CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES
PROPOSED RULES TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE TEXAS REGISTER. THIS
DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS SUBJECT TO
FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
OF STATE.
ON THE VIA AGA THE TENA GIVE DIVIED OF COLD HOSTON DRODGED THE DAY FO
ON JULY 12, 2022, THE TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION PROPOSED THE RULES
BELOW WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS REGISTER.
Publication Date of the Proposal in the <i>Texas Register</i> : <b>July 29, 2022</b>
End of Comment Period: August 29, 2022
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes amendments to the following sections of
Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools and Colleges:
Cub about an A. Comound Duravisions \$\$ 907.1, 907.2 and \$\$ 907.6, 907.9
Subchapter A. General Provisions, §§807.1 - 807.3 and §§807.6 - 807.8
Subchapter B. Certificates of Approval, §§807.11 - 807.17
Subchapter C. Financial Requirements, §§807.31 - 807.35 and §807.37
Subchapter D. Representatives, §§807.51, 807.53, and 807.54
Subchapter E. School Director and Administrative Staff, §§807.62 - 807.64 and §807.66
Subchapter F. Instructors, §§807.81 - 807.84 Subchapter G. Staff Education Requirements, §807.101 and §807.102
Subchapter H. Courses of Instruction, §\$807.121 - 807.123 and §\$807.129 - 807.134
Subchapter I. Application Fees and Other Charges, §\$807.151 - 807.153
Subchapter J. Advertising, §§807.171 - 807.173 and §807.175
Subchapter K. Admission, §§807.171 - 807.173 and §807.173 Subchapter K. Admission, §§807.191 - 807.194, 806.196, and 807.197
Subchapter L. Progress Standards, §§807.221, 807.223, and 807.224
Subchapter M. Attendance Standards, §§807.241 - 807.245
Subchapter N. Cancellation and Refund Policy, §807.261 and §807.263
Subchapter O. Records, §§807.281 - 807.284
Subchapter P. Complaints, §807.301 and §807.302
Subchapter Q. Truck Driver Training Programs, §§807.321, 807.322, 807.324, and
807.325
Subchapter R. Closed Schools, §807.341 and §807.342
Subchapter S. Sanctions, §\$807.351 - 807.353
Subchapter T. Cease and Desist Orders, § \$807.362, 807.365, and 807.366
Subchapter U. Career Schools Hearings, §§807.385 - 807.387 and §807.395
bubehapter of cureer behoofs freatings, \$5007.505 out 507 and \$007.555
TWC proposes the following new section to Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools and
Colleges:
Coneges.
Subchapter A. General Provisions, §807.5
7 To 1 To
TWC proposes the repeal of the following sections of Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools
and Colleges:

Subchapter H. Courses of Instruction, §§807.124 - 807.127 Subchapter J. Advertising, §807.176

#### PART I, PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY

Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges (the Act) charges TWC with oversight of career schools and colleges operating in Texas. By TWC's authority under the Act and TWC's Chapter 807 Career School and Colleges rules, the Career Schools and Colleges (CSC) Program licenses and regulates private postsecondary schools that offer vocational training to Texas residents. In this capacity, TWC currently regulates more than 600 schools, consisting of approximately 4,000 courses of instruction that provide vocational training to more than 146,000 students annually.

The purpose for the proposed amendments to Chapter 807 is based on a thorough review of existing Chapter 807 rules, the Act, policy implementation, and application processing. The amendments provide clarity and remove unnecessary regulation for CSC; ensure that students seeking to further their education are provided clear information, receive timely refunds, as appropriate, and have timely access to school outcome data; and streamline CSC Program processes.

The amendments also implement House Bill (HB) 33, passed by the 87th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2021). HB 33 amended Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, relating to measures facilitating the award of postsecondary course credit leading to workforce credentialing based on military experience, education, and training.

Throughout Chapter 807, where appropriate, the term "Commission" is replaced with "Agency." The Commission is the body of governance of the three Commissioners appointed by the governor. The Agency is the unit of state government presided over by the Commission and administered by the executive director.

The definitions for class, course, course of instruction, program, and program of instruction, are proposed for amendment, and, therefore, where appropriate, the terms were changed to ensure consistency of usage throughout Chapter 807.

#### PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the meaning of the rules and, therefore, are not discussed in the Explanation of Individual Provisions.)

#### SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter A:

#### §807.2. Definitions

Section 807.2(12) is amended to include "course of instruction" and modify the definition to include an identifiable unit of organized instruction to avoid confusion with a subject, which is an element of a program or seminar.

Current §807.2(15) is removed because "course of instruction" is defined in amended 1 2 §807.2(12). The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly. 3 4 Renumbered §807.2(15) is amended to revise the definition term of "course time" to include 5 "course time hour." Also, "externship" is utilized in all CSC materials and replaces "internship" 6 in the definition to avoid confusion. 7 8 Renumbered §807.2(18) is amended to revise the definition of "distance education course" to 9 align with the definition of "distance education" in the statute. Additionally, the current 10 definition relates specifically to asynchronous education and is amended to include synchronous 11 education. 12 13 Renumbered §807.2(21) is amended to revise the definition of "good reputation" to restate with 14 potential disqualifiers instead of inversely worded with qualifiers. 15 16 Section 807.2(26) is added to define "hybrid program or blended program." 17 18 Section 807.2(27) is amended to revise the definition of "job placement" to provide clarity of 19 what constitutes placement. 20 21 Section 807.2(29) is added to define "military service." 22 23 Section 807.2(30) and (31) are added to define "owner" and "owner designee." The subsequent 24 paragraphs are renumbered accordingly. 25 26 Renumbered §807.2(33) is amended to remove the word "program" from the definition. 27 28 Section 807.2(39) is added to define "school authorized official" to reduce confusion of who is 29 authorized to sign official documents. 30 31 Renumbered §807.2(40) is amended to clarify the definition of "school." The addition of "educational institution" and "training program" as synonyms for school is necessary to provide 32 33 definition to these terms used in statute without definition or clarification provided. 34 35 Renumbered §807.2(41) is amended to revise the definition of "secondary education" to further 36 define what constitutes that level of education.

3738

Renumbered §807.2(42) is amended to clarify that "workshop" is a synonymous term for "seminar."

39 40 41

Section 807.2(47) is added to define a "subject" to delineate its use from "class" for clarification.

42 43

#### §807.3. Memorandum of Understanding for Regulation of Schools

Section 807.3 is amended to revise the current name of "Texas Guaranteed Student Loan

45 Corporation" to "Trellis Company."

46

## §807.5. Suspensions

2 New §807.5 is added to state the executive director's authority to suspend the operation of 3

provisions within Chapter 807 under certain circumstances.

4 5

1

#### §807.6. Processing Periods

6 Section 807.6 is amended to include "Application" in the section title and allow the program the 7 ability to modify processing times that are not required to be publicly identified by Texas

8 Government Code, §2005.003.

9 10

## §807.7. Exemptions

Section 807.7(a) is amended to include program authority to approve, deny, or revoke 11

12 exemptions.

13 14

Section 807.7 is amended to remove subsections (b) and (c) as the language is redundant.

15

16 Relettered §807.7(b) is amended to reference the Act, as opposed to the vague reference to the

17 Texas Education Code.

18 19

New §807.7(c) is amended to remove extraneous language. Exemption criteria is addressed in

the Act.

20 21 22

#### SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter B:

24 25

23

## §807.11. Original Approvals

26 Section 807.11(d)(1) is amended to revise the conditions of reapplication. To reapply, the

applicant must currently submit fess again and the section is amended to clarify that all fees are

28 due again.

30

31

27

29

## §807.12. Renewal

Section 807.12(a)(2) and (b)(3) are amended to remove the reference to the fee for the tuition

trust account. The renewal fee paid by career schools and colleges is seamless in its application.

32 33 34

#### **§807.14. Locations**

35 Section 807.14(b)(2) is removed, because the itinerate program typically meet the criteria

36 outlined for seminars or short-term programs. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered

37 accordingly.

38 39

#### §807.15. Notification of Actions

40 Section 807.15(c) is added to include the requirement for schools to notify TWC of mortgage

41 and/or lease lateness or defaults. This can be used by TWC as an indicator of possible closures.

42 The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

43

44 Relettered §807.15(d) is amended to add the copy of the legal notice to the documents that need

to be included by the school with the notice.

## §807.16. Degrees

2 Section 807.16(b) is amended to remove the reference that approval from the accreditor may be required. Accreditor approval is a necessary element for review.

4 5

#### §807.17. Unlicensed Schools

Section 807.17 is amended to revise verbiage to clarify that TWC may take one or more of the listed actions against schools that operate without a certificate of approval from TWC.

#### SUBCHAPTER C. FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter C:

## §807.31. Definitions Relating to Financial Requirements

Section 807.31(1) is added to define attest services. Attest services require specific licensure per the Texas Public Accountancy Act. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered §807.31(5) is amended to remove the unnecessary element of the projection of tuition and fees for the upcoming fiscal year from the definition of unearned tuition affidavit.

#### §807.32. Financial Standards

Section 807.32(a)(2) is removed because the requirement for a school to report unearned tuition on its balance sheet is no longer needed. All school financial submissions will require a CSC-048, which identifies unearned tuition. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Section 807.32(b) is amended to require both an unearned tuition affidavit and sworn statement with any submission. Currently these are not required with audited or reviewed financials.

Section 807.32(c) is amended to modify the statement regarding preparation. The information for the preparer is not needed, only for the certified public accountant (CPA) firm performing the attest engagement.

Section 807.32(d) is added to include attest services to indicate legal requirements and address the CPA being in jurisdictions other than Texas. The subsequent subsection is relettered accordingly.

#### §807.33. Financial Requirements for Original Approvals

Section 807.33(a)(2) is amended to remove redundant language. Audits must be completed by a CPA and in Texas, a firm license holder. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles or Generally Accepted Auditing Standards require a CPA to complete a financial review.

Section 807.33(b) is amended to clarify that the intent is three full calendar months, not partial, and to remove references to contract basis, as an evaluation of financial stability is necessary to issue a Certificate of Approval (per §807.4(a)(3) and Texas Education Code, §132.055(b)(9)).

- Section 807.33(b)(1) and (2) are amended to remove unnecessary details associated with
- 45 projected expenses. Expenses for the categories of salaries and lease payments for equipment are
- sufficient to perform a review.

1	
2	§807.35. Financial Requirements for Renewal
3	Section 807.35 is amended to revise the section title from "Financial Requirements for Renewal"
4	to "Financial Requirements for Annual Reporting" to clarify the requirement and to allow the
5	addition of language specific to revocations.
6	
7	Section 807.35(a) and (b) are amended to clarify that the financial statements submitted must be
8	true and correct and to remove extraneous language as the standards have been identified in
9	§807.32.
10	
11	Section 807.35(c) is amended to add language to clarify the requirement of federal tax return
12	documents to avoid confusion of schools submitting their Texas Franchise Tax reports.
13 14	Section 807.35(e) is added to clarify the outcome of not providing compliant financial statements
15	within 60 days of notice of deficiency. This will allow TWC to take administrative action
16	without delay.
17	without delay.
18	§807.37. Commission Ordered Audits
19	Section 807.37(a)(1) and (2) is amended to clarify audit standards and language is added to
20	§807.37 regarding failure to provide TWC with Commission-ordered item(s).
21	3007137 regarding rundre to provide 1470 with commission ordered nem(o).
22	SUBCHAPTER D. REPRESENTATIVES
23	TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter D:
24	
25	§807.51. Representative Requirements
26	New §807.51(a) is added to include clarifications regarding individuals not required to register as
27	representatives given the nature of their ownership structure. The subsequent subsections are
28	relettered accordingly.
29	
30	§807.53. Representative Limitations
31	Section 807.53(c)(1) is deleted to reduce the restriction on locations a representative is
32	authorized to solicit students. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.
33	
34	Section 807.53(c) is amended to include courses in addition to programs.
35	
36	Section 807.53(c)(11) is added to require students be advised of the policies and procedures
37	related to granting credit.
38	8907 54 Dennegantative Compliance
39	§807.54. Representative Compliance
40	Section 807.54 is amended to modify the matrix to align with the proposed changes in §807.53.

# SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter E:

43

41

42

44

45

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties

Section 807.62 is amended to add new subsection (a) to consolidate and clarify requirements for small, and other than small, schools.

3 4

Current §807.62(a) and (b) are deleted based on consolidation under §807.62(a). The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

5 6 7

## §807.64. Director of Education Requirements

8 Section 807.64(b)(2) is amended to modify "employment as a supervisor" to "supervisory employment experience," which aligns with the expectations of an individual who is appointed to a director position.

11 12

13

## §807.66. Director of Admissions Requirements

Section 807.66(a) is amended to remove obsolete references. This provision was adopted in 2006, so any individual in this position in 2006 would have the necessary qualifications in 2020.

14 15 16

Section 807.66(b)(1) is amended to change "administrative experience" to "administration experience" to align with intent.

17 18 19

#### SUBCHAPTER F. INSTRUCTORS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter F:

20 21 22

23

## §807.81. Instructor Qualifications

Section 807.81(b) is amended to modify the requirement to indicate three full calendar months as opposed to allowing partial months.

242526

Section 807.81(b)(1)(A) - (D) and (2)(B) - (C), (d), and (e) are amended to indicate "subject" instead of "class," and "subjects" instead of classes," to reflect the correct element of a program.

2728

Additional amendments are proposed throughout to clarify subject, in lieu of course.

29 30 31

#### §807.82. Temporary Instructors

Section 807.82(a) is amended to indicate the maximum term of a temporary instructor is 90 days, to match current practice.

34 35

Section 807.82(b)(1) is amended to change "class" to "subject(s)."

36 37

Section 807.82(b)(2) is deleted, removing the requirement to list the instructor. This information is redundant. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

38 39

Section 807.82(b)(4) is added to include any other information required by TWC.

41

- Section 807.82(c) is deleted to remove notice of possible sanctions for using an unapproved instructor since this is stated as part of the instructor application process. The subsequent
- 44 subsections are relettered.

45

Relettered §807.82(c) is amended to clarify subject, in lieu of course.

Relettered §807.82(d) is amended to clarify the period as an "academic term" and "subject" as the appropriate element.

4 5

#### §807.84. School Responsibilities Regarding Instructors

Section 807.84(e) is added to stress refunds and administrative actions to be taken against a school for utilizing an unapproved instructor.

7 8 9

6

#### SUBCHAPTER G. STAFF EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter G:

10 11 12

#### §807.101. Initial Training

Section 807.101(a) is amended to remove references to the Director's Resource Guide, as it is obsolete.

15 16

Section 807.101(b) is amended to use three full calendar months instead of three months for practicality.

17 18 19

20

21

22

23

#### §807.102. Continuing Education

Section 807.102(a) is amended to remove language relating to TWC approving the continuing education providers, as this is not the practice. TWC's Career Schools and Colleges program will continue to vet training (as per Texas Education Code, §132.0551(e)) and ensure that it is relevant to the practice of higher education instruction and administration or the subject(s) being taught, but TWC does not maintain a published list.

242526

Section 807.102(b) is deleted since the language is redundant to what is stated in §807.102(a).

The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

272829

Section 807.102(c) is amended to remove "full-time instructor" because the continuing education requirement for full-time instructors is different from the requirement for school directors and directors of admission

31 32 33

30

#### SUBCHAPTER H. COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter H:

343536

# §807.121. Definitions Relating to Courses of Instruction

Section 807.121(1) is amended to add language to clarify the role that externship plays in classifying a program type.

39

Section 807.121(2) is amended to clarify that "lab" is a synonym for "laboratory experience."

41 42

Section 807.121(6) is amended to clarify terminology.

43 44

Section 807.121(7) is added to define "military service course credit directory."

#### §807.122. General Information for Courses of Instruction

Section 807.122(a) and (b) are amended to move language from §807.127(a) and (c) for better alignment.

4 5

1

Section 807.122(c) is amended to move language from §807.124(a) for better alignment.

6

Section 807.122(d) is amended to move language from §807.125(a) for better alignment and provide requirement to conform to legal standard.

9

Section 807.122(e) is amended to move language from §807.126(a) for better alignment.

11

Section 807.122(e)(7) is added to require the addition of criteria evaluating military service experience, education, or training, for any course listed in the military service course credit directory.

15

Section 807.122(f) is added to ensure TWC reviews course time and balances it against the industry standard for each state occupation. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

19 20

Relettered §807.122(n) is amended to modify the language to clarify that only a simple majority of members can have no ownership or employment interest regarding the school.

21 22 23

#### §807.123. Applications for Additional Courses of Instruction

Section 807.123(b)(1) and (4) are deleted to remove abbreviated program application requirements for duplicate programs and continuing professional education issues. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

2728

29

30

## §807.124. Stated Occupation

Section 807.124 is repealed. The requirements in §807.124 are outside the scope of program capability. Elements of §807.124(a) have been moved to §807.122 in an effort to ensure students are trained for a stated occupation.

31 32 33

34

35

## §807.125. Curriculum Content

Section 807.125 is repealed to reduce duplicated language and unnecessary items. The language in §807.125(a) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

36 37

#### §807.126. Curriculum Length

Section 807.126 is repealed and language in §807.126(a) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

40 41

## §807.127. Program Title

Section 807.127 is repealed and language in §807.127(a) and (c) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

#### §807.129. Facilities

Section 807.129(b) is amended to clarify that the enrollment capacity is related to seats, as well as workstations, in a lecture capacity.

3 4 5

1

2

## §807.131. School Responsibilities Relating to Courses of Instruction

Section 807.131(b)(1) is amended to establish TWC determines what constitutes "reasonable."

6 7 8

- Section 807.131(i) is amended to reflect basic recommendations and reduce language
- 9 complexity. There are not statutory guidelines on class size; rule language provides
  - recommendations based on training experiences.

10 11 12

13

## §807.132. Course of Instruction Revisions

Section 807.132(c) is deleted. This is not something the program reviews or enforces and is just extraneous language. Ultimately employment will be indicative of the alignment.

14 15 16

#### SUBCHAPTER I. APPLICATION FEES AND OTHER CHARGES

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter I:

17 18 19

#### §807.151. Fee Schedule

20 Section 807.151(5), (9), (10), (11), and (13) are amended to modify language for clarity.

21 22

Section 807.151(8) is deleted. These changes do not require the reissuance of approval. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

232425

Renumbered §807.151(10) is amended to remove the application fee for an administrative staff member.

2627

28

## **§807.152. Renewal Fees**

Section 807.152(c) is amended to correct the terminology of the late renewal fee as identified in statute.

30 31 32

33

29

#### §807.153. Installment Payments

Section 807.153(b)(3) is amended to specify that failure to meet an installment agreement may result in revocation of the school's certificate of approval.

3435

Section 807.153(c) is added to provide rule authority to take administrative action against a school that has received a multi-year certificate for not submitting required renewal payments.

38 39

#### SUBCHAPTER J. ADVERTISING

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter J:

40 41 42

#### §807.171. General Information for Advertising

- Section 807.171(a) is amended to clarify that the intent is not limited only to deceptive
- statements, but also misleading statements, concerning enrollment.

#### §807.173. Advertisement Content

- 2 Section 807.173 is amended to include "and Monitoring" in the section title to reflect TWC's
- 3 authority to monitor schools' advertising content.

4

1

- 5 Section 807.173(d) is amended to allow the use of the student's abbreviated name in
- 6 endorsements and to review schools to maintain records of the student endorsement.

7 8

Section 807.173(g) is added to allow TWC to order steps counteracting advertisement violations.

9

## 10 **§807.175. Catalog**

- Section 807.175(a)(14), (b), (c), and (d) are amended to adjust language to align with other
- changes in Chapter 807.

13 14

## §807.176. Advertisement Monitoring

- 15 Section 807.176 is repealed to eliminate extraneous language. The language in §807.176(a) and
- 16 (b) are moved to §807.173 for better alignment.

17

#### 18 SUBCHAPTER K. ADMISSION

19 TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter K:

20 21

#### §807.191. General Information for Admission

Section 807.191(a) and (b) are amended to clarify that specific admission requirements apply to all schools.

2425

## §807.192. Admission Requirements

Section 807.192(a)(3) is amended to replace "certificate" with "nondegree" to encompass all courses of instruction.

28

## §807.193. Receipt of Enrollment Policies

Section 807.193(a) is amended to require all schools meeting criteria to use TWC-approved document.

32

29

33 Section 807.193(b) is amended to update administrative requirements.

34 35

#### §807.194. Enrollment Agreement

Section 807.194(a) is deleted, which excludes seminar schools from being required to complete enrollment agreements. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

38

- 39 Section 807.194(h) is deleted because it allows schools to submit abbreviated enrollment
- agreements. Schools are required to submit all enrollment agreements to TWC for approval prior to use.

42 43

#### §807.196. Tuition and Fees

Section 807.196(a) is amended to clarify the element to which the charge is related.

## §807.197. Admission Requirements for Degree Granting Schools

Section 807.197(a) is amended to clarify that this restriction does not apply to TWC-approved
 teach-outs.

4 5

1

#### SUBCHAPTER M. ATTENDANCE STANDARDS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter M:

6 7 8

#### §807.243. Termination of Enrollment

- 9 Section 807.243(b) is amended to clarify the amount of time associated with the academic term
- and §807.243(c) is removed because it is no longer needed. The subsequent subsection is
- 11 relettered accordingly.

12 13

## §807.244. Make-up Work

- 14 Section 807.244(a) is amended to clarify that work may be made up, the appropriate increments,
- and note that the time itself cannot be made up.

16 17

#### §807.245. Leaves of Absence

- Section 807.245(a) is amended to clarify that this is specific to the program length and not just
- 19 applicable to small schools.

20

21 Section 807.245(c) is amended to clarify the time period.

22 23

#### SUBCHAPTER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter N:

242526

#### §807.261. Requirement for Tour

27 Section 807.261(b) is amended to remove the exclusion for hybrid or blended programs.

28

29 Section 807.261(c) is amended to add the tour conditions for hybrid or blended programs.

30 31

#### §807.263. Refund Requirements

- 32 Section 807.263(a) is amended to clarify that refunds to students are contingent upon the
- outcome of TWC's review of facts associated with the school's conduct and that TWC may order
- full or partial refunds.

35 36

#### SUBCHAPTER O. RECORDS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter O:

3738

#### 39 §807.282. Student Information and Records

Section 807.282(b) is added to require schools to maintain records electronically. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

42

New §807.282(g) is added to address possible need for translation.

#### §807.283. Attendance Record Keeping

- 2 Current §807.283(a)(1) is deleted so that schools must maintain attendance records for all
- 3 programs. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

4

1

5 Renumbered §807.283(a)(1) is amended to specify what information must be on school master 6 record of attendance.

7

8 Renumbered §807.283(a)(2) requiring attendance records is amended to include instructor name, 9 course name, date, class hours scheduled for each day and absence(s).

10

11 Section 807.283(b) is deleted to remove the attendance record keeping requirements for Title IV 12 schools. Verifiable academically related activity is already addressed in refunds. The subsequent 13 subsection is relettered accordingly.

14

- **§807.284.** Reporting 15
- Section 807.284(d) is amended to remove redundant language. 16

17

- 18 SUBCHAPTER P. COMPLAINTS
  - TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter P:

19 20

- §807.301. School Policy Regarding Complaints 21
- 22 Section 807.301(a)(5)(C) is deleted to remove redundant guidance for addressing complaints.
- 23 The subsequent subparagraphs are relettered accordingly.

24 25

- §807.302. Complaints and Investigations
- 26 Section 807.302(d) is amended to substitute course of instruction for program to clarify that
- 27 seminars are included and indicate that the investigation for a complaint not filed timely may be 28 declined.

29 30

- SUBCHAPTER Q. TRUCK DRIVER TRAINING PROGRAMS
- TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter Q:

31 32

- §807.321. General Information Regarding Truck Driver Training 33
- 34 Section 807.321(b) is added to require all truck driver training programs to comply with
- 35 applicable requirements outlined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations Part 380.

36 37

- SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS
- TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter R:

38 39

- 40 §807.341. School Closures
- 41 Section 807.341(a) is added to establish the requirement for owners to notify TWC of pending 42 closure as soon as possible.

43

- 44 Section 807.341(b) is added to list information that a school must provide TWC upon
- 45 notification of closure.

Section 807.341(c) is added to grant TWC the ability to impose sanctions for schools failing to comply with §807.341. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

#### §807.342. Tuition Trust Account

Section 807.342(e) is deleted, because it is part of the renewal amounts and not a line itemed fee.

#### SUBCHAPTER S. SANCTIONS

8 T

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter S:

## §807.352. Sanctions

Section 807.352 is amended to change references of program to course, which is inclusive of programs and seminars.

Section 807.352(a)(2) is deleted because it is not a form of sanction, but a required element of renewal, if applicable, per the Act. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered §807.352(a)(8) and (9) are amended to align with language from the Act and other sections of Chapter 807.

#### §807.353. Administrative Penalties

The penalty matrix in §807.353 is amended to reflect addition of failure of notice as required per §807.15; reduce the penalty, in conjunction with redefining an instance, for unlicensed instructors as a deterrent; and include a penalty for failure to grant credit, when required.

#### SUBCHAPTER U. CAREER SCHOOLS HEARINGS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter U:

## §807.387. Hearing Procedures

Section 807.387(a) is amended to change the default hearing format from in person to telephonically.

#### PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS

Chris Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, determined that for each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply:

There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or revenue of the state or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no anticipated economic costs to individuals required to comply with the rules.

1 2 3

There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural communities as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

4 5 6

7

Based on the analyses required by Texas Government Code, §2001.024, TWC determined that the requirement to repeal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking.

8 9

#### **Takings Impact Assessment**

10 Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means a governmental action that 11 12 affects private real property, in whole or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires the governmental entity to compensate the private real property owner as provided by 13 14 the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution or the Texas 15 Constitution, Article I, §17 or §19, or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, and is the producing cause of a 16 17 reduction of at least 25 percent in the market value of the affected private real property, 18 determined by comparing the market value of the property as if the governmental action is not in 19 effect and the market value of the property determined as if the governmental action is in effect. 20 TWC completed a Takings Impact Analysis for the proposed rulemaking action under Texas 21 Government Code, §2007.043. The primary purpose of this proposed rulemaking action, as 22 discussed elsewhere in this preamble, is to support TWC's ability to effectively and efficiently 23 protect students, regulate career schools and colleges, meet employer needs, and improve 24 consumer disclosures that allow informed choices. TWC proposes amendments in several key 25 areas. The amendments enumerate TWC's expectations and use of its regulatory authority in 26 areas in which recent violations and possible abuses have been identified. Additionally, the 27 amendments are intended to increase transparency of the regulatory requirements and the overall 28 performance of career schools and colleges.

29 30

31

32 33

34

The proposed rulemaking action will not create any additional burden on private real property or affect private real property in a manner that would require compensation to private real property owners under the United States Constitution or the Texas Constitution. The proposal also will not affect private real property in a manner that restricts or limits an owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action. Therefore, the proposed rulemaking will not cause a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.

35 36 37

38

## Government Growth Impact Statement

- TWC determined that during the first five years the rules will be in effect, they will not:
- 39 --create or eliminate a government program;
- 40 --require the creation or elimination of employee positions;
- 41 --require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to TWC;
- 42 --require an increase or decrease in fees paid to TWC;
- 43 --create a new regulation;
- 44 --expand, limit, or eliminate an existing regulation;
- 45 --change the number of individuals subject to the rules; and
- --positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 46

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

TWC determined that the rules will not have an adverse economic impact on small businesses or rural communities, as the proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses or rural communities.

Mariana Vega, Director, Labor Market Information, determined that there is not a significant negative impact upon employment conditions in the state as a result of the rules.

Courtney Arbour, Director, Workforce Development Division, determined that for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the proposed rules will be to gain further efficiencies in the investigation of complaints, review of policies and procedural systems of state agencies, and reporting of data to elected state leadership and the public.

TWC hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within TWC's legal authority to adopt.

#### PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES

In the development of these rules for publication and public comment, TWC sought the involvement of Texas' 28 Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards). TWC provided the policy concept regarding these rule amendments to the Boards for consideration and review on February 8, 2022. TWC also conducted a conference call with Board executive directors and

Board staff on February 11, 2022, to discuss the policy concept. During the rulemaking process, TWC considered all information gathered in order to develop rules that provide clear and concise

TWC considered all information gathered in order to develop rules that provide clear and concise direction to all parties involved.

#### PART V. PUBLIC COMMENT

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to TWCPolicyComments@twc.texas.gov. Comments must be received no later than August 29, 2022.

#### PART VI. STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The rules are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter 132 which provide TWC with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective administration of TWC services and activities.

The proposed rules affect Title 3, Texas Education Code, particularly Chapter 132.

#### 1 CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES 2 3 SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 4 5 §807.1. Title and Purpose. 6 7 (a) This chapter These rules may be cited as the Career Schools and Colleges rules. 8 9 (b) The purpose of this chapter<del>these rules</del> is to implement and interpret the provisions of 10 the Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges (the Act). The Agency Commission shall evaluate each school according to the standards of practice 11 12 set forth in the Act and this chapter. The Agency Commission will provide assistance, whenever possible, in complying with this chapter. 13 14 15 §807.2. Definitions. 16 17 In addition to the definitions contained in §800.2 of this title, the following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the 18 19 context clearly indicates otherwise. 20 21 (1) Academic quarter--A period of instruction that includes at least ten weeks of 22 instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency. 23 24 (2) Academic semester--A period of instruction that includes at least 15 weeks of 25 instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency. 26 27 Academic term--An academic quarter, academic semester, or other progress 28 evaluation period. 29 30 Academically related activity--An exam, tutorial, computer-assisted 31 instruction, academic counseling, academic advisement, turning in a class 32 assignment, or attending a study group that is assigned by the institution, or 33 other activity as determined by the Agency. 34 35 Accountant--An independent certified public accountant properly registered (5) 36 with the appropriate state board of accountancy. 37 38 Act--Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges. (6) 39 40 (7) Address of record--In addition to the mailing address contained in the 41 application for a certificate of approval, each career school or college shall

#### PR-Ch. 807 Chapter Revisions (7.12.22) APPROVED

S1111Director@gmail.com.

establish an emaile mail address of record for a distribution list that

of the address to be "School#Director@xdomain," for example e.g.,

consistently maintains a minimum of two current subscribers, with the format

42

43

44

45

1 (8) 2 3	AdvertisingAny affirmative act designed to call attention to a school or program for the purpose of encouraging enrollment.
4 (9) 5 6 7 8 9 10	AgencyThe unit of state government established under Texas Labor Code, Chapter 301, that is presided over by the Commission and administered by the executive director to operate the integrated workforce development system and administer the unemployment compensation insurance program in this state as established under the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act, Texas Labor Code Annotated, Title 4, Subtitle A, as amended. The definition of Agency applies shall apply to all uses of the term in rules contained in this chapter.
	AppellantThe party or the party's authorized hearing representative who files an appeal from an appealable determination or decision.
	Asynchronous distance educationDistance education training that the Agency determines is not synchronous.
18 (12) 19	Class, course, or course of instructionAn identifiable unit of organized instruction that is part of a program of instruction.
20 21 (13) 22 23 24 25 26 27	Commission—The body of governance of the Texas Workforce Commission composed of three members appointed by the governor as established under Texas Labor Code, §301.002 that includes one representative of labor, one representative of employers, and one representative of the public. The definition of Commission appliesshall apply to all uses of the term in rules contained in this chaptersubchapter.
	Coordinating BoardThe Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
	Course of instruction A program or seminar.
33	Course time or course time hourA course or class period that is:
34 35 36	(A) a 50-minute to 60-minute lecture, recitation, or class, including a laboratory class or shop training, in a 60-minute period;
37 38	(B) a 50-minute to 60-minute <u>externship</u> in a 60-minute period; or
39 40	(C) 60 minutes of preparation in asynchronous distance education.
41 ( <u>16)</u> <del>(</del> 42 43	17) Date of noticeThe date the notice is mailed, unless good cause exists for the hearing officer to determine otherwise.
	Date of request of hearingThe date on which the appellant or the hearing representative filed a written notice of appeal with the Agency by hand delivery, facsimile, or mail. If an appeal is mailed to the Agency, then the

1 2 3 4 5	appe	al is perfected as of the postmark date on the envelope containing the al request unless good cause exists for the hearing officer to determine wise. If an appeal is delivered by hand or facsimile after 5:00 p.m., the of request shall be the next day.
6 7 8 9	nonre asyne	Distance education courseEither a seminar or a program that is offered to esidence non-residence school students delivered either synchronously or chronously to the student via correspondence or other media from a remote on a self-paced schedule, excluding programs using interactive instruction.
11 12 13	cours	
14 15 16	or su	EmploymentA graduating or graduate student's employment in the same bstantially similar occupation for which the student was trained.
17 18 19	trustv educ	Good reputationThe possession of honesty and truthfulness, worthiness and reliability, and a professional commitment to the ational process and the training or preparing of a person for a field of
20 21		avor in a business, trade, technical, or industrial occupation, as well as the ition of being regarded as possessing such qualities. In determining
22		her a person is of good reputation, the Agency is not limited to the
23		wing acts or omissions. The Agency may consider similar acts or
24		sions and rehabilitation efforts in response to prior convictions in making
25		etermination. A person may be is considered to lack be of good reputation if
26		erson:
27	1	
28	(A)	has never been convicted of a felony or any other crime that would
29	` '	constitute risk of harm to the school or students as determined by the
30		Agency;
31		
32	(B)	has not been successfully sued for fraud or deceptive trade practices, or
33	` /	breach of contract, within the last 10 years;
34		• •
35	(C)	owns <del>does not own</del> or administers administer a school currently in
36	. ,	violation of legal requirements, has never owned or administered a
37		school with repeated violations, or and has never owned or administered
38		a school that closed with violations including, but not limited to, unpaid
39		refunds or administrative penalties; or
40		·
41	(D)	has not knowingly falsified or withheld information from the Agency.
42	` '	
43	(22) <del>(23)</del> H	HearingAn informal, orderly, and readily available proceeding held
44		re an impartial hearing of ficer. A party or hearing representative may
45		ent evidence to show that the Agency's determination should be reversed,
46		med, or modified.

1	
2 3	(23)(24) Hearing officerAn Agency employee designated to conduct impartial hearings and issue final administrative decisions.
	hearings and issue rmar administrative decisions.
4 5 6 7 8	(24)(25) Hearing representativeAny individual authorized by a party to assist the party in presenting the party's appeal. A hearing representative may be legal counsel or another individual. Each party may have a hearing representative to assist in presenting the party's appeal.
9	
10 11 12	(25)(26) Human trafficking Trafficking - The action or practice of illegally transporting people for the purposes of forced labor or commercial sexual exploitation, including all offenses referred to in Texas Penal Code, Chapter
13	20A-of the Texas Penal Code.
14   15   16	(26) Hybrid program or blended programA program that has any combination of residence and synchronous distance education offerings.
17	
18	(27) Job placementAn active affirmative effort by the school to assist the student
19	in obtaining employment in the same or substantially similar stated occupation
20	for which the student was trained. Active efforts include, but are not limited to,
21	the school:
22	the school.
23	(A) arranging an interview;
24	(A) arranging an interview,
25	(P) contacting notantial ampleyers, and/or
26	(B) contacting potential employers; and/or
27	(C) bringing potential employers to the school to assist the student.
21	(C) bringing potential employers to the school to assist the student.
28	
28   29	(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration list -A
28   29   30	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment
28   29   30   31	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration list -A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry
28   29   30   31   32	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment
28   29   30   31   32   33	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> <u>student registration list</u> -A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.
28   29   30   31   32   33   34	<ul> <li>(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration list - A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States,</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> <u>student registration list</u> -A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36	<ul> <li>(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration list - A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States,</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37	<ul> <li>(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration list - A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States,</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL) student registration list -A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration list—A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military service—Service as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner—</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL) student registration list - A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration list—A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military service—Service as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner—</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;</li> <li>(B) In the case of a career school or college owned by a partnership, all full,</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL) student registration list - A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;</li> <li>(B) In the case of a career school or college owned by a partnership, all full, silent, and limited partners;</li> </ul>
28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43	<ul> <li>(28) Master Student Registration List (MSRL)student registration list—A comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.</li> <li>(29) Military service—Service as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.</li> <li>(30) Owner—</li> <li>(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;</li> <li>(B) In the case of a career school or college owned by a partnership, all full,</li> </ul>

1 2	(D) In the case of professional associations, the members and governing persons;
3	
4	(E) In the case of a career school or college owned by a corporation, the
5	corporation, its directors, officers, and each shareholder owning shares of
6	issued and outstanding stock aggregating at least 10 percent of the total of
7	the issued and outstanding shares;
8	
9	(F) In the case of a career school or college in which the ownership interest is
10	held in trust, the beneficiary of that trust;
11	
12	(G) In the case of a career school or college owned by another legal entity, a
13	person who owns at least 10 percent ownership interest in the entity; or
14 15	(H) In all instances, for any entity owned by a parent or holding entity,
16	(H) In all instances, for any entity owned by a parent or holding entity, whether in whole or part, the definition of an owner shall extend to those
17	entities and corresponding person.
18	entities and corresponding person.
19	(31) Owner designeeA person designated in writing by an owner to act on behalf
20	of the ownership, including having signatory authority.
21	of the ownership, merading having signatory authority.
22	(32)(29) PartyThe person or entity with the right to participate in a hearing
23	authorized in applicable statute or rule.
24	
25	(33)(30) Program or program of instruction—A postsecondary sequence program of
26	organized instruction or study that may lead to an academic, professional, or
27	vocational degree, certificate, or other recognized educational credential.
28	
29	(34)(31) RefundThe completed payment of a refund such that the refund
30	instrument has been negotiated or credited into the proper account(s).
31	
32	(35)(32) Reimbursement contract basisA school operating, or proposing to
33	operate, under a contract with a state or federal entity in which the school
34 35	receives payment upon completion of the training.
-	(26)(22) Posidor so sobool. A sobool that offers at least one magnet that in sludge
36 37	(36)(33) Residence schoolA school that offers at least one program that includes classroom instruction or synchronous distance education.
38	classicom instruction of synchronous distance education.
39	(37)(34) Response deadlineDeadlines that fall on a weekend, an official state
40	holiday, a state holiday for which minimal staffing is required, or a federal
41	holiday are extended one working day.
42	noned, are entended one working day.
43	(38)(35) SanctionsAdministrative or civil actions, including, but not limited to,
44	penalties, revocation of approvals, or cease and desist orders taken by the
45	Agency against an entity in response to violations of the Act or this chapter.
46	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

1	(39) School authorized officialAny identified owner, director, or owner designee
2	of a school.
3	
4	(40)(36) School, educational institution, or training program A "career school or
5	career college," as defined in the Act, that includes each location where
6	courses of instruction shall be offered.
7	
8	(41)(37) Secondary educationSuccessful completion of public, private, or home
9	schooling at the high school level or obtainment of a recognized high school
10	equivalency credential, recognized by an institution of higher education or a
11	private or independent institution of higher education, as defined by Texas
12	Education Code, §61.003.
13	
14	(42)(38) Seminar or workshopA type of program course of instruction that
15	enhances a student's career, as opposed to a program that teaches the skills and
16	fundamental knowledge required for a stated occupation. A seminar may
17	include a workshop, an introduction to an occupation or cluster of occupations
18	a short course that teaches part of the skills and knowledge for a particular
19	occupation, language training, continuing professional education, and review
20	for postsecondary examination.
21	(42)(20) G ' 1 1 4 1 14 ( 66 1 '
22	(43)(39) Seminar schoolA school that offers only seminars.
23	(44)(40) Curall sales 1 A llawell same washes 1 and llawell as 1-Cural in the Ast
24 25	(44)(40) Small schoolA "small career school or college" as defined in the Act.
26	(45)(41) Stated occupationAn occupation for which a program is offered that:
27	(43)(41) Stated occupation—An occupation for which a program is officed that.
28	(A) is recognized by a state or federal law or by a state or federal agency as
29	existing or emerging;
30	existing of emerging,
31	(B) is in demand; and
32	
33	(C) requires training to achieve entry-level proficiencies.
34	(•) ••• <b>1</b> ••••• •••••• ••• ••• ••• ••• ••• ••• •
35	(46)(42) StudentAny individual solicited, enrolled, or trained in Texas by a
36	school.
37	
38	(47) SubjectAn identifiable unit of instruction or study that imparts specific
39	knowledge or skills, which is a subpart of a program or seminar.
40	
41	(48)(43) Suspension of enrollmentsA sanction that requires the school to suspend
42	enrollments, re-enrollments, advertising, and solicitation, and to cease, in any
43	way, advising prospective students, either directly or indirectly, of the
44	available courses of instruction.
45	

1	(49)(44) Synchronous distance education The Agency may determine distance
2 3	education to be synchronous under the following conditions:
	(A) the training is conducted simultaneously in mediting, on the training is
4 5	(A) the training is conducted simultaneously in real time, or the training is
	conducted so that the manner of delivery ensures that even if the
6 7	instructor and student are separated by time, the course time of
8	instruction that the student experiences can be determined; and
9	(B) there is consistent interaction between the student(s) and the instructor or
10	a schedule that includes a definite time for completion of the program
11	and periodic verifiable student completion/performance measures that
12	allow the application of the progress standards of Subchapter L of this
13	chapter and attendance standards of Subchapter M of this chapter.
14	enapter and attendance standards of Subchapter Wor this chapter.
15	(50)(45) Title IV schoolA career school or college that participates in student
16	financial aid programs under Title IV, Higher Education Act of 1965 (20
17	United States Code U.S.C. Section 1070 et seq.).
18	enter states estate of the section 10 / 0 et seq.//.
19	(51)(46) TourA required, in-person inspection of the facilities and equipment
20	pertaining to a course of instruction.
21	L
22	(52)(47) WeekSeven consecutive calendar days.
23	
24	§807.3. Memorandum of Understanding for Regulation of Schools.
25	
26	The Act requires the Agency Commission to execute a memorandum of understanding
27	with Trellis Company, formerly known as the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan
28	Corporation, and each state agency regulating schools to reduce default rates at the
29	regulated schools and to improve the overall quality of the programs. Copies of the
30	required memoranda of understanding shall be maintained and made <del>are</del> available upon
31	requestat the Texas Workforce Commission, 101 East 15th Street, Austin, Texas 78778.
32	
33	§807.5. Suspensions.
34	
35	The executive director may suspend the operation of one or more of the provisions in this
36	chapter, not statutorily imposed, if he or she finds that a public emergency or imperative
37	public necessity exists, and that the suspension will best serve the public health, safety, o
38	welfare.
39	
40	§807.6. <u>Application</u> Processing Periods.
41	
42	(a) The time periods for processing applications from schools, including small
43	businesses, for certificates of approval, as well as approvals for representatives,
44	school directors, and instructors, shall be in accordance with the following time
45	periods:

	(1) <u>Initial notification of acceptance or return of original application, to include the</u>
2	reason for the return is 10 days; The first period is the time from the receipt of an
3	application to the date of the issuance of a written notice approving the application of
4	outlining the reasons why the application is unacceptable. The time periods for each
5	application are:
6	
7	(2)(A) original certificate of approval9040 days;
. 8	
9	(3)(B) renewed certificate of approval45 days from the expiration of the current
10	<u>certificate</u> 40 days;
.11	
12	(C) change in ownership certificate of approval 40 days;
13	
14	(D) original representatives 21 days;
15	
16	(E) renewed representatives 21 days;
17	
18	(F) school directors and instructors (approval contingent on issuance of school's
19	approval) 40 days; and
20	
21	(G) school directors and instructors (approval not contingent on issuance of school's
22	approval) 55 days.
23	
24	(2) The second period is the time from receipt of the last item necessary to complete
25	the application to the date of issuance of written notice approving or denying
26	approval of the application. The time periods for each application are:
27	
28	(A) original certificate of approval 40 days;
29	
30	(B) renewed certificate of approval 40 days;
31	
32	(C) change in ownership certificate of approval 40 days;
33	
34	(D) original representative (approval contingent upon issuance of school's approval)
35	21 days;
36	
37	(E) original representative (approval not contingent upon issuance of school's
38	approval) 21 days;
39	approvary 21 days,
40	(F) renewed representative (approval contingent upon issuance of school's approval)
41	21 days;
42	21 days,
43	(G)—school directors and instructors (approval contingent on issuance of school's
44	approval) 40 days; and
45	approvar) 40 days, and
1 TJ	

1 2	(H) school directors and instructors (approval not contingent on issuance of school's approval) 55 days.
3	
4	(b) In the event the application is not processed in the time periods as stated in this
5	section, the applicant has the right to request of the Commission full reimbursement
6	of all filing fees paid in that particular application process. If the Commission does
7	not agree that the established time periods have been violated or finds that good
8	cause existed for exceeding the established periods, the request will be denied. Good
9	cause for exceeding the period established is considered to exist if:
10	cause for exceeding the period established is considered to exist if.
11	(1) the number of applications for certificates of approval, representatives,
12	
	school directors, or instructors as appropriate to be processed exceeds by
13	15% or more the number processed in the same calendar quarter of the
14	<del>preceding year;</del>
15	
16	(2) another public or private entity utilized in the application process caused
17	the delay; or
18	
19	(3) other conditions exist that give good cause for exceeding the established
20	<del>periods.</del>
21	
22	(c) If the request for full reimbursement authorized in this section is denied, the
23	applicant may then request a hearing by appealing to the Commission for a
24	resolution of the dispute. The appeal will be processed in the same manner as other
25	appeals involving schools pursuant to the Act.
26	
27	§807.7. Exemptions.
28	
29	(a) A school <u>seeking an exemption must</u> apply <u>for approval</u> to the
30	Agency Commission for an exemption under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Act Texas
31	Education Code.
32	
33	(b) The Commission shall grant the requested exemption if the Commission determines
34	that the school meets the requirements for an exemption under §132.002 or §132.003
35	of the Texas Education Code.
36	of the Texas Education Code.
37	(c) The Commission may deny or revoke an exemption in the same manner as a denial
38	or revocation of a certificate of approval, if the Commission determines that the
39	school does not meet the requirements for the exemption under §132.002 or
40	§132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
41	
42	(b)(d) A school may appeal the denial or revocation of an exemption in accordance with
43	the provisions of Subchapter D of the Act Texas Education Code.
44	
45	(c) Schools shall be required to provide documentation and additional information, as
46	requested by the Agency, to facilitate the determination of whether a school meets

1	the requirements of an exemption set out in the Act. All requests for exemption must
2	provide:
3	
4	(1) the school's legal name, physical address, telephone number, and website, if
5	applicable, along with the name and phone number of the ownership and
6	owner partners; and
7	
8	(2) the name, objective, length, and cost of the course(s) offered.
9	
10	(e) A school applying for an exemption from the provisions of Texas Education Code
11	§132.002(a)(6) must provide evidence that:
12	
13	(1) the school has a certificate of authorization from the Coordinating Board
14	to grant baccalaureate or higher level degrees or a letter from the
15	Coordinating Board indicating that Coordinating Board approval is not
16	<del>required;</del>
17	
18	(2) the school is accredited by a Coordinating Board recognized accrediting
19	<del>body;</del>
20	
21	(3) the school is in good standing with the designated accrediting body and
22	<del>not subject to:</del>
23	
24	(A) probation;
25	
26	(B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked;
27	<del>or</del>
28	
29	(C) any other action that, as defined by the accrediting agency, will prevent
30	the school from seeking approval of its degree programs; and
31	
32	(4) at least a simple majority (51 percent) of credits earned in the
33	educational programs of the school are transferable to educational
34	<del>programs that are:</del>
35	
36	(A) at an equivalent or higher academic level (e.g., baccalaureate to
37	<del>baccalaureate or higher);</del>
38	
39	(B) at a junior college, college, or university supported entirely or partly by
40	taxation from a local or state source; and
41	
42	(C) within the same local/regional service area as the offered program, as
43	determined by the Agency.
1.1	

## §807.8. Confidentiality of Information.

1 2

8 9

10

11

# 12

#### 13 14 15

16 17

18 19 20

21 22 23

24 25 26

27 28

29 30 31

32 33 34

36 37

> 38 39

35

40 41 42

43 44

All student-specific information obtained from or about any school by the Agency, including, but not limited to, data submitted under §807.284(a) of this chapter, is confidential information and not releasable, and is not public information under Texas Government Code, Chapter 552, but may be compiled and reported to the public at a summary level of information that does not include the personally identifiable information of any student or allow for the identification of any student through combination with other publicly publically available information.

#### SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL

#### §807.11. Original Approvals.

- (a) A complete application for an original certificate of approval shall consist of the following:
  - a completed application form provided by the Agency Commission; (1)
  - (2) complete and correct financial statements, as specified in this chapter, demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its commitments for training;
  - (3) the application fee as specified in this chapter; and
  - any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for (4) approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the Agency Commission.
- (b) Schools shall fully satisfy the Agency application requirements within 90 days of receipt of the original application, or else the application may be considered withdrawn.
- (c) If a school fails to respond to a request for additional information within 21 days, the Agency Commission may withdraw the application.
- (d) To reapply, a school shall submit:
  - (1) a complete application as required in subsection (a) of this section, including applicable fees; and
  - (2) an affidavit stating that the school will not reopen until it has been issued a Certificate of Approval.

#### §807.12. Renewal. 1 2 3 (a) For small schools holding a multiyear certificate, the certificate of approval shall be 4 renewed at least every three years, or more frequently as determined by the 5 Agency Commission. A complete application for renewal of a certificate of approval 6 shall consist of the following: 7 8 (1) complete and correct annual financial statements, as specified in this chapter, 9 demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its 10 commitments for training; 11 12 the renewal fee and the fee for the tuition trust account, if applicable, specified 13 in this chapter; and 14 15 any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for (3) 16 approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the 17 Agency Commission. 18 19 (b) For all other schools, the certificate of approval shall be renewed annually. A 20 complete application for renewal of a certificate of approval shall consist of the 21 following: 22 23 a completed application for renewal form provided by the (1) 24 Agency Commission; 25 26 complete and correct annual financial statements for the most recent fiscal year (2) 27 demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its 28 commitments for training: 29 30 the renewal fee and the fee for the tuition trust account, if applicable, specified (3) by this chapter; and 31 32 33 (4) any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for 34 approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the 35 Agency Commission. 36 37 (c) The effective, expiration, and issuance dates are indicated on the certificate of 38 approval. The Agency Commission may reflect the date of renewal as the date 39 following the date of expiration of the prior certificate of approval, if the school 40 submitted a timely request for renewal and met all of the requirements contained in 41 this chapter for renewal. 42 43 (d) The complete renewal application shall be postmarked on or before the due date as

indicated in the Act.

#### 1 §807.13. Change in ownership. 2 3 (a) The Agency Commission may consider the addition or deletion of any person defined 4 as an owner under the Act as a change in school ownership. The school may notify 5 the Agency Commission of the change in ownership a minimum of 45 days before 6 the change in ownership to request that the Agency Commission in lieu of a full 7 application accept a partial application. 8 9 (b) The Agency Commission may require submission of a full application for approval 10 for a change in ownership if: 11 12 the Agency Commission has a reasonable basis to believe the change in (1) 13 ownership of the school may significantly affect the school's continued ability 14 to meet the criteria for approval; or 15 16 (2) the school fails to file notice of the change of ownership at least 45 days prior 17 to the ownership transfer. 18 19 (c) The Agency Commission may require a partial application for approval for a change 20 in ownership if the Agency Commission reasonably believes the change in ownership 21 will not significantly affect the school's continued ability to meet the criteria for 22 approval. 23 24 (d) The purchaser of a school shall accept responsibility for all refund liabilities. 25 26 (e) Management Agreements must be disclosed to the Agency Commission. Parties to a 27 management agreement shall be of good reputation and character. 28 29 §807.14. Locations. 30 31 (a) A school shall obtain a certificate of approval for each location where courses of 32 instruction will be offered, unless the school has a certificate of approval and meets 33 one of the exceptions in this section. 34 35 (b) The Agency Commission may approve the following as exempt from applying for 36 approval for a new or additional location, if requested at least 30 days in advance: 37 38 (1) seminars, including preparation for licensing examinations, educational 39 institution entrance examinations, and reading improvement; 40 41 (2) classes in no more than one location at a time as an itinerant school; 42 43 classes at facilities used for additional classrooms for instructional services (2)(3)44 only, which are within a one-mile radius of the main campus and are 45 dependent on the main campus for administration, supervision, fiscal control, and student services; or 46

- (3)(4) short-term programs. Short term programs:
  - (A) include course time of 200 hours or less of instruction; and
  - (B) are conducted with at least a 90-day interval between cessation of one program and the beginning of the next.
- (c) The school shall file an application for a certificate of approval to reflect a new or additional location, including all documents deemed necessary by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, and the appropriate fee. The <u>Agency Commission</u> may issue the certificate of approval after inspection of the new facilities.
- (d) If the <u>Agency Commission</u> determines that a move of the school presents an unreasonable transportation hardship which would prevent a student from completing the training at the new location, the school shall provide a full refund of all monies paid and a release from all obligations to the student.

#### §807.15. Notification of Actions.

- (a) Unless otherwise instructed by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, a school shall notify the <u>Agency Commission</u> in writing of any legal action to which the school, any of its owners, representatives, or management employees is a party.
- (b) A school shall notify the <u>Agency Commission</u> in writing of any legal action described in this section no later than five business days after the action is known to be filed or the school, owner, representative, or management employee is served.
- (c) An owner shall notify the Agency in writing no later than five business days of each instance of:
  - (1) lease or mortgage default; or
  - (2) lease or mortgage payment(s) being past due greater than 30 days.
- (d)(e) A school shall include, with the notice required in this section, a file-marked copy of the <u>legal notice</u>, petition, complaint, or other legal instrument, including copies of any judgments.
- (e)(d) A school shall notify the <u>Agency Commission</u> in writing no later than five business days after receiving notice of any change in accreditation status or Title IV status, including but not limited to, Heightened Cash Monitoring 1 or 2, loss of eligibility, composite score, 90/10 ratio or default rate problems, or other similar changes.

1	§807.16. Degrees.	
2 3	(a) For approval to grant degrees, the school shall make application to the Co	ordinating
4	Board.	
5	(b) The Agency Commission may recognize the approval to grant degrees up	on receipt
6 7	of notice issued by the Coordinating Board and. Additional notice by	
8	accreditor also may be required.	SCHOOLS
9	accreditor also may be required.	
10	§807.17. Unlicensed Schools.	
11	5007.17. Cimeensed Schools.	
12	If a career school or college, as defined in the Act, operates, solicits, or enroll	s students.
13	or conducts any course of instruction before receiving a certificate of approva	
14	exemption from the Agency, the Agency may take one or more of the following	
15		
16	(1) assess a penalty;	
17		
18	(2) require full refunds to all students; or	
19		
20	(3) issue a cease and desist order.	
21		
22	SUBCHAPTER C. FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS	
23	2007 21 D.C. '4'	
24 25	§807.31. Definitions Relating to Financial Requirements.	
2 <i>5</i> 26	The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the	Collowing
27	meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.	onowing
28	meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.	
29	(1) Attest servicesAn audit, review, compilation, or other assurance e	ngagement
30	that must be performed in accordance with standards promulgated	
31	American Institute of Certified Public Accountants or other Comm	
32	recognized accountancy organization.	
33		
34	(2)(1) GAAPGenerally Accepted Accounting Principles.	
35		
36	(3)(2) GAASGenerally Accepted Auditing Standards.	
37		
38	(4)(3) Sworn statementA notarized statement including the following	
39	"I swear or affirm that the information in these statements is true ar	d correct to
40	the best of my knowledge."	
41		
42	(5)(4) Unearned tuition affidavitA statement of the highest amount o	
43	tuition at any time during the most recent fiscal year, the projected	
44 45	unearned tuition at any time during the next fiscal year, and the gro	
45 46	minus refunds of student tuition and fees earned during the fiscal y	ear in all
ŧυ	courses programs approved under the Act.	

#### §807.32. Financial Standards.

- (a) The balance sheet required in this subchapter shall, at a minimum, reflect the following:
  - (1) positive equity or net worth balance;
  - (2) unearned tuition as a current liability;
  - (2)(3) a current ratio of at least one-to-one; and
  - (3)(4) stockholder's equity or net worth exceeding the amount shown for goodwill, if applicable, under assets in the balance sheet.
- (b) <u>All financial statements</u> Compilations shall be accompanied by the <u>unearned tuition</u> affidavit and owner's sworn statement certifying that the unearned tuition affidavit and financial statements are true and correct.
- (c) All financial statements shall identify the name, license number, and licensing state of the accountant associated with the statements and be prepared in accordance with GAAP.
- (d) All financial statement attest services shall be completed in accordance with GAAS, or other standards promulgated by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, as applicable, and comply with jurisdictional laws.
- (e)(d) A school that maintains a financial responsibility composite score that meets the general standards established in federal regulations by the <u>United States U.S.</u>

  Department of Education for postsecondary institutions participating in student financial assistance programs authorized under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, shall be considered to have met the financial standards of this subchapter. A school that qualifies under an alternative standard but not the general standard of these federal regulations will not be considered to have met the financial standards of this subchapter unless the school meets the other requirements stated in this subchapter.

#### §807.33. Financial Requirements for Original Approvals.

- (a) The prospective owner shall furnish the Agency Commission with the following:
  - (1) for a school owned by a sole proprietor, a reviewed personal balance sheet with notes that disclose the amount of payments for the next five years to meet debt agreements as required by GAAP; or

istent with
related hool, and a cicient cash to perating, or
waiver of this lowing:
, ,
<del>ent</del> ;
fees; and
oks, office , and sales
d fees to be
nay be deemed
this subchapter expenses. The
ection that
or the first

1 2		the gross amount minus refunds of student tuition and fees earned during the fiscal year on all programs approved under the Act; and
3		
4	(2)	the parent corporation ensures that each student enrolled in the subsidiary
5	` ,	school receives either the training agreed upon or a refund as provided in the
6		Act <sub>7</sub> and submits either a certified resolution of its board of directors to this
7		effect or any other evidence as deemed appropriate by the Agency Commission
8		to establish financial responsibility by the parent corporation.
9		
10	(e) A sc	hool or college that fails to provide financial statements that comply with the
11		irements in this section and the standards identified in §807.32 of this
12		hapter, within 60 days of the date that they receive notice of any deficiencies,
13		have their certificate of approval revoked.
14	<u>may</u>	The wind continued of approvarior skear
15	§807.37. Ag	ency Commission Ordered Audits.
16	300.00.0	<u> </u>
17	If the Ag	ency Commission determines that reasonable cause exists to question the validity
18		nancial information submitted, or the financial stability of the school, the
19	•	Commission may orderrequire at the school's expense:
20	<u> </u>	<u>order</u> o quite action of the penser
21	(1)	an audit of a school's financial statements in accordance with this subchapter;
22	(1)	and school that has been certified by an accountant; or
23		and periodical and read of an accountant, or
24	(2)	the owner to furnish any other evidence deemed appropriate by the
25	(2)	Agency Commission to establish financial stability. Failure of a career school
26		or college to provide compliant financial statements or other evidence required
27		by the Agency, by the date noted in such order, may result in revocation of its
28		certificate of approval.
29		ecrimente of approval.
30	SUBCHAPTER	D. REPRESENTATIVES
31	SCBCIIII IEI	D. NEI REGERVITITY ED
32	8807 51 Re	presentative Requirements.
33	3007.51. RC	presentative requirements.
34	(a) All s	school personnel soliciting or enrolling students must be registered as a
35		esentative. This registration requirement does not apply to individuals owning
36	·	operating a school in the capacity as a sole proprietor, joint venturer, or general
37		ner, due to their direct nature of ownership.
38	paru	ici, due to their direct nature of ownership.
39	(b)(a) T	he school shall apply annually to register representatives on forms provided by
40		Agency and with the appropriate fee.
41	uie F	rgency and with the appropriate ice.
41	(a)(b) A	representative shall be of good reputation and under the control of the school
42		
		is deemed to be the agent of the school. The school is responsible for any
44 45		esentations or misrepresentations, expressed or implied, made by a
45 46	repre	esentative.
<del>4</del> 0		

1 2 3	(d)(e) Any student solicited or enrolled by an unregistered representative is entitled to a refund of all monies paid and a release from all obligations to the school. Any contract signed by a prospective student as a result of solicitation or enrollment by an
4	unregistered representative is null and void and unenforceable.
5 6	(e)(d) Representatives shall participate in training approved by the Agency that covers
7 8	the Act and Commission rules relative to representatives, admissions, advertising, and any other topics as required by the Agency to support the legal and ethical
9	solicitation and enrollment of students.
10 11	§807.53. Representative Limitations.
12	3007.33. Representative Emintations.
13 14	(a) The representative shall not begin solicitation of students until the school receives notice of approval for the school and registration of the representative from the
15 16	Agency Commission.
17 18	(b) Employees and other agents of recruiting firms shall not serve as representatives.
19	(c) A representative shall not:
20 21 22 23	(1) solicit in public places other than educational settings, job fairs, or organized meetings;
24 25 26	(1)(2) offer as an inducement or enticement any material consideration to a prospective student prior to enrollment, such as cash, food, housing, or gifts;
27 28	(2)(3) administer the entrance test;
29 30 31	(3)(4) advise students about financial aid, other than informing the students of the general availability of financial aid;
32 33 34	(4)(5) give false, misleading, or deceptive information about any aspect of the school's operation, <u>courses</u> , programs, completion or employment rates, examination success rates, job placement, or salary potential;
35	
36	(5)(6) concurrently solicit for or represent more than one school, unless the owner
37 38	of each school being represented is informed that the representative is also soliciting for or representing other schools;
39	soliciting for or representing other schools,
40	(6)(7) engage in acts or practices that have a tendency to intimidate, coerce, or
41	mislead a prospective student into accepting an enrollment;
42	
43	(7)(8) represent that a school, course, or program has sponsorship, credentials,
44	approval, characteristics, credit transferability, uses, benefits, or qualities that it
45	does not have;
46	

- (8)(9) discredit another school or its <u>courses or programs</u> by false or misleading representation of facts;
- (9)(10) solicit enrollments in a <u>course or program</u> that has not been approved by the Agency <del>Commission</del>;
- (10)(11) solicit students for a school through an employment agency; or
- (11) omit advising students on the school's policies and procedures regarding granting of credit; or
- (12) violate any legal requirement or prohibition contained in the Act or this chapter.

# §807.54. Representative Compliance.

The Agency may hold representatives liable for violations of statute, Commission rules, policies, and procedures notwithstanding  $\S 807.51(c) \S 807.51(b)$  of this subchapter. Violations may result in sanctions up to and including revocation of approval to serve as a representative in Texas, in accordance with the matrix in this section. below:

Figure: 40 TAC §807.54

GRADUATED CORRECTIVE ACTIONS			
Sanction to Representative (to serve as a representative in a school licensed in Texas)			
Initial Violation	Conditional registration and retraining		
Multiple Violations	Suspension of registration and retraining		
Repeat Violation	Revocation or denial of registration		
Felony Conviction	Denial, suspension, or revocation of registration		
	VIOLATIONS		
Representative Approval			
Soliciting or enrolling students without registration as a representative			
Failure to provide required or accurate information in the representative registration application			
Soliciting or enrolling students for multiple schools, without agreement of all school owners			
Soliciting or enrolling students without taking required training			
Representative Behavior			
Misrepresentation of the scho	ool's <u>courses or</u> programs		
Providing incomplete or inaccurate information about the school (such as employment			
outcomes, extent of transferability of credits)			
Discrediting other schools			
Soliciting students in disallowed locations			

Soliciting or enrolling students into unapproved courses or programs

Soliciting students in disallowed locations

Soliciting or enrolling students into unapproved courses or programs

Offering students financial inducements to enroll

Coercing students to enroll

Administering entrance tests

Advising students on financial aid

Soliciting as, or on behalf of, an employment agency

Failing to invite students to tour the school's facility and inspect the equipment

Omitting advising students on the school's policies and procedures regarding granting of credit

Violating any other provision of statute or rule relating to career schools and colleges

# SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties.

1 2

- (a) A school director shall be of good reputation. A school director of a small school must have at minimum one year of administration or management experience. A school director of other than a small school must have at minimum five years of administration or management experience or at least two years of experience as a director of a career school or college. An equivalent duration of higher education, college or university, may be substituted, year for year, for administration or management experience.
- (a) A school director of a small school shall have administrative or management experience and shall be of good reputation.
- (b) A school director of other than a small school shall be of good reputation and have a total of five years of administrative or management experience. An equivalent duration of higher education, college or university, may be substituted for each year of experience.
- (b)(e) The school shall obtain <u>Agency Commission</u> approval for the school director before employment of the school director.
- (c)(d) The school director is responsible for the courses of instruction, organization of classes, designation of a liaison for <u>AgencyCommission</u> compliance visits, maintenance of the school facilities and proper administrative records, and all other matters related to the administration of the school, as determined by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>.
- (d)(e) The Agency Commission may require the school director to attend additional training to continue approved director status if a school has more than one substantiated complaint from students during a one-year period. If the school has

1 2	-	previous year under the same director, the revoke the approval of the school director.
3		
4	(e)(f) The school director sh	all:
5 6 7 8	with local, city, cou	ities, including housing endorsed by the school, comply inty, municipal, state, and federal regulations such as, but building, and sanitation codes; and
9	(2) inspect facilities, in	cluding housing, before endorsement.
11 12	§807.63. Acting School Director	•
13	3007.03. Acting School Director	·•
14 15 16		may allow a school to designate an acting school director d 90 days or as otherwise approved by the o is:
17		
18 19	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	ed school director at another location with the same owner to val process at a new location;
20   21   22	(2) a new school direct	tor pending approval by the Agency Commission; or
23 24	(3) required by an eme	ergency as determined by the Agency Commission.
25 26 27	· ·	written notice to the <u>Agency</u> <del>Commission</del> , delivered by the wing the appointment of the acting school director.
28	§807.64. Director of Education	Requirements.
29 30 31	(a) A school may have a dire	ector of education.
32 33 34	\ /	lirector of education, the director shall meet the same actor and, in addition, shall have:
35 36	(1) one year of employ	ment as a postsecondary instructor;
37 38	(2) one year of supervi	sory employment experience as a supervisor; and
39 40	(3) a bachelor's degree Agency Commission	, appropriate for the skills required, as determined by the n.
41 42	§807.66. Director of Admissions	s Requirements.
43 44	(a) A school may have a dire	ctor of admissions. An individual employed by a school as a
45		ior to the effective date of this section is not subject to
46	\$807.66(b)(1) and \$807.6	

- (b) If the school employs a director of admissions, the director shall be of good reputation and, in addition, shall have:
  - (1) one year of management or administration administrative experience; and
  - (2) one year of admissions experience.

### SUBCHAPTER F. INSTRUCTORS

## §807.81. Instructor Qualifications.

- (a) The instructor shall be of good reputation and shall not be a current student in the same or similar course of instruction, as determined by the Agency, in which the instructor teaches.
- (b) Instructors shall possess and affirm on forms provided by the Agency that the instructor has one of the following qualifications that applies to the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught. In such cases where the practical experience is gained on a seasonal basis as an industry standard, the season of at least three <u>full calendar</u> months of experience shall be considered as one year of experience.
  - (1) The instructor has a master's degree or higher that:
    - (A) includes satisfactory completion of six semester credit hours or eight quarter credit hours in the <u>subjectelass</u> to be taught;
    - (B) includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u>elass to be taught is in a technical field:
    - (C) includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours, or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught, if the <u>subject</u>elass to be taught is in a <u>nontechnical</u>non technical field; or
    - (D) is supplemented by one year of related practical experience in the <a href="subjectelass">subjectelass</a> to be taught within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <a href="subjectelass">subjectelass</a> to be taught is in a <a href="mailto:nontechnical">nontechnical</a> field.
  - (2) The instructor has a bachelor's degree that:
    - (A) includes satisfactory completion of nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours related to the subjecteourse area to be taught;

- (B) includes satisfactory completion of six semester credit hours or eight quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u>elass to be taught is in a technical field;
- (C) includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subjecteourse</u> area and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subjectelass</u> to be taught is in a <u>nontechnical non-technical</u> field; or
- (D) is supplemented by two years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (3) The instructor has an associate associate's degree that:
  - (A) includes satisfactory completion of nine semester credit hours or 12 quarter hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught and two years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school; or
  - (B) is supplemented by three years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (4) The instructor has a secondary education that includes a certificate of completion from a recognized postsecondary school for a program with course time of at least 900 hours in a relevant course area and four years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school; or
- (5) The instructor has proof of satisfactory completion of secondary education and five years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (c) In addition to the other applicable requirements for instructors, including the good reputation requirement, the following qualifications apply to the specific instructors listed in this subsection.
  - (1) The <u>Agency Commission</u> requires that a court reporting instructor of only machine shorthand theory and speedbuilding shall have:
    - (A) an <u>associate associate's</u> degree or higher and certificate of completion of machine shorthand theory requirements in an accredited court reporting program;

1 2 3			(B)	an <u>associate</u> associate's degree in court reporting from any state-recognized school;
4 5 6			(C)	a Registered Professional Reporter or Certified Shorthand Reporter certification from any state; or
7 8 9			(D)	a certificate of completion of a court reporting program from a state-certified school.
10   11   12		(2)		Agency Commission requires that a court procedures and technology uctor shall have:
13 14 15			(A)	a Registered Professional Reporter or Certified Shorthand Reporter certification; and
16 17 18			(B)	one year of court reporting experience.
19 20 21		(3)		<u>agency</u> Commission requires that a modeling instructor shall have, at a mum:
22 23 24 25			(A)	a secondary education and certificate of completion from a modeling program of at least 45 hours of course time from a state recognized school and at least five verifiable paid modeling jobs completed within the past five years; or
26 27 28			(B)	a secondary education and at least ten verifiable paid modeling jobs completed within the past five years.
29   30   31		(4)		Agency Commission requires that a truck driving instructor shall have, at a mum:
32 33 34			(A)	a secondary education;
35 36 37			(B)	certified proof of successful completion of course time of 40 hours in safety education and driver training as required by this chapter; and
38 39			(C)	three years of full-time tractor trailer driving experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
40   41   42   43		(5)	by th	Agency Commission requires that a bartending instructor shall be certified the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission as having completed the ired seller training program.
44 45 46	(d)			or shall ensure that an instructor applicant demonstrates sufficient proficiency to teach the class for which the instructor is applying to teach.

(e) For those instructors who return to the school prior to one full year of absence, and who will be teaching the same <u>subjects</u> as previously approved, the school shall document the leave and reinstatement dates in the instructor's personnel file. When an instructor begins teaching new <u>subjects</u> or the absence was more than one year, the school shall submit a new application to the Agency Commission.

# §807.82. Temporary Instructors.

- (a) The Agency may allow a school to use a previously unapproved instructor to teach temporarily for a <u>period not to exceed 90 daysreasonable amount of time in the case of an emergency, as determined by the Agency</u>.
- (b) In such circumstances, the school shall provide written notice to the Agency delivered no later than the first day the temporary instructor begins teaching. The notice shall include:
  - (1) the subject(s)elass to be taught;
  - (2) the name of the approved instructor;
  - (2)(3) the name of the temporary instructor; and
  - (3)(4) the reason for the temporary instructor; and
  - (4) any other information as required by the Agency.
- (c) Failure to properly notify the Agency shall result in sanctions for the use of an unapproved instructor.
- (c)(d) The temporary instructor shall have <u>sufficient</u> practical experience or education in the <u>subject</u> area to be taught, and shall not have been previously disapproved to teach the class.
- (d)(e) There shall be no more than one temporary instructor per <u>academic termgrading</u> period in an individual <u>subjectelass</u>, unless specifically approved in advance by the Agency.
- (e)(f) Failure to comply with this section may shall result in sanctions, a full refund to all students attending such classes, or both.

## §807.83. Instructor Application.

(a) A school that has been licensed for at least one year and is accredited by an agency recognized by the <u>United States U. S.</u> Secretary of Education is not required to submit instructor applications to the Agency Commission for approval. Documentation that

1 2 3 4 5 6 7	
5 6 7 8 9	
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17	
15 16 17 18	
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	
<ul><li>24</li><li>25</li><li>26</li><li>27</li><li>28</li></ul>	
<ul><li>29</li><li>30</li><li>31</li><li>32</li></ul>	
33 34 35 36 37	
38 39 40 41	
42 43 44 45 46	

- the instructor meets the requirements of this chapter must be kept on file at the school and available for review immediately upon request.
- (b) The school shall file an application for approval of an instructor on forms provided by the <u>Agency Commission</u> in accordance with the following criteria and ensure that the instructor is of good reputation.
  - (1) The application shall be postmarked within five calendar days of employment as an instructor subject to the conditions outlined in this subchapter. A school may employ an instructor pending approval by the Agency Commission.
  - (2) Depending upon the qualifications indicated on the application, the application shall include one or more of the following:
    - (A) a legible copy of the postsecondary certificate or degree, or a transcript indicating appropriate coursework completed, as applicable;
    - (B) proof of a current occupational license; and
    - (C) proof of secondary education.
- (c) A school with degree programs shall ensure that instructors are of good reputation and meet all the qualifications required by the Coordinating Board.
- (d) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve a variance from the specific qualifications contained in §807.81 of this subchapter with sufficient justification and an assurance that the program quality will not be lessened.
- (e) The Agency Commission may consider current approvals of instructors by other Texas state agencies responsible for approval and regulation of the program, or any professional certifications held by the instructor when submitted with the Agency's Commission's instructor application. The Agency Commission will accept notification, in lieu of a new instructor application, for any instructor that has a current approval by the Agency Commission to teach the same classes at other schools that have the same owners.
- (f) The Agency Commission may require the school director of an accredited school to file applications for instructors if there have been two substantiated complaints regarding instructors in the previous year, or if the school is unable to produce, when requested, documentation that all instructors meet the requirements of this subchapter.
- (g) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may require a school director to submit and receive approvals for instructor applications in advance of employing the instructors for a period of one year if the school has had three instructor applications finally disapproved within the previous two years.

# §807.84. School Responsibilities Regarding Instructors.

- (a) The school shall ensure that an appropriate number of instructors, as determined by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, have proper licensure or certificates required for the stated occupation's objective. The holder of the license or certificate shall actively participate in course program development and revisions.
- (b) The school shall ensure continuity of instruction through reasonable retention of instructors to provide students with a quality education.
- (c) The school director or director of education shall formally evaluate each instructor in writing at least annually, subject to review by the <u>Agency Commission</u>.
- (d) The school director or director of education shall ensure that students are allowed the opportunity to formally evaluate each instructor, including temporary instructors, in writing at least annually and incorporate said evaluation in the instructor's overall evaluation. These student evaluations are subject to review by the Agency Commission.
- (e) The school shall ensure that classes are taught only by approved instructors. Failure to meet this requirement may entitle students to a refund and may subject the school to sanctions.

# SUBCHAPTER G. STAFF EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

## §807.101. Initial Training.

- (a) A school director shall complete the online training contained in the Director's Resource Guide or attend a Commission sponsored workshop and demonstrate a proficiency of the knowledge required to operate a school before final Agency Commission approval may be granted. The Commission may require a school director to retrain in order to maintain skills and continue as an approved school director.
- (b) The school shall provide in-service training within the first three <u>full calendar</u> months of teaching to those instructors hired lacking teaching experience. In-service training includes planned professional development opportunities that enable inexperienced instructors to learn and develop effective teaching strategies and skills. Topics shall include competency-based training, instructional methods, adult learning styles, and student learning and skills assessment. Competency-based training specifies the skills and skill levels required to complete a training program, develops and organizes teaching and learning methods to enable students to achieve the identified skills and levels of proficiency, and uses criterion-referenced evaluation to measure achievement.

#### §807.102. Continuing Education. (a) Except for exempt providers as defined in the Act, providers shall submit an application for approval of continuing education training. In selecting approving continuing education training, the school Commission shall consider the factors set out in §132.0551 of the Act. A school's selection of a continuing education provider is subject to approval by the Agency. (b) If a continuing education training provider submits an application for approval prior to September 1, 2006, and the application and courses are approved, all training conducted on or after January 1, 2006, will be considered as approved continuing education if the training is determined by the Commission to be substantially similar to the application. (b) (c) The school shall implement, maintain, and update annually a written plan for staff development, which includes at a minimum, continuing education, staff meetings, attendance at trade and professional conferences, and observation of, or participation in, on-the-job activities. (c)(d) Each school director, full time instructor, and director of admissions shall complete a minimum of six hours of course time of continuing education applicable to the position within 12 months of employment in the position and each calendar year thereafter. (d)(e) The school shall provide and document in-service training that provides updates on skills, knowledge, and technology required by business and industry for those instructors who have taught for two years, but have not gained relevant work experience during the two-year period. SUBCHAPTER H. PROGRAMS COURSES OF INSTRUCTION §807.121. Definitions Relating to Programs Courses of Instruction. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. (1) Externship--Practical, program-related, off-campus training under direct or

- (1) Externship--Practical, program-related, off-campus training under direct or indirect instructor supervision, with a preplanned outline of experiences and competencies. For purposes of determining whether a program is residence, distance education, or a hybrid combination, the externship component will not be a determining factor.
- (2) Laboratory experience <u>or lab</u>--A specific experience of observation, experimentation, practice, study, technical investigation, analysis, and practical application of theory or verbal instruction involving hands-on supervised study in a selected vocation or <u>course</u> elass.

- (3) Lecture--A presentation of theories, concepts, procedures, or information about a particular <u>subjectelass</u>.
- (4) New program--A program:
  - (A) not previously offered;
  - (B) previously offered and then discontinued;
  - (C) with a revised objective such that the program provides preparation for different jobs than those for which the program was originally approved (examples: legal secretary to paralegal; dental technician to medical technician; computer operator to computer programmer); or
  - (D) with a 25 percent or more change within a 12-month period to the total number of hours, content, or lessons (examples: course time from 1,000 hours to 750, 600 hours to 900, 20 lessons to 30, 60 semester credit hours to 80).
- (5) New seminar--A seminar:
  - (A) not previously offered;
  - (B) previously offered and then discontinued;
  - (C) with a revised objective; or
  - (D) with a 25 percent or more change in a 12-month period to the total number of hours of the approved seminar.
- (6) Revised program or seminar--Revisions include changes in admission requirements, title, class title, objective description (but not the detailed objective), elass-course time <a href="hours">hours</a> or credit hours, or class hours of lecture, laboratory, or externship. <a href="School calendars">School calendars</a>, class schedules, <a href="Scheduling">Scheduling</a> and price changes are catalog changes, not revisions.
- (7) Military service course credit directory--The Agency-published list of any course types, with Classification for Instructional Program Codes (CIP codes), that are identified by the Agency and the relevant military experience, education, or training that may align with those programs or courses.
- §807.122. General Information for Programs Courses of Instruction.
  - (a) Each program of instruction submitted for approval shall be identified by a title.

1	<u>(b)</u>	The Agency will not approve false, misleading, or deceptive titles.
2 3	(c)	The school shall ensure that each program prepares the student for the stated
4	<u>(C)</u>	occupation.
5		occupation.
6	(d)	The school shall identify a demonstrable occupational demand for the stated
7		occupation. The Agency may consider the following in evaluating the school's
8		statement of occupational demand:
9		
10		(1) publications of established relevant occupational associations;
11		
12		(2) targeted occupation lists of Local Workforce Development Boards, if approved
13		by the Agency, or other local or state entities;
14		
15		(3) references to advertisements in media for employment;
16 17		(4) occupation employment rate of students;
18		(4) occupation employment rate of students;
19		(5) percentage of graduating students who have previously completed the same or
20		a substantially similar program and who have obtained employment in the
21		same or substantially similar stated occupation for which they have been
22		trained;
23		
24		(6) relative supply and demand for the stated occupation, including letters from
25		potential employers that describe their need for trained employees; or
26		
27		(7) reports or publications relating to the specific occupational demand.
28		
29	<u>(e)</u>	The school shall:
30		(1) an even the area area and stated a council or comply with statestams and as evalutors.
31		(1) ensure the program and stated occupation comply with statutory and regulatory
32		requirements of the State of Texas, as well as codes adopted by the local
33 34		municipality or other authority having jurisdiction where the school is located, and statutory and regulatory requirements of the location of the school, if it is
35		located out of state;
36		located out of state,
37		(2) provide competency-based programs;
38		(2) provide competency sused programs,
39		(3) assess skills using primarily performance-based methods;
40		
41		(4) use instructional media, methods, and materials appropriate for the program
42		content and students' knowledge and abilities;
43		
44		(5) offer programs in a logical sequence of knowledge and skills;
15		

1	<u>(6</u>
2 3	
4	<u>(7</u>
5	
6 7	
8	
9 10	
11	
12	<u>(f) Ea</u>
13 14	<u>ho</u> to
15	no
16 17	<u>(g)(a)</u>
18	a (
19 20	at
21	(1)
22 23	
24	(2)
25 126	
26 27	( <u>h)</u> ( <del>b)</del> in:
28	sc
29 30	(1
31	•
32 33	(2
34	
35 36	(3)
30 37	
38	
39 40	
41	
42 43	
43 44	
45	

- (6) if deemed appropriate by the Agency, provide an externship or a simulation of the workplace for the program; and
- for any course listed in the military service course credit directory, provide credit to a student toward any course time required for the program of study or course for skills obtained by the student through military experience, education, or training, unless the school or college can demonstrate that those skills are not appropriately aligned with the program of study or course. This requirement prevails regardless of a course requiring Agency approval or having obtained accreditor approval.
- (f) Each program submitted for approval shall identify the courses and course time hours allocated to that program. A program of a disproportionate length reasonable to prepare the student for the stated occupation, as determined by the Agency, shall not be approved.
- (g)(a) A school shall not apply for approval of a program that is substantially similar to a discontinued or revoked program, unless the application for approval is submitted at least one year after the date of discontinuation or revocation, and:
  - (1) the school's approved programs are all meeting the employment rate as referenced in §807.131(b) of this subchapter, at the time of application; and
  - (2) the school submits a reimplementation plan to the Agency.
- (h)(b) A school is not required to submit applications for additional courses of instruction or for course revisions to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for approval, if the school:
  - (1) has been licensed for at least one year under the current ownership;
  - (2) is accredited by an agency recognized by the <u>United States U.S.</u> Secretary of Education; and
  - (3) is in good standing with its designated accrediting agency and not subject to:
    - (A) probation;
    - (B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked; or
    - (C) any other action, as defined by the accrediting agency, that would otherwise prevent the school from seeking approval to add or revise a course of instruction.

1 2	(i)(e) Upon receipt of the approval of the course of instruction from the accrediting agency, the school shall provide a copy to the Agency Commission.
3	agency, are sensor shariprovide a copy to ano <u>regency</u> commission.
4	(i)(d) The Agency Commission may require the school director of an accredited school
5	to file applications for nondegree programs if there have been two substantiated
6 7	complaints regarding <u>courses<del>programs</del></u> in the previous year.
8	(k)(e) A school submitting applications for approval of seminars shall use abbreviated
9	forms provided by the Agency Commission.
10	
11	(1)(f) No elass or program shall be approved by the Agency Commission unless the
12	school demonstrates that the program's quality, content, and length reasonably and
13	adequately imparts the job skills and knowledge necessary for the student to obtain
14	employment in the stated occupation.
15	
16	(m)(g) A school may not solicit students, otherwise advertise, or conduct classes for a
17	course of instruction prior to the Agency's Commission's approval of the course of
18	instruction. Any such activity by the school, prior to the Agency's Commission's
19	approval of the course of instruction, shall constitute a misrepresentation by the
20	school and shall entitle each student in the course of instruction to a full refund of all
21	tuition and fees paid by the student and release from all obligations.
22	
23	(n)(h) The school shall establish and maintain a formal advisory committee of at least
24	five members, unless the Agency Commission approves a lesser number of persons in
25	advance, for each type of program with course time in excess of 200 hours in length.
26	A simple majority of the members of the advisory committee shall not have an
27	ownership or financial interest in the school, nor shall they be employees of the
28	school. At least annually, the committee shall evaluate the curriculum, instructional
29	materials and media, equipment, and facilities to ensure they meet the needs of the
30	job market. The school shall have written documentation of the evaluation available
31	for review by the Agency Commission. If the school does not follow an advisory
32	committee recommendation, the school shall maintain written documentation of the
33	justification for not following the recommendation.
34	$\mathcal{J}$
35	(o)(i) If the applicant requests approval to measure courses of instruction in credit hours,
36	the following conversion table shall be used.
37	
38	(1) One academic quarter credit hour equals a minimum course time of:
39	
40	(A) 10 hours of classroom lecture;
41	
42	(B) 20 hours of laboratory experience; or
43	
44	(C) 30 hours of externship.
45	

1 2 3		(2) One academic semester credit hour <u>equals</u> is equal to a minimum course time of:
3 4 5		(A) 15 hours of classroom lecture;
6 7		(B) 30 hours of laboratory experience; or
8		(C) 45 hours of externship.
9 10 11 12 13 14		(3) The school shall calculate lecture, laboratory, and externship credit hour conversions individually for each <u>course</u> elass, rounding down to the nearest half credit hour. The school shall add the total for the credit hours for lecture, laboratory, and externship to determine the total credit hours for a class.
15	§ <b>807.1</b> 2	23. Applications for Additional <u>Programs</u> Courses of Instruction.
16 17 18 19	` '	A school applying for approval of an additional <u>programeourse</u> of instruction, after receiving an original certificate of approval, shall submit a complete application that includes:
20 21		(1) the appropriate fee;
22 23 24		(2) a completed application for approval on forms provided by the <u>Agency Commission</u> ; and
25 26		(3) any other revisions or evidence as requested by the <u>Agency Commission</u> .
27 28	(b)	The Agency Commission may require an abbreviated program application if:
29 30 31		(1) the school has the exact program approved at another location;
32 33		(1)(2) the program objective changes; or
34 35		(2)(3) the program length changes $25  percent 25%$ or more.; or
36 37 38		(4) the school's completion and employment rates are exemplary, as determined by the Commission.
39 40 41	. ,	The Agency Commission may deny an application for approval of an additional programeourse of instruction if the school is not in full compliance with the Act or this chapter.
42 43	<del>§807.1</del> 2	24. Stated Occupation.
44 45		(a) The school shall ensure that each program prepares the student for the stated
43 46		occupation

_	
1	
2 3	(b) The school shall demonstrate that a student who successfully completes the
	program is more likely to be employed in the stated occupation than an
4 5	individual who does not complete the program, all other things being equal.
6	(c) The school shall identify a demonstrable occupational demand for the stated
7	occupation. The Commission may consider the following in evaluating the
8	school's statement of occupational demand:
9 10 11	(1) publications of established relevant occupational associations;
12	(2) targeted occupation lists of boards, if approved by the Commission, or other
13	local or state entities;
14	food of state chanes,
15	(3) references to advertisements in media for employment;
16 17	(4) occupation employment rate of students;
18 19	(5) percentage of graduating students who have praviously completed the same or
	(5) percentage of graduating students who have previously completed the same of
20 21	substantially similar program and who have obtained employment in the same
21 22	or substantially similar stated occupation for which they have been trained;
23	(6) relative supply and demand for the stated occupation, including letters from
24	potential employers that describe their need for trained employees; and
25	p communication and a constraint and a c
26	(7) reports or publications relating to the specific occupational demand.
27	
28	§807.125. Curriculum Content.
29	
30	(a) The school shall:
31	
32	(1) provide competency based programs;
33	
34	(2) assess skills using primarily performance based methods;
35	
36	(3) use instructional media, methods, and materials appropriate for the program
37	content and students' knowledge and abilities;
38	
39	(4) offer programs in a logical sequence of knowledge and skills; and
40	
41	(5) if deemed appropriate by the Commission, provide an externship or a
42	simulation of the workplace for the program.
43	AN Early design design and allowed at the Control of the Control o
44	(b) Each class in the program shall teach the practical skills and knowledge required for
45	employment in the stated occupation. The proportion of lecture, laboratory, and

externship hours for each class and for the program shall be reasonable for the skills and knowledge to be learned for the stated occupation.

(c) The Commission may use or validate existing skill standards or competencies, or develop statewide skill standards with the assistance of industry, schools, and other relevant entities as determined by the Commission.

## §807.126. Curriculum Length.

- (a) Each class submitted for approval shall identify the course time or credit hours allocated to that class. A class or program that exceeds a length reasonable to prepare the student for the stated occupation shall not be approved.
- (b) The Commission may establish minimum and maximum program lengths for stated occupations consistent with the intent of the Act.

# §807.127. Program Title.

- (a) Each program submitted for approval shall be identified by a title.
- (b) The title shall clearly identify the stated occupation and shall be a title commonly used by business or industry.
- (c) The Commission shall not approve false, misleading, or deceptive program titles.

## §807.129. Facilities.

- (a) In determining adequate space for lecture and laboratory experiences, the <u>Agency Commission</u> shall consider that the amount of lecture and laboratory space meets the use requirements of the maximum number of current students in class with appropriate seating facilities and/or workstations, as needed by the activity patterns of the program.
- (b) Enrollment shall not exceed the design characteristics of the available <u>seating and/or</u> workstations.

# §807.130. Admission Requirements Relating to **Programs Courses** of Instruction.

- (a) The school shall submit, for approval by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, its admission requirements for each <u>program course</u> of instruction with justification for the requirements.
- (b) The school shall ensure that the student demonstrates to the school sufficient proficiency in the language of instruction to successfully complete the <a href="mailto:programtraining.course">programtraining.course</a> of instruction.

#### 1 §807.131. School Responsibilities Relating to Programs Courses of Instruction. 2 3 (a) As a condition of program approval or renewal, the school shall identify any portion 4 of instruction that is self-paced, conducted by distance education, or not conducted in 5 English. 6 7 (b) To maintain program approval, the school shall demonstrate the following: 8 9 a reasonable student completion rate, as determined by the Agency, for each 10 program; and 11 12 (2) a minimum employment rate, as established by the Commission, for program 13 graduates in jobs related to the stated occupation. 14 15 (c) When a school is approved to offer a program, the school shall maintain sufficient instructors to teach all subjects for completing the program during the length of time 16 17 stipulated in the school catalog, regardless of the size of the class. 18 19 (d) The school shall schedule classes so that students will be able to complete the 20 program during the length of time stipulated in the school catalog. 21 22 (e) The school shall ensure that students receive the lecture and laboratory experience 23 hours with sufficient instructors and scheduling. An instructor may not be 24 simultaneously supervising a laboratory experience and a lecture even if they are in 25 the same room. 26 27 (f) A school shall provide course outlines to students at the beginning of each subject 28 which lists students' performance objectives, references and resources, and a general 29 content outline for the subject. 30 31 (g) A school shall have and use lesson plans for all subjects. 32 33 (h) A school may not use classes from one or more approved programs to create a new 34 program and award a certificate of completion without prior approval. 35 36 (i) The student-to-instructor ratio shall be sufficient for students to learn, practice, and 37 demonstrate the necessary knowledge and skills. These ratios may be varied at the 38 discretion of the Agency Commission to conform to conditions in an individual 39 school. The recommended following student-instructor ratio per class does not exceedratios may be acceptable for single classes: 40 41 42 lectures business lecture or laboratory -- 30 to one; (1) 43 44 (2) technical, vocational, or allied health lecture 30 to one;

1	(2)(3) <u>labstechnical lab (examples: computer programming, data</u>
2 3	<del>processing, electronics)</del> - 20 to one; and
<i>3</i>	(4) vocational lab (examples: auto mechanics, air conditioning and refrigeration,
5	drafting) 20 to one; and
6	drarting) 20 to one, and
7	(3)(5) intensive language instruction (beginning)15 to one; (intermediate to
8	advanced)20 to one.
9	advanced)20 to one.
10	§807.132. Program Course of Instruction Revisions.
11	3007/12=1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
12	(a) The school shall submit a revised <u>program</u> course of instruction application for any
13	proposed changes in the programeourse of instruction that shall be reflected in the
14	school catalog's course of instruction information.
15	
16	(b) The school shall receive approval of proposed programeourse of instruction
17	revisions in writing from the Agency Commission before implementing the revisions
18	
19	(c) The school shall work closely with employers in its job market to ensure that the
20	course of instruction meets employers' needs.
21	
22	§807.133. Program Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.
23	
24	A school shall provide evidence to the <u>Agency Commission</u> that they are authorized by
25	the Coordinating Board to offer degree programs.
26	
27	§807.134. Sanctions Relating to <u>Programs</u> Courses of Instruction.
28	
29	(a) If an approved <u>program course</u> of instruction is discontinued for any reason, the
30 31	school shall notify the Agency shall be notified within 72 hours of discontinuance
	and furnished with the names and addresses of any students who were prevented
32 33	from completion of the <u>program course</u> of instruction due to discontinuance. Should the school fail to make arrangements satisfactory to the students and the Agency for
34	the completion of the <u>programeourse</u> of instruction, the full amount of all tuition and
35	fees paid by the students are then due and refundable. Any program course of
36	instruction discontinued will be removed from the list of approved programs courses
37	of instruction.
38	of instruction.
39	(b) The Agency may suspend enrollments in a particular <u>programeourse</u> of instruction as
40	any time the Agency Commission finds cause. For purposes of this subsection, cause
41	includes, but is not limited to:
42	
43	(1) inadequate instruction;
44	
45	(2) unapproved or inadequate curriculum;
46	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 2		(3) inadequate equipment; or
3		(4) inadequate facilities.
4 5 6 7 8	(c)	If a school begins teaching a <u>program course</u> of instruction or revised <u>program course</u> of instruction that has not been approved by the Agency, the Agency may require the school to refund to the enrolled students all or a portion of the tuition fees.
9 10 11 12 13 14 15	(d)	If upon review and consideration of an original, renewal, or revised application for <a href="mailto:programeourse">programeourse</a> of instruction approval, the Agency determines that the applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act or this chapter, the Agency <a href="willshall">willshall</a> notify the school, setting forth in writing the reasons for the denial. This may include summaries of peer evaluations from both educators and employers offering similar <a href="mailto:programseourses">programseourses</a> of instruction.
16 17 18 19	(e)	The Agency may revoke approval of a school's <u>programeourse</u> of instruction at any time the Agency finds cause. For purposes of this subsection, cause includes, but is not limited to:
20 21 22		(1) any statement contained in the application for the <u>program</u> <del>course</del> of instruction approval which is untrue;
23 24 25 26		(2) the school's failure to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or <a href="mailto:programseourses">programseourses</a> of instruction, or <a href="mailto:programeourse">programseourse</a> of instruction outcomes on the basis of which approval was issued;
27 28 29 30		(3) advertising made on behalf of the school which is false, misleading, or deceptive, including those that use the words commonly associated with a degree other than those approved by the Coordinating Board;
31 32 33 34		(4) <u>programs</u> of instruction without clearly stated limited transferability if there are no articulation agreements with other postsecondary institutions in the same geographic area;
35 36 37		(5) <u>programs</u> courses of instruction for which financial aid is advertised but is not available;
38 39 40		(6) repeated violations by the school that negatively impact the quality of a particular <u>program</u> of instruction; or
41 42		(7) violations by the school of any applicable provision of the Act or this chapter.
43 44 45	(f)	A school whose <u>program course</u> of instruction approval is denied or revoked shall have the right to appeal. The Agency will conduct hearings in accordance with Agency policies and procedures applicable to the appeal.

#### 1 SUBCHAPTER I. APPLICATION FEES AND OTHER CHARGES 2 3 **§807.151.** Fee Schedule. 4 5 The Agency Commission shall collect fees according to the following schedule. 6 7 The initial fee for a certificate of approval for a small school is \$1,001. (1) 8 9 The initial fee for any other school is \$3,000. (2) 10 11 (3) In the event of a change in ownership of the school, the new owner shall pay 12 the same fee as that charged for an initial fee for a school. 13 14 (4) The initial registration fee for a representative is \$90. 15 16 The annual registration renewal fee for a representative is \$45. (5) 17 18 The fee for a change of name of the school or owner is \$150. (6) 19 20 (7) The fee for a change of address of a school is \$270. 21 22 (8) The fee for a change in the name or address of a representative or a change of 23 the name or address of a school that causes the reissuance of the notice of 24 permitted representative is \$15. 25 26 (8)(9)The application fee for a course of instruction that is an additional program 27 is \$225. 28 29 The application fee for an additional a course of instruction that is seminar (9)(10)30 program is \$35. 31 32 (10)<del>(11)</del> The application fee for a school director, administrative staff member, or 33 instructor is \$20. 34 35 (11)(12) The fee for an inspection of classroom facilities that are separate from the 36 main campus is \$375. 37 38 (12)(13) The fee for an on-site investigation of a complaint against a school is \$600, 39 if assessed. 40 41 **§807.152.** Renewal Fees. 42 43 (a) For small schools, if a certificate of approval is issued for three years<del>more than one</del> 44 year, the renewal fee is \$1,001, which may be paid with \$501 the first year and \$250 45 on the anniversary date of the certificate for each subsequent year.

# §807.172. Advertisement Method.

- (a) A school may advertise for prospective students under "instruction," "education," "training," or a similarly titled classification.
- (b) A school shall not be advertised under any "help wanted," "employment," or similar classification.
- (c) No school advertisements shall use the word "wanted," "help wanted," or "trainee," either in the headline or the body of the advertisement, nor shall any advertisement indicate, in any manner, that the school has or knows of employment of any nature available to prospective students; only "placement assistance," if offered, may be advertised.
- (d) A school shall not use terms to describe the significance of the approval that specify or connote greater approval. Terms that schools may not use to connote greater approval by the <a href="AgencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> include, but are not limited to, "accredited," "supervised," "endorsed," and "recommended." A school shall not use the words "guarantee," "guaranteed," or "free" unless approved in writing by the <a href="AgencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a>.
- (e) Any advertisement that includes a reference to awarding of credit hours shall include the statement, "limited transferability." Where a school has an arrangement with a college or university to accept transfer hours, such information may be advertised, but any limitations shall be included in the advertisement.

# §807.173. Advertisement Content and Monitoring.

- (a) Advertisement content shall include, and clearly indicate, the full and correct name of the school and its address, including city, as they appear on the certificate of approval.
- (b) Advertisements shall not include:
  - (1) statements that the school or its programs are accredited unless the accreditation is that of an agency recognized by the United States Department of Education;
  - (2) statements that the school or its courses of instruction have been approved unless the approval can be substantiated by an appropriate certificate of approval issued by an agency of the state or federal government; or
  - (3) representation of the school as an employment agency under the same name, or a confusingly similar name, or at the same location of the school.

PR-Ch. 807 Chapter Revisions (7.12.22)APPROVED

1 2	(c)	A school holding a franchise to offer specialized programs or classes not available to other schools shall not advertise such programs in such a manner as to diminish the
3		value and scope of programs offered by other schools not holding such a franchise.
4		Advertising of special classes or programs offered under a franchise shall be limited
5		to the classes or programs offered.
6	(1)	
7	(a)	A school shall not use endorsements, commendations, or recommendations by
8		students in favor of a school except with the consent of the student and without any
9 10		offer of financial or other material compensation. Endorsements shall bear the student's legal or professional name of the student. A school may abbreviate the
11		student's name if requested by the student. The school shall maintain a written record
12		of the endorsement, including the full legal name and contact information for the
13		student, associated with any advertisements referenced in this section.
14		statent, associated with any advertisements referenced in this section.
15	(e)	A school shall not use a photograph, cut, engraving, illustration or graphic in
16	( )	advertising in such a manner as to:
17		
18		(1) convey a false impression of size, importance, or location of the school,
19		equipment, or facilities associated with the school, or
20		
21		(2) circumvent any of the requirements of this chapter regarding written or oral
22 23		statements.
23		
24 25 26 27	(f)	Every advertisement must clearly indicate that training is being offered, and shall
25 26		not, either by actual statement, omission, or intimation, imply that prospective
26 27		employees are being sought.
27	(~)	The Agency may and a competitive action to counterpot the effect of advertising in
28 29	<u>(g)</u>	The Agency may order corrective action to counteract the effect of advertising in violation of the Act or this chapter, including:
30		violation of the Act of this chapter, including.
31		(1) retraction by the school of such advertising claims published in the same
32		manner as the claims themselves;
33		manner as the claims themselves,
34		(2) a prohibition against the use of an automatic forwarding message; and
34 35		
36		(3) submission of all advertisements to the Agency for pre-approval at least 30
37		days before proposed submission of the advertisements to the advertising
38		medium.
39		
40	§807.1	75. Catalog.
41 42	(0)	The catalog shall include the following:
43	(a)	The catalog shall include the following:
+3 44		(1) table of contents or index;
4 <del>4</del> 45		(1) more of contents of index,
46		(2) name and complete street address of the school;
		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

1			
1 2		(3)	volume number, date of publication, and effective dates;
3			
4 5		(4)	history of any accreditations or approvals, including statement of approval and regulation by the <u>Agency Commission</u> ;
6 7 8		(5)	description of space, facilities, and equipment;
9		(6)	list of all trustees, directors, officers of the corporation, and owners;
10		(7)	list of management staff and faculty, including advection relating to the areas
11		(7)	list of management staff and faculty, including education relating to the areas
12			of instruction;
13		(9)	tuition food other charges and applicable scholarship terms
14 15		(8)	tuition, fees, other charges, and applicable scholarship terms;
16		(0)	school calendar;
17		(9)	school calendar,
18		(10)	school hours of operation and class schedule, including the amount of time
19		(10)	allocated for breaks and mealtimes;
20			unocated for orears and meanines,
21		(11)	policies regarding enrollment, including entrance requirements, previous
22		(11)	education credit, cancellation and refund, progress, attendance, leave of
23			absence, and conduct;
24			west to the desired,
25		(12)	veterans administration-refund policy as required by the United States
26		()	Department of Veterans Affairs, if applicable;
27			
28		(13)	description of programs courses of instruction, including the number of hours
29		` /	of course time hours of a seminar, class or course seminar topic, lecture, lab,
30			and externship, as well as credit hours in each class or course, if applicable;
31			
32		(14)	description of each subjectelass;
33			
34		(15)	description of the grading policy, including requirements for graduation;
35			
36		(16)	description of placement assistance, if available;
37			
38		(17)	statement of polices regarding grievances; and
39			
40		(18)	a statement signed by the owner or director indicating that all of the
41			information contained in the catalog is true and correct.
42	(l <sub>2</sub> )	A	conversal ages defined as self-need shall be noted as such in the catalog
43	(b)	Any	<u>courses</u> defined as self-paced shall be noted as such in the catalog.
44	(a)	In a d	dition to the information contained in subsections (a) and (b) of this
45 46	(c)		Idition to the information contained in subsections (a) and (b) of this
46		secul	on above, the catalog for a school that charges tuition and fees for a residence

1 2 3	program or a synchronous distance education course based on more than one academic termperiod shall also include a complete description of the following:
4 5	(1) the number of periods of time and the course time scheduled in each <u>termperiod</u> ;
6   7   8	(2) the amount of tuition charged for each <u>termperiod</u> ;
9	(3) the type and amount of fees charged for each <u>termperiod</u> ; and
11 12	(4) any other charges for each <u>termperiod</u> .
13   14   15	(d) All changes to the catalog shall be disclosed to the Agency, using forms provided by the Agency. Failure to disclose changes <u>may</u> result in <del>penalties and</del> sanctions, including refunds.
16 17 18	§807.176. Advertisement Monitoring.
19	(a) The Commission may order corrective action to counteract the effect of advertising i
20 21	violation of the Act or rules, including:
22 23	(1) retraction by the school of such advertising claims published in the same manner as the claims themselves; and
24 25 26	(2) cancellation of telephone numbers without an automatic forwarding message.
27 28 29	(b) As corrective action for violations of the Act or rules, the Commission may require schools to submit all advertisements to the Commission for pre-approval at least 30 days before proposed submission of the advertisements to the advertising medium.
30 31 32	(c) Nothing in these guidelines shall prohibit release of information to students as required by a state or federal agency.
33 34 35	SUBCHAPTER K. ADMISSION
35 36 37	§807.191. General Information for Admission.
38 39	(a) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve specific admission requirements for seminar and small schools.
40   41   42   43   44	(b) <u>Programs Small schools with programs</u> with course time of 40 hours or less, individual class offerings, and seminars are not required to grant credit for previous education and training, <u>unless the course type is listed in the military service course credit directory</u> .
45	

- (c) The school shall make appropriate adjustments to the program length and price based upon credit granted for previous education and training, where warranted.
- (d) For a school having specific term-beginning dates, a school may not start students after the third day of classes during any given term, except in those cases where appropriate credit for previous education and training has been given according to the Act and this chapter.
- (e) A continuously enrolled student has the right to graduate under the academic requirements stated in the catalog in effect at the time of the student's enrollment.

## §807.192. Admission Requirements.

- (a) The school shall require for admission into its programs proof of one of the following:
  - (1) secondary education;
  - (2) successful completion or the equivalent of one full-time academic semester (12 academic semester hours) or academic quarter (18 academic quarter hours) at an accredited college, university, or other postsecondary school; or
  - (3) for <u>nondegree</u> certificate programs only, proven ability-to-benefit by obtaining a satisfactory score on the approved entrance test.
- (b) Entrance test requirements shall be in accordance with the following provisions.
  - (1) Any entrance test shall be a nationally recognized standardized test or a nonstandardized test developed by the appropriate industry and approved by the Agency Commission. A nonstandardized test shall be validated by a qualified third party, such as an expert in tests and measurements, for both appropriateness and the specific score level required for admission into the program. The name of the test and its publisher, any time limitations, a minimum acceptable score, and an explanation of score meanings, as referenced in the test material, shall be provided to the student prior to taking with a copy of the test, if the test is not already on file with the Commission.
  - (2) If multiple opportunities are allowed for retaking the same entrance test, such students shall wait a minimum of five calendar days prior to retaking the test. A student may take a second entrance test on the same day provided a substantially different test is administered. This shall be stated in the admissions policy published in the school catalog.
  - (3) A representative is not allowed to administer the test, nor is anyone allowed to assist the student in answering the questions.

- (4) If the entrance test reveals the student to be ineligible as an ability-to-benefit student, the student may be enrolled as a remedial student. The school shall have an evaluation procedure approved by the <a href="MagencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> to determine remedial needs and to determine when the required level of remediation has been reached. The school shall also have a remediation plan for such students consisting of classes approved by the <a href="MagencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> as a part of the program. The students may be charged for the remedial portion of the program on an hourly pro rata basis, but the student is not obligated for the tuition and fees of the program until the entrance requirements are met.
- (c) Evidence shall be maintained in each student's file to show the admissions requirements have been met. A full refund of all monies paid and a full release from all obligations <a href="may shall">may shall</a> be due, as determined by the <a href="may student">Agency Commission</a>, to any student for whom the school cannot establish that the admission requirements were met.

# §807.193. Receipt of Enrollment Policies.

- (a) For all enrollments other than for seminars, individual classes, and small schools with programs of course time of 40 hours or less, each school shall use the form provided by the Agency Commission to verify the prospective student's receipt of the information required in this section.
- (b) Unless otherwise required in this chapter, prior to enrollment the school shall furnish the following to each prospective student:
  - (1) a school catalog and program outline, unless the prospective student enrolls in a seminar:
  - (2) a schedule of tuition, fees, and other charges;
  - (3) the cancellation and refund policy;
  - (4) the progress and grievance policies and, for non-Title IV schools, attendance policies;
  - (5) the rules of operation and conduct;
  - (6) if available, the average starting salary per pay period and annually for the prospective student's stated occupation, and information regarding the number of job openings in the program objective field in a specified area within the last calendar year 12 months, including the name of the information source;
  - (7) the regulations pertaining to incomplete grades;

1 2 3		(8)	written and verbal information regarding loans and grants and their differences, if the school participates in a loan or grant program;
4 5		(9)	the requirements, if any, for any state or national licensing, certifications, or registrations;
6 7 8		(10)	the exam passage rates for programs that prepare students for state licensing, certification, or registration exams;
9 10 11		(11)	the job placement and employment data for the stated occupation as required in this chapter; and
12 13 14 15		(12)	notice of all policies related to program interruption prior to completion and written information informing the student that if the student withdraws, it is the student's responsibility to inform the school or college.
16 17 18 19	(c)	durin	school that refers to the awarding of credit hours shall explain to each student ag the enrollment process that transferability of such hours may be limited. Each ent shall sign a statement indicating such an explanation has been provided.
20 21 22 23 24	(d)	unive stude	ald a school have an articulation agreement with an accredited college or ersity, or other postsecondary school, such information shall be provided to the ent, including any known agreement limitations. Such schools shall also provide of known Texas postsecondary schools that accept any or all of the credit hours
25 26 27 28 29	(e)	Stude set fo	ents shall acknowledge receipt of each piece of information or documentation as orth in this section by initialing each page and providing a complete signature at nd of the receipt of the enrollment policy form.
30 31 32	(f)	A co	py of the receipt of the enrollment policies form shall be given to the student a copy maintained as a part of the student's files.
33 34 35	§807.1	94. Eı	nrollment Agreement.
36 37	<del>(a)</del>		school does not need an enrollment agreement to enroll a student in a seminar at will be completed within three consecutive calendar days.
38 39 40	<u>(a)</u>		or distance education schools, the enrollment agreement shall specify the mount of time allotted to the student to complete the program.
41 42 43	<u>(b)</u> (		school shall submit an enrollment agreement to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for oproval.
44 45 46	<u>(c)</u> (	(d) A	school shall use only an approved enrollment agreement to enroll students.

1 2	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	executed enrollment agreement shall include, but is not limited to, the owing:
3		
4	(1) f	ull and correct name and location of the school;
5		
6		program title, tuition, fees, reasonable estimate cost of books and supplies, any
7		other expenses, total cost of the program, items subject to cost change, method
8	O	of payment and payment schedule, disclosure statement if interest is charged
9	O	on more than three payments, and detachable buyer's right to cancel if
10	e	enrollment is procured off campus;
11		
12	(3) d	late training is to begin and program length;
13	(-)	
14	(4) n	name, address, and signature of the student;
15	(1)	anie, address, and signature of the stadent,
16	(5) s	tudent's emaile mail address if any part of the instruction or academically
17		elated activity is web based Web based;
	1	efaced activity is web based,
18	(6)	4-4
19		tatement by the school that the student will receive a copy of the school
20	e	nrollment agreement and catalog at the time of signing by the student;
21	<b>/-</b> >	
22	(7) c	ancellation and refund policy; and
23		
24	, ,	Federal Trade Commission statement for holder in due course, unless no
25	10	oans, grants, or installment payments are involved.
26		
27	(e)(f) The	school shall provide a notice of cancellation, attached to the enrollment
28	agre	ement, for any student enrolled off the school premises. The notice shall:
29	C	•
30	(1)	include at least two copiesbe in duplicate;
31	· /	
32	(2)	be easily detachable;
33	(2)	or cusing demonators,
34	(3)	be printed in boldface type, with a minimum font of 10 point;
35	(3)	be printed in coldrace type, with a minimum roll of 10 point,
36	(4)	contain the date of the enrollment agreement, name and address of school
37	(4)	
		the date on which the statutory 72-hour cancellation privilege will expire,
38		and any other provisions as determined by the Agency Commission;
39	( <b>5</b> )	
40	(5)	be printed in the same language as used in the enrollment agreement; and
41		
42	(6)	be in such a form that can be used by the student to notify the school of
43		the student's desire to cancel by dating, signing, and mailing or otherwise
44		delivering the form to the school's address shown.
45		

- (f)(g) A copy of the enrollment agreement form shall be given to the student and a copy maintained as a part of the student's file.
- (h) The Commission may permit a school to submit an abbreviated enrollment agreement for students enrolled on a reimbursement contract basis.

## §807.196. Tuition and Fees.

- (a) A school shall disclose to potential students all tuition, fees, and other charges, and state such information in the school's application for a certificate of approval. The school may not use an estimated tuition amount, nor may the school increase the student's tuition if the student remains continuously enrolled and completes the training as approved at the time of admission. If the school charges to repeat coursesclasses, the amount of the charges must be disclosed to the student.
- (b) A school shall make available for review by the Agency Commission upon request:
  - (1) a description of the methods of payment that are available to enrolling students:
  - (2) the names and addresses of lending institutions used by the school for student tuition loans; and
  - (3) the true annual percentage rate and any other fees or charges associated with student tuition loans.
- (c) A school shall refund or forfeit any tuition, fees, or other charges not previously disclosed to the Agency Commission.
- (d) A school may offer scholarships providing the terms of scholarships are disclosed to the Agency Commission.
- (e) The school shall maintain, in a permanent format that is acceptable and readily accessible to the <u>Agency Commission</u>, a record of any funds received from, or on behalf of, the student. A school shall clearly identify the payor, the type of funding, and the reason for the charges. These records shall be posted and kept current.
- (f) A school shall issue written receipts of any charges or payments to the student and maintain such records for review upon request by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>. Each separately charged item shall be clearly itemized on a student-signed receipt.

## §807.197. Admission Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

(a) Students who transfer from other postsecondary schools shall complete at least 20 academic semester hours or 30 academic quarter hours in residency at the school that

1				
1		will grant the degree. This does not apply to transfers within the same school system		
2 3		or teach-outs approved by the Agency.		
	(b)	A sahaal shall allow students attending at the time a sahaal becomes a degree		
4 5	(0)	A school shall allow students attending at the time a school becomes a degree		
6		granting school to earn a degree, providing the student:		
7		(1) meets all the prerequisites for acceptance into the degree program; and		
8		(1) meets an the prerequisites for acceptance into the degree program, and		
9		(2) satisfactorily completes all courses or equivalent courses of the degree		
10		program.		
11		program.		
12	(c)	Former students shall meet all the prerequisites for acceptance into the degree		
13	(0)	program and shall satisfactorily complete all courses or equivalent courses in the		
14		approved degree program to qualify for a degree.		
15				
16	SUBCHAI	PTER L. PROGRESS STANDARDS		
17				
18	§807.2	21. General Requirements for Progress Standards.		
19				
20	(a)	The Agency Commission may approve specific progress standards for self-paced,		
21		competency-based programs.		
22				
23	(b)	Seminars, because of their nature and duration, are not required to have progress		
24		standards.		
25				
26	(c)	The progress evaluation records shall be of the type and nature to reflect whether the		
27		student is making satisfactory progress to the point of being able to complete all		
28		subject matter within the allotted time provided in the course curriculum.		
29 30	(4)	The school shall submit its policies pertaining to incomplete grades to the		
31	(u)	Agency Commission for approval and publish those policies in the school's catalog.		
32		The policies shall address the possibility of the classes being discontinued when the		
33		student returns and clarify options available to that student pursuant to the Act.		
34		student returns and clarify options available to that student pursuant to the Act.		
35	(e)	Approved court reporting program students may receive one grade of "IP" (in		
36	(0)	progress) in any speedbuilding class if they have not achieved the required speed at		
37		the end of the grading period.		
38		and one of the grading points.		
39	§ <b>807.2</b>	23. Progress Requirements for Asynchronous Distance Education Schools.		
40				
41	(a)	Asynchronous distance education schools shall evaluate progress as the school		
42		receives each lesson assignment. The school shall maintain the record of progress on		
43		forms approved by the Agency Commission. Forms shall include:		
44				
45		(1) the date course materials are mailed to the student;		
46				

1		(2)	the date the lesson assignment is received from the student;
2 3		(3)	the grade on a per-lesson basis;
4 5		(4)	the instructor's name;
6 7		(5)	the date graded assignments are returned to the student; and
8 9		(6)	the final grade for the program with completion date indicated.
10 11 12	(b)		the end of the time period specified in the enrollment agreement, the student has ompleted the program, the student's enrollment shall be terminated.
13 14	§807.2	24. Pı	rogress Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.
15 16 17	For	a sch	ool offering degree programs, the progress standards shall include the following:
18 19		(1)	a student progress evaluation every academic semester, academic quarter, or at least every eight weeks in <u>other academic term</u> block time programs;
20 21 22 23 24		(2)	a minimum grade point average for graduation from all degree programs of 2.0 based on a 4.0 scale, and that a student <u>achieves</u> a passing grade in all required <u>courses</u> ;
25 26 27 28		(3)	a probationary period of one academic semester, academic quarter, or approved grading period following the end of the academic semester, academic quarter, or approved grading period in which the student's grades become unsatisfactory; and
29 30 31 32		(4)	provisions for termination at the end of not more than two consecutive probationary periods if the student's cumulative grade point average does not improve to the level required for graduation.
33 34 35	SUBCHAI	PTER	M. ATTENDANCE STANDARDS
36 37	§ <b>807.2</b>	41. G	eneral Requirements for Attendance.
38 39	(a)		inar programs that begin and end on the same during one day are not required to tain an attendance policy.
40 41 42	(b)	Title	IV schools are not required to take attendance.
42 43 44 45	(c)		Agency Commission may approve specific attendance requirements for self-d, competency-based programs.

1	
2 3	
5	
5 6 7 8	
9	
10	
12 13	
14	
12 13 14 15 16 17 18	
17 18	
19 20	
21 22	
23 24	
25	
27	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	
31	
32 33	
34 35	
36 37	
38 39	
40 41	
42 43	
44	
45 46	

- (d) No provision in this subchapter shall require a school to terminate the enrollment of a student for lack of attendance at a point at which a refund would not be due.
- (e) A school shall charge for a full day of absence when the student fails to attend all of the scheduled classes on that day. The school shall charge for a partial day of absence for any period of absence during the day.
- (f) A school shall not consider school holidays, such as summer vacation and Christmas holidays, and so forthete., as days of absence.

## §807.242. Attendance Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

- (a) The following requirements are for non-Title IV schools and Title IV schools that voluntarily take attendance.
- (b) For a school offering degree programs, the attendance standards shall include the following:
  - (1) provisions for termination or probation during the next academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term when a student is absent for more than 20 percent 20% of the scheduled course time hours during an academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term;
  - (2) provisions for termination when a student is absent for more than <u>20</u> percent<del>20%</del> of the scheduled course time hours during the probationary academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term; and
  - (3) provisions for termination prior to the last quarter, when a student is absent in excess of 10 consecutive school days or 20 percent 20% of the total course time hours in the course, whichever occurs first.

## §807.243. Termination of Enrollment.

- (a) A school shall terminate the enrollment of a student who accumulates the lesser of the following amounts of absences:
  - (1) more than 10 consecutive school days;
  - (2) more than 20 percent 20% of the total course time hours in a program with course time of more than 200 hours:
  - (3) more than 25 percent 25% of the total course time hours in a program or individual course class with course time of 41 to 200 hours;
  - (4) more than 25 percent25% of the total course time hours for seminars, individual courses classes, or programs with course time of 40 hours or less; or

## §807.245. Leaves of Absence.

- (a) Seminars, and small schools with programs, and individual subjects with course timestime of 40 hours or fewerless shall not grant leaves of absence.
- (b) A school director may grant a leave of absence after determining that good cause is shown.
- (c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, in a 12-month calendar period, a student may have no more than two leaves of absence. For a program with course time of 200 hours or less, a student may be on leave of absence for a total of 30 calendar days. For programs with course time of more than 200 hours, a student may be on leave of absence for a total of 60 calendar days.
- (d) Programs with a course time of more than 600 hours, and that are eligible for Title IV funding, may have a leave of absence policy consistent with the <u>United</u>

  <u>States U.S.</u> Department of Education policy at 34 <u>Code of Federal Regulations C.F.R.</u> §668.22(d).
- (e) School attendance records shall clearly define the dates of the leave of absence. A written statement as to why the leave of absence was granted, signed by both the student and the school director indicating approval, shall be placed in the student's permanent file.
- (f) In addition to the requirements concerning leaves of absence in this subchapter, a school offering degree programs that schedules their courses on an academic quarter or academic semester basis may include in their attendance policies provisions for summer leaves of absence. These leaves of absence shall not exceed the lesser of 120 days or the interval between the end of the spring academic quarter or academic semester and the start of the fall academic quarter or academic semester.

## SUBCHAPTER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY

## §807.261. Requirement for Tour.

- (a) <u>Schools Notwithstanding subsection (b) of this section, schools</u> are required to provide a tour on or before the first scheduled class day.
- (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, distance Distance education programs, combination distance education residence, and seminars are not required to provide the student a tour.
- (c) Students enrolled in a hybrid or blended program are required to be provided a tour on or before the first scheduled class day.

(d)(e) The student shall sign and date an acknowledgement form certifying the completion of the tour.

# §807.263. Refund Requirements.

- (a) The Agency, after considering the specific facts associated with a school's conduct, may order Students are entitled to a full or partial refund to affected students for classes attended if the school:
  - (1) does not provide a class with:
    - (A) an approved instructor;
    - (B) an instructor for whom an application has been properly submitted to the Agency; or
    - (C) a temporary instructor for whom the school submitted notice to the Agency;
  - (2) fails to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or courses of instruction on the basis of which Agency approval was issued or student enrollment was obtained, or to submit timely requests for approval of substantive changes thereto;
  - (3) violates any provision of this chapter in the process of soliciting and enrolling the student;
  - (4) fails to adhere to applicable academic, attendance, and refund policies that meet state requirements and apply to the course enrolled in, as published at the time of the student's enrollment in the course;
  - (5) fails to undertake a good faith effort to furnish the student, upon satisfactory completion of the program, with a certificate of completion. A school may withhold the transcript or certificate until the student has paid outstanding financial obligations to the school. Evidence of a good faith effort shall be maintained in the student's file in one of the following forms:
    - (A) An acknowledgement of receipt of certificate signed and dated by the student;
    - (B) Proof of a certified mailing to the student's last known address;
    - (C) Proof of a certified mailing to the student's permanent address, if different from the student's last known address; or

- (D) Proof of a certified mailing to the address of the student's parent or legal guardian, if known and different from the student's last known or permanent addresses; or
- (6) does not have course approval or the required certificate of approval from the Agency.
- (b) To be considered a violation subject to refund under subsection (a)(1) (6) of this section, a school's action shall be determined to be more than a technical error or a nonsubstantive change in operations.
- (c) If any of the violations in subsection (a)(1) (6) of this section apply to more than one class period, students are entitled to a full refund for each such class attended.
- (d) The length of a program, for purposes of calculating refunds owed, is the shortest scheduled time period in which the program may be completed by continuous attendance of a full-time student.
- (e) A non-Title IV school, or a Title IV school voluntarily taking attendance, shall calculate refunds for students based upon scheduled hours of classes through the last date of attendance. A Title IV school shall calculate refunds for students based upon scheduled hours of classes through the last documented day of an academically related activity. Neither type of school shall count leaves of absence, suspensions, school holidays, days when classes are not offered, and summer vacations for purposes of calculating a student's refund.
- (f) For all <u>programs</u> other than seminars, a student may cancel enrollment, request a full refund, and request a release from any obligations to the school within the first three scheduled class days.
- (g) A school may withhold from the full-refund required by subsections (a) (c) and (f) of this section any amount provided for in statute as retainable by the school pursuant to Texas Education Code §132.061 of the Act. More specifically, the school may withhold items of extra expense to the student referenced in §132.061(b)(6) of the Act, as long as they are necessary for the portion of the program attended and are separately stated in the enrollment agreement. Any items of extra expense not required for the portion of the program attended must be included in the refund.
- (h) Students are entitled to a refund paid in accordance with the school's policy, which must provide for refunds at least equivalent to the provisions in §132.061 and §132.0611 of the Act, if students withdraw or are discontinued from a program prior to completion.

#### 1 SUBCHAPTER O. RECORDS 2 3 §807.281. General Information for Records. 4 5 (a) A school shall permanently maintain a master student registration list (MSRL). If the 6 school maintains the MSRL in electronic form, the school must be able to produce a 7 printed copy immediately upon request. The MSRL must contain at least the 8 following information: 9 10 (1) date of applicable entry; 11 12 (2) name of student; 13 14 address of student including city, state, and zip code; 15 16 telephone number; (4) 17 18 social security number; (5) 19 20 date of birth; and (6) 21 22 (7) name of program. 23 24 (b) A school shall maintain current records and necessary data (physical or electronic) 25 for each student required to be on the master student registration list to show 26 compliance with the Act and this chapter. These records shall be: 27 28 (1) maintained on-site; 29 30 (2) protected against damage, loss (for example e.g., fire, water, theft, tampering), 31 or misuse: and 32 33 (3) made available to the Agency Commission for inspection upon request. 34 35 (c) If applicable, the school shall maintain and ensure that copies of the accreditation 36 authorization and letter of eligibility from the United States Department of Education 37 are available for Agency Commission review. 38 39 (d) Degree granting schools shall maintain a copy of the certificate of authorization 40 from the Coordinating Board for each authorized degree program. 41 42 (e) The Agency Commission may conduct unannounced compliance inspections. 43 44 (f) A school shall maintain complete records of all advertising, sales, and enrollment 45 materials used by or on behalf of the school for a five-year period. Materials maintained shall include, but not be limited to, direct mail pieces, brochures, printed 46

literature, films, leaflets, handbills, fliers, video and audiotapes disseminated through the broadcast media, materials disseminated through the print media or Internet, and sales and recruitment manuals used to instruct sales personnel.

# §807.282. Student Information and Records.

- (a) A school shall permanently maintain student transcripts of academic records. A school shall provide such transcripts to students and prospective employers at a reasonable charge if the student has fulfilled the financial obligation to the school and is neither in default nor owes a refund to any federal or state student financial aid program.
- (b) Transcripts of academic records, student payment ledgers, and enrollment agreements must be maintained in electronic format or converted to electronic format within 12 months of their creation or revision. A scanned copy of original paper transcripts is an acceptable electronic format for transcripts of academic records.
- (c)(b) A school shall retain financial records in accordance with federal retention requirements.
- (d)(e) A school shall retain all student records for at least a five-year period and these records shall include:
  - (1) a written record of previous education and training on a form provided by the Agency Commission; and
  - (2) official transcripts from all previous postsecondary schools attended by the student.
- (e)(d) The school director shall implement and maintain reasonable procedures, including taking any appropriate corrective action, to protect from improper use or disclosure of any sensitive personal information collected or maintained by the school.
- (f)(e) A school shall destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information within the school's custody or control, after any required retention periods, by:
  - (1) shredding;
  - (2) permanently removing or deleting electronic records; or
  - (3) otherwise modifying the sensitive personal information in the records to make the information unreadable or indecipherable through any means; or

- (4) destroying the information in accordance with any other more restrictive law or regulation the school is required to follow.
- (g) All records created and maintained in languages other than English are subject to translation by the Agency.

# §807.283. Attendance Record Keeping.

- (a) The following requirements are for non-Title IV schools:
  - (1) A school of fering seminars or other programs where students do not change instructors during the school day is not required to maintain a separate master record of attendance.
  - (1)(2) A school shall maintain a master record of attendance on each student that clearly indicates the <u>name of the program, program begin and end dates, dates of attendance, and the scheduled hours each day number of scheduled hours each day and the hours of absence.</u>
  - (2)(3) Each instructor shall maintain a record of attendance, which shall indicate a positive record the instructor's name, program name, subject name, date, number of scheduled hours for that date, and the hours of absence of each student's attendance. Entries in the record of attendance shall be made in ink or other permanent medium, including other permanent computer records, and shall not be changed in a manner that precludes reading the original entry.
- (b) The following requirements are for Title IV schools:
  - (1) The school shall maintain a form signed and dated by the student to document the student's participation in an academically related activity. An e-mail sent from the student's e-mail account listed on the enrollment agreement fulfills this requirement.
  - (2) The school shall maintain a master record for each student that clearly indicates the student's class schedule as well as the number of scheduled hours for each class day. For synchronous distance education students, the record shall indicate the number of scheduled hours for each week.
- (b)(e) Nothing in this chapter prevents a Title IV school from voluntarily using attendance as a manner of fulfilling the requirements of this chapter.

# **§807.284.** Reporting.

(a) Schools shall report to the Agency, as directed, the facts and information about their programs and operations deemed necessary for the proper administration of the Act and any rules adopted under the Act.

- (1) The data to be reported by a school shall include:
  - (A) student enrollment information for all programs;
  - (B) completion, employment, and job placement information for all programs approved for an occupational objective; and
  - (C) any other required information.
- (2) The school shall submit the required data to the Agency on or before the specified date.
- (3) The school shall provide the data in an electronic format prescribed by the Agency unless a different format is approved in writing by the Agency.
- (4) When good cause is shown, the Agency may extend the deadline for submission of the data required under this section; however, the extension shall be effective only if authorized in writing.
- (5) The Agency may require schools to maintain on file the verifiable documentation supporting the data reported and make it available to the Agency upon request.
- (b) The Agency willshall develop and apply data monitoring and audit protocols for the data reported under subsection (a) of this section, in a manner sufficient to reasonably determine the accuracy of the reported information.
- (c) The Agency may impose penalties or sanctions, or both, for failure to submit data under subsection (a) of this section by the due dates required, or for submission of data that is shown to contain inaccuracies.
- (d) For any programs not meeting a minimum employment rate for program graduates in jobs related to the stated occupation, as referenced in §807.131(b), the following graduated corrective actions will be taken:
  - (1) For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the first year, the school will be required to develop and submit a performance improvement plan acceptable to the Agency;
  - (2) For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the second consecutive year, but showing improvement of at least 50 percent50% of the difference between the reported rate and the minimum employment rate of the previous year, the school will be required to reexamine and submit modifications to the performance improvement plan acceptable to the Agency;

1 2 3 4 5	(3)	consecutive year and not showing improvement of at least 50 percent 50% of the difference between the reported rate and the minimum employment rate of the previous year, conditions will be placed on the school's certificate, which include:
6 7		(A) modification of the performance improvement plan; and
8 9 10		(B) suspension of new enrollment of students funded with Local Workforce Development Board-allocated funds in the program; and
11 12 13	(4)	For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the third consecutive year, the Agency will revoke approval of the program.
14 15	(e) The	e Agency will shall publish on its website information compiled from:
16 17	(1)	data reported under subsection (a) of this section; and
18 19 20	(2)	any other information collected about schools and programs deemed appropriate and useful to the public, which:
21 22 23 24		(A) assists a person in deciding whether to enroll in a school or in identifying or choosing which postsecondary institution, school, or college to attend and
<ul><li>25</li><li>26</li><li>27</li></ul>		(B) addresses regulatory compliance and performance of schools.
27 28 29 30	(3)	The Agency, to the extent practical, shall present the published information in a manner that is consistent among institutions, schools, and colleges; easy to understand; and accessible to the public.
31 32	SUBCHAPTE	R P. COMPLAINTS
33 34	<b>§807.301.</b> §	School Policy Regarding Complaints.
35 36 37	The sch	ool shall:
38 39	(1)	submit a written grievance procedure designed to resolve disputes between current and former students and the school for <u>AgencyCommission</u> approval;
40 41 42	(2)	provide a copy of the grievance procedure to each student and maintain proof of such delivery;
43 44	(3)	maintain records regarding grievance filings and resolutions;
45 46	(4)	diligently work to resolve all complaints at the local school level; and

1	
2	(5) post a visible notice on the school's <u>website</u> website and centrally located at or
3	near the school's main entrance; in at least one of the student common areas
4	( <u>for example</u> e.g., the student cafeteria and/or breakroom); in places where
5	student solicitation, financial aid assistance, and enrollment activities take
6	place; and other locations as necessary to respond to problems with career
7	school rule compliance, which states that:
8	
9	(A) the school has a certificate of approval from the Agency, and
10	provides the Agency-assigned school number;
11	provides the rigency assigned sensor nameer,
12	(B) the school's programs are approved by the Agency and may also be
13	approved by other state agencies or accrediting bodies, and provides
14	the name of any accrediting body and state agency, as applicable;
15	
16	(C) students must address their concerns about an educational program
17	by following the school's grievance process outlined in the school
18	<del>catalog;</del>
19	
20	(C)(D) students who are dissatisfied with the school's response to their
21	complaints can file a formal complaint with the Agency, as well as
22	with the school's accrediting body, if applicable; and
23	8
24	(D)(E) additional information on complaint procedures is located on the
25	Agency's Career Schools and Colleges website Web site.
26	rigency's cureer sensons and coneges website web site.
27	§807.302. Complaints and Investigations.
28	3007.302. Complaints and Investigations.
	(a) The Accuracy may shall investigate an anfanta other path and the wities with invitalistic at
29	(a) The Agency <u>may shall</u> investigate or refer to other authorities with jurisdiction to
30	investigate, as appropriate, all complaints received about a school, whether licensed
31	or unlicensed.
32	
33	(b) The Agency may determine the extent of investigation needed by considering various
34	factors, such as:
35	
36	(1) the seriousness of the alleged violation;
37	
38	(2) the source of the complaint;
39	r,
40	(3) the school's history of compliance and complaints;
41	(5) the sentotis initially of complained and complaints,
42	(4) the timeliness of the complaint;
43	(+) the uniciniess of the complaint,
	(5) (1 - 6 11 11 to - 6 1 1
44	(5) the feasibility of investigations; and
45	
46	(6) any other reasonable matter deemed appropriate.

- (c) The Agency may require adequate documentation or other evidence of the violation before initiating a complaint investigation. Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, anonymous complaints will not be investigated but will be reviewed to identify any action needed.
- (d) Unless good cause is shown, a complaint is timely only if it is filed with the Agency while the student who files the complaint is enrolled or within two years of the date the student withdraws, terminates, or graduates from the <a href="course-program">course-program</a> that is the subject of the complaint. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, fraud. <a href="If a complaint">If a complaint is not timely, the Agency may decline to investigate it.">If a complaint is not timely, the Agency may decline to investigate it.</a>
- (e) The investigation fee authorized by the Act is based on a per site visit. The school director shall be notified that an on-site visit was conducted when the investigation results in assessment of a fee.

# SUBCHAPTER Q. TRUCK DRIVER TRAINING PROGRAMS

# §807.321. General Information Regarding Truck Driver Training.

- (a) A school providing truck driver training shall ensure that the truck driver instructors complete a truck driver instructor development course with at least 40 hours of course time.
- (b) All truck driver training programs shall comply with applicable requirements outlined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations Part 380, its successors, and any other applicable legal requirements, and must be listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration registry, called the Training Provider Registry.

#### §807.322. Truck Driver Instructor Development Course.

- (a) A school shall apply to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for approval to provide a truck driver instructor development course.
- (b) The instructor development course shall consist of 40 hours of course time, which includes at least the following topics.
  - (1) Five hours shall cover techniques of instruction including: qualities of a competent instructor, the learning process, methods of teaching, development of efficient teaching habits, demonstration teaching, the use of instruction material and training aids, course preparation, lesson plans, testing and evaluation, and the duration and frequency of lessons.
  - (2) Two hours shall cover personality factors affecting the driver and pedestrian including: natural abilities; senses; mind and nerves; bones and muscles; knowledge of vehicle, road, traffic, and self; attitudes and emotions; reaction

	1
	2
	3
	_
	4
	5
	6
	7
	/
	8
	9
1	ń
1	1
I	0 1 2 3 4 5
1	2
1	3
1	1
I	4
1	5
1	6
1	5 6 7 8
I	/
1	8
1	8 9 0
^	^
2	U
2	I
2	2
<u>-</u> つ	3
2	3
2	4
2	5
_ つ	6
2	_
2	/
2	7 8 9 0 1 2 3
2	o
2	ノ
3	U
3	1
3	2
2	2
3	3
3	4
3	5
	6
3	0
3	7
3	8
	9
4	
4	1
4	
4	
4	
4	5
4	

- time; and reactions to alcohol, carbon monoxide, over-the-counter drugs, prescription drugs, illegal drugs, heart ailments, epilepsy, diabetes, insanity, exhaustion, tension, and monotony.
- (3) Six hours shall cover state laws as located in the Texas Motor Vehicle Law book relating to the operation of motor vehicles including: driver's license, vehicle registration, certificate of title, operation of vehicles, uniform act, miscellaneous offenses, and safety responsibility.
- (4) Eight hours shall cover driving procedures including: handling--city, rural, night, mountain, and freeway driving; fog, rain, sandstorms, and other hazardous weather conditions; road hazards and recovery procedures for slick roads; blowout hazards and running off the road; traffic signs, markings, and signals; use of rearview mirrors; vehicle braking and stopping distances; following distances; right-of-way, when and how to yield it; vehicle acceleration and deceleration; yielding right-of-way to emergency vehicles; driver signals; proper passing procedures; procedures and problems for passing on two and three-lane roadways; and super-size motorized equipment.
- (5) Three hours shall cover physical forces affecting the motor vehicle in motion including: forces of gravity; friction; acceleration, mass, and force; inertia and centrifugal force; kinetic energy and momentum; kinetic energy and braking; and horsepower and acceleration.
- (6) Two hours shall cover highway characteristics including: primary, secondary, expressway, freeway, farm or ranch road, two-way two-lane, two-way three-lane, two-way multilane, two-way multilane divided, one-way multilane, parking, and traffic controls. Traffic control topics consist of the following:
  - (A) sign topics including shape, color, location and importance;
  - (B) traffic marking topics including center and lane lines, no passing zone, transition markings, turn lane marking, stop lines, crosswalk lines, and so forthete.; and
  - (C) signal topics including classification, location, type, timing.
- (7) Two hours shall cover automobile systems and maintenance including: electrical system--generator, alternator, battery, lighting, and electric-powered equipment; cooling system--lubrication and fuel systems; power train--engine, transmission, and differential; brake system--wheels and tires, caster, camber, toe-in, balance, inflation, tire condition, and care; exhaust system; instruments and gauges; compartment adjustments--seat, ventilation, mirrors, headrests, seat belts, and shoulder harness; starting the engine and warm-up procedures; safety devices--door locks, headrests; and miscellaneous features--windshield wipers, heater, and defroster.

- (8) Two hours shall cover behind-the-wheel elementary lessons with demonstration in an appropriate vehicle and practice to be performed in the presence of the instructor including: starting; steering; stopping; shifting gears; backing; turning--right and left; and parking and starting on grade.
- (9) Six hours shall cover behind-the-wheel driving safety lessons with demonstration in an appropriate vehicle and practice to be performed in the presence of the instructor including: developing good seeing habits; speed control; safe following; lane driving and lane changing; intersections and right-of-way; proper signaling; correct turn procedures; detecting of and handling problems--vehicle, cycle, pedestrian; freeway driving--ramp use, entering, exiting, lane use, emergency stopping; parking procedures; entering traffic from parked position; and night driving.
- (10) Two hours shall cover school and instructor approval requirements including the following: school approval requirements, instructor approval requirements, classroom and automotive equipment requirements, required student records, contract requirements, and deportment of instructors.
- (11) Two hours shall cover specialized training regarding the following: students with physical, mental, or emotional handicaps; illiterate students; non-English-speaking students; and habitual violators and problem drivers.

### §807.324. Motor Vehicle Insurance.

A school providing truck driver training shall ensure that:

- (1) a current list of vehicles used in truck driver training is filed with the Agency Commission on a form provided by the Agency Commission;
- (2) an insurance certificate accompanies each motor vehicle used in training and is filed with the <u>Agency Commission</u> on or before the date the school files an original or renewal application for approval of the program with the <u>Agency Commission</u>;
- (3) an insuring company or carrier issues an insurance certificate on a form furnished by the <u>Agency Commission</u> directly to the <u>Agency Commission</u>, which states the insurance company or carrier has issued a policy or policies of insurance, and the amounts of insurance for each vehicle listed on the list of vehicles used in truck driver training;
- (4) a written notice is provided to the <u>Agency Commission</u> by registered or certified mail at least 10 days prior to the expiration date of insurance coverage of a listed vehicle; and

1 2	SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS
3	§807.341. School Closures.
4 5 6	(a) Owners with knowledge of a school's impending closure shall notify the Agency as soon as possible or practical.
7 8	(b) Prior to closure a school must:
9 10 11	(1) contact the Agency regarding a school survey visit and the process required to close out the school records;
12 13 14	(2) complete any closure documents required by the Agency;
15 16	(3) provide information on any teach out plans or arrangements; and
17 18 19	(4) complete any other requirements deemed necessary by the Agency for an orderly closure.
20 21 22 23	(c) The Agency may impose penalties, sanctions, or both on an owner, as defined by §807.2(30) of this chapter, or on a person associated with a school closure for a school's failure to comply with proper closure procedures.
24 25	(d)(a) The Agency Commission may declare a school to be closed when:
26 27 28	(1) written notification is received by the <u>Agency</u> <del>Commission</del> from the school owner stating the school will close;
29 30 31	(2) <u>Agency Commission</u> determines that the school facility has been vacated without prior notification of a change of address given to the <u>Agency Commission</u> ;
32 33 34 35	(3) an owner with multiple school locations transfers all students from one school location to another school location;
36 37 38	(4) the school dismisses all students, contrary to the school's class schedule as printed in the school catalog; or
39 40 41	(5) the school fails to maintain the faculty, facilities, equipment, or courses of instruction on the basis for which approval was issued.
42 43 44	(e)(b) After the Agency Commission determines that a school will close or is closed, the Agency Commission will attempt to notify students concerning their options to accept a teach-out or to receive a proportional tuition refund based on available
45 46	funds. Notification to students may include constructive notice in news media, student meetings, or mailings to students.

- (f)(e) Each teach-out requires approval of the <u>Agency Commission</u> to determine whether the course of instruction is available, reasonable, and comparable with the course of instruction of the closed school. The teach-out is subject to the following conditions:
  - (1) Transfers of students from a closed school to another school under the same ownership shall not constitute a teach-out.
  - (2) In order to be eligible for a teach-out, students shall submit a signed statement of acceptance to the teach-out school by the deadline as established by the Agency Commission.
  - (3) The school offering the teach-out shall give credit for all comparable training received at the closed school, as determined by the Agency Commission.

### §807.342. Tuition Trust Account.

- (a) In a year in which the <u>Agency Commission</u> determines it is necessary to charge a fee under §132.2415(b) of the Act, each school shall make a payment to the tuition trust account at the time the school renewal fee is paid.
- (b) The amount in the tuition trust account, as provided in the Act, is an accrued balance. The accrued balance is the cash balance of the tuition trust account less the sum of the accrued liabilities from unpaid student refunds and teach-out claims.
- (c) Disbursements shall be made from the tuition trust account for student refunds and reimbursable teach-out expenses incurred during each 12-month period ending August 31, and shall be:
  - (1) made first for student refunds in accordance with §132.2415(d) of the Act and §807.262 of this chapter;
  - (2) calculated after refunds or discharges from other funding sources have been determined;
  - (3) disbursed to other funding sources from any amount remaining under the limitation of §132.242(e) of the Act; and
  - (4) disbursed for reimbursable teach-out expenses based upon remaining funds in the account.
- (d) Following the graduation or termination of the students from the teach-out school, the teach-out school shall determine actual expenses and submit a claim for reimbursement to the <u>Agency Commission</u> on or before the date provided in the application packet. The teach-out school shall:

1
2 3
3 4 5 6 7
6 7
8 9
10
11 12
13
15
16 17
18 19
20 21
22
23 24
25 26
11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29
28 29 30 31 32 33
32 33
34 35
36 37
38
39 40
41 42
43 44
44

- (1) not claim expenses for facilities, equipment, utilities, or other items which were owned, rented, used, or otherwise obligated by the school prior to the <a href="Agency's Commission's">Agency's Commission's</a> approval of the teach-out program, even though such items may be used for the teach-out program;
- (2) be limited to expenses for tuition and fees that are <u>nonrecoverable</u> nonrecoverable from all financial resources, including grants and loans; and
- (3) ensure that the sum of the tuition and fees paid to the student's account at the closed school and the teach-out school is the lesser amount the student would have been charged for the complete program at the closed school or the teach-out school.
- (e) For schools in their first two years of operation that have not been required to furnish financial statements to comply with §807.35(b), the payment to the tuition trust account shall be calculated at the rate determined by the Commission using the projected gross amount of tuition and fees, as required in §807.33(c), to be charged by the school for the year in which the payment is collected. Once the school has submitted the actual amount of tuition and fees collected by the school in compliance with §807.35(b), the Commission shall reconcile the projected and actual amounts of tuition and fees collected. Upon reconciliation, the Commission shall determine if the school is entitled to a refund or must pay an additional amount to the tuition trust account.

#### SUBCHAPTER S. SANCTIONS

### §807.351. Notice and Administration of Sanctions.

- (a) Pursuant to its authority under §132.152 of the Act, the Agency may impose administrative penalties or other sanctions on an entity for violations of §132.151 of the Act or this chapter.
- (b) The Agency willshall serve notice of a sanction, with determination of the violation on which it is based, by both email U.S. mail and certified mail, return receipt requested, mailed to the owner's address of record as listed on the application for certificate of approval. Unless there is other evidence of receipt, notice is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed by the Agency.
- (c) In imposing administrative penalties or other sanctions, the Agency <u>may shall</u> consider all the factors that it deems relevant, including, but not limited to, the following:
  - (1) The amount of administrative penalty or level of sanction necessary to ensure immediate and continued compliance with statutes and regulations;

2 3		and appropriate to comply with statutes and regulations and to correct the violation; and
4 5 6		(3) The entity's prior violations of statutes, regulations, or orders administered, adopted, or issued by the <u>Agency Commission</u> .
7 8 9	(d)	Notwithstanding subsections (a) - (c) of this section, the Agency <u>may shall</u> order refunds pursuant to applicable statute and rules.
10 11	8807 3	52. Sanctions.
12	3007.0	e 2. Sunctions.
13	(a)	Sanctions may include:
14 15		(1) administrative penalties outlined in §807.353 of this subchapter;
16		
17		(2) collecting a late renewal fee from the school;
18		(2)(2)
19		(2)(3) denying the school's application for a certificate of approval;
20		(2)(1) may aling the school's contificate of approval.
21 22		(3)(4) revoking the school's certificate of approval;
23		(4)(5) placing conditions on the school's certificate of approval;
24		vii (5) placing conditions on the sensor's certaincate of approval,
25		(5)(6) suspending the admission of students to the school or a program;
26		(5) Suspending the admission of students to the senoof of a program,
27		(6)(7) denying a program approval;
28		(v) den) ing a program approval,
29		(7)(8) revoking a program approval;
30		viv(o) 10 to simily with protein,
31		(8)(9) <u>disapproving denying</u> or revoking approval of an owner, school director,
32		instructor, or other staff member whose approval may be required;
33		
34		(9)(10) denying, suspending, placing conditions on, or revoking the registration of
35		the school's representatives;
36		
37		(10)(11) assessing a late refund penalty;
38		
39		(11)(12) charging the school an investigation fee to resolve a complaint against the
40		school;
41		
42		(12)(13) charging the school interest and penalties on late payments of fee
43		installments;
44		
45		(13)(14) applying for an injunction against the school;
46		

(14)(15) asking the attorney general to collect a civil penalty from any person who violates the Act or this chapter;

(15)(16) ordering a peer review of the school; and

(16)(17) issuing a cease and desist order to an unlicensed school.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a)(1) - (16)(17) of this section, the Agency <u>may shall</u> order refunds pursuant to violations of <u>the Act and this chapter applicable statutes and rules</u>.

# §807.353. Administrative Penalties.

- (a) An administrative penalty shall not exceed the amount specified in Texas Education Code §132.152 of the Act for each instance of a violation and shall be assessed in accordance with that section.
- (b) The administrative penalty is calculated based on a penalty dollar amount and the number of instances of violation.
- (c) A violation is considered a repeat violation only where notice of a violation or an administrative penalty has been issued previously for that same violation.
- (d) The assessment of an administrative penalty shall not preclude the Agency from administering other sanctions, up to and including revocation of a school's certificate of approval.
- (e) The following penalty matrix is for determining and assessing an administrative penalty. The absence of a particular violation from the matrix shall not preclude the Agency from assessing an administrative penalty.

Figure: 40 TAC §807.353(e)

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure of a small school transitioning to a large school to notify the Agency of status change, timely apply, or remit increased fees	\$250	NA	Per violation
Failure to disclose to the Agency changes in tuition, fees, or other charges	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to provide the Agency notice of a change of address prior to permanently vacating the school facility	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain records demonstrating compliance with requirements of statute or rule	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to properly destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information in the school's custody or control	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to protect student records against damage, loss, or misuse	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to provide complete and accurate information as required by the Agency	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	<u>\$250</u>	Second Offense:  \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor, per course
Failure to ensure a staff member has taken required training and been approved by the Agency	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per staff member
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to make arrangements satisfactory to the Agency for the completion of a discontinued program course of instruction	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per programeourse of instruction
Making a false statement in an application to the Agency	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or programs courses of instruction and outcomes on the basis of which approval was issued	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per programeourse of instruction
Failure to disclose limitations on transferability of courses of instruction to a prospective student	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Advertising that financial aid is available or advertising that financial aid may be available for a program for which it is not available	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to establish that a student met the approved admission requirements when the student was enrolled	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to submit the annual program completion, job placement, and employment data required by the Agency by the required due date	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Failure to submit annual financial statements no later than 180 days from the close of the school's or college's fiscal year	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Transfer of all students from one school location to another school location, by an owner with multiple school locations, without Agency approval	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Dismissal of all students contrary to the school's class schedule as printed in the school catalog for reasons not approved by the Agency	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per dismissal event
Failure to notify the Agency in writing of any legal actions or any change in accreditation status or Title IV status	<u>\$750</u>	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per action
Operating a school without a certificate of approval	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school <u>, per program</u>
Teaching a program course of instruction or revised program course of instruction that has not been approved by the Agency	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per program course of instruction
Using advertising that is false, misleading, or deceptive, including the misrepresentation of degrees other than those approved by the Coordinating Board	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to notify the Agency of the discontinuance of the programeourse of instruction or the operation of a school or college within 72 hours of cessation of classes, and to make available accurate records as required	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per program course of instruction
Solicitation of a prospective student in violation of statutory and rule requirements	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Any misrepresentation	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per misrepresentation
Failure to grant appropriate credit, both in time and monetarily, to any student based on the required evaluation of prior experience, education, or training	<u>\$1,000</u>	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to pay any fee or penalty installment by the required due date	50% of the total amount of the fee	50% of the total amount of the fee	Per failure
Paying a refund late	A rate established annually by the Commission	A rate established annually by the Commission	Per refund <u>, per day</u>

# SUBCHAPTER T. CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS

1 2

# §807.362. Contents of Statement of Charges and Notice of Hearing.

The statement of charges and notice of hearing issued by the Agency willshall contain the following information:

- (1) The name and last known address of the person against whom the order may be entered;
- (2) A short and plain statement of the reasons the Agency believes the person is operating a career school or college without a certificate of approval; and
- (3) The date, time, and location of the hearing.

#### §807.365. Hearing Decision and Final Review by the Agency Commission.

- (a) Within 10 days after the hearing is held, the hearing officer shall issue a written decision granting or denying the request for the issuance of a cease and desist order that includes findings of fact and conclusions of law. The hearing decision shall be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed. The hearing officer's decision becomes final the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision unless an appeal is filed under subsection (b) of this section.
- (b) A party that is not satisfied with the decision of the hearing officer may file a written appeal of the decision to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for a final review no later than the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision. The written appeal shall contain the party's arguments as to why the decision of the hearing officer should be reversed.
- (c) Upon receipt of the written appeal of the hearing officer's decision, the <a href="AgencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> shall consider the appeal and issue a decision promptly. The <a href="AgencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> shall consider the appeal on the basis of the record made before the hearing officer. The decision of the <a href="AgencyCommission">AgencyCommission</a> shall be mailed by

certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed.

# §807.366. Cease and Desist Order.

- (a) If the request for the issuance of a cease and desist order becomes final under the provisions of §807.365(a) of this subchapter or, if after an appeal the decision under §807.365(c) of this subchapter upholds the issuance of a cease and desist order by the Agency Commission, the hearing officer shall issue a cease and desist order against the person who is found operating a career school or college without a certificate of approval in violation of §132.151 of the Act.
- (b) The cease and desist order shall be delivered by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed.
- (c) From the date of receipt of the issuance of the cease and desist order, the person must completely cease and desist operating the career school or college.
- (d) The cease and desist order shall remain in effect until the person comes into complete compliance with the Act as determined by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, or unless otherwise provided by the order of the <u>Agency Commission</u>.

#### SUBCHAPTER U. CAREER SCHOOLS HEARINGS

#### §807.385. Setting of Hearing.

- (a) Upon receipt of request for a hearing, the Agency willshall promptly mail a notice of hearing that sets the hearing for a reasonable time and place within 30 days from receipt of the request for a hearing.
- (b) The notice of hearing shall be in writing and include a:
  - (1) statement of the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing;
  - (2) statement of the legal authority under which the hearing is to be held; and
  - (3) short and plain statement of the issues to be considered during the hearing.
- (c) The notice of hearing shall be issued at least 10 days before the date of the hearing unless a shorter period is permitted by statute.
- (d) The hearing notice shall state whether the hearing shall be conducted by telephone or in-person. The hearing notice shall also include the location of an in-person hearing.

(e) Parties needing special accommodations, including a bilingual or sign language interpreter, may request such before the setting of the hearing, if possible, or as soon as practical.

# §807.386. Hearing Officer Independence and Impartiality.

- (a) A hearing officer presiding over a hearing shall have all powers necessary and appropriate to conduct a full, fair, and impartial hearing. Hearing officers shall remain independent and impartial in all matters regarding the handling of any issues during the pendency of a case and in issuing their written decisions.
- (b) A hearing officer shall be disqualified if the hearing officer has a personal interest in the outcome of the appeal or if the hearing officer directly or indirectly participated in the determination on appeal. Any party may present facts to the Agency in support of a request to disqualify a hearing officer.
- (c) The hearing officer may withdraw from a hearing to avoid the appearance of impropriety or partiality.
- (d) Following any disqualification or withdrawal of a hearing officer, the Agency willshall assign an alternate hearing officer to the case. The alternate hearing officer shall not be bound by any findings or conclusions made by the disqualified or withdrawn hearing officer.

### §807.387. Hearing Procedures.

- (a) The hearing shall be conducted <u>telephonically</u> in person in Austin, Texas, unless <u>an</u> in-person hearing is requested and the hearing officer deems an in-person hearing appropriate or the hearing officer determines that another method of conducting the hearing is appropriate the parties agree to a telephonic hearing or request a different location.
- (b) The hearing shall be conducted informally and in such a manner as to ascertain the substantive rights of the parties. All issues relevant to the appeal shall be considered and addressed, and may include:
  - (1) Presentation of Evidence. The parties to an appeal may present evidence that is material and relevant, as determined by the hearing officer. In conducting a hearing, the hearing officer shall actively develop the record on the relevant circumstances and facts to resolve all issues. To be considered as evidence in a decision, any document or physical evidence must be entered as an exhibit at the hearing. A party has the right to object to evidence offered at the hearing by the hearing officer or other parties.
  - (2) Examination of Parties and Witnesses. After placing the witnesses under oath, the hearing officer shall examine parties and any witnesses and shall allow

1 2 3		cross-examination to the extent the hearing officer deems necessary to afford the parties due process.
4 5 6 7		(3) Additional Evidence. The hearing officer, with or without notice to any of the parties, may take additional evidence as deemed necessary, provided that a party shall be given an opportunity to rebut the evidence if it is to be used against the party's interest.
8 9 10 11 12		(4) Appropriate Hearing Behavior. All parties shall conduct themselves in an appropriate manner. The hearing officer may expel any individual or party who fails to correct behavior the hearing officer identifies as disruptive. After expulsion, the hearing officer may proceed with the hearing and render a decision.
14	(c)	Records.
16 17 18 19		(1) The hearing record shall include the audio recording of the proceeding and any other relevant evidence relied on by the hearing officer, including documents and other physical evidence entered as exhibits.
20 21 22 23		(2) The hearing record shall be maintained in accordance with federal and state law.
24 25 26		(3) Confidentiality of information contained in the hearing record shall be maintained in accordance with federal and state law.
27 28 29		(4) Upon request, a party has the right to obtain a copy of the hearing record at no charge. However, a party requesting a transcript of the hearing record shall pay the costs of the transcription.
30 31	§807.3	95. Finality of Decision.
32 33 34 35 36	(a)	The decision of the hearing officer is the final decision of the Agency after the expiration of 30 calendar days from the mailing date of the decision unless within that time:
37 38		(1) a request for reopening is filed with the Agency;
39 10		(2) a request for rehearing is filed with the Agency; or
11		(3) the Agency assumes continuing jurisdiction to modify or correct the decision.
12 13 14 15 16	(b)	Any decision issued in response to a request for reopening or rehearing or a modification or correction issued by the Agency <u>becomes shall be</u> final on the expiration of 30 calendar days from the mailing date of the decision, modification, or correction.