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PURPOSE:  

The purpose of this WD Letter is to provide Local Workforce Development Boards 

(Boards) with guidance on the Board Contract Year 2026 (BCY 2026) child care provider 

payment rates. 

RESCISSIONS:  

WD Letter 19-24, Change 1 

BACKGROUND: 

The federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) regulations and program guidance 

(§98.45 Equal Access and CCDF-ACF-PI-2018-04) require states to ensure equal access 

to child care services for children served in the Child Care Services (CCS) program. 

States must consider the most recent market rate survey as well as data from their narrow 

cost analysis and use this information when setting provider payment rates. Additionally, 

the U.S. Office of Child Care encourages states to set the lowest maximum payment rates 

to the 75th percentile of the market rate survey.  

Title 40, Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Part 20, Chapter 809 Child Care Services 

rule §809.20(a) requires Boards to establish maximum payment rates at or above a level 

established by the Texas Workforce Commission’s (TWC) three-member Commission 

(Commission). On September 10, 2024, the Commission set maximum payment rates 

beginning in BCY 2025 based on the following criteria: 

• Set each rate at the higher of: 

➢ the 75th percentile of the most recent market rate survey (for the type of care, 

age of child, and local workforce development area); or 

➢ the “baseline rate” from the applicable Cost of Quality Price Modeling Report.  

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-A/subchapter-A/part-98#98.45
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/occ/policy-guidance/ccdf-acf-pi-2018-01
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=07%2F14%2F2025&recordId=220442
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• If any rate would drop below the prior year’s level, maintain the prior year’s 

higher rate. 

For BCY 2026, TWC used the following data sources to set the minimum threshold for 

the maximum payment rates: 

• 2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey  

• 2025 Cost of Quality Price Modeling Report for Centers  

• 2024 Cost of Quality Price Modeling Report for Homes  

 

TWC uses percentiles to compare rates collected through the market rate survey. The 

75th percentile means 75 percent of the rates collected through the survey were lower 

than that amount.   

The Cost of Quality Price Modeling Report includes “baseline rates,” which are defined 

as “prices charged by providers of child care that, at a minimum, meet state licensing 

standards.”  

TWC continues to tier Texas Rising Star and Texas School Ready maximum payment 

rates in accordance with 40 TAC §809.20. 

PROCEDURES: 

No Local Flexibility (NLF): This rating indicates that Boards must comply with the 

federal and state laws, rules, policies, and required procedures set forth in this WD Letter 

and have no local flexibility in determining whether and/or how to comply. All 

information with an NLF rating is indicated by “must.”   

Local Flexibility (LF): This rating indicates that Boards have local flexibility in 

determining whether and/or how to implement guidance or recommended practices set 

forth in this WD Letter. All information with an LF rating is indicated by “may” or 

“recommend.” 

NLF:  Boards must inform staff that the Commission-approved methodology for determining 

BCY 2026 rates sets the minimum level for those rates, and Boards may not reduce any 

rate below these approved levels. 

LF: TWC does not set minimum thresholds for payment rates for child care provided on 

evenings or weekends. Boards may set a percentage to increase rates for care during these 

times on the District Settings page in Texas Child Care Connections (TX3C). 

LF: TWC does not set minimum thresholds for payment rates for child care provided by 

relative providers. Boards may set these rates locally. 

NLF: For any local rate adjustments, Board members must approve rates at a posted, open 

meeting. Additionally, Boards must report the adjustment by emailing 

childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov. The email must include details on the rates 

affected and effective dates of the change. 

https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/2025-texas-child-care-market-rate-survey/
https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/2025-cost-of-quality-price-modeling-report/
https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/2024-cost-of-quality-price-modeling-report/
https://www.bing.com/ck/a?!&&p=c0a60e1a3a7ec6b681cee266090e951a27d9e14dfc52cf725ea1cb0e77d32b89JmltdHM9MTc1NjQyNTYwMA&ptn=3&ver=2&hsh=4&fclid=122d36cf-9e5d-63ce-090a-220b9fc862ef&u=a1aHR0cHM6Ly9zdGF0aXN0aWNzYnlqaW0uY29tL2Jhc2ljcy9wZXJjZW50aWxlcy8&ntb=1
https://www.bing.com/ck/a?!&&p=c0a60e1a3a7ec6b681cee266090e951a27d9e14dfc52cf725ea1cb0e77d32b89JmltdHM9MTc1NjQyNTYwMA&ptn=3&ver=2&hsh=4&fclid=122d36cf-9e5d-63ce-090a-220b9fc862ef&u=a1aHR0cHM6Ly9zdGF0aXN0aWNzYnlqaW0uY29tL2Jhc2ljcy9wZXJjZW50aWxlcy8&ntb=1
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?recordId=220442&queryAsDate=07%2F14%2F2025&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&$locale=en_US
https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ogc/mtg24/commission-meeting-material-091024-item9-dp-bcy25-cc-minimum-rates-twc.pdf
mailto:childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov
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NLF:  Boards must inform staff that Texas Rising Star–certified providers must receive an 

increased payment rate as follows: 

• Texas Rising Star Four-Star providers’ payment rates must be set at 9 percent 

greater than non–Texas Rising Star providers’ regular child care rates. 

• Texas Rising Star Three-Star providers’ payment rates must be set at 7 percent 

greater than non–Texas Rising Star providers’ regular child care rates. 

• Texas Rising Star Two-Star providers’ payment rates must be set at 5 percent 

greater than non–Texas Rising Star providers’ regular child care rates. 

• There must be at least a 2-percentage difference between Two- and Three-Star 

providers and between Three- and Four-Star providers. 

NLF: Boards must inform staff that TWC will calculate and enter the payment rates for each 

Board and each category of care into TX3C. These rates will be based on eight age 

ranges. 

NLF: Boards must inform staff that the BCY 2026 Provider Payment Rates are publicly 

available on TWC’s Child Care Data, Reports, and Plans web page.  

NLF:  Boards must update provider agreements or associated rate addendums containing 

specific payment rate information to reflect the new rates. Boards must update all 

affected agreements by November 30 of each year. 

INQUIRIES: 

 Send inquiries regarding this WD Letter to childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov. 

ATTACHMENTS:  

Attachment 1: Board Contract Year 2026 Child Care Provider Payment Rates—Effective 

October 1, 2025 

REFERENCES: 

Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations §98.45, Equal Access 

Title 40, Texas Administrative Code, Part 20, Chapter 809 Child Care Services Rule 

§809.20, Maximum Provider Reimbursement Rates 

Board Contract Year 2026 Child Care Provider Payment Rates—Effective October 1, 

2025 

 

https://www.twc.texas.gov/programs/child-care/data-reports-plans
mailto:childcare.programassistance@twc.texas.gov

