Reappointments to the Advisory Committee of the Purchasing from People with Disabilities Program Discussion Paper

Background

Texas Human Resources Code (THRC) §122.0057(a) authorizes the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) to establish an advisory committee to assist TWC in establishing program performance goals and criteria for certifying community rehabilitation programs (CRPs) to participate in the Purchasing from People with Disabilities (PPD) program.

Per §122.0057, the advisory committee is composed of 13 members as follows:

- four representatives from CRPs that participate in the program administered under this chapter;
- four representatives from organizations that advocate for individuals with disabilities;
- the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission or a designee; and
- four individuals with disabilities, of whom two are employed by a CRP that participates in the program administered under this chapter.

Members of the advisory committee serve staggered four-year terms at the will of TWC. A member may not serve more than two four-year terms.

Issue

The first term of four current committee members expired in February 2021, and all of those members have expressed an interest in serving a second term. The members under consideration for reappointment are listed in the following table.

Name	Geographic Location	Position Represented	Employment
Giovianne	San	Advocate	Advocate, Intellectual and
Washington	Antonio	Representative	Developmental Disabilities Services
			Employment and Education Analyst,
			Alamo Area Council of Governments
Platt Allen	Fort Worth	CRP Representative	Lighthouse for the Blind of Fort
		_	Worth
Charlie Graham	Austin	CRP Representative	Peak Performers
Lee Tillson	Tyler	Disability	Horizon Industries
		Representative	
		Employed by CRP	

1 **Decision Point**

- 2 Staff seeks direction on reappointing advisory committee members Giovianne Washington, Platt
- 3 Allen, Charlie Graham, and Lee Tillson to serve on the PPD Advisory Committee for a second
- 4 four-year term, to expire in February 2025.