Benefit Options for Wages in More than One State

If you worked in more than one state during your base period as defined in Eligibility & Benefit Amounts:

  • You can apply for benefits in any state where you have base period wages. The state you choose will become your paying state. See Potential Benefit Amounts and Contact Information by State below.
  • You may either:

The paying state will process your unemployment benefits application according to the rules of that state. The paying state asks the other state(s) to transfer your wage records. The paying state can then determine if you earned enough wages after combining wages from other states to qualify for benefits under that state’s laws.

Return to Top

Potential Benefit Amounts and Contact Information by State

The following table shows the minimum and maximum weekly unemployment benefit amounts and contact information for unemployment benefits in each state. States may change their benefit amounts at any time, so amounts included here may not be current.

To apply for unemployment benefits, find the state(s) where you worked, then go to that state’s web site or call the number listed in the table.

To apply for benefits from the Virgin Islands, call us at 800-939-6631. We will take your application by phone and send it on your behalf.

State or Territory Minimum Weekly Benefit * Maximum Weekly Benefit* UI Benefits Contact Phone Web Site
Alabama $45 $275 866-234-5382 www.labor.alabama.gov
Alaska $56 $370 888-252-2557 www.labor.state.ak.us
Arizona $187 $240 877-600-2722 www.des.az.gov
Arkansas $81 $451 855-225-4440 www.dws.arkansas.gov/unemployment/
California $40 $450 800-300-5616 www.edd.ca.gov
Colorado $25 $700 800-388-5515 https://cdle.colorado.gov/unemployment
Connecticut $15 $685 800-956-3294 www.ctdol.state.ct.us
Delaware $20 $400 302-761-8446 https://labor.delaware.gov/
District of Columbia $50 $444 877-319-7346 www.dcnetworks.org
Florida $32 $275 833-352-7759 https://floridajobs.org/
Georgia $55 $365 877-709-8185 https://dol.georgia.gov/
Hawaii $5 $639 833-901-2272 www.hawaii.gov/labor/ui
Idaho $72 $463 208-332-8942 www.labor.idaho.gov
Illinois $51-77 $505-693 800-244-5631 https://ides.illinois.gov/ 
Indiana $50 $390 800-891-6499 www.in.gov/dwd
Iowa $79-95 $531-651 866-239-0843 www.iowaworkforce.org/ui
Kansas $135 $540 800-292-6333 www.getkansasbenefits.gov/
Kentucky $39 $569 502-875-0442 www.kewes.ky.gov
Louisiana $10 $247 866-783-5567 www.laworks.net
Maine $89 $511 800-593-7660 www.maine.gov/labor
Maryland $50 $430 667-207-6520 www.dllr.state.md.us
Massachusetts $45-67 $974 877-626-6800 www.mass.gov/lwd
Michigan $81 $362 866-500-0017 www.michigan.gov/uia
Minnesota $25 $820 877-898-9090 www.positivelyminnesota.com
Mississippi $30 $235 888-844-3577 www.mdes.ms.gov
Missouri $35 $320 800-320-2519 www.labor.mo.gov/DES/
Montana $163 $552 406-444-2545 http://uid.dli.mt.gov/
Nebraska $70 $456 402-458-2500 www.dol.nebraska.gov/
Nevada $16 $469 888-890-8211 www.nvdetr.org
New Hampshire $32 $427 603-271-7700 www.nhes.nh.gov/
New Jersey $103-118 $713 888-795-6672 https://myunemployment.nj.gov/
New Mexico $90 $484 877-664-6984 www.dws.state.nm.us
New York $108 $504 888-209-8124 https://www.labor.ny.gov
North Carolina $15 $350 888-737-0259 https://des.nc.gov/
North Dakota $43 $657 701-328-4995 www.jobsnd.com
Ohio $135 $498-672 877-644-6562 unemployment.ohio.gov/
Oklahoma $16 $461 405-525-1500 www.ok.gov/oesc_web
Oregon $151 $648 877-345-3484 www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/
Pennsylvania $68 $583 888-313-7284 www.uc.pa.gov
Puerto Rico $33 $190 787-945-7900 www.trabajo.pr.gov
Rhode Island $59 $661 405-415-6772 www.dlt.ri.gov/ui
South Carolina $42 $326 866-831-1724 https://www.dew.sc.gov/
South Dakota $28 $466 605-626-2542 www.sd.uiclaims.com
Tennessee $30 $275 844-224-5818 https://www.tn.gov/workforce/
Texas $71 $549 800-939-6631 https://twc.texas.gov/
Utah $31 $617 888-848-0688 https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/home
Vermont $73 $531 877-214-3330 labor.vermont.gov
Virginia $60 $378 866-832-2363 http://www.vec.virginia.gov/unemployed
Virgin Islands $33 $677 340-776-3700 (VI) or 800-939-6631 (TWC)

https://www.vidol.gov/

Washington $295 $929 800-318-6022 www.esd.wa.gov
West Virginia $24 $424 800-252-5627 https://workforcewv.org/ 
Wisconsin $54 $370 844-910-3661 https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uiben/
Wyoming $36 $508 866-729-7799 http://www.wyomingworkforce.org/ 

*Last update: November 19, 2021

Return to Top