for this reason, the Lead Agency must define how many 36 
unexplained absences would constitute an "excessive" amount and therefore grounds for 37 
early termination. The definition of excessive should not be used as a mechanism for 38 

prematurely terminating eligibility and must be sufficient to allow for a reasonable 39 
number of absences. It is ACF's view that unexplained absences should account for at 40 
least 15 percent of a child's planned attendance before such absences are considered 41 
excessive. This 15 percent aligns generally with Head Start's attendance policy and ACF 42 

will consider it as a benchmark when reviewing and monitoring this requirement.   43 
 44 

Termination for Intentional Program Violations  45 
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New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(iii) allows states to terminate care for "intentional program violations 1 
that invalidate prior determinations of eligibility." ACF further clarified in the CCDF FAQ that 2 
states have flexibility to define nonpayment of parent share of cost as an intentional program 3 

violation. Additionally, 45 CFR §98.45(k)(3) states that a lead agency's sliding fee scale shall 4 
provide for "affordable family co-payments that are not a barrier to families receiving assistance 5 
under this part." Therefore, if lack of payment becomes a common occurrence, and lead agencies 6 
are frequently ending assistance to families for not making co-payment, the lead agency may 7 

want to reexamine its sliding fee scale to ensure that it is not in violation of this requirement by 8 
being a barrier to assistance. 9 
 10 
PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS WITH COMMENTS AND 11 

RESPONSES 12 
(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the meaning of the rules and, 13 
therefore, are not discussed in the Explanation of Individual Provisions.) 14 
 15 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS     16 
TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter A. 17 
 18 
§809.2. Definitions 19 

Consistent with 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i), TWC defines how many unexplained absences 20 
constitute an "excessive" amount, and would therefore be grounds for early termination, by 21 
proposing to amend §809.2 to define "excessive unexplained absences" as more than 40 22 
unexplained absences in a 12-month eligibility period.  23 

 24 
Paragraphs have been renumbered as needed. 25 
 26 

Comment: Several commenters requested clarification of the definition of "excessive 27 

unexplained absences" with regard to "Z" days (missed attendance recordings) counting 28 
toward the determination, as well as how to determine if an absence can later be 29 
"explained." 30 
 31 

Response: TWC clarifies that because termination does not occur until after 40 32 
unexplained absences accrue, absences that are due to documented chronic illness or 33 
disability or a court-ordered custody or visitation agreement may be removed from the 34 
accrual count.  Additionally, if the parent or provider calls in a timely manner to explain 35 

why attendance recording was missed and is correcting the issue (i.e., the parent timely 36 
requests a replacement attendance tracking card or the provider requests to replace faulty 37 
equipment), those absences may be removed from the accrual, per local Board policy. 38 
Both parents and providers share responsibility for reporting attendance and for 39 

documenting reasons for absences; providers must ensure that the attendance recording 40 
device is available, connected and working properly, and parents are obligated to report 41 
attendance using the attendance recording device or through the 1-800 number. Parents 42 
also have the opportunity to revise attendance reporting within 6 days to correct instances 43 

of “Z” days where no attendance is reported. Parents may also call the Agency’s Child 44 
Care Services unit to report the issue.  The limit of 40 unexplained absences before 45 
termination takes into consideration reasonable amount of general absences (including 46 
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absences coded as “I”, “A,” or “C”) for non-chronic conditions before a child’s 1 
authorization for care is disrupted. Although not every missed attendance recording, or 2 
“Z” day, can justifiably be removed from the absence count, TWC emphasizes it is 3 

critical that the reporting system be used and reasons for absences be provided.  4 
 5 
Comment: One commenter asked for a detailed explanation of the statement, "intentional 6 
program violations that invalidate prior determinations of eligibility" as it was discussed 7 

in the preamble. 8 
 9 
Response: New 45 CFR 98.21(a)(5)(iii) allows lead agencies the option to discontinue 10 
assistance before the next redetermination in limited circumstances, including the 11 

presence of "intentional program violations," and allows lead agencies to define what 12 
actions rise to this definition. TWC uses §809.19(d) to identify failure to pay the parent 13 
share of cost as an intentional program violation that may invalidate a previous 14 
determination of eligibility and allow for termination of child care services.  15 

 16 
SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL MANAGEMENT     17 
TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter B. 18 
 19 

§809.13. Board Policies for Child Care Services 20 
Based on ACF's clarification in the CCDF FAQ that states have flexibility to define nonpayment 21 
of parent share of cost as an intentional program violation, TWC proposes to amend 22 
§809.13(c)(3) to require Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards) to include in their 23 

parent share of cost policies an explanation that failure to pay the parent share of cost is a 24 
program violation that is subject to early termination of child care. The Board's policy also must 25 
include an assessment of what constitutes affordability when frequent terminations occur 26 
pursuant to §809.19(d) - (e).   27 

 28 
Comment: Several comments were received requesting additional information on the 29 
criteria for determining the affordability of the parent share of cost.  30 
 31 

Response: Boards have flexibility in establishing their parent share of cost policy. Boards 32 
are encouraged to review the labor market, housing costs and economic conditions in 33 
their workforce areas, and other factors relevant in determining general affordability 34 
when establishing this policy.  If a Board finds that excessive terminations are occurring 35 

due to failure to pay the parent share of cost, the Board must reevaluate its policy of 36 
affordability of care in the local area and determine whether local economic conditions 37 
have changed in order to determine if the sliding fee scale in the parent share of cost 38 
policy is a barrier to assistance. 39 

 40 
Comment: One comment was received regarding §809.13(c)(3)(A), asking TWC to 41 
clarify that termination of care due to failure to pay the parent share of cost is subject to 42 
local flexibility. 43 

 44 
Response: Although board policies may vary in considering the circumstances and the 45 
factors in place to mitigate the issue before termination of services, boards must terminate 46 
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care when an intentional violation of program rules related to paying parent share of cost 1 
has occurred. 2 
 3 

Comment: One comment was received regarding keeping all Board-required policies 4 
within §809.13, Board Policies for Child Care Services.   5 
 6 
Response: TWC understands the concern; however, §809.19(d) and §809.78(d) are 7 

intended to provide additional information that must be taken into consideration when 8 
developing the policy discussed in §809.13.  For consistency with terminology, 9 
§809.78(d) is amended to remove "develop procedures to” in the rule.  The rule now 10 
begins with "Boards shall ensure. . ." 11 

 12 
§809.19. Assessing the Parent Share of Cost 13 
ACF noted in the CCDF FAQ that 45 CFR §98.45(k)(3) states that a lead agency's sliding fee 14 
scale shall provide for "affordable family co-payments that are not a barrier to families receiving 15 

assistance under this part." Therefore, if lack of payment becomes a common occurrence, and 16 
lead agencies are frequently ending assistance to families for not paying their co-payment, the 17 
lead agency may want to reexamine its sliding fee scale to ensure that it is not in violation of this 18 
requirement by being a barrier to assistance. 19 

 20 
Consistent with ACF guidance, §809.19(a)(1)(B) is amended to include a reexamination of the 21 
sliding fee scale if the Board finds a pattern of frequent terminations due to lack of co-payments. 22 
Additionally, §809.19(a)(1)(C) is amended to require Boards to set a parent share of cost that is 23 

affordable to all eligible families in the workforce area and not a barrier to families receiving 24 
assistance.  25 
 26 
New §809.19(d) is added to provide necessary criteria to the process for terminating child care 27 

for failure to pay the parent share of cost, including requirements for: 28 
--evaluating a family's financial circumstances for possible reduction of the parent share of cost 29 
before an early termination for nonpayment of parent share of cost;  30 
--determining general affordability of the parent share of cost;  31 

--maintenance of a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of cost;  32 
--the Board's definition of what constitutes frequent terminations; and  33 
--the Board's process for assessing the general affordability of its parent share of cost schedule.  34 
 35 

New §809.19(e) is added to require Boards to reexamine their sliding fee scales if there are 36 
frequent terminations of care for lack of payment of the parent share of cost, and to adjust the fee 37 
schedule to ensure that fees are not a barrier to assistance for families at certain income levels. 38 
 39 

New §809.19(f) is added to state that if a Board does not have a policy to reimburse providers 40 
when the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost, the Board has the option to require parents 41 
to repay the provider before being eligible for future child care services. 42 
 43 

The current provision that prohibits a child's future eligibility when a parent owes a parent share 44 
of cost repayment to a Board if the Board has a policy in place that reimburses providers for 45 
parents' unpaid fees is retained. Given the ability to terminate care before 12 months when a 46 
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parent fails to pay the parent share of cost, the financial risks associated with reimbursing 1 
providers will be substantially lower and more limited.   2 
 3 

Subsections and paragraphs are relettered and renumbered as needed. 4 
 5 

Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(2) and identifying the 6 
general criteria for determining affordability of a Board's parent share of cost. 7 

 8 
Response: Boards have flexibility in establishing their parent share of cost policy. Boards 9 
are encouraged to review the labor market, housing costs and economic conditions in 10 
their workforce areas, and other factors relevant in determining general affordability 11 

when establishing this policy.  If a Board finds that excessive terminations are occurring 12 
due to failure to pay the parent share of cost, the Board must reevaluate its policy of 13 
affordability of care in the local area and determine whether local economic conditions 14 
have changed in order to determine if the sliding fee scale in the parent share of cost 15 

policy is a barrier to assistance.  16 
 17 
Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(3) and how to 18 
maintain a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of cost that 19 

includes family size, income, family circumstances, and the reason for termination. 20 
 21 
Response: TWC is scheduling upgrades in The Workforce Information System of Texas 22 
(TWIST) to reinstate several termination codes to help track terminations and to assist 23 

Boards in identifying patterns of frequent terminations. 24 
 25 
Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(4), which allows 26 
Boards to define what constitutes frequent terminations of care related to nonpayment of 27 

parent share of cost, and what parameters are used to determine the general affordability 28 
of a Board's parent share of cost schedule. 29 
 30 
Response: Boards have flexibility in establishing their parent share of cost policy, 31 

including what constitutes frequent terminations of care related to nonpayment of parent 32 
share of cost. Boards are encouraged to review the labor market, housing costs and 33 
economic conditions in their workforce areas, and other factors relevant in determining 34 
general affordability and frequent terminations of care when establishing this policy.  If a 35 

Board finds that excessive terminations are occurring due to failure to pay the parent 36 
share of cost, the Board must reevaluate its policy of affordability of care in the local area 37 
and determine whether local economic conditions have changed in order to determine if 38 
the sliding fee scale in the parent share of cost policy is a barrier to assistance. 39 

 40 
Comment: One commenter asked if the requirement to evaluate and document a family's 41 
financial situation for extenuating circumstances that may affect affordability of the 42 
assessed parent share of cost, and a possible temporary reduction before the Board or its 43 

contractor may terminate care, must only happen if a parent requests a parent share of 44 
cost reduction.  45 
 46 
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Response: The Board must attempt to evaluate and document a family's financial 1 
situation for extenuating circumstances that may affect the family's ability to pay the 2 
assessed share of cost each time a parent is reported for failure to pay the share of cost.  3 

 4 
Comment: One commenter asked if Boards can limit the number of parent share of cost 5 
reductions allowed in a 12-month eligibility period.  6 
 7 

Response:  The Board must assess the family's financial situation for extenuating 8 
circumstances each time the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost. Evaluations 9 
cannot be limited to a certain number of times per year. However, Board policy may 10 
establish how many parent-initiated parent share of cost reduction requests a family may 11 

make within an eligibility period.  12 
 13 
Comment: Two commenters indicated that the evaluations and possible reduction of a 14 
parent share of cost based on a family's extenuating circumstances will increase Board 15 

expenditures for those Boards that have a policy of reimbursing providers for unpaid 16 
parent share of cost and may cause an undue burden on Boards that are already 17 
overenrolled.  18 
 19 

Response: Reexamining and adjusting the sliding fee scale to ensure that parent fees are 20 
not a barrier to assistance for families at certain levels is a federal requirement. Board 21 
policy may establish how many parent-initiated parent share of cost reduction requests a 22 
parent is allowed to make within an eligibility period, however an assessment of the 23 

family’s financial situation for extenuating circumstances must be completed each time 24 
the family is reported for non-payment. 25 
 26 
Comment: One comment was received regarding §809.19(f) and whether late fees that a 27 

provider charges are included as fees that the Board can require a family to pay to the 28 
provider, along with any unpaid parent share of cost, before the family can be 29 
redetermined eligible for future child care services. 30 
 31 

Response: No, late fees are not a part of the monthly cost of care assessed with the child 32 
care services eligibility determination. Late fees charged are outside the scope of child 33 
care services and are directly assessed to the parent by the provider. A provider may 34 
stipulate that a parent cannot return the child to care until late fees are paid, but for 35 

eligibility for future child care services, the repayment addressed in Board policy relates 36 
only to unpaid parent share of cost.  37 
 38 
Comment: One commenter asked if it is allowable to inform parents in writing to notify 39 

child care services in advance of the monthly parent share of cost due date if the parents 40 
have difficulty paying their parent share of cost.  41 
 42 
Response: Under §809.71(16), relating to parent rights, a Board shall ensure that the 43 

Board's child care contractor informs the parent in writing that the parent has the right to 44 
receive written notification of possible termination of child care services for failure to 45 
pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). Although Boards have the flexibility 46 
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to request that parents notify child care services in advance of the new month if the 1 
parents anticipate having difficulty in paying the parent share of cost, terminating child 2 
care due to a failure to notify the Board in advance would create a new category of 3 

intentional program violation and is not one of the types of intentional program violations 4 
defined in federal statute at §98.21(a)(5) or child care services rules at §809.13(c)(3)(A). 5 
An evaluation of the family's financial circumstances must still take place to determine 6 
any extenuating factors that may have affected the family's ability to pay. Additionally, if 7 

a failure to pay the parent share of cost is identified, the termination notice must still be 8 
sent to the family before care can be terminated.    9 
 10 
Comment: One commenter asked if a family's inability to pay the parent share of cost 11 

automatically qualifies the family for a fee reduction, and about the level of effort that 12 
child care services staff would have to invest in gathering the documents to assess if a 13 
parent qualifies for a fee reduction. Additionally, the commenter asked how the 14 
delinquent share of cost will be resolved if a parent share of cost is already past due and a 15 

future reduction is applied.    16 
 17 
One commenter asked whether, if the family refuses to provide documentation to allow 18 
Boards to complete this evaluation, it will suffice for Boards to document their attempts 19 

and the family's noncooperation. 20 
 21 
Response: Section 809.19(c)(3) requires Boards to establish a policy on assessment of a 22 
parent share of cost, to include information that failure to pay is a program violation 23 

subject to early termination of child care services. In their local policy, Boards have 24 
flexibility in providing direction on how to proceed if a family is not cooperative or 25 
responsive to the attempts to evaluate the family's financial situation for extenuating 26 
circumstances, pursuant to §809.19(d)(1).  There are many possible ways a past due 27 

parent share of cost could be reduced or resolved, depending on when the non-payment is 28 
reported. TWC is issuing guidance on how to resolve a past due share of cost and a future 29 
fee reduction. 30 
 31 

Comment: One commenter suggested that Boards should consider not retaining, but 32 
rather, changing their policies to require parents to repay the provider. Another 33 
commenter asked if the rule is reverting to not reimbursing providers, or if they can still 34 
reimburse providers and terminate care before the eligibility end date.  35 

 36 
Response: The Child Care Services rules allow Boards to develop this policy. If a Board 37 
has a policy to reimburse providers for unpaid parent share of cost, the Board may 38 
attempt to recoup that money directly from the parents. If the Board does not have a 39 

policy to reimburse providers for the unpaid share of cost, it can still develop a policy to 40 
require that parents repay the unpaid share of cost of care directly to the provider before 41 
being eligible for future child care services. Failure to pay the parent share of cost is an 42 
intentional program violation that is subject to termination of services before the 12-43 

month eligibility end date. 44 
 45 
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Comment: One commenter asked how many unpaid parent share of cost infractions are 1 
allowed before a Board can terminate care for this reason and how quickly the 2 
termination notice and appeal notice must be mailed after nonpayment of parent share of 3 

cost has occurred. 4 
 5 
Response: Pursuant to §809.19(c)(3), Boards must develop a policy on assessment of the 6 
parent share of cost, to include information that failure to pay is a program violation, 7 

subject to early termination of child care services. Boards may include in their local 8 
policy the number or frequency of parent-initiated requests for a parent share of cost 9 
reduction. However, an assessment must occur each time the parent fails to pay the parent 10 
share of cost to determine if there are any extenuating circumstances.  If a parent fails to 11 

pay the parent share of cost, there are no extenuating circumstances and the parent did not 12 
initiate a request for a parent share of cost reduction (per local Board policy), this is 13 
considered an intentional program violation and care must be terminated.  Once the 14 
decision to terminate care has been reached, the termination letter and appeal notice must 15 

be mailed to the family, consistent with §809.74(a)(1). 16 
 17 
Comment: One Board commented that §809.19(d)(4) requires Boards to establish a 18 
policy that must include, ". . . its process for assessing the general affordability of Board's 19 

parent share of cost schedule . . ." indicating that this Board's policies do not also include 20 
procedures, since any changes would require approval from the Board of Directors.  21 
 22 
Response: TWC clarifies that the requirement is that Boards have a policy in place to 23 

assess the general affordability of the Board's parent share of cost schedule. This policy 24 
can include a requirement that the process is established by the contractor, or the Board 25 
can include specific requirements in Board policy that the Board wants the contractor to 26 
follow.  27 

 28 
SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES     29 
TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter C. 30 
 31 

§809.55. Waiting Periods for Reapplication 32 
Current rules at §809.78(a)(3) establish a 12-month waiting period for children who exceed 65 33 
absences. However, to add clarity, waiting period information is being moved to this stand-alone 34 
section. New §809.55 is added to require a mandatory waiting period of 60 calendar days before 35 

a family can reapply or be placed on a waiting list for child care services if care is terminated due 36 
to excessive unexplained absences, as described in §809.78(a)(1), or unpaid parent share of cost, 37 
as described in §809.19(d). 38 
 39 

Furthermore, to more closely align with ACF guidance, the standard of 65 absences set forth in 40 
§809.78(a)(3) is changed to more than 40 unexplained absences in a 12-month eligibility period. 41 
Adding this clarification will prevent immediate reapplication for services when care is 42 
terminated.  43 

   44 
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However, to ensure full alignment between Child Care Services rules and the Choices program 1 
requirements, the mandatory waiting period will not apply to individuals who, during the 60-2 
calendar day waiting period: 3 

--become Choices participants who require child care to participate in the Choices program; or 4 
--are on Choices sanction status and require child care to demonstrate participation in Choices.  5 
 6 

Comment: One commenter expressed appreciation of reducing the waiting period for 7 

reapplication from 12 months to 60 days. 8 
 9 
Response: TWC appreciates the comment. 10 
 11 

Comment: Several commenters asked for clarification if the 60-day waiting period 12 
applies to the entire family or just the individual child. Another commenter asked for 13 
clarification regarding the waiting period for reapplication as it applies to termination of 14 
child care due to failure to pay the parent share of cost. 15 

 16 
Response: Section 809.55(a) states, "A parent is ineligible to reapply for child care 17 
services or to be placed on the waiting list for services for 60 calendar days if the  18 
parent's eligibility or the child's enrollment is terminated . . ." 19 

 20 
The 60-day waiting period applies to each individual child when care is terminated due to 21 
excessive unexplained absences. However, failure to pay parent share of cost will 22 
terminate the eligibility period for the entire family. Section 809.78(a)(1) is updated to 23 

clarify that termination of care occurs for the child due to excessive unexplained 24 
absences. 25 
 26 
Comment: One commenter asked whether a child on a 60-day sit out who has a sibling 27 

in care must still sit out of care for 60 days before being placed back on the waiting list or 28 
can be brought back into care after 60 days. If the child is only out for 60 days, this will 29 
require tracking and could impact the number of children who are brought into care in the 30 
future. 31 

 32 
Response: The 60-day sit out applies to the child, and the child must be out of care for 60 33 
days before the child can be placed back on the waiting list. Some Boards may have a 34 
Board-established priority group for siblings of children already in care; however, the 35 

child must still sit out for 60 calendar days before being placed in that priority group. 36 
 37 
Comment: Two commenters had questions related to the waiting period for reapplication 38 
as it applies to current and former Choices participants.   39 

 40 
Comment: One commenter had a question on families (income-eligible and/or Choices) 41 
that were previously on a 12-month waiting period for absences exceeding 65 days within 42 
an eligibility period and how those customers can return to care, specifically, if receipt of 43 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families and participation in Choices allow the family 44 
to reengage with child care services sooner. 45 
 46 
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Response: During the transition period between the old rule and the new rule, if the 1 
family is currently in a waiting period for re-application, the time frame will be reduced 2 
from the previous 12-month waiting period to the approved 60 calendar days.  Families 3 

will not have their eligibility agreement interrupted during the current eligibility period, 4 
but when a consequence is applied, the new consequence timeframes will be applicable.  5 
Additional guidance will be provided through a WD Letter and updates to both the Child 6 
Care Services Guide and the Choices Guide. 7 

 8 
Comment: One commenter asked if being placed on the waiting list and reapplying for 9 
services are the same thing, given that §809.55(a) states that "a parent is ineligible to 10 
reapply for child care services or to be placed on the waiting list for 60 calendar days if 11 

the parent's eligibility or the child's enrollment is terminated . . ." 12 
 13 
Response: A family cannot be placed on the waiting list or have an eligibility 14 
determination completed until 60 calendar days have passed, if the parent's eligibility or 15 

the child's enrollment is terminated.   16 
 17 
If a child or family is ineligible to be recertified based on the previous rules and is in a 18 
waiting period for reapplication, that time frame will be reduced from the previous 12-19 

month waiting period to the approved waiting period of 60 calendar days. Families will 20 
not have their eligibility agreements interrupted during the current eligibility period, but 21 
when a consequence is applied, the new consequence time frames will be applicable.  22 

 23 

SUBCHAPTER D. PARENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES     24 
TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter D. 25 
 26 
§809.71. Parent Rights 27 

New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) states that lead agencies may terminate care in circumstances in 28 
which there have been "excessive unexplained absences," as defined by the state, and requires 29 
that before terminating care for excessive absences, multiple attempts be made to contact the 30 
family and provider, including notification of possible discontinuation of services. 31 

 32 
Based on this guidance within the CCDF final rules, §809.71 is amended by adding paragraphs 33 
(15) and (16) to require that a parent must receive written notification that child care services 34 
may be terminated within a 12-month eligibility period if:  35 

--a child has excessive unexplained absences, pursuant to §809.78(a)(1); or  36 
--the family fails to pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to new §809.19(d). 37 
 38 

Comment: One commenter asked for clarification of "multiple attempts," which must be 39 

made to contact the family and provider, including notification of possible 40 
discontinuation of assistance. 41 
 42 
Response: Section 809.78(d)(1) instructs Boards to develop procedures to ensure that 43 

before terminating care for excessive unexplained absences, written notice is provided to 44 
the parent and provider at 15 and then 30 cumulative absences within a 12-month 45 
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eligibility period. Boards have flexibility to determine what constitutes multiple attempts 1 
as long as the required two attempts identified in §809.78(d)(1) are documented.   2 
 3 

Comment: One commenter asked about parent rights and notification requirements 4 
during the transition to terminating care during an eligibility period, and the effective 5 
dates of the notification, as it relates to implementing termination of care immediately 6 
and a parent's right to appeal. 7 

 8 
Response: Section 809.71, Parent Rights, will be implemented in a manner so that 9 
families will not have their eligibility agreement interrupted during the current eligibility 10 
period. If a consequence must be applied, due to failure of the parent to meet the current 11 

eligibility agreements identified at initial determination (such as accruing more than 65 12 
absences), it will not be applied during the current eligibility period.  The paren t will 13 
continue care, consistent with the agreement and notifications provided to the parent at 14 
initial eligibility determination.  At the conclusion of that eligibility period, when the 15 

consequence is applied, the new consequence timeframes will be applicable. 16 
 17 
Boards will not need to disrupt a current eligibility period to notify parents of the rule 18 
changes.  Boards will implement the rule changes at the beginning of each family’s new 19 

eligibility period. Boards retain the responsibility to notify parents of the right to appeal if 20 
the parent’s eligibility or child’s enrollment is denied, delayed, reduced, suspended or 21 
terminated, pursuant to §809.74(a)(1)   22 

 23 

§809.75. Child Care during Appeal 24 
Section 809.75 is amended by adding new subsection (b) to prohibit continuation of child care 25 
during an appeal if child care is terminated due to excessive unexplained absences, pursuant to 26 
§809.78, or nonpayment of parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19. 27 

 28 
Subsections are relettered as needed. 29 
 30 
No comments were received for this section. 31 

 32 
§809.78. Attendance Standards and Notice and Reporting Requirements 33 
New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) states that lead agencies may terminate care within a 12-month 34 
eligibility period in circumstances in which there have been excessive unexplained absences as 35 

defined by the state. Additionally, the preamble to the final rules states the following:  36 
 37 

The definition of excessive should not be used as a mechanism for prematurely 38 
terminating eligibility and must be sufficient to allow for a reasonable number of 39 

absences. It is ACF's view that unexplained absences should account for at least 15 40 
percent of a child's planned attendance before such absences are considered excessive.  41 
This 15 percent aligns generally with Head Start's attendance policy and ACF will 42 
consider it as a benchmark when reviewing and monitoring this requirement.  43 

 44 
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Section 809.78(a)(1) is amended to require Boards to notify parents regarding attendance 1 
standards and possible termination of child care services during the 12-month eligibility period 2 
when there have been "excessive unexplained absences."   3 

Consistent with federal guidance in the preamble and 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) regarding the 15 4 
percent attendance standard, §809.78(a)(1)(A) and (B) are removed, and §809.78(a)(2) is 5 

amended to define acceptable attendance standards as no more than 40 unexplained absences 6 
within a 12-month eligibility period (which is 15 percent of a standard 260- to 262-calendar–day 7 
child care year, as recommended in the preamble of the CCDF final rule).  8 

Current §809.78(a)(2) is amended to align with new federal rules at 45 CFR Part 98 regarding 9 
excessive unexplained absences. 10 
 11 

Current §809.78(a)(3) is amended because 65 absences in a 12-month period is no longer an 12 
applicable standard. Additionally, the current 12-month waiting period for children who exceed 13 
65 absences within an eligibility period is eliminated. This rule will be superseded by the ability 14 
to terminate care immediately after 40 absences, as well as by the reinstatement of a mandatory 15 

waiting period set forth in §809.55.  16 
 17 
Section 809.78(a)(3)(A) - (C) are added to define "unexplained absences." 18 
 19 

Section 809.78(c) is amended to explain that absences due to court-order visitation, chronic 20 
illness or a disability do not count toward the definition of “excessive unexplained absences” as 21 
described in §809.78(a). 22 
 23 

Although 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) permits states to terminate care within a 12-month eligibility 24 
period for excessive unexplained absences, it also requires that before terminating care for 25 
excessive unexplained absences, multiple attempts must be made to contact the family and 26 
provider, including notification of the possible discontinuation of assistance.  27 

 28 
Consistent with 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) and preamble guidance, §809.78(d) is added to require 29 
Boards to develop procedures to ensure that before terminating care for excessive unexplained 30 
absences pursuant to §809.78, the child care contractor makes multiple attempts to contact the 31 

family and the child care provider to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 32 
importance of regular attendance. The Board's procedures also must require documentation of 33 
attempts to provide notice to the parent and the child care provider of each child's general 34 
absences and the potential for termination of services, at reasonable times or through established 35 

communication channels, at a minimum when a child has reached five consecutive absences, and 36 
when a child reaches 15 and 30 general absences cumulatively within a 12-month eligibility 37 
period. 38 
 39 

Subsections have been relettered as needed. 40 
 41 

Comment: A recommendation to clarify whether in §809.78(a)(1) failure to meet 42 
attendance standards resulting in termination applies to the child or the family.  43 

 44 
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Response: TWC agrees with this recommendation and added the phrase “the child due 1 
to” to §809.78(a)(1) so the phrase now reads:  "Failure to meet attendance standards 2 
described in paragraph (2) of this subsection may result in termination of care for the 3 

child due to excessive unexplained absences pursuant to subsection (d) of this section."  4 
 5 
Comment: A recommendation was received to add "chronic" to the phrase "documented 6 
illness" in §809.78(a)(3)(A) to maintain consistency with the exceptions to unexplained 7 

absences discussed in §809.78(c).  8 
 9 
Response: TWC agrees with this recommendation and added "chronic" to the phrase in 10 
§809.78(a)(3)(A). 11 

 12 
Comment: Nine comments were received about §809.78(d)(1) regarding how and when 13 
the five consecutive absences will be counted and expressed concern about administrative 14 
burdens on staff, as well as concern for placing the responsibility on providers to report 15 

this attendance so that contractors can act in a timely manner as the fifth consecutive 16 
absence accrues.   17 
 18 
Response: Based on the number and nature of comments received, as well as the 19 

unintended burden placed on providers to report absences, TWC is persuaded to remove 20 
the requirement of the written notification at five consecutive absences from the proposed 21 
rules. The written notification requirement at 15 and 30 absences is retained. 22 
Additionally, the parent will still receive the written termination notice 15 days before 23 

termination of services as well as the appeal notification. 24 
 25 
Comment: Four comments were received regarding amending the requirement for 26 
"written notices" in §809.78(d)(1), specifically the requirements that the contractor must 27 

follow before terminating services. The comments referenced administrative and fiscal 28 
burdens that would occur with the increased written correspondence, as well as the staff 29 
time to research absences at those time frames.  Additionally, some Boards use other 30 
methods, such as auto-dialers or automatic notification systems that log contact attempts.  31 

 32 
Response: TWC encourages Boards to make full use of alternative formats to provide 33 
written notices that may reduce the fiscal burden. However, with the recommendation to 34 
remove written notification to parents at five consecutive absences, TWC retains the 35 

requirement to send written notification at 15 and 30 absences.   36 
 37 
Comment: Several comments were received that recommended changes to TWIST to 38 
assist with appropriate tracking and monitoring of attendance standards.    39 

 40 
Response: TWC is implementing a TWIST enhancement to assist with the tracking and 41 
monitoring of attendance standards. 42 
 43 

Comment: Comments were received asking to define "multiple attempts" relating to 44 
§809.78(d)(2), which states that Boards shall ensure that the child care contractor 45 
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documents multiple attempts to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 1 
importance of regular attendance before termination of services.   2 
 3 

Response: Section 809.78(d)(1) instructs Boards to develop procedures to ensure that 4 
before terminating care for excessive unexplained absences, written notice is provided to 5 
the parent and provider at 15 and then 30 cumulative absences within a 12-month 6 
eligibility period. Boards have flexibility to determine what constitutes multiple attempts 7 

as long as the required two attempts identified in §809.78(d)(1) are documented.   8 
 9 

Comment: Several comments were received regarding the absence notification letters 10 
and whether the current Board-defined time frames will suffice. Comments were also 11 

received regarding the content of the letters and whether it is appropriate and permissible 12 
to add language on the possibility of discontinuation of care in each of the letters. An 13 
additional comment was received regarding when to send the termination notice and the 14 
appeal notification. One comment suggested sending notification letters at 15 and 30 15 

unexplained absences, rather than 15 and 30 general absences. Finally, one comment 16 
suggested sending an additional letter at 40 absences to inform the parent that one more 17 
unexplained absence will result in termination of care. 18 
 19 

Response: The purpose of the notification letters is to determine if the absences are 20 
explained due to documented chronic illness or court ordered visitation, pursuant to 21 
§809.73(a)(3)(A). The assessment of whether an absence is explained or unexplained 22 
must be completed before determining if care should end.  The Board's attempts to notify 23 

the parent of the potential for termination of care must occur consistent with 24 
§809.78(d)(1), which requires notification letters to go out at 15 and 30 absences, and 25 
consistent with §809.71(a)(9) which requires the parent to receive written notification at 26 
least 15 calendar days before termination of child care services. 27 

 28 
Comment: One commenter asked for a definition of "established communication 29 
channels." Another commenter asked about the requirement to contact providers when a 30 
child accrues absences. 31 

 32 
Response: "Established communication channels" is a broad description to encompass 33 
the various methods that Boards may use to communicate with parents and providers. It 34 
is important to have communication with both the parent and the provider to identify any 35 

additional information about the child's absence that might change the "unexplained" 36 
determination.  Consistent with §809.92(b)(4), providers shall follow attendance 37 
reporting and tracking procedures required by the Commission under §809.95, the Board, 38 
or if applicable, the Board’s child care contractor.  This provision has not changed and 39 

Boards retain the flexibility to have child care providers report absences at designated 40 
timeframes. 41 
 42 
Comment: One commenter asked if, after contacting the provider, it is determined that 43 

the child was not absent, but the attendance was not recorded, the "absence" still accrues 44 
toward the allowable absence limit. 45 
 46 
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Response: If the attendance-recording device was functioning and available at that 1 
provider, but the parent did not use the device (that is, failed to record attendance for a 2 
day), that absence may accrue toward the absence limit. 3 

 4 
Comment: One commenter asked if court-ordered visitation, chronic illness, or disability 5 
must be supported by documentation provided by the parent.  Additionally, a commenter 6 
inquired about how to document missed attendance recording on or near the date of a 7 

doctor visit documented by a doctor’s note and finally a request for clarification that the 8 
responsibility remains on the parent to ensure that an absence was due to an illness is 9 
documented correctly in the attendance recording system. 10 
 11 

Response: Section 809.78(a)(3)(A) clarifies that unexplained absences include "any 12 
absence that is not due to a child's documented chronic illness or disability, or to a court-13 
ordered custody or visitation agreement." TWC allows Boards the flexibility to determine 14 
the level of detail required to show the dates of the documented chronic illness, disability, 15 

or court-ordered custody or visitation agreement consistent with TWC policy reflected in 16 
§809.78(a)(3)(A).  Parents maintain the responsibility to use the attendance recording 17 
system correctly, pursuant to §809.78(a)(5).     18 

 19 

Comment: One commenter requested clarification on whether Boards are still able to 20 
terminate care when a child is absent for five consecutive days. Another commenter 21 
asked if outreach must continue at 10 total absences in a month. 22 
 23 

Response: No, Boards are only able to terminate care due to absences when the child has 24 
more than 40 unexplained absences. Boards can terminate at the 41st unexplained 25 
absence, after attempts to notify the family and determine the reason for the child's 26 
absences are documented and the appropriate termination and appeal notices are 27 

provided.  The Board's attempts to notify the parent of the potential for termination of 28 
care must occur consistent with §809.78(d)(1), which requires notification letters to go 29 
out at 15 and 30 absences.  Boards have flexibility to determine additional notices that 30 
may be sent as long as the required two attempts identified in §809.78(d)(1) are 31 

documented. 32 
 33 
Comment: Several commenters suggested that these changes to the number of allowable 34 
absences should apply at each family's recertification of eligibility, not in the middle of 35 

an eligibility period. 36 
 37 
Response: TWC will issue a WD Letter that will address the implementation of the new 38 
rules as it relates to eligibility periods for children.  Families will not have their eligibility 39 

agreement interrupted during the current eligibility period, but when a consequence is 40 
applied, the new consequence timeframes will be applicable.   41 
 42 
Comment: One commenter asked TWC to confirm if termination of care due to 43 

excessive unexplained absences is subject to local flexibility. 44 
 45 



FR-Ch.809 Program Violations (6.14.18)ADOPTED     17 

Response: No, termination of care due to excessive unexplained absences is not subject 1 
to local flexibility, pursuant to 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) and §809.78(a)(2). Parents must 2 
be notified of how many absences constitutes excessive unexplained absences and that 3 

failure to adhere to the absence limitations may result in termination of care if absences 4 
are unexplained. Boards do retain the flexibility to locally establish processes for 5 
determining why a child is absent and explaining the importance of regular attendance.  6 
 7 

Comment: One commenter asked whether, if the child has fewer than 40 absences and 8 
all parent share of cost payments have been made that were due and the family is 9 
redetermined to be eligible for the program and has another 12 months of eligibility 10 
authorized at the time the eligibility redetermination is completed, the contractor needs to 11 

continue to monitor absences and parent share of cost payments between the date the 12 
eligibility is determined and the date the new eligibility period starts, to ensure that there 13 
is no attendance standards violation in the interim.   14 
 15 

Response: Once a new eligibility period is established, any absences accrued or parent 16 
share of cost violations after the new eligibility determination is made, but before the 17 
current eligibility period ends, will not affect the new eligibility period.  TWC is updating 18 
the Child Care Services guide to address counting absences for children.   19 

 20 
Comment:  One commenter identified an increased cost to Boards to implement the 21 
changes.  Specifically, multiple attempts to contact parents and providers to inquire about 22 
absences will increase staff time to handle the communication implied in these 23 

interactions.   24 
 25 
Response:  Attempting to notify the parent and provider of a child’s excessive 26 
unexplained absences is a federal requirement.  Boards currently send notification letters 27 

to parents due to a child’s absences once certain amounts of absences have accrued.  In 28 
the proposed rule, the Board's attempts to notify the parent of the potential for 29 
termination of care must occur consistent with §809.78(d)(1), which requires notification 30 
letters to go out at 15 and 30 absences, and consistent with §809.71(a)(9) which requires 31 

the parent to receive written notification at least 15 calendar days before termination of 32 
child care services. 33 
 34 

 35 

SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE      36 
TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter E. 37 
 38 
§809.93. Provider Reimbursement 39 

Section 809.93(b) is amended to remove "and §809.78(a)."  40 
 41 
No comments were received for this section. 42 
 43 

COMMENTS WERE RECEIVED FROM: 44 
Ann Haines, Workforce Solutions East Texas  45 
Teresa Watson, Workforce Solutions Heart of Texas  46 
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Julie Craig, Workforce Solutions Texoma 1 
Marla Moon, Workforce Solutions Northeast Texas 2 
Shawn Garrison, Workforce Solutions Alamo 3 

Lisa Colyer, Workforce Solutions of West Central Texas 4 
Shannon Richter, Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area 5 
David Baggerly, Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast 6 
 7 

TWC hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be 8 
within TWC's legal authority to adopt. 9 
 10 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide TWC 11 

with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective 12 
administration of TWC services and activities, and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, 13 
regarding Administrative Rules. 14 
 15 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly Chapters 301 and 302, as well as 16 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2308. 17 

18 
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CHAPTER 809.  CHILD CARE SERVICES 1 
 2 
Subchapter A.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 3 

 4 
§809.2. Definitions. 5 

 6 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 7 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 8 
   9 

(1)     Attending a job training or educational program--An individual is attending a 10 
job training or educational program if the individual:  11 

     12 
(A)    is considered by the program to be officially enrolled;  13 
     14 
(B)    meets all attendance requirements established by the program; and  15 

     16 
(C)    is making progress toward successful completion of the program as 17 

determined by the Board upon eligibility redetermination as described in 18 
§809.42(b).  19 

   20 
(2)     Child--An individual who meets the general eligibility requirements contained 21 

in this chapter for receiving child care services.  22 
   23 

(3)     Child care contractor--The entity or entities under contract with the Board to 24 
manage child care services. This includes contractors involved in determining 25 
eligibility for child care services, contractors involved in the billing and 26 
reimbursement process related to child care subsidies, as well as contractors 27 

involved in the funding of quality improvement activities as described in 28 
§809.16.  29 

   30 
(4)     Child care services--Child care subsidies and quality improvement activities 31 

funded by the Commission.  32 
   33 
(5)     Child care subsidies--Commission-funded child care reimbursements to an 34 

eligible child care provider for the direct care of an eligible child.  35 

   36 
(6)     Child experiencing homelessness--A child who is homeless as defined in the 37 

McKinney-Vento Act (42 U.S.C. 11434(a)), Subtitle VII-B, §725. 38 
   39 

(7)     Child with disabilities--A child who has a physical or mental impairment that 40 
substantially limits one or more major life activities, has a record of such an 41 
impairment, or is regarded as having such an impairment. Major life activities 42 
include, but are not limited to, caring for oneself; performing manual tasks; 43 

walking; hearing; seeing, speaking, or breathing; learning; and working.  44 
   45 
(8)     Educational program--A program that leads to:  46 
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     1 
(A)    a high school diploma;  2 
     3 

(B)    a General Educational Development (GED) credential; or  4 
     5 
(C)    a postsecondary degree from an institution of higher education.  6 

   7 

(9)     Excessive unexplained absences--More than 40 unexplained absences within a 8 
12-month eligibility period as described in §809.78(a)(3).  9 

 10 
(10)(9)     Family--Two or more individuals related by blood, marriage, or decree of 11 

court, who are living in a single residence and are included in one or more of 12 
the following categories: 13 

     14 
(A)    Two individuals, married--including by common-law, and household 15 

dependents; or 16 
     17 
(B)    A parent and household dependents. 18 

   19 

(11)(10)   Household dependent--An individual living in the household who is one of 20 
the following:  21 

     22 
(A)    An adult considered as a dependent of the parent for income tax 23 

purposes;  24 
     25 
(B)    A child of a teen parent; or  26 
     27 

(C)    A child or other minor living in the household who is the responsibility 28 
of the parent.  29 

   30 
(12)(11)   Improper payments--Any payment of CCDF grant funds that should not 31 

have been made or that was made in an incorrect amount (including 32 
overpayments and underpayments) under statutory, contractual, administrative, 33 
or other legally applicable requirements governing the administration of CCDF 34 
grant funds and includes payments: 35 

     36 
(A)    to an ineligible recipient; 37 
     38 
(B)    for an ineligible service; 39 

     40 
(C)    for any duplicate payment; and 41 
     42 
(D)    for services not received. 43 

   44 
(13)(12)   Job training program--A program that provides training or instruction 45 

leading to:  46 
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     1 
(A)    basic literacy;  2 
     3 

(B)    English proficiency;  4 
     5 
(C)    an occupational or professional certification or license; or  6 
     7 

(D)    the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and abilities specific to an 8 
occupation.  9 

   10 
(14)(13)   Listed family home--A family home, other than the eligible child's own 11 

residence, that is listed, but not licensed or registered with, the Texas 12 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) pursuant to Texas 13 
Human Resources Code §42.052(c).  14 

   15 

(15)(14)   Military deployment--The temporary duty assignment away from the 16 
permanent military installation or place of residence for reserve components of 17 
the single military parent or the dual military parents. This includes deployed 18 
parents in the regular military, military reserves, or National Guard.  19 

   20 
(16)(15)   Parent--An individual who is responsible for the care and supervision of a 21 

child and is identified as the child's natural parent, adoptive parent, stepparent, 22 
legal guardian, or person standing in loco parentis (as determined in 23 

accordance with Commission policies and procedures). Unless otherwise 24 
indicated, the term applies to a single parent or both parents.  25 

   26 
(17)(16)   Protective services--Services provided when:  27 

     28 
(A)    a child is at risk of abuse or neglect in the immediate or short-term future 29 

and the child's family cannot or will not protect the child without DFPS 30 
Child Protective Services (CPS) intervention;  31 

     32 
(B)    a child is in the managing conservatorship of DFPS and residing with a 33 

relative or a foster parent; or  34 
     35 

(C)    a child has been provided with protective services by DFPS within the 36 
prior six months and requires services to ensure the stability of the 37 
family.  38 

   39 

(18)(17)     Provider--A provider is defined as:  40 
     41 

(A)    a regulated child care provider as defined in §809.2(18);  42 
     43 

(B)    a relative child care provider as defined in §809.2(19); or  44 
     45 
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(C)    a listed family home as defined in §809.2(13), subject to the 1 
requirements in §809.91(b).  2 

   3 

(19)(18)   Regulated child care provider--A provider caring for an eligible child in a 4 
location other than the eligible child's own residence that is:  5 

     6 
(A)    licensed by DFPS;  7 

     8 
(B)    registered with DFPS; or 9 
     10 
(C)    operated and monitored by the United States military services.  11 

   12 
(20)(19)   Relative child care provider--An individual who is at least 18 years of age, 13 

and is, by marriage, blood relationship, or court decree, one of the following:  14 
     15 

(A)    The child's grandparent;  16 
     17 
(B)    The child's great-grandparent;  18 
     19 

(C)    The child's aunt;  20 
     21 
(D)    The child's uncle; or  22 
     23 

(E)    The child's sibling (if the sibling does not reside in the same household as 24 
the eligible child).  25 

   26 
(21)(20)   Residing with--Unless otherwise stipulated in this chapter, a child is 27 

considered to be residing with the parent when the child is living with and 28 
physically present with the parent during the time period for which child care 29 
services are being requested or received.  30 

   31 

(22)(21)   Teen parent--A teen parent (teen) is an individual 18 years of age or 32 
younger, or 19 years of age and attending high school or the equivalent, who 33 
has a child.  34 

   35 

(23)(22)   Texas Rising Star program--A voluntary, quality-based rating system of 36 
child care providers participating in Commission-subsidized child care.  37 

   38 
(24)(23)   Texas Rising Star Provider--A provider certified as meeting the TRS 39 

program standards. TRS providers are certified as one of the following: 40 
     41 

(A)    2-Star Program Provider; 42 
     43 

(B)    3-Star Program Provider; or 44 
     45 
(C)    4-Star Program Provider. 46 
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   1 
(25)(24)   Working--Working is defined as:  2 

     3 

(A)    activities for which one receives monetary compensation such as a 4 
salary, wages, tips, and commissions; or 5 

     6 
(B)    participation in Choices or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 7 

Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) activities. 8 
 9 

     SUBCHAPTER B.  GENERAL MANAGEMENT  10 
 11 

§809.13.  Board Policies for Child Care Services. 12 
 13 

(a)   A Board shall develop, adopt, and modify its policies for the design and management 14 
of the delivery of child care services in a public process in accordance with Chapter 15 

802 of this title.  16 
 17 
(b)   A Board shall maintain written copies of the policies that are required by federal and 18 

state law, or as requested by the Commission, and make such policies available to 19 

the Commission and the public upon request.  20 
 21 
(c)   At a minimum, a Board shall develop policies related to:  22 

   23 

(1)     how the Board determines that the parent is making progress toward successful 24 
completion of a job training or educational program as described in §809.2(1);  25 

   26 
(2)     maintenance of a waiting list as described in §809.18(b);  27 

   28 
(3)     assessment of a parent share of cost as described in §809.19(a)(1), including:  29 

(A)--provisions for a parent's failure to pay the parent share of cost, including 30 

the reimbursement of providers, when a parent fails to pay the parent share of 31 
cost; as a program violation that is subject to early termination of child care 32 
services within a 12-month eligibility period; and 33 

(B)--criteria for determining the affordability of the parent share of cost, as 34 
described in §809.19(d) - (e);  35 

   36 
(4)     maximum reimbursement rates as provided in §809.20, including policies 37 

related to reimbursement of providers that offer transportation;  38 
   39 
(5)     family income limits as described in Subchapter C of this chapter (relating to 40 

Eligibility for Child Care Services);  41 

   42 
(6)     provision of child care services to a child with disabilities under the age of 19 43 

as described in §809.41(a)(1)(B);  44 
   45 
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(7)     minimum activity requirements for parents as described in §809.48 and 1 
§809.50;  2 

   3 

(8)     time limits for the provision of child care while the parent is attending an 4 
educational program as described in §809.41(b);  5 

   6 
(9)     Board priority groups as described in §809.43(a);  7 

   8 
(10)   transfer of a child from one provider to another as described in §809.71(3);  9 
   10 
(11)   providers charging the difference between their published rate and the Board's 11 

reimbursement rate as provided in §809.92(d);  12 
   13 

(12)   procedures for fraud fact-finding as provided in §809.111; and 14 
   15 

(13)   policies and procedures to ensure that appropriate corrective actions are taken 16 
against a provider or parent for violations of the automated attendance 17 
requirements specified in §809.115(d) - (e). 18 

 19 

§809.19.  Assessing the Parent Share of Cost.  20 
 21 

(a)   For child care funds allocated by the Commission pursuant to its allocation rules 22 
(generally, Chapter 800, General Administration, Subchapter B, Allocation and 23 

Funding, and specifically, §800.58, Child Care), including local public transferred 24 
funds and local private donated funds, as provided in §809.17, the following shall 25 
apply.  26 

   27 

(1)     A Board shall set a parent share of cost policy that assesses the parent share of 28 
cost in a manner that results in the parent share of cost:  29 

     30 
(A)    being assessed to all parents, except in instances when an exemption 31 

under paragraph (2) of this subsection applies;  32 
     33 
(B)    being an amount determined by a sliding fee scale based on the family's 34 

size and gross monthly income, including a possible reexamination of 35 

the sliding fee scale if there are frequent terminations for lack of 36 
payment pursuant to subsection (e) of this section, and which also may 37 
consider the number of children in care;. 38 

 39 

(C)    being an amount that is affordable and does not result in a barrier to 40 
families receiving assistance; 41 

 42 
(D)(C)    being assessed only at the following times:  43 

       44 
(i)   initial eligibility determination;  45 
       46 
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(ii)  12-month eligibility redetermination;  1 
       2 
(iii) upon the addition of a child in care; 3 

       4 
(iv) upon a parent's report of a change in income, family size, or number 5 

of children in care that would result in a reduced parent share of cost 6 
assessment; and 7 

       8 
(v)   upon resumption of work, job training, or education activities 9 

following temporary changes described in §809.51(a)(2) and upon 10 
resumption of work, job training, or education activities during the 11 

three-month continuation of care period described in §809.51(c); 12 
and  13 

     14 
(E)(D)    not increasing above the amount assessed at initial eligibility 15 

determination or at the 12-month eligibility redetermination based on the 16 
factor in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, except upon the addition of 17 
a child in care as described in subsection (a)(1)(C)(iii) of this section.  18 

   19 

(2)     Parents who are one or more of the following are exempt from paying the 20 
parent share of cost:  21 

     22 
(A)    Parents who are participating in Choices or who are in Choices child care 23 

described in §809.45;  24 
     25 
(B)    Parents who are participating in SNAP E&T services or who are in 26 

SNAP E&T child care described in §809.47;  27 

     28 
(C)    Parents of a child receiving Child Care for Children Experiencing 29 

Homelessness as described in §809.52; or  30 
     31 

(D)    Parents who have children who are receiving protective services child 32 
care pursuant to §809.49 and §809.54(c), unless DFPS assesses the 33 
parent share of cost.  34 

   35 

(3)     Teen parents who are not covered under exemptions listed in paragraph (2) of 36 
this subsection shall be assessed a parent share of cost. The teen parent's share 37 
of cost is based solely on the teen parent's income and size of the teen's family 38 
as defined in §809.2.  39 

 40 
(b)   For child care services funded from sources other than those specified in subsection 41 

(a) of this section, a Board shall set a parent share of cost policy based on a sliding 42 
fee scale. The sliding fee scale may be the same as or different from the provisions 43 

contained in subsection (a) of this section.  44 
 45 
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(c)   A Board shall establish a policy regarding reimbursement of providers when parents 1 
fail to pay the parent share of cost.  2 

 3 

(d)   A Board shall establish a policy regarding termination of child care services within a 4 
12-month eligibility period when a parent fails to pay the parent share of cost. The 5 
Board's policy must include:  6 

 7 

(1)   a requirement to evaluate and document each family's financial situation for 8 
extenuating circumstances that may affect affordability of the assessed parent 9 
share of cost pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection, and a possible 10 
temporary reduction pursuant to subsection (g) of this section before the Board 11 

or its child care contractor may terminate care under this section; 12 
 13 
(2)  general criteria for determining affordability of a Board's parent share of cost, 14 

and a process to identify and assess the circumstances that may jeopardize a 15 

family's self-sufficiency under subsection (g) of this section;   16 
 17 
(3)  maintenance of a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of 18 

cost, including family size, income, family circumstances, and the reason for 19 

termination, for use when conducting evaluations of affordability, as required 20 
under paragraph (4) of this subsection; and   21 

 22 
(4)   the Board's definition of what constitutes frequent terminations and its process 23 

for assessing the general affordability of the Board's parent share of cost 24 
schedule, pursuant to subsection (e) of this section.  25 

 26 
(e) A Board with frequent terminations of care for lack of payment of the parent share of 27 

cost must reexamine its sliding fee scale and adjust it to ensure that fees are not a 28 
barrier to assistance for families at certain income levels. 29 

 30 
(f) A Board that does not have a policy to reimburse providers when parents fail to pay 31 

the parent share of cost may establish a policy to require the parent to pay the 32 
provider before the family can be redetermined eligible for future child care services. 33 

 34 
(g)(d)  The Board or its child care contractor may review the assessed parent share of cost 35 

for a possible temporary reduction if there are extenuating circumstances that 36 
jeopardize a family's self-sufficiency. The Board or its child care contractor may 37 
temporarily reduce the assessed parent share of cost if warranted by these 38 
circumstances. Following the temporary reduction, the parent share of cost amount 39 

immediately prior to the reduction shall be reinstated. 40 
 41 
(h)(e)   If the parent is not covered by an exemption as specified in subsection (a)(2) of 42 

this section, then the Board or its child care contractor shall not waive the assessed 43 

parent share of cost under any circumstances.  44 
 45 



FR-Ch.809 Program Violations (6.14.18)ADOPTED     27 

(i)(f)   If the parent share of cost, based on family income and family size, is calculated to 1 
be zero, then the Board or its child care contractor shall not charge the parent a 2 
minimum share of cost amount. 3 

 4 
(j)(g)   A Board may establish a policy to reduce the parent share of cost amount assessed 5 

pursuant to subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section upon the parent's selection of a TRS-6 
certified provider. Such Board policy shall ensure:  7 

   8 
(1)     that the parent continue to receive the reduction if:  9 

     10 
(A)    the TRS provider loses TRS certification; or 11 

     12 
(B)    the parent moves or changes employment within the workforce area and 13 

no TRS-certified providers are available to meet the needs of the parent's 14 
changed circumstances; and 15 

   16 
(2)     that the parent no longer receives the reduction if the parent voluntarily 17 

transfers the child from a TRS-certified provider to a non-TRS-certified 18 
provider. 19 

 20 
 21 

        SUBCHAPTER C.  ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 22 
 23 

§809.55. Waiting Period for Reapplication. 24 

 25 

(a)   A parent is ineligible to reapply for child care services or to be placed on the waiting 26 
list for services for 60 calendar days if the parent's eligibility or the child's 27 
enrollment is terminated due to: 28 

 29 

(1)    excessive unexplained absences under §809.78(a); or 30 
 31 
(2)    nonpayment of parent share of cost pursuant to a Board’s established policy 32 

under §809.19(d). 33 

 34 
(b)   To ensure full alignment between Child Care Services rules and the Choices 35 

program requirements, the provisions of subsection (a) of this section will not apply 36 
to individuals who, during the 60-calendar day waiting period:   37 

 38 
(1)    become Choices participants who require child care to participate in Choices; 39 

or 40 
 41 

(2)    are on Choices sanction status and require child care to demonstrate 42 
participation in Choices. 43 
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 1 
         SUBCHAPTER  D.  PARENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 2 

 3 

§809.71.  Parent Rights. 4 
 5 

A Board shall ensure that the Board's child care contractor informs the parent in writing 6 
that the parent has the right to: 7 

 8 
(1)     choose the type of child care provider that best suits their needs and to be 9 

informed of all child care options available to them as included in the 10 
consumer education information described in §809.15;  11 

   12 
(2)     visit available child care providers before making their choice of a child care 13 

option;  14 
   15 

(3)     receive assistance in choosing initial or additional child care referrals including 16 
information about the Board's policies regarding transferring children from one 17 
provider to another;  18 

   19 

(4)     be informed of the Commission rules and Board policies related to providers 20 
charging parents the difference between the Board's reimbursement and the 21 
provider's published rate as described in §809.92(c) - (d);  22 

   23 

(5)     be represented when applying for child care services;  24 
   25 
(6)     be notified of their eligibility to receive child care services within 20 calendar 26 

days from the day the Board's child care contractor receives all necessary 27 

documentation required to initially determine eligibility for child care;  28 
   29 
(7)     receive child care services regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex, 30 

disability, political beliefs, or religion;  31 

   32 
(8)     have the Board and the Board's child care contractor treat information used to 33 

determine eligibility for child care services as confidential;  34 
   35 

(9)     receive written notification at least 15 calendar days before termination of 36 
child care services; 37 

   38 
(10)   reject an offer of child care services or voluntarily withdraw their child from 39 

child care, unless the child is in protective services;  40 
   41 
(11)   be informed of the possible consequences of rejecting or ending the child care 42 

that is offered;  43 

   44 
(12)   be informed of the eligibility documentation and reporting requirements 45 

described in §809.72 and §809.73;  46 
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   1 
(13)   be informed of the parent appeal rights described in §809.74; and 2 
   3 

(14)   be informed of required background and criminal history checks for relative 4 
child care providers through the listing process with DFPS, as described in 5 
§809.91(e), before the parent or guardian selects the relative child care 6 
provider;. 7 

 8 
(15)   receive written notification pursuant to §809.78(d) of the possible termination 9 

of child care services for excessive absences, as described in §809.78(a)(1); 10 
and  11 

 12 
(16)   receive written notification of possible termination of child care services for 13 

failure to pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). 14 
 15 

§809.75.  Child Care during Appeal. 16 
 17 

(a)   For a child currently enrolled in child care, a Board shall ensure that child care 18 
services continue during the appeal process until a decision is reached, if the parent 19 

requests a hearing.  20 
 21 
(b)   A Board shall ensure that child care does not continue during the appeal process if 22 

the child's enrollment is terminated due to excessive unexplained absences, pursuant 23 

to §809.78(a), or nonpayment of parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). 24 
 25 
(c)(b)  The cost of providing services during the appeal process is subject to recovery from 26 

the parent by the Board, if the appeal decision is rendered against the parent.  27 

 28 
§809.78.  Attendance Standards and Notice and Reporting Requirements. 29 

   30 
(a)   A Board shall ensure that parents are notified of the following:  31 

   32 
(1)     Parents shall ensure that the eligible child attends on a regular basis consistent 33 

with the child's authorization for enrollment and attendance standards 34 
described in paragraph (2) of this subsection.  Failure to meet monthly 35 

attendance standards described in paragraph (2) of this subsection may result in 36 
termination of care for the child due to excessive unexplained absences 37 
pursuant to subsection (d) of this section.: 38 

     39 

(A)    result in suspension of care, at the concurrence of the parent; or  40 
      41 
(B)    be grounds for determining that a change in the parent's participation in work, 42 

job training, or an education program has occurred and care may be terminated 43 

pursuant to the requirements in §809.51(b). 44 
   45 
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(2)     Meeting attendance standards for child care services consists of no more than 1 
40 total unexplained absences in a 12-month eligibility period.: 2 

     3 

(A)    five consecutive absences during the month;  4 
     5 

(B)    ten total absences during the month.  6 
   7 

(3)     Unexplained absences may include: If a child exceeds 65 total absences during 8 
the most recent eligibility period, then the child is not eligible for care at the 9 
next eligibility determination and shall not be eligible for care for 12 months 10 
from the end of the most recent eligibility period.   11 

  12 
(A) Any absence that is not due to a child's documented chronic illness or 13 

disability, or to a court-ordered custody or visitation agreement; 14 
  15 

(B) Any missed attendance recording that cannot be explained, except if the 16 
attendance reporting system is not available through no fault of the parent or 17 
provider; or  18 

 19 

(C) Any denied or rejected attendance recording in which the parent does not 20 
contact the Agency’s Child Care Services unit to report the issue. 21 

 22 
   23 

(4)     Notwithstanding paragraph (2)(3) of this subsection, child care providers may 24 
end a child's enrollment with the provider if the child does not meet the 25 
provider's established policy regarding attendance.  26 

   27 

(5)     Parents shall use the attendance card to report daily attendance and absences.  28 
   29 
(6)     Parents shall not designate anyone under age 16 as a secondary cardholder, 30 

unless the individual is a child's parent.  31 

   32 
(7)     Parents shall not designate the owner, assistant director, or director of the child 33 

care facility as a secondary cardholder.  34 
   35 

(8)     Parents shall:  36 
     37 

(A)    ensure that the attendance card is not misused by secondary cardholders;  38 
     39 

(B)    inform secondary cardholders of the responsibilities for using the 40 
attendance card;  41 

     42 
(C)    ensure that secondary cardholders comply with these responsibilities; and  43 

     44 
(D)    ensure the protection of attendance cards issued to them or secondary 45 

cardholders.  46 
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   1 
(9)     The parent or secondary cardholders giving the attendance card or the personal 2 

identification number (PIN) to another person, including the child care 3 

provider, is grounds for a potential fraud determination pursuant to Subchapter 4 
F of this chapter.  5 

   6 
(10)   Parents shall report to the child care contractor instances in which a parent's 7 

attempt to record attendance in the child care automated attendance system is 8 
denied or rejected and cannot be corrected at the provider site. Failure to report 9 
such instances may result in an unexplained absence counted toward the 10 
attendance standards described in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection.  11 

 12 
(b)   Boards shall ensure that parents sign a written acknowledgment indicating their 13 

understanding of the attendance standards and reporting requirements at each of the 14 
following stages:  15 

   16 
(1)     initial eligibility determination; and  17 
   18 
(2)     each eligibility redetermination, as required in §809.42(b).  19 

 20 
(c)   Boards shall ensure that absences due to a child's documented chronic illness or 21 

disability or court-ordered visitation are not counted in the number of unexplained 22 
absences in subsection (a)(2) and (3) of this section. 23 

 24 
(d)   Boards shall ensure that before terminating care pursuant to §809.78(a)(1), the child 25 

care contractor: 26 
 27 

(1)     provides written notice to the parent and the child care provider at reasonable 28 
times through established communication channels of the child's absences and 29 
the potential termination of services, at a minimum is absent for 5 consecutive 30 
days, and when a child reaches 15, and 30 general absences cumulatively 31 

within a 12-month eligibility period; and  32 
 33 
(2)     documents that multiple attempts were made, as described in paragraph (1) of 34 

this subsection, to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 35 

importance of regular attendance. 36 
 37 

 (e)(d)   Where a child's enrollment has been ended by a provider in subsection (a)(4) of 38 
this section, Boards shall work with the parent to place the otherwise eligible child 39 

with another eligible provider. 40 
 41 
      SUBCHAPTER E.  REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE 42 

 43 

§809.93.  Provider Reimbursement. 44 
 45 

(a)   A Board shall ensure that reimbursement for child care is paid only to the provider.  46 
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 1 
(b)   A Board or its child care contractor shall reimburse a regulated provider based on a 2 

child's monthly enrollment authorization, excluding periods of suspension at the 3 

concurrence of the parent as described in §809.51(d) and §809.78(a).  4 
 5 
(c)   A Board shall ensure that a relative child care provider is not reimbursed for days on 6 

which the child is absent.  7 

 8 
(d)  A relative child care provider shall not be reimbursed for more children than 9 

permitted by the DFPS minimum regulatory standards for Registered Child Care 10 
Homes. A Board may permit more children to be cared for by a relative child care 11 

provider on a case-by-case basis as determined by the Board.  12 
 13 
(e)   A Board shall not reimburse providers that are debarred from other state or federal 14 

programs unless and until the debarment is removed.  15 

 16 
(f)   Unless otherwise determined by the Board and approved by the Commission for 17 

automated reporting purposes, the monthly enrollment authorization described in 18 
subsection (b) of this section is based on the unit of service authorized, as follows:  19 

   20 
(1)     A full-day unit of service is 6 to 12 hours of care provided within a 24-hour 21 

period; and  22 
   23 

(2)     A part-day unit of service is fewer than 6 hours of care provided within a 24-24 
hour period.  25 

 26 
(g)   A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that providers are not paid for 27 

holding spaces open.  28 
 29 
(h)   A Board or the Board's child care contractor shall not pay providers:  30 

   31 

(1)     less, when a child enrolled full time occasionally attends for a part day; or  32 
   33 
(2)     more, when a child enrolled part time occasionally attends for a full day.  34 

 35 

(i)   The Board or its child care contractor shall not reimburse a provider retroactively for 36 
new Board maximum reimbursement rates or new provider published rates.  37 

 38 
(j)   A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that the parent's travel time to and 39 

from the child care facility and the parent's work, school, or job training site is 40 
included in determining whether to authorize reimbursement for full-day or part-day 41 
care under subsection (f) of this section. 42 

 43 
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	 20 
	Consistent with ACF guidance, §809.19(a)(1)(B) is amended to include a reexamination of the 21 sliding fee scale if the Board finds a pattern of frequent terminations due to lack of co-payments. 22 Additionally, §809.19(a)(1)(C) is amended to require Boards to set a parent share of cost that is 23 affordable to all eligible families in the workforce area and not a barrier to families receiving 24 assistance.  25 
	 26 
	New §809.19(d) is added to provide necessary criteria to the process for terminating child care 27 for failure to pay the parent share of cost, including requirements for: 28 
	--evaluating a family's financial circumstances for possible reduction of the parent share of cost 29 before an early termination for nonpayment of parent share of cost;  30 
	--determining general affordability of the parent share of cost;  31 
	--maintenance of a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of cost;  32 
	--the Board's definition of what constitutes frequent terminations; and  33 
	--the Board's process for assessing the general affordability of its parent share of cost schedule.  34 
	 35 
	New §809.19(e) is added to require Boards to reexamine their sliding fee scales if there are 36 frequent terminations of care for lack of payment of the parent share of cost, and to adjust the fee 37 schedule to ensure that fees are not a barrier to assistance for families at certain income levels. 38 
	 39 
	New §809.19(f) is added to state that if a Board does not have a policy to reimburse providers 40 when the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost, the Board has the option to require parents 41 to repay the provider before being eligible for future child care services. 42 
	 43 
	The current provision that prohibits a child's future eligibility when a parent owes a parent share 44 of cost repayment to a Board if the Board has a policy in place that reimburses providers for 45 parents' unpaid fees is retained. Given the ability to terminate care before 12 months when a 46 
	parent fails to pay the parent share of cost, the financial risks associated with reimbursing 1 providers will be substantially lower and more limited.   2 
	 3 
	Subsections and paragraphs are relettered and renumbered as needed. 4 
	 5 
	Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(2) and identifying the 6 general criteria for determining affordability of a Board's parent share of cost. 7 
	 8 
	Response: Boards have flexibility in establishing their parent share of cost policy. Boards 9 are encouraged to review the labor market, housing costs and economic conditions in 10 their workforce areas, and other factors relevant in determining general affordability 11 when establishing this policy.  If a Board finds that excessive terminations are occurring 12 due to failure to pay the parent share of cost, the Board must reevaluate its policy of 13 affordability of care in the local area and determine wh
	 17 
	Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(3) and how to 18 maintain a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of cost that 19 includes family size, income, family circumstances, and the reason for termination. 20 
	 21 
	Response: TWC is scheduling upgrades in The Workforce Information System of Texas 22 (TWIST) to reinstate several termination codes to help track terminations and to assist 23 Boards in identifying patterns of frequent terminations. 24 
	 25 
	Comment: Several comments were received regarding §809.19(d)(4), which allows 26 Boards to define what constitutes frequent terminations of care related to nonpayment of 27 parent share of cost, and what parameters are used to determine the general affordability 28 of a Board's parent share of cost schedule. 29 
	 30 
	Response: Boards have flexibility in establishing their parent share of cost policy, 31 including what constitutes frequent terminations of care related to nonpayment of parent 32 share of cost. Boards are encouraged to review the labor market, housing costs and 33 economic conditions in their workforce areas, and other factors relevant in determining 34 general affordability and frequent terminations of care when establishing this policy.  If a 35 Board finds that excessive terminations are occurring due t
	 40 
	Comment: One commenter asked if the requirement to evaluate and document a family's 41 financial situation for extenuating circumstances that may affect affordability of the 42 assessed parent share of cost, and a possible temporary reduction before the Board or its 43 contractor may terminate care, must only happen if a parent requests a parent share of 44 cost reduction.  45 
	 46 
	Response: The Board must attempt to evaluate and document a family's financial 1 situation for extenuating circumstances that may affect the family's ability to pay the 2 assessed share of cost each time a parent is reported for failure to pay the share of cost.  3 
	 4 
	Comment: One commenter asked if Boards can limit the number of parent share of cost 5 reductions allowed in a 12-month eligibility period.  6 
	 7 
	Response:  The Board must assess the family's financial situation for extenuating 8 circumstances each time the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost. Evaluations 9 cannot be limited to a certain number of times per year. However, Board policy may 10 establish how many parent-initiated parent share of cost reduction requests a family may 11 make within an eligibility period.  12 
	 13 
	Comment: Two commenters indicated that the evaluations and possible reduction of a 14 parent share of cost based on a family's extenuating circumstances will increase Board 15 expenditures for those Boards that have a policy of reimbursing providers for unpaid 16 parent share of cost and may cause an undue burden on Boards that are already 17 overenrolled.  18 
	 19 
	Response: Reexamining and adjusting the sliding fee scale to ensure that parent fees are 20 not a barrier to assistance for families at certain levels is a federal requirement. Board 21 policy may establish how many parent-initiated parent share of cost reduction requests a 22 parent is allowed to make within an eligibility period, however an assessment of the 23 family’s financial situation for extenuating circumstances must be completed each time 24 the family is reported for non-payment. 25 
	 26 
	Comment: One comment was received regarding §809.19(f) and whether late fees that a 27 provider charges are included as fees that the Board can require a family to pay to the 28 provider, along with any unpaid parent share of cost, before the family can be 29 redetermined eligible for future child care services. 30 
	 31 
	Response: No, late fees are not a part of the monthly cost of care assessed with the child 32 care services eligibility determination. Late fees charged are outside the scope of child 33 care services and are directly assessed to the parent by the provider. A provider may 34 stipulate that a parent cannot return the child to care until late fees are paid, but for 35 eligibility for future child care services, the repayment addressed in Board policy relates 36 only to unpaid parent share of cost.  37 
	 38 
	Comment: One commenter asked if it is allowable to inform parents in writing to notify 39 child care services in advance of the monthly parent share of cost due date if the parents 40 have difficulty paying their parent share of cost.  41 
	 42 
	Response: Under §809.71(16), relating to parent rights, a Board shall ensure that the 43 Board's child care contractor informs the parent in writing that the parent has the right to 44 receive written notification of possible termination of child care services for failure to 45 pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). Although Boards have the flexibility 46 
	to request that parents notify child care services in advance of the new month if the 1 parents anticipate having difficulty in paying the parent share of cost, terminating child 2 care due to a failure to notify the Board in advance would create a new category of 3 intentional program violation and is not one of the types of intentional program violations 4 defined in federal statute at §98.21(a)(5) or child care services rules at §809.13(c)(3)(A). 5 An evaluation of the family's financial circumstances mu
	 10 
	Comment: One commenter asked if a family's inability to pay the parent share of cost 11 automatically qualifies the family for a fee reduction, and about the level of effort that 12 child care services staff would have to invest in gathering the documents to assess if a 13 parent qualifies for a fee reduction. Additionally, the commenter asked how the 14 delinquent share of cost will be resolved if a parent share of cost is already past due and a 15 future reduction is applied.    16 
	 17 
	One commenter asked whether, if the family refuses to provide documentation to allow 18 Boards to complete this evaluation, it will suffice for Boards to document their attempts 19 and the family's noncooperation. 20 
	 21 
	Response: Section 809.19(c)(3) requires Boards to establish a policy on assessment of a 22 parent share of cost, to include information that failure to pay is a program violation 23 subject to early termination of child care services. In their local policy, Boards have 24 flexibility in providing direction on how to proceed if a family is not cooperative or 25 responsive to the attempts to evaluate the family's financial situation for extenuating 26 circumstances, pursuant to §809.19(d)(1).  There are many 
	 31 
	Comment: One commenter suggested that Boards should consider not retaining, but 32 rather, changing their policies to require parents to repay the provider. Another 33 commenter asked if the rule is reverting to not reimbursing providers, or if they can still 34 reimburse providers and terminate care before the eligibility end date.  35 
	 36 
	Response: The Child Care Services rules allow Boards to develop this policy. If a Board 37 has a policy to reimburse providers for unpaid parent share of cost, the Board may 38 attempt to recoup that money directly from the parents. If the Board does not have a 39 policy to reimburse providers for the unpaid share of cost, it can still develop a policy to 40 require that parents repay the unpaid share of cost of care directly to the provider before 41 being eligible for future child care services. Failure t
	 45 
	Comment: One commenter asked how many unpaid parent share of cost infractions are 1 allowed before a Board can terminate care for this reason and how quickly the 2 termination notice and appeal notice must be mailed after nonpayment of parent share of 3 cost has occurred. 4 
	 5 
	Response: Pursuant to §809.19(c)(3), Boards must develop a policy on assessment of the 6 parent share of cost, to include information that failure to pay is a program violation, 7 subject to early termination of child care services. Boards may include in their local 8 policy the number or frequency of parent-initiated requests for a parent share of cost 9 reduction. However, an assessment must occur each time the parent fails to pay the parent 10 share of cost to determine if there are any extenuating circu
	 17 
	Comment: One Board commented that §809.19(d)(4) requires Boards to establish a 18 policy that must include, ". . . its process for assessing the general affordability of Board's 19 parent share of cost schedule . . ." indicating that this Board's policies do not also include 20 procedures, since any changes would require approval from the Board of Directors.  21 
	 22 
	Response: TWC clarifies that the requirement is that Boards have a policy in place to 23 assess the general affordability of the Board's parent share of cost schedule. This policy 24 can include a requirement that the process is established by the contractor, or the Board 25 can include specific requirements in Board policy that the Board wants the contractor to 26 follow.  27 
	 28 
	SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES     29 
	TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter C. 30 
	 31 
	§809.55. Waiting Periods for Reapplication 32 
	Current rules at §809.78(a)(3) establish a 12-month waiting period for children who exceed 65 33 absences. However, to add clarity, waiting period information is being moved to this stand-alone 34 section. New §809.55 is added to require a mandatory waiting period of 60 calendar days before 35 a family can reapply or be placed on a waiting list for child care services if care is terminated due 36 to excessive unexplained absences, as described in §809.78(a)(1), or unpaid parent share of cost, 37 as describe
	 39 
	Furthermore, to more closely align with ACF guidance, the standard of 65 absences set forth in 40 §809.78(a)(3) is changed to more than 40 unexplained absences in a 12-month eligibility period. 41 Adding this clarification will prevent immediate reapplication for services when care is 42 terminated.  43 
	   44 
	However, to ensure full alignment between Child Care Services rules and the Choices program 1 requirements, the mandatory waiting period will not apply to individuals who, during the 60-2 calendar day waiting period: 3 
	--become Choices participants who require child care to participate in the Choices program; or 4 
	--are on Choices sanction status and require child care to demonstrate participation in Choices. 5 
	 6 
	Comment: One commenter expressed appreciation of reducing the waiting period for 7 reapplication from 12 months to 60 days. 8 
	 9 
	Response: TWC appreciates the comment. 10 
	 11 
	Comment: Several commenters asked for clarification if the 60-day waiting period 12 applies to the entire family or just the individual child. Another commenter asked for 13 clarification regarding the waiting period for reapplication as it applies to termination of 14 child care due to failure to pay the parent share of cost. 15 
	 16 
	Response: Section 809.55(a) states, "A parent is ineligible to reapply for child care 17 services or to be placed on the waiting list for services for 60 calendar days if the 18 parent's eligibility or the child's enrollment is terminated . . ." 19 
	 20 
	The 60-day waiting period applies to each individual child when care is terminated due to 21 excessive unexplained absences. However, failure to pay parent share of cost will 22 terminate the eligibility period for the entire family. Section 809.78(a)(1) is updated to 23 clarify that termination of care occurs for the child due to excessive unexplained 24 absences. 25 
	 26 
	Comment: One commenter asked whether a child on a 60-day sit out who has a sibling 27 in care must still sit out of care for 60 days before being placed back on the waiting list or 28 can be brought back into care after 60 days. If the child is only out for 60 days, this will 29 require tracking and could impact the number of children who are brought into care in the 30 future. 31 
	 32 
	Response: The 60-day sit out applies to the child, and the child must be out of care for 60 33 days before the child can be placed back on the waiting list. Some Boards may have a 34 Board-established priority group for siblings of children already in care; however, the 35 child must still sit out for 60 calendar days before being placed in that priority group. 36 
	 37 
	Comment: Two commenters had questions related to the waiting period for reapplication 38 as it applies to current and former Choices participants.   39 
	 40 
	Comment: One commenter had a question on families (income-eligible and/or Choices) 41 that were previously on a 12-month waiting period for absences exceeding 65 days within 42 an eligibility period and how those customers can return to care, specifically, if receipt of 43 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families and participation in Choices allow the family 44 to reengage with child care services sooner. 45 
	 46 
	Response: During the transition period between the old rule and the new rule, if the 1 family is currently in a waiting period for re-application, the time frame will be reduced 2 from the previous 12-month waiting period to the approved 60 calendar days.  Families 3 will not have their eligibility agreement interrupted during the current eligibility period, 4 but when a consequence is applied, the new consequence timeframes will be applicable.  5 Additional guidance will be provided through a WD Letter and
	 8 
	Comment: One commenter asked if being placed on the waiting list and reapplying for 9 services are the same thing, given that §809.55(a) states that "a parent is ineligible to 10 reapply for child care services or to be placed on the waiting list for 60 calendar days if 11 the parent's eligibility or the child's enrollment is terminated . . ." 12 
	 13 
	Response: A family cannot be placed on the waiting list or have an eligibility 14 determination completed until 60 calendar days have passed, if the parent's eligibility or 15 the child's enrollment is terminated.   16 
	 17 
	If a child or family is ineligible to be recertified based on the previous rules and is in a 18 waiting period for reapplication, that time frame will be reduced from the previous 12-19 month waiting period to the approved waiting period of 60 calendar days. Families will 20 not have their eligibility agreements interrupted during the current eligibility period, but 21 when a consequence is applied, the new consequence time frames will be applicable.  22 
	 23 
	SUBCHAPTER D. PARENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES     24 
	TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter D. 25 
	 26 
	§809.71. Parent Rights 27 
	New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) states that lead agencies may terminate care in circumstances in 28 which there have been "excessive unexplained absences," as defined by the state, and requires 29 that before terminating care for excessive absences, multiple attempts be made to contact the 30 family and provider, including notification of possible discontinuation of services. 31 
	 32 
	Based on this guidance within the CCDF final rules, §809.71 is amended by adding paragraphs 33 (15) and (16) to require that a parent must receive written notification that child care services 34 may be terminated within a 12-month eligibility period if:  35 
	--a child has excessive unexplained absences, pursuant to §809.78(a)(1); or  36 
	--the family fails to pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to new §809.19(d). 37 
	 38 
	Comment: One commenter asked for clarification of "multiple attempts," which must be 39 made to contact the family and provider, including notification of possible 40 discontinuation of assistance. 41 
	 42 
	Response: Section 809.78(d)(1) instructs Boards to develop procedures to ensure that 43 before terminating care for excessive unexplained absences, written notice is provided to 44 the parent and provider at 15 and then 30 cumulative absences within a 12-month 45 
	eligibility period. Boards have flexibility to determine what constitutes multiple attempts 1 as long as the required two attempts identified in §809.78(d)(1) are documented.   2 
	 3 
	Comment: One commenter asked about parent rights and notification requirements 4 during the transition to terminating care during an eligibility period, and the effective 5 dates of the notification, as it relates to implementing termination of care immediately 6 and a parent's right to appeal. 7 
	 8 
	Response: Section 809.71, Parent Rights, will be implemented in a manner so that 9 families will not have their eligibility agreement interrupted during the current eligibility 10 period. If a consequence must be applied, due to failure of the parent to meet the current 11 eligibility agreements identified at initial determination (such as accruing more than 65 12 absences), it will not be applied during the current eligibility period.  The parent will 13 continue care, consistent with the agreement and not
	 17 
	Boards will not need to disrupt a current eligibility period to notify parents of the rule 18 changes.  Boards will implement the rule changes at the beginning of each family’s new 19 eligibility period. Boards retain the responsibility to notify parents of the right to appeal if 20 the parent’s eligibility or child’s enrollment is denied, delayed, reduced, suspended or 21 terminated, pursuant to §809.74(a)(1)   22 
	 23 
	§809.75. Child Care during Appeal 24 
	Section 809.75 is amended by adding new subsection (b) to prohibit continuation of child care 25 during an appeal if child care is terminated due to excessive unexplained absences, pursuant to 26 §809.78, or nonpayment of parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19. 27 
	 28 
	Subsections are relettered as needed. 29 
	 30 
	No comments were received for this section. 31 
	 32 
	§809.78. Attendance Standards and Notice and Reporting Requirements 33 
	New 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) states that lead agencies may terminate care within a 12-month 34 eligibility period in circumstances in which there have been excessive unexplained absences as 35 defined by the state. Additionally, the preamble to the final rules states the following:  36 
	 37 
	The definition of excessive should not be used as a mechanism for prematurely 38 terminating eligibility and must be sufficient to allow for a reasonable number of 39 absences. It is ACF's view that unexplained absences should account for at least 15 40 percent of a child's planned attendance before such absences are considered excessive.  41 This 15 percent aligns generally with Head Start's attendance policy and ACF will 42 consider it as a benchmark when reviewing and monitoring this requirement.  43 
	 44 
	Section 809.78(a)(1) is amended to require Boards to notify parents regarding attendance 1 standards and possible termination of child care services during the 12-month eligibility period 2 when there have been "excessive unexplained absences."   3 
	Consistent with federal guidance in the preamble and 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) regarding the 15 4 percent attendance standard, §809.78(a)(1)(A) and (B) are removed, and §809.78(a)(2) is 5 amended to define acceptable attendance standards as no more than 40 unexplained absences 6 within a 12-month eligibility period (which is 15 percent of a standard 260- to 262-calendar–day 7 child care year, as recommended in the preamble of the CCDF final rule).  8 
	Current §809.78(a)(2) is amended to align with new federal rules at 45 CFR Part 98 regarding 9 excessive unexplained absences. 10 
	 11 
	Current §809.78(a)(3) is amended because 65 absences in a 12-month period is no longer an 12 applicable standard. Additionally, the current 12-month waiting period for children who exceed 13 65 absences within an eligibility period is eliminated. This rule will be superseded by the ability 14 to terminate care immediately after 40 absences, as well as by the reinstatement of a mandatory 15 waiting period set forth in §809.55.  16 
	 17 
	Section 809.78(a)(3)(A) - (C) are added to define "unexplained absences." 18 
	 19 
	Section 809.78(c) is amended to explain that absences due to court-order visitation, chronic 20 illness or a disability do not count toward the definition of “excessive unexplained absences” as 21 described in §809.78(a). 22 
	 23 
	Although 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) permits states to terminate care within a 12-month eligibility 24 period for excessive unexplained absences, it also requires that before terminating care for 25 excessive unexplained absences, multiple attempts must be made to contact the family and 26 provider, including notification of the possible discontinuation of assistance.  27 
	 28 
	Consistent with 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) and preamble guidance, §809.78(d) is added to require 29 Boards to develop procedures to ensure that before terminating care for excessive unexplained 30 absences pursuant to §809.78, the child care contractor makes multiple attempts to contact the 31 family and the child care provider to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 32 importance of regular attendance. The Board's procedures also must require documentation of 33 attempts to provide notice to th
	 39 
	Subsections have been relettered as needed. 40 
	 41 
	Comment: A recommendation to clarify whether in §809.78(a)(1) failure to meet 42 attendance standards resulting in termination applies to the child or the family. 43 
	 44 
	Response: TWC agrees with this recommendation and added the phrase “the child due 1 to” to §809.78(a)(1) so the phrase now reads:  "Failure to meet attendance standards 2 described in paragraph (2) of this subsection may result in termination of care for the 3 child due to excessive unexplained absences pursuant to subsection (d) of this section."  4 
	 5 
	Comment: A recommendation was received to add "chronic" to the phrase "documented 6 illness" in §809.78(a)(3)(A) to maintain consistency with the exceptions to unexplained 7 absences discussed in §809.78(c).  8 
	 9 
	Response: TWC agrees with this recommendation and added "chronic" to the phrase in 10 §809.78(a)(3)(A). 11 
	 12 
	Comment: Nine comments were received about §809.78(d)(1) regarding how and when 13 the five consecutive absences will be counted and expressed concern about administrative 14 burdens on staff, as well as concern for placing the responsibility on providers to report 15 this attendance so that contractors can act in a timely manner as the fifth consecutive 16 absence accrues.   17 
	 18 
	Response: Based on the number and nature of comments received, as well as the 19 unintended burden placed on providers to report absences, TWC is persuaded to remove 20 the requirement of the written notification at five consecutive absences from the proposed 21 rules. The written notification requirement at 15 and 30 absences is retained. 22 Additionally, the parent will still receive the written termination notice 15 days before 23 termination of services as well as the appeal notification. 24 
	 25 
	Comment: Four comments were received regarding amending the requirement for 26 "written notices" in §809.78(d)(1), specifically the requirements that the contractor must 27 follow before terminating services. The comments referenced administrative and fiscal 28 burdens that would occur with the increased written correspondence, as well as the staff 29 time to research absences at those time frames.  Additionally, some Boards use other 30 methods, such as auto-dialers or automatic notification systems that l
	 32 
	Response: TWC encourages Boards to make full use of alternative formats to provide 33 written notices that may reduce the fiscal burden. However, with the recommendation to 34 remove written notification to parents at five consecutive absences, TWC retains the 35 requirement to send written notification at 15 and 30 absences.   36 
	 37 
	Comment: Several comments were received that recommended changes to TWIST to 38 assist with appropriate tracking and monitoring of attendance standards.   39 
	 40 
	Response: TWC is implementing a TWIST enhancement to assist with the tracking and 41 monitoring of attendance standards. 42 
	 43 
	Comment: Comments were received asking to define "multiple attempts" relating to 44 §809.78(d)(2), which states that Boards shall ensure that the child care contractor 45 
	documents multiple attempts to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 1 importance of regular attendance before termination of services.   2 
	 3 
	Response: Section 809.78(d)(1) instructs Boards to develop procedures to ensure that 4 before terminating care for excessive unexplained absences, written notice is provided to 5 the parent and provider at 15 and then 30 cumulative absences within a 12-month 6 eligibility period. Boards have flexibility to determine what constitutes multiple attempts 7 as long as the required two attempts identified in §809.78(d)(1) are documented.   8 
	 9 
	Comment: Several comments were received regarding the absence notification letters 10 and whether the current Board-defined time frames will suffice. Comments were also 11 received regarding the content of the letters and whether it is appropriate and permissible 12 to add language on the possibility of discontinuation of care in each of the letters. An 13 additional comment was received regarding when to send the termination notice and the 14 appeal notification. One comment suggested sending notification 
	 19 
	Response: The purpose of the notification letters is to determine if the absences are 20 explained due to documented chronic illness or court ordered visitation, pursuant to 21 §809.73(a)(3)(A). The assessment of whether an absence is explained or unexplained 22 must be completed before determining if care should end.  The Board's attempts to notify 23 the parent of the potential for termination of care must occur consistent with 24 §809.78(d)(1), which requires notification letters to go out at 15 and 30 a
	 28 
	Comment: One commenter asked for a definition of "established communication 29 channels." Another commenter asked about the requirement to contact providers when a 30 child accrues absences. 31 
	 32 
	Response: "Established communication channels" is a broad description to encompass 33 the various methods that Boards may use to communicate with parents and providers. It 34 is important to have communication with both the parent and the provider to identify any 35 additional information about the child's absence that might change the "unexplained" 36 determination.  Consistent with §809.92(b)(4), providers shall follow attendance 37 reporting and tracking procedures required by the Commission under §809.9
	 42 
	Comment: One commenter asked if, after contacting the provider, it is determined that 43 the child was not absent, but the attendance was not recorded, the "absence" still accrues 44 toward the allowable absence limit. 45 
	 46 
	Response: If the attendance-recording device was functioning and available at that 1 provider, but the parent did not use the device (that is, failed to record attendance for a 2 day), that absence may accrue toward the absence limit. 3 
	 4 
	Comment: One commenter asked if court-ordered visitation, chronic illness, or disability 5 must be supported by documentation provided by the parent.  Additionally, a commenter 6 inquired about how to document missed attendance recording on or near the date of a 7 doctor visit documented by a doctor’s note and finally a request for clarification that the 8 responsibility remains on the parent to ensure that an absence was due to an illness is 9 documented correctly in the attendance recording system. 10 
	 11 
	Response: Section 809.78(a)(3)(A) clarifies that unexplained absences include "any 12 absence that is not due to a child's documented chronic illness or disability, or to a court-13 ordered custody or visitation agreement." TWC allows Boards the flexibility to determine 14 the level of detail required to show the dates of the documented chronic illness, disability, 15 or court-ordered custody or visitation agreement consistent with TWC policy reflected in 16 §809.78(a)(3)(A).  Parents maintain the responsib
	 19 
	Comment: One commenter requested clarification on whether Boards are still able to 20 terminate care when a child is absent for five consecutive days. Another commenter 21 asked if outreach must continue at 10 total absences in a month. 22 
	 23 
	Response: No, Boards are only able to terminate care due to absences when the child has 24 more than 40 unexplained absences. Boards can terminate at the 41st unexplained 25 absence, after attempts to notify the family and determine the reason for the child's 26 absences are documented and the appropriate termination and appeal notices are 27 provided.  The Board's attempts to notify the parent of the potential for termination of 28 care must occur consistent with §809.78(d)(1), which requires notification 
	 33 
	Comment: Several commenters suggested that these changes to the number of allowable 34 absences should apply at each family's recertification of eligibility, not in the middle of 35 an eligibility period. 36 
	 37 
	Response: TWC will issue a WD Letter that will address the implementation of the new 38 rules as it relates to eligibility periods for children.  Families will not have their eligibility 39 agreement interrupted during the current eligibility period, but when a consequence is 40 applied, the new consequence timeframes will be applicable.   41 
	 42 
	Comment: One commenter asked TWC to confirm if termination of care due to 43 excessive unexplained absences is subject to local flexibility. 44 
	 45 
	Response: No, termination of care due to excessive unexplained absences is not subject 1 to local flexibility, pursuant to 45 CFR §98.21(a)(5)(i) and §809.78(a)(2). Parents must 2 be notified of how many absences constitutes excessive unexplained absences and that 3 failure to adhere to the absence limitations may result in termination of care if absences 4 are unexplained. Boards do retain the flexibility to locally establish processes for 5 determining why a child is absent and explaining the importance o
	 7 
	Comment: One commenter asked whether, if the child has fewer than 40 absences and 8 all parent share of cost payments have been made that were due and the family is 9 redetermined to be eligible for the program and has another 12 months of eligibility 10 authorized at the time the eligibility redetermination is completed, the contractor needs to 11 continue to monitor absences and parent share of cost payments between the date the 12 eligibility is determined and the date the new eligibility period starts, 
	 15 
	Response: Once a new eligibility period is established, any absences accrued or parent 16 share of cost violations after the new eligibility determination is made, but before the 17 current eligibility period ends, will not affect the new eligibility period.  TWC is updating 18 the Child Care Services guide to address counting absences for children.   19 
	 20 
	Comment:  One commenter identified an increased cost to Boards to implement the 21 changes.  Specifically, multiple attempts to contact parents and providers to inquire about 22 absences will increase staff time to handle the communication implied in these 23 interactions.   24 
	 25 
	Response:  Attempting to notify the parent and provider of a child’s excessive 26 unexplained absences is a federal requirement.  Boards currently send notification letters 27 to parents due to a child’s absences once certain amounts of absences have accrued.  In 28 the proposed rule, the Board's attempts to notify the parent of the potential for 29 termination of care must occur consistent with §809.78(d)(1), which requires notification 30 letters to go out at 15 and 30 absences, and consistent with §809.7
	 34 
	 35 
	SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE      36 
	TWC adopts the following amendments to Subchapter E. 37 
	 38 
	§809.93. Provider Reimbursement 39 
	Section 809.93(b) is amended to remove "and §809.78(a)."  40 
	 41 
	No comments were received for this section. 42 
	 43 
	COMMENTS WERE RECEIVED FROM: 44 
	Ann Haines, Workforce Solutions East Texas  45 
	Teresa Watson, Workforce Solutions Heart of Texas  46 
	Julie Craig, Workforce Solutions Texoma 1 
	Marla Moon, Workforce Solutions Northeast Texas 2 
	Shawn Garrison, Workforce Solutions Alamo 3 
	Lisa Colyer, Workforce Solutions of West Central Texas 4 
	Shannon Richter, Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area 5 
	David Baggerly, Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast 6 
	 7 
	TWC hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be 8 within TWC's legal authority to adopt. 9 
	 10 
	The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide TWC 11 with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective 12 administration of TWC services and activities, and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, 13 regarding Administrative Rules. 14 
	 15 
	The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly Chapters 301 and 302, as well as 16 Texas Government Code, Chapter 2308. 17 
	18 
	CHAPTER 809.  CHILD CARE SERVICES 1 
	 2 
	Subchapter A.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 3 
	 4 
	§809.2. Definitions. 5 
	 6 
	The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 7 meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 8 
	   9 
	(1)     Attending a job training or educational program--An individual is attending a 10 job training or educational program if the individual:  11 
	     12 
	(A)    is considered by the program to be officially enrolled;  13 
	     14 
	(B)    meets all attendance requirements established by the program; and  15 
	     16 
	(C)    is making progress toward successful completion of the program as 17 determined by the Board upon eligibility redetermination as described in 18 §809.42(b).  19 
	   20 
	(2)     Child--An individual who meets the general eligibility requirements contained 21 in this chapter for receiving child care services.  22 
	   23 
	(3)     Child care contractor--The entity or entities under contract with the Board to 24 manage child care services. This includes contractors involved in determining 25 eligibility for child care services, contractors involved in the billing and 26 reimbursement process related to child care subsidies, as well as contractors 27 involved in the funding of quality improvement activities as described in 28 §809.16.  29 
	   30 
	(4)     Child care services--Child care subsidies and quality improvement activities 31 funded by the Commission.  32 
	   33 
	(5)     Child care subsidies--Commission-funded child care reimbursements to an 34 eligible child care provider for the direct care of an eligible child.  35 
	   36 
	(6)     Child experiencing homelessness--A child who is homeless as defined in the 37 McKinney-Vento Act (42 U.S.C. 11434(a)), Subtitle VII-B, §725. 38 
	   39 
	(7)     Child with disabilities--A child who has a physical or mental impairment that 40 substantially limits one or more major life activities, has a record of such an 41 impairment, or is regarded as having such an impairment. Major life activities 42 include, but are not limited to, caring for oneself; performing manual tasks; 43 walking; hearing; seeing, speaking, or breathing; learning; and working.  44 
	   45 
	(8)     Educational program--A program that leads to:  46 
	     1 
	(A)    a high school diploma;  2 
	     3 
	(B)    a General Educational Development (GED) credential; or  4 
	     5 
	(C)    a postsecondary degree from an institution of higher education.  6 
	   7 
	(9)     Excessive unexplained absences--More than 40 unexplained absences within a 8 12-month eligibility period as described in §809.78(a)(3).  9 
	 10 
	(10)(9)     Family--Two or more individuals related by blood, marriage, or decree of 11 court, who are living in a single residence and are included in one or more of 12 the following categories: 13 
	     14 
	(A)    Two individuals, married--including by common-law, and household 15 dependents; or 16 
	     17 
	(B)    A parent and household dependents. 18 
	   19 
	(11)(10)   Household dependent--An individual living in the household who is one of 20 the following:  21 
	     22 
	(A)    An adult considered as a dependent of the parent for income tax 23 purposes;  24 
	     25 
	(B)    A child of a teen parent; or  26 
	     27 
	(C)    A child or other minor living in the household who is the responsibility 28 of the parent.  29 
	   30 
	(12)(11)   Improper payments--Any payment of CCDF grant funds that should not 31 have been made or that was made in an incorrect amount (including 32 overpayments and underpayments) under statutory, contractual, administrative, 33 or other legally applicable requirements governing the administration of CCDF 34 grant funds and includes payments: 35 
	     36 
	(A)    to an ineligible recipient; 37 
	     38 
	(B)    for an ineligible service; 39 
	     40 
	(C)    for any duplicate payment; and 41 
	     42 
	(D)    for services not received. 43 
	   44 
	(13)(12)   Job training program--A program that provides training or instruction 45 leading to:  46 
	     1 
	(A)    basic literacy;  2 
	     3 
	(B)    English proficiency;  4 
	     5 
	(C)    an occupational or professional certification or license; or  6 
	     7 
	(D)    the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and abilities specific to an 8 occupation.  9 
	   10 
	(14)(13)   Listed family home--A family home, other than the eligible child's own 11 residence, that is listed, but not licensed or registered with, the Texas 12 Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) pursuant to Texas 13 Human Resources Code §42.052(c).  14 
	   15 
	(15)(14)   Military deployment--The temporary duty assignment away from the 16 permanent military installation or place of residence for reserve components of 17 the single military parent or the dual military parents. This includes deployed 18 parents in the regular military, military reserves, or National Guard.  19 
	   20 
	(16)(15)   Parent--An individual who is responsible for the care and supervision of a 21 child and is identified as the child's natural parent, adoptive parent, stepparent, 22 legal guardian, or person standing in loco parentis (as determined in 23 accordance with Commission policies and procedures). Unless otherwise 24 indicated, the term applies to a single parent or both parents.  25 
	   26 
	(17)(16)   Protective services--Services provided when:  27 
	     28 
	(A)    a child is at risk of abuse or neglect in the immediate or short-term future 29 and the child's family cannot or will not protect the child without DFPS 30 Child Protective Services (CPS) intervention;  31 
	     32 
	(B)    a child is in the managing conservatorship of DFPS and residing with a 33 relative or a foster parent; or  34 
	     35 
	(C)    a child has been provided with protective services by DFPS within the 36 prior six months and requires services to ensure the stability of the 37 family.  38 
	   39 
	(18)(17)     Provider--A provider is defined as:  40 
	     41 
	(A)    a regulated child care provider as defined in §809.2(18);  42 
	     43 
	(B)    a relative child care provider as defined in §809.2(19); or  44 
	     45 
	(C)    a listed family home as defined in §809.2(13), subject to the 1 requirements in §809.91(b).  2 
	   3 
	(19)(18)   Regulated child care provider--A provider caring for an eligible child in a 4 location other than the eligible child's own residence that is:  5 
	     6 
	(A)    licensed by DFPS;  7 
	     8 
	(B)    registered with DFPS; or 9 
	     10 
	(C)    operated and monitored by the United States military services.  11 
	   12 
	(20)(19)   Relative child care provider--An individual who is at least 18 years of age, 13 and is, by marriage, blood relationship, or court decree, one of the following:  14 
	     15 
	(A)    The child's grandparent;  16 
	     17 
	(B)    The child's great-grandparent;  18 
	     19 
	(C)    The child's aunt;  20 
	     21 
	(D)    The child's uncle; or  22 
	     23 
	(E)    The child's sibling (if the sibling does not reside in the same household as 24 the eligible child).  25 
	   26 
	(21)(20)   Residing with--Unless otherwise stipulated in this chapter, a child is 27 considered to be residing with the parent when the child is living with and 28 physically present with the parent during the time period for which child care 29 services are being requested or received.  30 
	   31 
	(22)(21)   Teen parent--A teen parent (teen) is an individual 18 years of age or 32 younger, or 19 years of age and attending high school or the equivalent, who 33 has a child.  34 
	   35 
	(23)(22)   Texas Rising Star program--A voluntary, quality-based rating system of 36 child care providers participating in Commission-subsidized child care.  37 
	   38 
	(24)(23)   Texas Rising Star Provider--A provider certified as meeting the TRS 39 program standards. TRS providers are certified as one of the following: 40 
	     41 
	(A)    2-Star Program Provider; 42 
	     43 
	(B)    3-Star Program Provider; or 44 
	     45 
	(C)    4-Star Program Provider. 46 
	   1 
	(25)(24)   Working--Working is defined as:  2 
	     3 
	(A)    activities for which one receives monetary compensation such as a 4 salary, wages, tips, and commissions; or 5 
	     6 
	(B)    participation in Choices or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 7 Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) activities. 8 
	 9 
	     SUBCHAPTER B.  GENERAL MANAGEMENT  10 
	 11 
	§809.13.  Board Policies for Child Care Services. 12 
	 13 
	(a)   A Board shall develop, adopt, and modify its policies for the design and management 14 of the delivery of child care services in a public process in accordance with Chapter 15 802 of this title.  16 
	 17 
	(b)   A Board shall maintain written copies of the policies that are required by federal and 18 state law, or as requested by the Commission, and make such policies available to 19 the Commission and the public upon request.  20 
	 21 
	(c)   At a minimum, a Board shall develop policies related to:  22 
	   23 
	(1)     how the Board determines that the parent is making progress toward successful 24 completion of a job training or educational program as described in §809.2(1);  25 
	   26 
	(2)     maintenance of a waiting list as described in §809.18(b);  27 
	   28 
	(3)     assessment of a parent share of cost as described in §809.19(a)(1), including:  29 
	(A)--provisions for a parent's failure to pay the parent share of cost, including 30 the reimbursement of providers, when a parent fails to pay the parent share of 31 cost; as a program violation that is subject to early termination of child care 32 services within a 12-month eligibility period; and 33 
	(B)--criteria for determining the affordability of the parent share of cost, as 34 described in §809.19(d) - (e);  35 
	   36 
	(4)     maximum reimbursement rates as provided in §809.20, including policies 37 related to reimbursement of providers that offer transportation;  38 
	   39 
	(5)     family income limits as described in Subchapter C of this chapter (relating to 40 Eligibility for Child Care Services);  41 
	   42 
	(6)     provision of child care services to a child with disabilities under the age of 19 43 as described in §809.41(a)(1)(B);  44 
	   45 
	(7)     minimum activity requirements for parents as described in §809.48 and 1 §809.50;  2 
	   3 
	(8)     time limits for the provision of child care while the parent is attending an 4 educational program as described in §809.41(b);  5 
	   6 
	(9)     Board priority groups as described in §809.43(a);  7 
	   8 
	(10)   transfer of a child from one provider to another as described in §809.71(3);  9 
	   10 
	(11)   providers charging the difference between their published rate and the Board's 11 reimbursement rate as provided in §809.92(d);  12 
	   13 
	(12)   procedures for fraud fact-finding as provided in §809.111; and 14 
	   15 
	(13)   policies and procedures to ensure that appropriate corrective actions are taken 16 against a provider or parent for violations of the automated attendance 17 requirements specified in §809.115(d) - (e). 18 
	 19 
	§809.19.  Assessing the Parent Share of Cost.  20 
	 21 
	(a)   For child care funds allocated by the Commission pursuant to its allocation rules 22 (generally, Chapter 800, General Administration, Subchapter B, Allocation and 23 Funding, and specifically, §800.58, Child Care), including local public transferred 24 funds and local private donated funds, as provided in §809.17, the following shall 25 apply.  26 
	   27 
	(1)     A Board shall set a parent share of cost policy that assesses the parent share of 28 cost in a manner that results in the parent share of cost:  29 
	     30 
	(A)    being assessed to all parents, except in instances when an exemption 31 under paragraph (2) of this subsection applies;  32 
	     33 
	(B)    being an amount determined by a sliding fee scale based on the family's 34 size and gross monthly income, including a possible reexamination of 35 the sliding fee scale if there are frequent terminations for lack of 36 payment pursuant to subsection (e) of this section, and which also may 37 consider the number of children in care;. 38 
	 39 
	(C)    being an amount that is affordable and does not result in a barrier to 40 families receiving assistance; 41 
	 42 
	(D)(C)    being assessed only at the following times:  43 
	       44 
	(i)   initial eligibility determination;  45 
	       46 
	(ii)  12-month eligibility redetermination;  1 
	       2 
	(iii) upon the addition of a child in care; 3 
	       4 
	(iv) upon a parent's report of a change in income, family size, or number 5 of children in care that would result in a reduced parent share of cost 6 assessment; and 7 
	       8 
	(v)   upon resumption of work, job training, or education activities 9 following temporary changes described in §809.51(a)(2) and upon 10 resumption of work, job training, or education activities during the 11 three-month continuation of care period described in §809.51(c); 12 and  13 
	     14 
	(E)(D)    not increasing above the amount assessed at initial eligibility 15 determination or at the 12-month eligibility redetermination based on the 16 factor in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, except upon the addition of 17 a child in care as described in subsection (a)(1)(C)(iii) of this section.  18 
	   19 
	(2)     Parents who are one or more of the following are exempt from paying the 20 parent share of cost:  21 
	     22 
	(A)    Parents who are participating in Choices or who are in Choices child care 23 described in §809.45;  24 
	     25 
	(B)    Parents who are participating in SNAP E&T services or who are in 26 SNAP E&T child care described in §809.47;  27 
	     28 
	(C)    Parents of a child receiving Child Care for Children Experiencing 29 Homelessness as described in §809.52; or  30 
	     31 
	(D)    Parents who have children who are receiving protective services child 32 care pursuant to §809.49 and §809.54(c), unless DFPS assesses the 33 parent share of cost.  34 
	   35 
	(3)     Teen parents who are not covered under exemptions listed in paragraph (2) of 36 this subsection shall be assessed a parent share of cost. The teen parent's share 37 of cost is based solely on the teen parent's income and size of the teen's family 38 as defined in §809.2.  39 
	 40 
	(b)   For child care services funded from sources other than those specified in subsection 41 (a) of this section, a Board shall set a parent share of cost policy based on a sliding 42 fee scale. The sliding fee scale may be the same as or different from the provisions 43 contained in subsection (a) of this section.  44 
	 45 
	(c)   A Board shall establish a policy regarding reimbursement of providers when parents 1 fail to pay the parent share of cost.  2 
	 3 
	(d)   A Board shall establish a policy regarding termination of child care services within a 4 12-month eligibility period when a parent fails to pay the parent share of cost. The 5 Board's policy must include:  6 
	 7 
	(1)   a requirement to evaluate and document each family's financial situation for 8 extenuating circumstances that may affect affordability of the assessed parent 9 share of cost pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection, and a possible 10 temporary reduction pursuant to subsection (g) of this section before the Board 11 or its child care contractor may terminate care under this section; 12 
	 13 
	(2)  general criteria for determining affordability of a Board's parent share of cost, 14 and a process to identify and assess the circumstances that may jeopardize a 15 family's self-sufficiency under subsection (g) of this section;   16 
	 17 
	(3)  maintenance of a list of all terminations due to failure to pay the parent share of 18 cost, including family size, income, family circumstances, and the reason for 19 termination, for use when conducting evaluations of affordability, as required 20 under paragraph (4) of this subsection; and   21 
	 22 
	(4)   the Board's definition of what constitutes frequent terminations and its process 23 for assessing the general affordability of the Board's parent share of cost 24 schedule, pursuant to subsection (e) of this section.  25 
	 26 
	(e) A Board with frequent terminations of care for lack of payment of the parent share of 27 cost must reexamine its sliding fee scale and adjust it to ensure that fees are not a 28 barrier to assistance for families at certain income levels. 29 
	 30 
	(f) A Board that does not have a policy to reimburse providers when parents fail to pay 31 the parent share of cost may establish a policy to require the parent to pay the 32 provider before the family can be redetermined eligible for future child care services. 33 
	 34 
	(g)(d)  The Board or its child care contractor may review the assessed parent share of cost 35 for a possible temporary reduction if there are extenuating circumstances that 36 jeopardize a family's self-sufficiency. The Board or its child care contractor may 37 temporarily reduce the assessed parent share of cost if warranted by these 38 circumstances. Following the temporary reduction, the parent share of cost amount 39 immediately prior to the reduction shall be reinstated. 40 
	 41 
	(h)(e)   If the parent is not covered by an exemption as specified in subsection (a)(2) of 42 this section, then the Board or its child care contractor shall not waive the assessed 43 parent share of cost under any circumstances.  44 
	 45 
	(i)(f)   If the parent share of cost, based on family income and family size, is calculated to 1 be zero, then the Board or its child care contractor shall not charge the parent a 2 minimum share of cost amount. 3 
	 4 
	(j)(g)   A Board may establish a policy to reduce the parent share of cost amount assessed 5 pursuant to subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section upon the parent's selection of a TRS-6 certified provider. Such Board policy shall ensure:  7 
	   8 
	(1)     that the parent continue to receive the reduction if:  9 
	     10 
	(A)    the TRS provider loses TRS certification; or 11 
	     12 
	(B)    the parent moves or changes employment within the workforce area and 13 no TRS-certified providers are available to meet the needs of the parent's 14 changed circumstances; and 15 
	   16 
	(2)     that the parent no longer receives the reduction if the parent voluntarily 17 transfers the child from a TRS-certified provider to a non-TRS-certified 18 provider. 19 
	 20 
	 21 
	        SUBCHAPTER C.  ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 22 
	 23 
	§809.55. Waiting Period for Reapplication. 24 
	 25 
	(a)   A parent is ineligible to reapply for child care services or to be placed on the waiting 26 list for services for 60 calendar days if the parent's eligibility or the child's 27 enrollment is terminated due to: 28 
	 29 
	(1)    excessive unexplained absences under §809.78(a); or 30 
	 31 
	(2)    nonpayment of parent share of cost pursuant to a Board’s established policy 32 under §809.19(d). 33 
	 34 
	(b)   To ensure full alignment between Child Care Services rules and the Choices 35 program requirements, the provisions of subsection (a) of this section will not apply 36 to individuals who, during the 60-calendar day waiting period:   37 
	 38 
	(1)    become Choices participants who require child care to participate in Choices; 39 or 40 
	 41 
	(2)    are on Choices sanction status and require child care to demonstrate 42 participation in Choices. 43 
	 1 
	         SUBCHAPTER  D.  PARENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 2 
	 3 
	§809.71.  Parent Rights. 4 
	 5 
	A Board shall ensure that the Board's child care contractor informs the parent in writing 6 that the parent has the right to: 7 
	 8 
	(1)     choose the type of child care provider that best suits their needs and to be 9 informed of all child care options available to them as included in the 10 consumer education information described in §809.15;  11 
	   12 
	(2)     visit available child care providers before making their choice of a child care 13 option;  14 
	   15 
	(3)     receive assistance in choosing initial or additional child care referrals including 16 information about the Board's policies regarding transferring children from one 17 provider to another;  18 
	   19 
	(4)     be informed of the Commission rules and Board policies related to providers 20 charging parents the difference between the Board's reimbursement and the 21 provider's published rate as described in §809.92(c) - (d);  22 
	   23 
	(5)     be represented when applying for child care services;  24 
	   25 
	(6)     be notified of their eligibility to receive child care services within 20 calendar 26 days from the day the Board's child care contractor receives all necessary 27 documentation required to initially determine eligibility for child care;  28 
	   29 
	(7)     receive child care services regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex, 30 disability, political beliefs, or religion;  31 
	   32 
	(8)     have the Board and the Board's child care contractor treat information used to 33 determine eligibility for child care services as confidential;  34 
	   35 
	(9)     receive written notification at least 15 calendar days before termination of 36 child care services; 37 
	   38 
	(10)   reject an offer of child care services or voluntarily withdraw their child from 39 child care, unless the child is in protective services;  40 
	   41 
	(11)   be informed of the possible consequences of rejecting or ending the child care 42 that is offered;  43 
	   44 
	(12)   be informed of the eligibility documentation and reporting requirements 45 described in §809.72 and §809.73;  46 
	   1 
	(13)   be informed of the parent appeal rights described in §809.74; and 2 
	   3 
	(14)   be informed of required background and criminal history checks for relative 4 child care providers through the listing process with DFPS, as described in 5 §809.91(e), before the parent or guardian selects the relative child care 6 provider;. 7 
	 8 
	(15)   receive written notification pursuant to §809.78(d) of the possible termination 9 of child care services for excessive absences, as described in §809.78(a)(1); 10 and  11 
	 12 
	(16)   receive written notification of possible termination of child care services for 13 failure to pay the parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). 14 
	 15 
	§809.75.  Child Care during Appeal. 16 
	 17 
	(a)   For a child currently enrolled in child care, a Board shall ensure that child care 18 services continue during the appeal process until a decision is reached, if the parent 19 requests a hearing.  20 
	 21 
	(b)   A Board shall ensure that child care does not continue during the appeal process if 22 the child's enrollment is terminated due to excessive unexplained absences, pursuant 23 to §809.78(a), or nonpayment of parent share of cost, pursuant to §809.19(d). 24 
	 25 
	(c)(b)  The cost of providing services during the appeal process is subject to recovery from 26 the parent by the Board, if the appeal decision is rendered against the parent. 27 
	 28 
	§809.78.  Attendance Standards and Notice and Reporting Requirements. 29 
	   30 
	(a)   A Board shall ensure that parents are notified of the following:  31 
	   32 
	(1)     Parents shall ensure that the eligible child attends on a regular basis consistent 33 with the child's authorization for enrollment and attendance standards 34 described in paragraph (2) of this subsection.  Failure to meet monthly 35 attendance standards described in paragraph (2) of this subsection may result in 36 termination of care for the child due to excessive unexplained absences 37 pursuant to subsection (d) of this section.: 38 
	     39 
	(A)    result in suspension of care, at the concurrence of the parent; or  40 
	      41 
	(B)    be grounds for determining that a change in the parent's participation in work, 42 job training, or an education program has occurred and care may be terminated 43 pursuant to the requirements in §809.51(b). 44 
	   45 
	(2)     Meeting attendance standards for child care services consists of no more than 1 40 total unexplained absences in a 12-month eligibility period.: 2 
	     3 
	(A)    five consecutive absences during the month;  4 
	     5 
	(B)    ten total absences during the month.  6 
	   7 
	(3)     Unexplained absences may include: If a child exceeds 65 total absences during 8 the most recent eligibility period, then the child is not eligible for care at the 9 next eligibility determination and shall not be eligible for care for 12 months 10 from the end of the most recent eligibility period.   11 
	  12 
	(A) Any absence that is not due to a child's documented chronic illness or 13 disability, or to a court-ordered custody or visitation agreement; 14 
	  15 
	(B) Any missed attendance recording that cannot be explained, except if the 16 attendance reporting system is not available through no fault of the parent or 17 provider; or  18 
	 19 
	(C) Any denied or rejected attendance recording in which the parent does not 20 contact the Agency’s Child Care Services unit to report the issue. 21 
	 22 
	   23 
	(4)     Notwithstanding paragraph (2)(3) of this subsection, child care providers may 24 end a child's enrollment with the provider if the child does not meet the 25 provider's established policy regarding attendance.  26 
	   27 
	(5)     Parents shall use the attendance card to report daily attendance and absences.  28 
	   29 
	(6)     Parents shall not designate anyone under age 16 as a secondary cardholder, 30 unless the individual is a child's parent.  31 
	   32 
	(7)     Parents shall not designate the owner, assistant director, or director of the child 33 care facility as a secondary cardholder.  34 
	   35 
	(8)     Parents shall:  36 
	     37 
	(A)    ensure that the attendance card is not misused by secondary cardholders;  38 
	     39 
	(B)    inform secondary cardholders of the responsibilities for using the 40 attendance card;  41 
	     42 
	(C)    ensure that secondary cardholders comply with these responsibilities; and  43 
	     44 
	(D)    ensure the protection of attendance cards issued to them or secondary 45 cardholders.  46 
	   1 
	(9)     The parent or secondary cardholders giving the attendance card or the personal 2 identification number (PIN) to another person, including the child care 3 provider, is grounds for a potential fraud determination pursuant to Subchapter 4 F of this chapter.  5 
	   6 
	(10)   Parents shall report to the child care contractor instances in which a parent's 7 attempt to record attendance in the child care automated attendance system is 8 denied or rejected and cannot be corrected at the provider site. Failure to report 9 such instances may result in an unexplained absence counted toward the 10 attendance standards described in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection.  11 
	 12 
	(b)   Boards shall ensure that parents sign a written acknowledgment indicating their 13 understanding of the attendance standards and reporting requirements at each of the 14 following stages:  15 
	   16 
	(1)     initial eligibility determination; and  17 
	   18 
	(2)     each eligibility redetermination, as required in §809.42(b).  19 
	 20 
	(c)   Boards shall ensure that absences due to a child's documented chronic illness or 21 disability or court-ordered visitation are not counted in the number of unexplained 22 absences in subsection (a)(2) and (3) of this section. 23 
	 24 
	(d)   Boards shall ensure that before terminating care pursuant to §809.78(a)(1), the child 25 care contractor: 26 
	 27 
	(1)     provides written notice to the parent and the child care provider at reasonable 28 times through established communication channels of the child's absences and 29 the potential termination of services, at a minimum is absent for 5 consecutive 30 days, and when a child reaches 15, and 30 general absences cumulatively 31 within a 12-month eligibility period; and  32 
	 33 
	(2)     documents that multiple attempts were made, as described in paragraph (1) of 34 this subsection, to determine why the child is absent and to explain the 35 importance of regular attendance. 36 
	 37 
	 (e)(d)   Where a child's enrollment has been ended by a provider in subsection (a)(4) of 38 this section, Boards shall work with the parent to place the otherwise eligible child 39 with another eligible provider. 40 
	 41 
	      SUBCHAPTER E.  REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE 42 
	 43 
	§809.93.  Provider Reimbursement. 44 
	 45 
	(a)   A Board shall ensure that reimbursement for child care is paid only to the provider.  46 
	 1 
	(b)   A Board or its child care contractor shall reimburse a regulated provider based on a 2 child's monthly enrollment authorization, excluding periods of suspension at the 3 concurrence of the parent as described in §809.51(d) and §809.78(a).  4 
	 5 
	(c)   A Board shall ensure that a relative child care provider is not reimbursed for days on 6 which the child is absent.  7 
	 8 
	(d)  A relative child care provider shall not be reimbursed for more children than 9 permitted by the DFPS minimum regulatory standards for Registered Child Care 10 Homes. A Board may permit more children to be cared for by a relative child care 11 provider on a case-by-case basis as determined by the Board.  12 
	 13 
	(e)   A Board shall not reimburse providers that are debarred from other state or federal 14 programs unless and until the debarment is removed.  15 
	 16 
	(f)   Unless otherwise determined by the Board and approved by the Commission for 17 automated reporting purposes, the monthly enrollment authorization described in 18 subsection (b) of this section is based on the unit of service authorized, as follows:  19 
	   20 
	(1)     A full-day unit of service is 6 to 12 hours of care provided within a 24-hour 21 period; and  22 
	   23 
	(2)     A part-day unit of service is fewer than 6 hours of care provided within a 24-24 hour period.  25 
	 26 
	(g)   A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that providers are not paid for 27 holding spaces open.  28 
	 29 
	(h)   A Board or the Board's child care contractor shall not pay providers:  30 
	   31 
	(1)     less, when a child enrolled full time occasionally attends for a part day; or  32 
	   33 
	(2)     more, when a child enrolled part time occasionally attends for a full day.  34 
	 35 
	(i)   The Board or its child care contractor shall not reimburse a provider retroactively for 36 new Board maximum reimbursement rates or new provider published rates.  37 
	 38 
	(j)   A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that the parent's travel time to and 39 from the child care facility and the parent's work, school, or job training site is 40 included in determining whether to authorize reimbursement for full-day or part-day 41 care under subsection (f) of this section. 42 
	 43 



