1	CHAPTER	807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES	
2 3	DDODOCE	D DIU EC MUTU DDE AMDI E TO DE CUDMUTTED TO THE TEVAC	
		D RULES WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS	
4 5		2. THIS DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS	
	SUBJECT	TO FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE TEXAS REGISTER.	
6 7	ON AUCU	ST 0 2016 THE TEVAS WODVEODCE COMMISSION DRODOSED THE	
8	ON AUGUST 9, 2016, THE TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION PROPOSED THE		
9	BELOW RULES WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS REGISTER.		
10			
11		sublication Date of the Proposal in the <i>Texas Register</i> : August 26, 2016 and of Comment Period: September 26, 2016	
	Estimated E	and of Comment Ferrod. September 20, 2010	
12 13	The Commi	ssion proposes amondments to the following sections of Chapter 207, relating to	
14		ssion proposes amendments to the following sections of Chapter 807, relating to ools and Colleges:	
15	Career Scho	ools and Coneges.	
16	Subaba	oter A. General Provisions, §807.2 and §807.7	
17	-	oter B. Certificates of Approval, §807.11 and §807.15	
18		oter E. School Director and Administrative Staff, §807.62	
19		oter H. Courses of Instruction, §807.122	
20	-	oter J. Advertising, §807.175	
21		oter N. Cancellation and Refund Policy, §807.262 and §807.264	
22		oter O. Records, \$807.281 and \$807.282	
23	-	oter R. Closed Schools, §807.342	
24	-	oter S. Sanctions, §807.353	
25	-	oter T. Cease and Desist Orders, §807.362 and §807.365	
26	Saccha	See 1. Couse and Desist Orders, 3007.502 and 3007.505	
27	The Commi	ssion proposes the repeal of the following section of Chapter 807, relating to Career	
28	Schools and		
29			
30	Subchai	oter A. General Provisions, §807.5 Exemptions	
31		F	
32	PART I.	PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY	
33	PART II.	EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS	
34	PART III.	IMPACT STATEMENTS	
35	PART IV.	COORDINATION ACTIVITIES	
36			
37	PART I. PU	URPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY	
38	Texas law charges the Agency with exercising jurisdiction and control of the oversight of career		
39	schools and colleges operating in Texas. The Agency's Career Schools and Colleges department		
40	(CSC) licenses and regulates most private postsecondary career schools and colleges that offer		
41	vocational training or continuing education to Texas residents. The Agency currently regulates		
42	more than 560 career schools and colleges, which provide training to more than 160,000 students		
43	annually.		
44			
45		(SB) 563, passed by the 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2011), required	
46	the Agency to establish a pilot program to improve the efficiency and quality of Agency		

operations while reducing costs, and to adopt a structured approach for identifying the wasteful use of state resources and improving Agency processes. These proposed rules reflect improvements to regulations and efficiency resulting from implementation of the bill.

4

- 5 Texas law requires the Agency to administer the provisions of Texas Education Code, Chapter
- 6 132, enforce minimum standards for approval and regulation of career schools and colleges, and
- 7 adopt policies and rules necessary for carrying out the responsibilities of Chapter 132. To fulfill
- 8 this role, the Agency investigates complaints about schools, monitors schools to ensure
- 9 regulatory compliance, arranges for the disposition of students affected by a school closure, and
- administers the tuition trust account to pay tuition refunds to students when a school closes. In
- carrying out its regulatory duties, CSC seeks to:
- --hold all businesses meeting the definition of a career school or college to consistent standards
 of quality, performance, and regulatory oversight;
- 14 --provide consumer protection for Texas students; and
- 15 --ensure students receive quality training that meets the needs of Texas employers.

16 17

18

19 20

21

22

To support the Agency's ability to effectively and efficiently protect students, regulate career schools and colleges, and meet employer needs, and to improve consumer disclosures that allow informed choices, the Commission proposes amendments in several key areas. The amendments enumerate the Commission's expectations and use of its regulatory authority in areas in which recent violations and possible abuses have been identified. Additionally, the amendments are intended to increase transparency of regulatory requirements and the overall performance of career schools and colleges.

- Further, to support effective and efficient Agency response to the needs of schools, students, and consumers, and to provide direction to career schools and colleges regulated by the Agency, the Chapter 807 amendments:
- --add definitions for "response deadline" and "address of record" and amend the definition of "date of notice":
- 30 -- removing a requirement for a school to receive an exemption:
- 31 --modify the exemption requirements for accredited, degree-granting career schools and
- 32 colleges:
- 33 --consolidate the exemption requirements into one section;
- 34 --shorten the time for a career school or college to receive an original license;
- 35 --require career schools and colleges to notify the Agency of changes in accreditation and Title
- 36 IV status:
- 37 -- remove a duplicative requirement for school directors;
- 38 --require schools whose program approval was revoked for failing to meet the minimum
- 39 employment rate for three consecutive years to wait a minimum of one year and submit a
- 40 reimplementation plan before reapplying for approval of the program;
- 41 --require schools that charge tuition and fees based on more than one period to fully disclose
- 42 information to students that will allow them to understand the charges;
- --emphasize that schools must disclose all catalog changes and that there are sanctions for failure
- 44 to comply;
- 45 -- clarify the order of refunds paid by schools;

- --add Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards) as possible recipients of refunds and any
 associated penalties paid by schools for late refunds;
- 3 --change the requirement for an audit based on incorrect calculation of refunds or for late
- 4 payment to an agreed-upon procedures engagement;
- --require schools to protect student records, whether physical or electronic, from damage, loss, or
 misuse;
- 7 -- require schools to properly maintain and dispose of student information and records;
- 8 --clarify the method and order of refunds paid from the tuition trust account;
- 9 -- amend the penalty matrix to define what constitutes an instance;
- --remove the provision for oral argument while preserving the right of written appeal; and
- --remove the requirement to send a copy of CSC rules with the statement of charges in a cease and desist notice.

15

PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the meaning of the rules and, therefore, are not discussed in the Explanation of Individual Provisions.)

16 17 18

19

20

Texas Government Code §2001.039 requires that every four years each state agency review and consider for readoption, revision, or repeal each rule adopted by that agency. The Commission has conducted a rule review of Chapter 807, Career Schools and Colleges, and proposes the following amendments:

21 22 23

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter A:

242526

§807.2. Definitions

2728

29

30

New §807.2(7) is added to create a definition for "address of record" that requires each career school or college to establish a distribution list e-mail address of record that consistently maintains a minimum of two current subscribers, with the format of the address to be "School#Director@xdomain," e.g., S1111Director@gmail.com.

313233

34

35

Creating a definition for "address of record" to require an Internet presence reflects the current best practice among career schools and colleges. Moreover, modernizing the address of record for career schools and colleges ensures a consistent point of contact for notice, both for students and for the Agency, regardless of a school's choice to physically relocate.

36 37

Section 807.2(16) is amended to change the definition of "Date of Notice" from the date the Agency receives the notice to the date it is mailed, which accords with the definition in statute and simplifies establishing the date. Existing §807.2(16) is also renumbered to §807.2(17) to accommodate the addition of new definitions within this section.

42

New §807.2(33) is added to create a definition for "response deadline," clarifying that deadlines that fall on a weekend, an official state holiday, a state holiday for which minimal staffing is required, or a federal holiday are extended one working day.

1 This addition reflects typical Agency practice and will ensure consistent interpretation regarding 2 timely filing, both for career schools and colleges and for Agency staff.

3 4

§807.5. Exemptions

The Commission proposes the repeal of §807.5 in its entirety. The contents of this section will 6 be included in a proposed amendment to §807.7(e).

7 8

9

5

807.7. Exemptions

Section 807.7(a)(c) and (d) are amended to delete "or educational institution" from the phrase "school or educational institution," to conform with existing definitions.

10 11 12

New §807.7(e) is moved from previous §807.5(2) - (5) and relettered.

13 14

SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter B:

15 16 17

§807.11. Original Approvals

Section 807.11(b) is amended to reduce processing time frames from 180 days to 90 days.

18 19 20

Section 807.11(c) is amended to reduce response time frames from 30 days to 21 days.

21 22

23

24

In undergoing a Rapid Process Improvement (RPI) review, CSC streamlined critical application review processes, thereby reducing the time required for Agency staff to fully process an original application. The RPI review also identified process efficiencies that allowed for a reduction in response time frames from career schools and colleges.

25 26 27

§807.15. Notification of Legal Actions

Section 807.15 is amended to read "Notification of Actions" from "Notification of Legal Action."

29 30 31

32

33

28

Updating the title of §807.15 reflects the need to broaden the terminology to include other critical notification requirements. Restricting notification solely to legal actions overlooked critical changes to schools' eligibility-related requirements and operational status. Such changes are discussed in more detail in proposed new §807.15(d).

34 35 36

37

38

Section 807.15 is amended to add subsection (d), to require schools to report, in writing and within five days, any change in accreditation status or Title IV status, e.g., Heightened Cash Monitoring 1 or 2, loss of eligibility, composite score, 90/10 ratio or default rate problems, or other similar changes.

39 40 41

Any change to a school's accreditation status or Title IV status is critical knowledge for consumers, as such changes can affect transferability of credits and the ability to secure federal student loans.

43 44 45

46

42

SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter E:

1	
2	

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties

Section 807.62(e) is removed; subsequent subsections are relettered to reflect the removal of this subsection.

5 6

7

8

The requirement for the school director to sign and agree to the terms of the Director's Statement found in §807.62(e) is no longer needed. RPI review identified the form as a redundant requirement.

SUBCHAPTER H. COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter H:

9 10 11

§807.122. General Information for Courses of Instruction.

- 12 Section 807.122 is amended to add the following language:
- 13 (a) A school shall not apply for approval of a program that is substantially similar to a
- discontinued or revoked program, unless the application for approval is submitted at least one
- year after the date of discontinuation or revocation, and:

 (1) the school's approved programs are all masting the applearment rate of
- 16 (1) the school's approved programs are all meeting the employment rate as referenced in
- \$807.131(b), at the time of application; and
- 18 (2) the school submits a reimplementation plan to the Agency.

19 20

21

22 23 A school whose remaining programs all meet the minimum rate at the time of application and which provides an implementation plan for a revoked program, may reapply for approval after the one-year period. Programs found to be substantially similar to a revoked program would also be subject to the same requirements.

2425

Subsequent subsections are relettered to reflect additions.

26 27

SUBCHAPTER J. ADVERTISING

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter J:

28 29 30

§807.175. Catalog

New §807.175(c) is added to require a school catalog to include specific information about tuition and fees calculations based on one or more period of time, e.g., semester, quarter.

32 33

31

- Requiring schools that charge tuition and fees based on one or more period to completely
- disclose information to students allowing them to understand the charges and ensuring full
- disclosure to students, parents, and other funding sources. Further, the basis of a school's
- charges is established clearly, both for students and the Agency, should issues arise, including,
- 38 but not limited to, calculation of refunds.

39

New §807.175(d) is added to require schools to disclose all changes and to advise schools that there are sanctions for failing to comply.

42

This language is designed to ensure that schools keep their policies current, both for students and for the Agency, and to emphasize the importance of prompt notification of changes to such policies.

SUBCHAPTER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter N:

§807.262. Completion of Refund

New §807.262(d) is added to delineate the proper recipients of refunds and to establish that refunds will be paid in the following order: 1) any federal loans; 2) any private loans; 3) credit card or cash payments made by the student; and 4) other funding sources, including Boards. Clarifying who can receive refunds and the order in which refunds are made are critical to ensuring proper and timely distribution of any refunds.

Current Agency rules do not delineate the recipients or the order of refunds to students by schools. In addition to direct payment from a student, payment may be made on behalf of a student by a bank or other lending institution, or by federal entities. A student's tuition may also be paid directly to a school by an employer or by another funding source, including Boards. The proposed language is added to clarify the order in which refunds will be made to various funding sources and that, when payment is not made by a student but is made on the student's behalf, that funding source is entitled to recover any refund, as appropriate.

§807.264. Penalties Relating to Refunds

Current §807.264(b) is amended to remove the provision that any late refunds for grants \$15 or less are to be paid to the tuition trust account (TTA).

This language is intended to clarify Agency practice.

New §807.264(b)(3) adds new language, including adding Boards as potential recipients in the payment of penalties for late refunds.

This new language is added to align with new §807.262(d) to ensure that Boards are treated equivalently to students paying for themselves.

As a Board pays for the education or training services on behalf of an individual, the Board is entitled to receive any penalties relating to a recovered refund, as appropriate.

Section 807.264(c) is amended to require schools to submit an agreed-upon procedures engagement when the Agency determines the method used to calculate refunds is in error or the school does not pay refunds within the specified time limit. This language is added to increase the reliability of schools' refund calculations.

Section 807.264 is further amended by adding subsection (d) listing the requirements of the opinion letter, deleting the requirement for an audited report, and instead requiring an agreed-upon procedures engagement that requires an independent CPA to examine all files for students who did not complete a course of study to determine compliance with the most restrictive of: 1) the Act; 2) this chapter; or 3) the school catalog current at the time of the student's enrollment.

SUBCHAPTER O. RECORDS

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter O:

§807.281. General Information for Records

Section 807.281(b) is amended to clarify that records may be electronic; to add that records must be protected against damage, loss, or misuse; and to direct that records be available to the Commission for inspection.

Updating this rule will ensure that the Agency can protect student records, whether retained in hard copy or electronic copy.

§807.282. Student Records

Section 807.282's title is amended to read "Student Information and Records."

Updating the title of §807.282 reflects a broader terminology that includes other information in addition to what is statutorily defined as student records.

 New §807.282(d) and (e) are added to provide detail regarding appropriate methods of record maintenance and destruction to improve accountability and protection of students' sensitive personal information and provide clarity regarding minimum record destruction standards to enhance objective evaluation of compliance.

SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter R:

§807.342. Tuition Trust Account

Section 807.342(c) is amended to clarify that discharges will be determined before making refunds and that other funding sources are only refunded if an amount remains after the Commission has attempted to provide full refunds to students.

This wording change is designed to ensure that all outstanding liabilities are accounted for, thereby maximizing the effectiveness of the tuition trust account.

SUBCHAPTER S. SANCTIONS

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter S:

§807.353. Administrative Penalties

Section 807.353(e) is amended to define violation and repeat offense penalties. The violation for failure to respond to an Agency request is repealed, as no scenario exists in which a school would not have already received a penalty for the violation that occurred when the school failed to respond.

Amended §807.353(e) includes a definition of "Instance" when referring to each violation and adds new violations for protection and disposal of sensitive student personal information.

SUBCHAPTER T. CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter T:

§807.362. Contents of Statement of Charges and Notice of Hearing

Section 807.362 is amended to remove the requirement to send a copy of the CSC rules with the statement of charges for a cease and desist notice.

Sending a hard copy of rules is not a statutory requirement, adds costs, and is unnecessary, given that all rules are accessible and up to date on the Agency website.

§807.365. Hearing Decision and Final Review by the Commission.

Section 807.365 is amended to eliminate the provision for oral argument, while preserving the right of written appeal to the Commission.

Oral argument before the Commission is not a statutory requirement and creates conflict with the requirement that the Commission's decision be made on the basis of the record of the hearing officer.

PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS

Randy Townsend, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply:

There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or revenue of the state or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no anticipated economic costs to persons required to comply with the rules.

There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small businesses or microbusinesses as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The Agency has determined that the proposed rules will not have an adverse economic impact on small businesses as these proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses.

Doyle Fuchs, Director of Labor Market and Career Information, has determined that there is no significant negative impact upon employment conditions in the state as a result of the rules.

Reagan Miller, Director, Workforce Development Division, has determined that for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the proposed rules will be to gain further efficiencies in the investigation of complaints, reviews of policies and procedural systems of state agencies and reporting of data to elected state leadership and the public.

1 2

The Agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within the Agency's legal authority to adopt.

PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES

In the development of these rules for publication and public comment, the Commission sought the involvement of Texas' 28 Boards. The Commission provided the concept paper regarding these rule amendments to the Boards for consideration and review on June 9, 2016. The Commission also conducted a conference call with Board executive directors and Board staff on June 10, 2016, to discuss the concept paper. During the rulemaking process, the Commission considered all information gathered in order to develop rules that provide clear and concise direction to all parties involved.

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to TWC Policy Comments, Workforce Policy and Service Delivery, attn: Workforce Editing, 101 East 15th Street, Room 440T, Austin, Texas 78778; faxed to (512) 475-3577; or e-mailed to TWCPolicyComments@twc.state.tx.us. Comments must be received or postmarked no later than 30 days from the date this proposal is published in the *Texas Register*.

The rules are proposed under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide the Texas Workforce Commission with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective administration of Agency services and activities.

The proposed rules affect Texas Government Code, Chapter 552.

	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	6
	7
	Q Q
	9
1	0 1 2 3
1	1
1	2
I	3
l	4
1	5
1	6 7 8
1	7
1	8
1	9
2	0
2	1 2
2	2
2	3
- つ	1
~ つ	4 5 6
ィ つ	6
ユ つ	7
2	8 9 0 1
2	9
3	0
3	I
3 3 3	2
	4
3	5
3	6
3	7
	8
	9
4	0
4	1
т ⊿	2
4	2
7	J

CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

§807.2. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions contained in §800.2 of this title, the following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Academic quarter--A period of instruction that includes at least ten weeks of instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency.

(2) Academic semester--A period of instruction that includes at least 15 weeks of instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency.

(3) Academic term--An academic quarter, academic semester, or other progress evaluation period.

(4) Academically related activity--An exam, tutorial, computer-assisted instruction, academic counseling, academic advisement, turning in a class assignment, or attending a study group that is assigned by the institution, or other activity as determined by the Agency.

Accountant--An independent certified public accountant properly registered (5) with the appropriate state board of accountancy.

(6) Act--Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges.

(7) Address of record--In addition to the mailing address contained in the application for a certificate of approval, each career school or college shall establish an e-mail address of record for a distribution list that consistently maintains a minimum of two current subscribers, with the format of the address to be "School#Director@xdomain," e.g., S1111Director@gmail.com.

(8) Advertising--Any affirmative act designed to call attention to a school or program for the purpose of encouraging enrollment.

(9)(8) Agency--The unit of state government established under Texas Labor Code, Chapter 301, that is presided over by the Commission and administered by the executive director to operate the integrated workforce development system and administer the unemployment compensation insurance program in this state as established under the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act, Texas Labor Code Annotated, Title 4, Subtitle A, as amended. The definition of Agency shall apply to all uses of the term in rules contained in this chapter.

1 2	(10)(9) AppellantThe party or the party's authorized hearing representative who files an appeal from an appealable determination or decision.
3	
4 5	(11)(10) Asynchronous distance educationDistance education training that the Agency determines is not synchronous.
6	rigency determines is not syncimonous.
7	(12)(11) Class or courseAn identifiable unit of instruction that is part of a program
8	of instruction.
9	of instruction.
10	(13)(12) CommissionThe body of governance of the Texas Workforce
11	Commission composed of three members appointed by the governor as
12	established under Texas Labor Code §301.002 that includes one representative
13	of labor, one representative of employers, and one representative of the public.
13	The definition of Commission shall apply to all uses of the term in rules
15	contained in this subchapter.
16	
17	(14)(13) Coordinating BoardThe Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
18	
19	(15)(14) Course of instructionA program or seminar.
20	
21	(16)(15) Course timeA course or class period that is:
22	
23	(A) a 50-minute to 60-minute lecture, recitation, or class, including a
24	laboratory class or shop training, in a 60-minute period;
25	
26	(B) a 50-minute to 60-minute internship in a 60-minute period; or
27	
28	(C) 60 minutes of preparation in asynchronous distance education.
29	
30	(17)(16) Date of noticeThe date the notice is mailed received, unless good cause
31	exists for the hearing officer to determine otherwise.
32	
33	(18)(17) Date of request of hearing-The date on which the appellant or the hearing
34	representative filed a written notice of appeal with the Agency by hand
35	delivery, facsimile, or mail. If an appeal is mailed to the Agency, then the
36	appeal is perfected as of the postmark date on the envelope containing the
37	appeal request unless good cause exists for the hearing officer to determine
38	otherwise. If an appeal is delivered by hand or facsimile after 5:00 p.m., the
39	date of request shall be the next day.
40	
41	(19)(18) Distance education courseEither a seminar or a program that is offered to
42	non-residence school students via correspondence or other media from a
43	remote site on a self-paced schedule, excluding programs using interactive
44	instruction.
15	

1	(20)(19) Distance education schoolA school that offers only distance education
2 3	courses.
4	(21)(20) EmploymentA graduating or graduate student's employment in the same
5	or substantially similar occupation for which the student was trained.
6	or substantially similar occupation for which the student was famed.
7	(22)(21) Good reputationThe possession of honesty and truthfulness,
8	trustworthiness and reliability, and a professional commitment to the
9	educational process and the training or preparing of a person for a field of
10	endeavor in a business, trade, technical, or industrial occupation, as well as the
11	condition of being regarded as possessing such qualities. In determining
12	whether a person is of good reputation, the Agency is not limited to the
13	following acts or omissions. The Agency may consider similar acts or
14	omissions and rehabilitation efforts in response to prior convictions in making
15	its determination. A person is considered to be of good reputation if the person:
16	
17	(A) has never been convicted of a felony or any other crime that would
18	constitute risk of harm to the school or students as determined by the
19	Agency;
20	
21	(B) has not been successfully sued for fraud or deceptive trade practices, or
22	breach of contract, within the last 10 years;
23	
24	(C) does not own or administer a school currently in violation of legal
25	requirements, has never owned or administered a school with repeated
26	violations, and has never owned or administered a school that closed
27	with violations including, but not limited to, unpaid refunds; or
28	
29	(D) has not knowingly falsified or withheld information from the Agency.
30	
31	(23)(22) HearingAn informal, orderly, and readily available proceeding held
32	before an impartial hearing officer. A party or hearing representative may
33	present evidence to show that the Agency's determination should be reversed,
34 35	affirmed, or modified.
	(24)(22) Heaving officer. An Acan ay ampleyed design stad to conduct importial
36 37	(24)(23) Hearing officerAn Agency employee designated to conduct impartial
38	hearings and issue final administrative decisions.
39	(25)(24) Hearing representativeAny individual authorized by a party to assist the
40	party in presenting the party's appeal. A hearing representative may be legal
41	counsel or another individual. Each party may have a hearing representative to
42	assist in presenting the party's appeal.
43	assist in presenting the party's appear.
44	(26)(25) Job placementAn affirmative effort by the school to assist the student in
45	obtaining employment in the same or substantially similar stated occupation
46	for which the student was trained.
•	

1	
2	(27)(26) Master student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made
3	for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend
4	the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of
5	these events occurs.
	these events occurs.
6 I 7	(20)(27) D (T) ('4 44 4 14 4 14 4 14 4 14 4 14 4 14 4
7	(28)(27) PartyThe person or entity with the right to participate in a hearing
8	authorized in applicable statute or rule.
9	
10	(29)(28) Program or program of instructionA postsecondary program of organized
11	instruction or study that may lead to an academic, professional, or vocational
12	degree, certificate, or other recognized educational credential.
13	
14	(30)(29) RefundThe completed payment of a refund such that the refund
15	instrument has been negotiated or credited into the proper account(s).
16	
17	(31)(30) Reimbursement contract basis A school operating, or proposing to
18	operate, under a contract with a state or federal entity in which the school
19	receives payment upon completion of the training.
20	
21	(32)(31) Residence schoolA school that offers at least one program that includes
22	classroom instruction or synchronous distance education.
23	, and the second se
24	(33) Response deadlineDeadlines that fall on a weekend, an official state holiday,
25	a state holiday for which minimal staffing is required, or a federal holiday are
26	extended one working day.
27	<u> </u>
28	(34)(32) SanctionsAdministrative or civil actions, including, but not limited to,
29	penalties, revocation of approvals, or cease and desist orders taken by the
30	Agency against an entity in response to violations of the Act or this chapter.
31	rigency against an entity in response to violations of the rict of this enapter.
32	(35)(33) SchoolA "career school or career college," as defined in the Act, that
33	includes each location where courses of instruction shall be offered.
34	includes each location where courses of mistraction shall be officied.
35	(36)(34) Secondary educationSuccessful completion of public, private, or home
36	
37	schooling at the high school level or obtainment of a recognized high school
	equivalency credential.
38 L20	(27)(25) Coming A course of instruction that only a consequences
39	(37)(35) SeminarA course of instruction that enhances a student's career, as
40	opposed to a program that teaches skills and fundamental knowledge required
41	for a stated occupation. A seminar may include a workshop, an introduction to
42	an occupation or cluster of occupations, a short course that teaches part of the
43	skills and knowledge for a particular occupation, language training, continuing
44	professional education, and review for postsecondary examination.
45	
46	(38)(36) Seminar schoolA school that offers only seminars.

1	
2	(39)(37) Small schoolA "small career school or college" as defined in the Act.
3	
4 5	(40)(38) Stated occupationAn occupation for which a program is offered that:
6	(A) is recognized by a state or federal law or by a state or federal agency as
7	existing or emerging;
8	time and the same of the same
9	(B) is in demand; and
10	
11	(C) requires training to achieve entry-level proficiencies.
12	
13	(41)(39) StudentAny individual solicited, enrolled, or trained in Texas by a
14	school.
15	
16	(42)(40) Suspension of enrollmentsA sanction that requires the school to suspend
17	enrollments, re-enrollments, advertising, and solicitation, and to cease, in any
18	way, advising prospective students, either directly or indirectly, of the
19	available courses of instruction.
20	
21	(43)(41) Synchronous distance educationThe Agency may determine distance
22	education to be synchronous under the following conditions:
23	
24	(A) the training is conducted simultaneously in real time, or the training is
25 26	conducted so that the manner of delivery ensures that even if the
27	instructor and student are separated by time, the course time of instruction that the student experiences can be determined; and
28	instruction that the student experiences can be determined, and
29	(B) there is consistent interaction between the student(s) and the instructor on
30	a schedule that includes a definite time for completion of the program
31	and periodic verifiable student completion/performance measures that
32	allow the application of the progress standards of Subchapter L and
33	attendance standards of Subchapter M of this chapter.
34	The same of the sa
35	(44)(42) Title IV schoolA career school or college that participates in student
36	financial aid programs under Title IV, Higher Education Act of 1965 (20
37	U.S.C. Section 1070 et seq.).
38	
39	(45)(43) TourA required, in-person inspection of the facilities and equipment
40	pertaining to a course of instruction.
41	
42	(46)(44) WeekSeven consecutive calendar days.
43	

1	§807.7. Exemptions.
2 3	(a) A school or educational institution may apply to the Commission for an exemption
4 5	under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
6	(b) The Commission shall grant the requested exemption if the Commission determines
7	that the school or educational institution meets the requirements for an exemption
8	under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
9 10	(c) The Commission may deny or revoke an exemption in the same manner as a denial
11	or revocation of a certificate of approval, if the Commission determines that the
12	school or educational institution does not meet the requirements for the exemption
13	under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
14	
15 16	(d) A school or educational institution may appeal the denial or revocation of an exemption in accordance with the provisions of Subchapter D of the Texas
17	Education Code.
18	Zadedilon code.
19	(e) A school applying for an exemption from the provisions of Texas Education Code
20	§132.002(a)(6) must provide evidence that:
21	
22	(1) the school has a certificate of authorization from the Coordinating Board to gran
23	baccalaureate or higher-level degrees or a letter from the Coordinating Board
24	indicating that Coordinating Board approval is not required;
25	
26	(2) the school is accredited by a Coordinating Boardrecognized accrediting body;
27	
28	(3) the school is in good standing with the designated accrediting body and not
29	subject to:
30	
31	(A) probation;
32	
33	(B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked; or
34	
35	(C) any other action that, as defined by the accrediting agency, will prevent the
36	school from seeking approval of its degree programs; and
37	(4) -4 14
38 39	(4) at least a simple majority (51 percent) of credits earned in the educational programs of the school are transferable to educational programs that are:
40	programs of the school are transferable to educational programs that are.
40	(A) at an aquivalent or higher academic level (a.g., hagealoureage to
41	(A) at an equivalent or higher academic level (e.g., baccalaureate to baccalaureate or higher);
43	<u>oucoulantonic of higher/i</u>

1		(B) at a junior college, college, or university supported entirely or partly by
2		taxation from a local or state source; and
3		
4		(C) within the same local/regional service area as the offered program, as
5		determined by the Agency.
6		
7	SUBCH	APTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL
8 9	8807 1	1. Original Approvals.
10	8007.1	1. Original Approvais.
11	(a)	A complete application for an original certificate of approval shall consist of the
12	, ,	following:
13		
14		(1) a completed application form provided by the Commission;
15		
16		(2) complete and correct financial statements, as specified in this chapter,
17 18		demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its commitments for training;
19		communents for training,
20		(3) the application fee as specified in this chapter; and
21		(5) the approach fee as specified in this enapter, and
22		(4) any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for
23		approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the Commission.
24		
25	(b)	
26		receipt of the original application or the application may be considered withdrawn.
27	(a)	If a sah a alfails to magnered to a magnest for additional information within 2120 days
28 29	(c)	If a school fails to respond to a request for additional information within 2130 -days, the Commission may withdraw the application.
30		the Commission may wither aw the application.
31	(d)	To reapply, a school shall submit:
32	(4)	10 10 up p 2, 1, u 00 10 01 01 un 10 un 11 u
33		(1) a complete application as required in subsection (a) of this section; and
34		
35		(2) an affidavit stating that the school will not reopen until it has been issued a
36		Certificate of Approval.
37	900 7 1	5 Notification of Local Actions
38	8807.1	5. Notification of Legal Actions.
39 40	(2)	Unless otherwise instructed by the Commission, a school shall notify the
41	(a)	Commission in writing of any legal action to which the school, any of its owners,
42		representatives, or management employees is a party.
43		r
44	(b)	A school shall notify the Commission in writing of any legal action described in this
45		section no later than five business days after the action is known to be filed or the

school, owner, representative, or management employee is served.

- (c) A school shall include, with the notice required in this section, a file-marked copy of the petition, complaint, or other legal instrument, including copies of any judgments.
- (d) A school shall notify the Commission in writing no later than five business days after receiving notice of any change in accreditation status or Title IV status, including but not limited to, Heightened Cash Monitoring 1 or 2, loss of eligibility, composite score, 90/10 ratio or default rate problems, or other similar changes.

SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties.

- (a) A school director of a small school shall have administrative or management experience and shall be of good reputation.
- (b) A school director of other than a small school shall be of good reputation and have a total of five years of administrative or management experience. An equivalent duration of higher education, college or university, may be substituted for each year of experience.
- (c) The school shall obtain Commission approval for the school director before employment of the school director.
- (d) The school director is responsible for the courses of instruction, organization of classes, designation of a liaison for Commission compliance visits, maintenance of the school facilities and proper administrative records, and all other matters related to the administration of the school, as determined by the Commission.
- (e) The school director shall sign and agree to the terms of the Director's Statement.
- (e)(f) The Commission may require the school director to attend additional training to continue approved director status if a school has more than one substantiated complaint from students during a one-year period. If the school has repeat violations from a previous year under the same director, the Commission may revoke the approval of the school director.

(f) The school director shall:

- (1) ensure that all facilities, including housing endorsed by the school, comply with local, city, county, municipal, state, and federal regulations such as, but not limited to, fire, building, and sanitation codes; and
- (2) inspect facilities, including housing, before endorsement.

S	SUBCHAPTER H. COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
	§807.122. General Information for Courses of Instruction.
	(a) A school shall not apply for approval of a program that is substantially similar to a
	discontinued or revoked program, unless the application for approval is submitted at
	least one year after the date of discontinuation or revocation, and:
	(1) the school's approved programs are all meeting the employment rate as referenced in §807.131(b), at the time of application; and
	(2) the school submits a reimplementation plan to the Agency.
	(b)(a) A school is not required to submit applications for additional courses of instruction or for course revisions to the Commission for approval, if the school:
	(1) has been licensed for at least one year under the current ownership;
	(2) is accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; and
	(3) is in good standing with its designated accrediting agency and not subject to:
	(A) probation;
	(B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked;
	or
	(C) any other action, as defined by the accrediting agency, that would
	otherwise prevent the school from seeking approval to add or revise a
	course of instruction.
	(c)(b) Upon receipt of the approval of the course of instruction from the accrediting
	agency, the school shall provide a copy to the Commission.
	(4)(-) The Commission was a size the selection of an example to the file
	(d)(e) The Commission may require the school director of an accredited school to file
	applications for nondegree programs if there have been two substantiated complaints
	regarding programs in the previous year.
	(a)(d) A sah sal submitting applications for approval of saminars shall use abbreviated
	(e)(d) A school submitting applications for approval of seminars shall use abbreviated
	forms provided by the Commission.
	(f)(a) No class or program shall be approved by the Commission unless the school
	(f)(e) No class or program shall be approved by the Commission unless the school
	demonstrates that the program's quality, content, and length reasonably and adequately imparts the job skills and knowledge necessary for the student to obtain
	employment in the stated occupation.
	omproviment in the stated occupation.

- (g)(f) A school may not solicit students, otherwise advertise, or conduct classes for a course of instruction prior to the Commission's approval of the course of instruction. Any such activity by the school, prior to the Commission's approval of the course of instruction, shall constitute a misrepresentation by the school and shall entitle each student in the course of instruction to a full refund of all tuition and fees paid by the student and release from all obligations.
- (h)(g) The school shall establish and maintain a formal advisory committee of at least five members, unless the Commission approves a lesser number of persons in advance, for each type of program with course time in excess of 200 hours in length. At least annually, the committee shall evaluate the curriculum, instructional materials and media, equipment, and facilities to ensure they meet the needs of the job market. The school shall have written documentation of the evaluation available for review by the Commission. If the school does not follow an advisory committee recommendation, the school shall maintain written documentation of the justification for not following the recommendation.
- (i)(h) If the applicant requests approval to measure courses of instruction in credit hours, the following conversion table shall be used.
 - (1) One academic quarter credit hour equals a minimum course time of:
 - (A) 10 hours of classroom lecture;
 - (B) 20 hours of laboratory experience; or
 - (C) 30 hours of externship.
 - (2) One academic semester credit hour is equal to a minimum course time of:
 - (A) 15 hours of classroom lecture;
 - (B) 30 hours of laboratory experience; or
 - (C) 45 hours of externship.
 - (3) The school shall calculate lecture, laboratory, and externship credit hour conversions individually for each class, rounding down to the nearest half credit hour. The school shall add the total for the credit hours for lecture, laboratory, and externship to determine the total credit hours for a class.

SU	BCI	HAPT	ER J. ADVERTISING
§8 (0 7. 1	75. C	atalog.
	(a)	The	catalog shall include the following:
		(1)	table of contents or index;
		(2)	name and complete street address of the school;
		(3)	volume number, date of publication, and effective dates;
		(4)	history of any accreditations or approvals, including statement of approval and regulation by the Commission;
		(5)	description of space, facilities, and equipment;
		(6)	list of all trustees, directors, officers of the corporation, and owners;
		(7)	list of management staff and faculty, including education relating to the areas of instruction;
		(8)	tuition, fees, other charges, and applicable scholarship terms;
		(9)	school calendar;
		(10)	school hours of operation and class schedule, including the amount of time allocated for breaks and mealtimes;
		(11)	policies regarding enrollment, including entrance requirements, previous education credit, cancellation and refund, progress, attendance, leave of absence, and conduct;
		(12)	veterans administration refund policy, if applicable;
		(13)	description of courses of instruction, including the number of hours of course time of a seminar, seminar topic, lecture, lab, and externship, as well as credit hours in each class, if applicable;
		(14)	description of each class;
		(15)	description of the grading policy, including requirements for graduation;
		(16)	description of placement assistance, if available;
		(17)	statement of polices regarding grievances; and

1		
2		(18) a statement signed by the owner or director indicating that all of the
3		information contained in the catalog is true and correct.
4		<u> </u>
. 5	(b)	Any classes defined as self-paced shall be noted as such in the catalog.
6		
7	<u>(c)</u>	In addition to the information contained in subsections (a) and (b) above, the catalog
8		for a school that charges tuition and fees for a residence program or a synchronous
9		distance education course based on more than one period shall also include a
10		complete description of the following:
11		
12		(1) the number of periods of time and the course time scheduled in each period;
13		
14		(2) the amount of tuition charged for each period;
15		(2) the different of tartion of tartion of the policy
16		(3) the type and amount of fees charged for each period; and
		(3) the type and amount of fees charged for each period, and
17 18		(4) any other charges for each period.
19		(4) any other charges for each period.
Ī	(1)	
20	<u>(d)</u>	All changes to the catalog shall be disclosed to the Agency, using forms provided by
21		the Agency. Failure to disclose changes may result in penalties and sanctions,
22		including refunds.
23	CLIDCHAI	PER N. CANCELLATION AND DEFINE DOLLOW
24	SUBCHAI	TER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY
25 26	8 907 2	62. Completion of Defund
27	8007.2	62. Completion of Refund.
28	(a)	A school shall document refunds by written record indicating the date of the refund
29	(u)	transaction, the name of the student receiving the refund, the total amount refunded
30		and the specific reason for the refund. Proof of completion shall be on file within
31		120 days of the effective date of termination and shall include:
32		
33		(1) copies of both sides of the cancelled check;
34		
35		(2) printed proof of completed transaction of electronic funds transfer or other
36		similar electronic means; or
37		
38		(3) documentation of an awarded credit to a credit card or other similar account.
39		
40	(b)	To ensure a school's good faith effort to timely complete a refund owed directly to a
41		student, the student's file shall contain evidence of the following proof of a certified
42		mailing of the refund to the:
43		
44		(1) student's last known address;
45		

1 2 3	(2) student's permanent address, if different from the student's last known address; or
4 5	(3) address of the student's parent or legal guardian, if different from the student's last known and permanent addresses.
6 7 8 9 10 11	If after making a good faith effort to timely complete a refund, the school is unable to complete the refund, the school shall forward to the Agency the appropriate refund amount and any pertinent student information to assist the Agency in locating the student.
	Unless otherwise required by another law, refunds will be made in the following order:
15 16	(1) on behalf of the student to federal loans used to pay tuition and fees;
17 18	(2) on behalf of the student to private loans used to pay tuition and fees;
19 20 21	(3) to the student for personal loans, including credit card debt, and cash used to pay tuition and fees; and
22 23	(4) to other funding sources, including Boards, to reimburse payments for tuition and fees.
24 25 §807. 26	264. Penalties Relating to Refunds.
27 (a) 28 29 30	A penalty shall be paid on any refund not completed in a timely manner as required by the Act. The penalty assessment shall begin on the first day following the expiration of the statutorily defined refund period and end on the day preceding the date the refund is completed.
33 34	Penalties assessed on late refunds for grants shall be paid to the tuition trust account if the amount is \$15 or less. Any other penalty assessed on a school's late payment of student refunds shall be disbursed in the following order of priority:
35 36 37 38	(1) to the student's account at a lending institution for the balance of principal and interest on the student loan;
39 40 41	(2) to the student for tuition and fees paid directly by the student; and(3) to a Board for tuition and fees paid by the Board; and
42 43	(4)(3) to the tuition trust account for any remaining balance of assessed penalty.

1	(c)	If the Agency determines that the method used by the school to calculate refunds is			
2		in error or the school does not routinely pay refunds within the time required by the			
3		Act, the school shall submit an agreed-upon procedures engagement audited report			
4		conducted by an independent CPA. The CPA shall examine all files for accountant			
5		of the refunds due former students that who did not complete a course of study, to			
6		determine compliance with the most restrictive of: includes any penalty due as			
7		specified in the Act. An audit opinion letter shall accompany a schedule of student			
8		refunds due, which discloses the following information for the four years prior to the			
9		date of the Agency's request:			
10					
11		(1) student information, including name, address, and Social Security number; the			
12		Act;			
13					
14		(2) pertinent dates, including last date of attendance and date of termination; and			
15		this chapter; or			
16					
17		(3) refund information, including amount of refund with principal, penalty, and			
18		any balance due separately stated, payee, and date and check number of			
19		payment if payment has been made, the school catalog current on the date of			
20		the student's enrollment.			
21					
22	(d)	An opinion letter shall accompany a schedule of student refunds due, disclosing the			
23		following information for the four years prior to the date of the Agency's request:			
24					
25		(1) student information, including name, address, and Social Security number;			
26					
27		(2) pertinent dates, including recorded last date of attendance, date of termination,			
28		and, if necessary, recalculated last date of attendance;			
29					
30		(3) recorded refund information, including amount of refund with principal,			
31		penalty, and any balance due stated separately; payee; date and check number			
32		of payment if payment has been made; any of the same categories of			
33		information resulting from recalculations; and			
34					
35		(4) other information requested by the Agency to demonstrate compliance.			
36					
37					

1 SUBCHAPTER O. RECORDS. 2 3 §807.281. General Information for Records. 4 5 (a) A school shall permanently maintain a master student registration list (MSRL). If 6 the school maintains the MSRL in electronic form, the school must be able to 7 produce a printed copy immediately upon request. The MSRL must contain at least 8 the following information: 9 10 (1) date of applicable entry; 11 12 (2) name of student; 13 14 address of student including city, state, and zip code; 15 16 (4) telephone number; 17 18 social security number; (5) 19 20 (6) date of birth; and 21 22 (7) name of program. 23 24 (b) A school shall maintain current records and necessary data (physical or electronic) 25 for each student required to be on the master student registration list to show 26 compliance with the Act and this chapter. These records shall be: 27 28 (1) maintained on-site; 29 30 protected against damage, loss (e.g., fire, water, theft, tampering), or misuse; and 31 32 33 made available to the Commission for inspection upon request. (3)(2)34 35 (c) If applicable, the school shall maintain and ensure that copies of the accreditation 36 authorization and letter of eligibility from the United States Department of Education 37 are available for Commission review. 38 39 (d) Degree granting schools shall maintain a copy of the certificate of authorization from the Coordinating Board for each authorized degree program. 40 41 42 (e) The Commission may conduct unannounced compliance inspections. 43 44 (f) A school shall maintain complete records of all advertising, sales, and enrollment materials used by or on behalf of the school for a five-year period. Materials 45 maintained shall include, but not be limited to, direct mail pieces, brochures, printed 46

1 2 3 4		the broadcast media, materials disseminated through the print media or Internet, and sales and recruitment manuals used to instruct sales personnel.
5	§807.282.	Student Information and Records.
6 7 8 9 10	(a)	A school shall permanently maintain student transcripts of academic records. A school shall provide such transcripts to students and prospective employers at a reasonable charge if the student has fulfilled the financial obligation to the school and is neither in default nor owes a refund to any federal or state student financial aid program.
11 12 13 14	(b)	A school shall retain financial records in accordance with federal retention requirements.
15 16 17	(c)	A school shall retain all student records for at least a five-year period and these records shall include:
18 19 20		(1) a written record of previous education and training on a form provided by the Commission; and
21 22 23		(2) official transcripts from all previous postsecondary schools attended by the student.
24 25 26 27	<u>(d)</u>	The school director shall implement and maintain reasonable procedures, including taking any appropriate corrective action, to protect from improper use or disclosure of any sensitive personal information collected or maintained by the school.
28 29 30 31	<u>(e)</u>	A school shall destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information within the school's custody or control, after any required retention periods, by:
32 33		(1) shredding;
34 35 36		(2) permanently removing or deleting electronic records; or(3) otherwise modifying the sensitive personal information in the records to make
37 38		the information unreadable or indecipherable through any means; or
39 40		(4) destroying the information in accordance with any other more restrictive law or regulation the school is required to follow.

1	SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS			
2 3	§ 807.3	12. Tuition Trust Account.		
4 5 6 7 8	(a)	In a year in which the Commission determines it is necessary to charge a fee under §132.2415(b) of the Act, each school shall make a payment to the tuition trust account at the time the school renewal fee is paid.		
9 10 11 12	(b)	The amount in the tuition trust account, as provided in the Act, is an accrued balance. The accrued balance is the cash balance of the tuition trust account less the sum of the accrued liabilities from unpaid student refunds and teach-out claims.		
13 14 15 16	(c)	Disbursements shall be made from the tuition trust account for student refunds and reimbursable teach-out expenses incurred during each 12-month period ending August 31, and shall be:		
17 18 19		(1) made first for student refunds in accordance with §132.2415(d) of the Act <u>and</u> §807.262 of this chapter;		
20 21 22		(2) calculated after refunds or discharges from other funding sources have been determined;		
23 24 25		(3) disbursed to other funding sources from any amount remaining under the limitation of §132.242(e) of the Act; and		
26 27 28		(4)(2) disbursed for reimbursable teach-out expenses based upon remaining funds in the accountand.		
29 30		(3) calculated after other funding sources have been determined.		
31 32 33 34 35	(d)	Following the graduation or termination of the students from the teach-out school, the teach-out school shall determine actual expenses and submit a claim for reimbursement to the Commission on or before the date provided in the application packet. The teach-out school shall:		
36 37 38 39 40		(1) not claim expenses for facilities, equipment, utilities, or other items which were owned, rented, used, or otherwise obligated by the school prior to the Commission's approval of the teach-out program, even though such items may be used for the teach-out program;		
41 42 43		(2) be limited to expenses for tuition and fees that are non-recoverable from all financial resources, including grants and loans; and		
44		(3) ensure that the sum of the tuition and fees paid to the student's account at the		

closed school and the teach-out school is the lesser amount the student would

1 have been charged for the complete program at the closed school or the teach-2 out school. 3 4 (e) For schools in their first two years of operation that have not been required to furnish 5 financial statements to comply with §807.35(b), the payment to the tuition trust 6 account shall be calculated at the rate determined by the Commission using the 7 projected gross amount of tuition and fees, as required in §807.33(c), to be charged 8 by the school for the year in which the payment is collected. Once the school has 9 submitted the actual amount of tuition and fees collected by the school in compliance 10 with §807.35(b), the Commission shall reconcile the projected and actual amounts of tuition and fees collected. Upon reconciliation, the Commission shall determine if 11 12 the school is entitled to a refund or must pay an additional amount to the tuition trust 13 account. 14 SUBCHAPTERS. SANCTIONS 15 16 17 §807.353. Administrative Penalties. 18 19 20

- (a) An administrative penalty shall not exceed the amount specified in Texas Education Code §132.152 for each instance of a violation and shall be assessed in accordance with that section.
- (b) The administrative penalty is calculated based on a penalty dollar amount and the number of instances of violation.
- (c) A violation is considered a repeat violation only where notice of a violation or an administrative penalty has been issued previously for that same violation.
- (d) The assessment of an administrative penalty shall not preclude the Agency from administering other sanctions, up to and including revocation of a school's certificate of approval.
- (e) The following penalty matrix is for determining and assessing an administrative penalty. The absence of a particular violation from the matrix shall not preclude the Agency from assessing an administrative penalty.

21 22 23

24

25 26

27 28 29

30

31

32 33

34

35

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure of a small school transitioning to a large school to notify the Agency of status change, timely apply, or remit increased fees Small school transitioning to a large school: Failure to notify Agency of the school's status change; Failure to timely apply; or Failure to remit increased fees.	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Third and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000 NA	Per violation
Failure to disclose to the Agency changes in tuition, fees, or other charges Failure to disclose tuition, fees, or other charges, including increases, to the Agency	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Third and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to provide the Agency notice of a change of address prior to permanently vacating the school facility Vacating the school facility without providing prior notification to the Agency of a change of address	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Third and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain records demonstrating compliance with requirements of statute or rule	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Third and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to properly destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information in the school's custody or control	<u>\$250</u>	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to protect student records against damage, loss, or misuse	<u>\$250</u>	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to provide complete and accurate information as required by the Agency	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Third and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to ensure a staff member has taken required training and been approved by the Agency	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per staff member

			l l
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor
Failure to make arrangements satisfactory to the Agency for the completion of a discontinued course of instruction	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per course of instruction
Failure to respond to a request or direction from the Agency	\$ 500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	
Making a false statement in an application to the Agency	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain the schools instructors, facilities, equipment, or courses of instruction and outcomes on the basis of which approval was issued	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per course of instruction
Failure to disclose limitations on transferability of courses of instruction to a prospective student	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Advertising that financial aid is available or advertising that financial aid may be available for a program for which it is not available	\$500	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to establish that a student met the approved admission requirements when the student was enrolled	\$750	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to submit the annual program completion, job placement, and employment data required by the Agency by the required due date	\$750	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Failure to submit annual financial statements no later than 180 days from the close of the school's or college's fiscal year	\$750	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Transfer of all students from one school location to another school location, by an owner with multiple school locations, without Agency approval	\$750	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Dismissal of all students contrary to the school's class schedule as printed in the school catalog for reasons not approved by the Agency	\$750	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per dismissal event
Operating a school without a certificate of approval	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school

Teaching a course of instruction or revised course of instruction that has not been approved by the Agency	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per course of instruction
Using advertising that is false, misleading, or deceptive, including the misrepresentation of degrees other than those approved by the Coordinating Board	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to notify the Agency of the discontinuance of the course of instruction or the operation of a school or college within 72 hours of cessation of classes, and to make available accurate records as required	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per course of instruction
Solicitation of a prospective student in violation of statutory and rule requirements	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Any misrepresentation	\$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per misrepresentation
Failure to file a complete application for renewal at least 30 days before the expiration date of the certificate of approval	10% of renewal fee not less than \$200 and not more than \$1,000	Second and Subsequent Offenses: 10% of renewal fee, not less than \$200 and not more than \$1,000	Per application
Failure to pay any fee or penalty installment by the required due date	50% of the total amount of the fee	50% of the total amount of the fee	Per failure
Paying a refund late	A rate established annually by the Commission	A rate established annually by the Commission.	Per refund

1 SUBCHAPTER T. CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS 2 3 4 5 6 following information: 7 8 (1) 9 be entered; 10

11 12 13

14 15

16 17

18 19 20

> 26 27 28

29

30

25

> 36 37 38

39

40 41

35

43 44

45

42

§807.362. Contents of Statement of Charges and Notice of Hearing.

The statement of charges and notice of hearing issued by the Agency shall contain the

- The name and last known address of the person against whom the order may
- (2) A short and plain statement of the reasons the Agency believes the person is operating a career school or college without a certificate of approval; and
- (3) A copy of the Commission's Career Schools and Colleges rules, Title 40, Chapter 807 of the Texas Administrative Code; and
- The date, time, and location of the hearing. (3)(4)

§807.365. Hearing Decision and Final Review by the Commission.

- (a) Within 10 days after the hearing is held, the hearing officer shall issue a written decision granting or denying the request for the issuance of a cease and desist order that includes findings of fact and conclusions of law. The hearing decision shall be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed. The hearing officer's decision becomes final the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision unless an appeal is filed under subsection (b) of this section.
- (b) A party that is not satisfied with the decision of the hearing officer may file a written appeal of the decision to the Commission for a final review no later than the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision. The written appeal shall contain the party's arguments as to why the decision of the hearing officer should be reversed. A party may request oral argument on the written appeal before the Commission. If oral argument is approved, each party or its hearing representative may present argument in support of its position.
- (c) Upon receipt of the written appeal of the hearing officer's decision, the Commission shall consider the appeal and issue a decision promptly. If in the written appeal, oral argument is requested by a party and approved, the Commission shall schedule and hold oral argument not later than 90 days of receipt of the written appeal. The Commission shall consider the appeal on the basis of the record made before the hearing officer. The decision of the Commission shall be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed.