TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION

Workforce Development Letter

ID/No:	WD 02-20
Date:	January 8, 2020
Keyword:	Child Care

To: Local Workforce Development Board Executive Directors

Commission Executive Offices Integrated Service Area Managers

Min Cropan

From: Reagan Miller, Director, Child Care & Early Learning Division

Subject: Prekindergarten Public-Private Partnerships and Wraparound Child Care

PURPOSE:

The purpose of this WD Letter is to provide Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards) with guidance on braiding Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)—funded wraparound child care with public prekindergarten (pre-K) funds.

RESCISSIONS:

None

BACKGROUND:

In 2019, the 86th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, enacted House Bill (HB) 3, which makes two policy changes that have implications for Boards.

First, HB 3 includes new requirements for full-day pre-K for all eligible four-year-olds. Independent School Districts (ISDs) continue to have the option to provide half-day pre-K to eligible three-year-old children. Full-day pre-K for eligible four-year-olds and half-day pre-K for eligible three-year-olds are both supported through Texas Education Agency (TEA) funds.

TEA ensures that ISDs and charter schools adhere to state requirements, including the state requirement for the number of operational minutes for both full-day and half-day pre-K. ISDs and charter schools have the flexibility to determine the number of hours per day that pre-K is offered, as long as their local programs align to TEA standards. Pre-K programs serving eligible four-year-olds must provide 75,600 operational minutes during the school year, while half-day pre-K for eligible three-year-olds is 32,400 minutes. This equates to approximately seven hours per day for four-year-olds in full-day pre-K and three hours per day for three-year-olds in half-day pre-K.

Second, HB 3 includes a provision for public-private pre-K partnerships to expand the availability of pre-K services. A public-private pre-K partnership is a collaboration

between an ISD or publicly funded charter school and a private early learning program to provide high-quality child care and education to eligible three- and/or four-year-old children. If an ISD does not currently have the capacity to provide full-day pre-K to eligible four-year-olds in the 2019–2020 school year, then it can apply for a waiver. Before applying for a waiver, the ISD must attempt to partner with local child care providers.

Child Care Wraparound Services

CCDF-subsidized child care may be braided with pre-K funds to support wraparound child care services for eligible children before and after the pre-K half- or full-day.

Typically, eligible four-year-olds enrolled in full-day pre-K programs will require part-day wraparound child care. Eligible three-year-olds enrolled in half-day pre-K will typically require full-day wraparound child care. For ISDs with TEA-approved waivers to continue to provide half-day pre-K for eligible four-year-olds, full-day wraparound child care will also typically be required.

Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) Child Care Services rule §809.93 defines full-day and part-day child care as follows:

- Full-day = six to 12 hours of care within a 24-hour period
- Part-day = fewer than six hours within a 24-hour period

Boards' maximum reimbursement rates are available from each Board and include Preschool Full-Time and Preschool Part-Time rates. Additionally, TWC's most recent statewide rate action is detailed in WD Letter 23-19, issued October 15, 2019, and titled "Child Care Provider Maximum Reimbursement Rate Increases," and in its attachment, "Increased Rates for Child Care Provider Reimbursements—Effective October 1, 2019."

School-Year Blended Rates

For school-age and full-day pre-K children who need part-day child care on school days and full-day child care on school holidays, TWC calculates a blended rate for child care services provided during the school year. The blended rate combines the full-day rate with the part-day rate as follows:

- Part-day rate for 175 days + full-day rate for 30 days
- Divided by total number of days during the school year (205 days)

The blended rate applies to the school year only. During the summer months, child care providers receive full-day rates for eligible children who are in care full time for the summer.

Additional Days School Year

HB 3 also provides funding for ISDs and charter schools to offer alternative school-year calendars, including optional summer programming, intersessional calendars, and full-year redesigns. If a local education agency chooses to implement an alternative calendar, TWC's calculated blended rate may not be appropriate for children coenrolled in subsidized child care and public pre-K, as the blended rate was designed to work with a traditional school year calendar. For partnerships operating on alternative school-year

calendars, a combination of full-time and part-time authorizations for care can ensure providers are reimbursed appropriately.

PROCEDURES:

No Local Flexibility (NLF): This rating indicates that Boards must comply with the federal and state laws, rules, policies, and required procedures set forth in this WD Letter and have no local flexibility in determining whether and/or how to comply. All information with an NLF rating is indicated by "must" or "shall."

Local Flexibility (**LF**): This rating indicates that Boards have local flexibility in determining whether and/or how to implement guidance or recommended practices set forth in this WD Letter. All information with an LF rating is indicated by "may" or "recommend."

<u>NLF</u>: Boards must reimburse child care providers that partner with ISDs and charter schools to provide state-funded pre-K when the following criteria are met:

- The child care provider contracts with the Board to accept child care subsidies.
- The child is determined eligible to participate in the child care subsidy program.
- The child attends the early learning program for wraparound child care based on the family's determined need.

NLF: Boards must be aware that child care subsidies for wraparound child care services must be provided in accordance with TWC's §809.93 definition of full- and part-day child care:

- Full-day = six to 12 hours of care within a 24-hour period
- Part-day = fewer than six hours within a 24-hour period

<u>NLF</u>: For pre-K partnerships that follow a traditional school-year calendar, Boards must apply TWC's calculated blended rate for wraparound child care services during the school year.

NLF: For partnerships involving an alternative school-year calendar, Boards must ensure that child care authorizations reflect the days that full- or part-day wraparound child care is required. For full-day pre-K programs, this will typically require separate child care referrals for pre-K instructional days and noninstructional days.

INQUIRIES:

Send inquiries regarding this WD Letter to childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov.

REFERENCES:

House Bill 3, Bill Summary

House Bill 3, Early Childhood Education Impacts

TEA Presentation on Prekindergarten (PDF)

House Bill 3, Implementation: Additional Days School Year

TWC Child Care Services rules §809.14(b) and §809.93

WD Letter 23-19, issued October 15, 2019, and titled "Child Care Provider Maximum Reimbursement Rate Increases," and its one attachment, "Increased Rates for Child Care Provider Reimbursements–Effective October 1, 2019."