1	CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES
2 3	PROPOSED RULES TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE TEXAS REGISTER. THIS
4	DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS SUBJECT TO
5	FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
6	OF STATE.
7	
8	The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes amendments to the following sections of
9	Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools and Colleges:
10 11	Subchapter A. General Provisions, §§807.1 - 807.3 and §§807.6 - 807.8
12	Subchapter B. Certificates of Approval, §§807.11 - 807.17
13	Subchapter C. Financial Requirements, §§807.31 - 807.35 and §807.37
14	Subchapter D. Representatives, §§807.51, 807.53, and 807.54
15	Subchapter E. School Director and Administrative Staff, §§807.62 - 807.64 and §807.66
16	Subchapter F. Instructors, §§807.81 - 807.84
17	Subchapter G. Staff Education Requirements, §807.101 and §807.102
18	Subchapter H. Courses of Instruction, §§807.121 - 807.123 and §§807.129 - 807.134
19	Subchapter I. Application Fees and Other Charges, §\$807.151 - 807.153
20	Subchapter J. Advertising, §§807.171 - 807.173 and §807.175
21	Subchapter K. Admission, §§807.191 - 807.194, 806.196, and 807.197
22	Subchapter L. Progress Standards, §§807.221, 807.223, and 807.224
23	Subchapter M. Attendance Standards, §§807.241 - 807.245
24	Subchapter N. Cancellation and Refund Policy, §807.261 and §807.263
25	Subchapter O. Records, §§807.281 - 807.284
26	Subchapter P. Complaints, §807.301 and §807.302
27	Subchapter Q. Truck Driver Training Programs, §§807.321, 807.322, 807.324, and
28	807.325
29	Subchapter R. Closed Schools, §807.341 and §807.342
30	Subchapter S. Sanctions, §§807.351 - 807.353
31	Subchapter T. Cease and Desist Orders, §§807.362, 807.365, and 807.366
32	Subchapter U. Career Schools Hearings, §§807.385 - 807.387 and §807.395
33	
34	TWC proposes the following new section to Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools and
35	Colleges:
36	
37	Subchapter A. General Provisions, §807.5
38	
39	TWC proposes the repeal of the following sections of Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools
40	and Colleges:
41 42	Subabantar H. Courges of Instruction \$\$907.124, 907.127
42	Subchapter H. Courses of Instruction, §§807.124 - 807.127 Subchapter J. Advertising, §807.176
43 44	Subchapter J. Advertising, 8007.170
-T-T	

PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY

- 2 Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges (the Act) charges TWC with
- 3 oversight of career schools and colleges operating in Texas. By TWC's authority under the Act
- 4 and TWC's Chapter 807 Career School and Colleges rules, the Career Schools and Colleges
- 5 (CSC) Program licenses and regulates private postsecondary schools that offer vocational
- 6 training to Texas residents. In this capacity, TWC currently regulates more than 600 schools,
- 7 consisting of approximately 4,000 courses of instruction that provide vocational training to more
- 8 than 146,000 students annually.

9

1

- 10 The purpose for the proposed amendments to Chapter 807 is based on a thorough review of
- existing Chapter 807 rules, the Act, policy implementation, and application processing. The
- 12 amendments provide clarity and remove unnecessary regulation for CSC; ensure that students
- seeking to further their education are provided clear information, receive timely refunds, as
- 14 appropriate, and have timely access to school outcome data; and streamline CSC Program
- 15 processes.

16

- 17 The amendments also implement House Bill (HB) 33, passed by the 87th Texas Legislature,
- 18 Regular Session (2021). HB 33 amended Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, relating to
- measures facilitating the award of postsecondary course credit leading to workforce credentialing
- based on military experience, education, and training.

21

- 22 Throughout Chapter 807, where appropriate, the term "Commission" is replaced with "Agency."
- 23 The Commission is the body of governance of the three Commissioners appointed by the
- 24 governor. The Agency is the unit of state government presided over by the Commission and
- administered by the executive director.

2627

- The definitions for class, course, course of instruction, program, and program of instruction, are
- proposed for amendment, and, therefore, where appropriate, the terms were changed to ensure
 - consistency of usage throughout Chapter 807.

29 30 31

PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS

- 32 (Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the meaning of the rules and,
- therefore, are not discussed in the Explanation of Individual Provisions.)

34 35

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter A:

36 37 38

§807.2. Definitions

- 39 Section 807.2(12) is amended to include "course of instruction" and modify the definition to
- 40 include an identifiable unit of organized instruction to avoid confusion with a subject, which is
- 41 an element of a program or seminar.

42

- 43 Current §807.2(15) is removed because "course of instruction" is defined in amended
- 44 §807.2(12). The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

- 1 Renumbered §807.2(15) is amended to revise the definition term of "course time" to include
- 2 "course time hour." Also, "externship" is utilized in all CSC materials and replaces "internship"
- 3 in the definition to avoid confusion.

- 5 Renumbered §807.2(18) is amended to revise the definition of "distance education course" to
- 6 align with the definition of "distance education" in the statute. Additionally, the current
- 7 definition relates specifically to asynchronous education and is amended to include synchronous
- 8 education.

9

Renumbered §807.2(21) is amended to revise the definition of "good reputation" to restate with potential disqualifiers instead of inversely worded with qualifiers.

12

13 Section 807.2(26) is added to define "hybrid program or blended program."

14

Section 807.2(27) is amended to revise the definition of "job placement" to provide clarity of what constitutes placement.

17

18 Section 807.2(29) is added to define "military service."

19

Section 807.2(30) and (31) are added to define "owner" and "owner designee." The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

22

Renumbered §807.2(33) is amended to remove the word "program" from the definition.

2425

Section 807.2(39) is added to define "school authorized official" to reduce confusion of who is authorized to sign official documents.

26 27

- Renumbered §807.2(40) is amended to clarify the definition of "school." The addition of
- 29 "educational institution" and "training program" as synonyms for school is necessary to provide
- definition to these terms used in statute without definition or clarification provided.

31 32

Renumbered §807.2(41) is amended to revise the definition of "secondary education" to further define what constitutes that level of education.

333435

Renumbered §807.2(42) is amended to clarify that "workshop" is a synonymous term for "seminar."

36 37

38 Section 807.2(47) is added to define a "subject" to delineate its use from "class" for clarification.

39

40 §807.3. Memorandum of Understanding for Regulation of Schools

- 41 Section 807.3 is amended to revise the current name of "Texas Guaranteed Student Loan
- 42 Corporation" to "Trellis Company."

43 44

§807.5. Suspensions

- New §807.5 is added to state the executive director's authority to suspend the operation of
- 46 provisions within Chapter 807 under certain circumstances.

3

4

§807.6. Processing Periods

Section 807.6 is amended to include "Application" in the section title and allow the program the ability to modify processing times that are not required to be publicly identified by Texas

5 Government Code, §2005.003.

6 7

8

§807.7. Exemptions

Section 807.7(a) is amended to include program authority to approve, deny, or revoke exemptions.

9 10

11 Section 807.7 is amended to remove subsections (b) and (c) as the language is redundant.

12 13

Relettered §807.7(b) is amended to reference the Act, as opposed to the vague reference to the Texas Education Code.

14 15

16 New §807.7(c) is amended to remove extraneous language. Exemption criteria is addressed in 17 the Act.

18 19

SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter B:

20 21 22

§807.11. Original Approvals

23 Section 807.11(d)(1) is amended to revise the conditions of reapplication. To reapply, the 24 applicant must currently submit fess again and the section is amended to clarify that all fees are 25 due again.

26 27

28

§807.12. Renewal

Section 807.12(a)(2) and (b)(3) are amended to remove the reference to the fee for the tuition trust account. The renewal fee paid by career schools and colleges is seamless in its application.

29 30 31

§807.14. Locations

- 32 Section 807.14(b)(2) is removed, because the itinerate program typically meet the criteria
- 33 outlined for seminars or short-term programs. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered 34 accordingly.

35 36

§807.15. Notification of Actions

- 37 Section 807.15(c) is added to include the requirement for schools to notify TWC of mortgage
- 38 and/or lease lateness or defaults. This can be used by TWC as an indicator of possible closures.
- 39 The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

40

41 Relettered §807.15(d) is amended to add the copy of the legal notice to the documents that need 42 to be included by the school with the notice.

43 44

§807.16. Degrees

- 45 Section 807.16(b) is amended to remove the reference that approval from the accreditor may be
- 46 required. Accreditor approval is a necessary element for review.

§807.17. Unlicensed Schools

Section 807.17 is amended to revise verbiage to clarify that TWC may take one or more of the listed actions against schools that operate without a certificate of approval from TWC.

SUBCHAPTER C. FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter C:

§807.31. Definitions Relating to Financial Requirements

Section 807.31(1) is added to define attest services. Attest services require specific licensure per the Texas Public Accountancy Act. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered §807.31(5) is amended to remove the unnecessary element of the projection of tuition and fees for the upcoming fiscal year from the definition of unearned tuition affidavit.

§807.32. Financial Standards

Section 807.32(a)(2) is removed because the requirement for a school to report unearned tuition on its balance sheet is no longer needed. All school financial submissions will require a CSC-048, which identifies unearned tuition. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Section 807.32(b) is amended to require both an unearned tuition affidavit and sworn statement with any submission. Currently these are not required with audited or reviewed financials.

Section 807.32(c) is amended to modify the statement regarding preparation. The information for the preparer is not needed, only for the certified public accountant (CPA) firm performing the attest engagement.

Section 807.32(d) is added to include attest services to indicate legal requirements and address the CPA being in jurisdictions other than Texas. The subsequent subsection is relettered accordingly.

§807.33. Financial Requirements for Original Approvals

Section 807.33(a)(2) is amended to remove redundant language. Audits must be completed by a CPA and in Texas, a firm license holder. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles or Generally Accepted Auditing Standards require a CPA to complete a financial review.

Section 807.33(b) is amended to clarify that the intent is three full calendar months, not partial, and to remove references to contract basis, as an evaluation of financial stability is necessary to issue a Certificate of Approval (per §807.4(a)(3) and Texas Education Code, §132.055(b)(9)).

Section 807.33(b)(1) and (2) are amended to remove unnecessary details associated with projected expenses. Expenses for the categories of salaries and lease payments for equipment are sufficient to perform a review.

§807.35. Financial Requirements for Renewal

- 2 Section 807.35 is amended to revise the section title from "Financial Requirements for Renewal"
- 3 to "Financial Requirements for Annual Reporting" to clarify the requirement and to allow the
- 4 addition of language specific to revocations.

5 6

7

1

Section 807.35(a) and (b) are amended to clarify that the financial statements submitted must be true and correct and to remove extraneous language as the standards have been identified in §807.32.

8

Section 807.35(c) is amended to add language to clarify the requirement of federal tax return documents to avoid confusion of schools submitting their Texas Franchise Tax reports.

12

Section 807.35(e) is added to clarify the outcome of not providing compliant financial statements within 60 days of notice of deficiency. This will allow TWC to take administrative action without delay.

16 17

§807.37. Commission Ordered Audits

Section 807.37(a)(1) and (2) is amended to clarify audit standards and language is added to \$807.37 regarding failure to provide TWC with Commission-ordered item(s).

20 21

SUBCHAPTER D. REPRESENTATIVES

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter D:

22 23 24

25

26

§807.51. Representative Requirements

New §807.51(a) is added to include clarifications regarding individuals not required to register as representatives given the nature of their ownership structure. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

27 28 29

§807.53. Representative Limitations

Section 807.53(c)(1) is deleted to reduce the restriction on locations a representative is authorized to solicit students. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

31 32 33

30

Section 807.53(c) is amended to include courses in addition to programs.

3435

Section 807.53(c)(11) is added to require students be advised of the policies and procedures related to granting credit.

36 37 38

§807.54. Representative Compliance

39 Section 807.54 is amended to modify the matrix to align with the proposed changes in §807.53.

40 41

SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

42 TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter E:

43 44

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties

- 45 Section 807.62 is amended to add new subsection (a) to consolidate and clarify requirements for
- small, and other than small, schools.

Current §807.62(a) and (b) are deleted based on consolidation under §807.62(a). The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

§807.64. Director of Education Requirements

Section 807.64(b)(2) is amended to modify "employment as a supervisor" to "supervisory employment experience," which aligns with the expectations of an individual who is appointed to a director position.

§807.66. Director of Admissions Requirements

Section 807.66(a) is amended to remove obsolete references. This provision was adopted in 2006, so any individual in this position in 2006 would have the necessary qualifications in 2020.

Section 807.66(b)(1) is amended to change "administrative experience" to "administration experience" to align with intent.

SUBCHAPTER F. INSTRUCTORS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter F:

§807.81. Instructor Qualifications

Section 807.81(b) is amended to modify the requirement to indicate three full calendar months as opposed to allowing partial months.

Section 807.81(b)(1)(A) - (D) and (2)(B) - (C), (d), and (e) are amended to indicate "subject" instead of "class," and "subjects" instead of classes," to reflect the correct element of a program.

Additional amendments are proposed throughout to clarify subject, in lieu of course.

§807.82. Temporary Instructors

Section 807.82(a) is amended to indicate the maximum term of a temporary instructor is 90 days, to match current practice.

Section 807.82(b)(1) is amended to change "class" to "subject(s)."

Section 807.82(b)(2) is deleted, removing the requirement to list the instructor. This information is redundant. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Section 807.82(b)(4) is added to include any other information required by TWC.

Section 807.82(c) is deleted to remove notice of possible sanctions for using an unapproved instructor since this is stated as part of the instructor application process. The subsequent subsections are relettered.

Relettered §807.82(c) is amended to clarify subject, in lieu of course.

Relettered §807.82(d) is amended to clarify the period as an "academic term" and "subject" as the appropriate element.

3 4

5

§807.84. School Responsibilities Regarding Instructors

Section 807.84(e) is added to stress refunds and administrative actions to be taken against a school for utilizing an unapproved instructor.

6 7 8

SUBCHAPTER G. STAFF EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter G:

9 10 11

§807.101. Initial Training

Section 807.101(a) is amended to remove references to the Director's Resource Guide, as it is obsolete.

13 14 15

12

Section 807.101(b) is amended to use three full calendar months instead of three months for practicality.

16 17 18

§807.102. Continuing Education

Section 807.102(a) is amended to remove language relating to TWC approving the continuing education providers, as this is not the practice. TWC's Career Schools and Colleges program will continue to vet training (as per Texas Education Code, §132.0551(e)) and ensure that it is relevant to the practice of higher education instruction and administration or the subject(s) being taught, but TWC does not maintain a published list.

2425

- Section 807.102(b) is deleted since the language is redundant to what is stated in §807.102(a).
- The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

26 27 28

29

Section 807.102(c) is amended to remove "full-time instructor" because the continuing education requirement for full-time instructors is different from the requirement for school directors and directors of admission

30 31 32

SUBCHAPTER H. COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter H:

333435

36

§807.121. Definitions Relating to Courses of Instruction

Section 807.121(1) is amended to add language to clarify the role that externship plays in classifying a program type.

373839

Section 807.121(2) is amended to clarify that "lab" is a synonym for "laboratory experience."

40

41 Section 807.121(6) is amended to clarify terminology.

42 43

Section 807.121(7) is added to define "military service course credit directory."

§807.122. General Information for Courses of Instruction

Section 807.122(a) and (b) are amended to move language from §807.127(a) and (c) for better alignment.

3 4 5

1

2

Section 807.122(c) is amended to move language from §807.124(a) for better alignment.

6 7

Section 807.122(d) is amended to move language from §807.125(a) for better alignment and provide requirement to conform to legal standard.

8 9

Section 807.122(e) is amended to move language from §807.126(a) for better alignment.

11

Section 807.122(e)(7) is added to require the addition of criteria evaluating military service experience, education, or training, for any course listed in the military service course credit directory.

15

Section 807.122(f) is added to ensure TWC reviews course time and balances it against the industry standard for each state occupation. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

19 20

Relettered §807.122(n) is amended to modify the language to clarify that only a simple majority of members can have no ownership or employment interest regarding the school.

21 22 23

§807.123. Applications for Additional Courses of Instruction

Section 807.123(b)(1) and (4) are deleted to remove abbreviated program application requirements for duplicate programs and continuing professional education issues. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

2728

29 30

- §807.124. Stated Occupation
- Section 807.124 is repealed. The requirements in §807.124 are outside the scope of program capability. Elements of §807.124(a) have been moved to §807.122 in an effort to ensure students are trained for a stated occupation.

31 32 33

34

- §807.125. Curriculum Content
- Section 807.125 is repealed to reduce duplicated language and unnecessary items. The language in §807.125(a) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

353637

- §807.126. Curriculum Length
- Section 807.126 is repealed and language in §807.126(a) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

40 41

- **§807.127. Program Title**
- Section 807.127 is repealed and language in §807.127(a) and (c) is moved to §807.122 for better alignment.

<u>§807.129. Facilities</u>

Section 807.129(b) is amended to clarify that the enrollment capacity is related to seats, as well as workstations, in a lecture capacity.

3 4 5

1

2

§807.131. School Responsibilities Relating to Courses of Instruction

Section 807.131(b)(1) is amended to establish TWC determines what constitutes "reasonable."

6 7 8

- Section 807.131(i) is amended to reflect basic recommendations and reduce language
- 9 complexity. There are not statutory guidelines on class size; rule language provides
 - recommendations based on training experiences.

10 11 12

13

§807.132. Course of Instruction Revisions

Section 807.132(c) is deleted. This is not something the program reviews or enforces and is just extraneous language. Ultimately employment will be indicative of the alignment.

14 15 16

SUBCHAPTER I. APPLICATION FEES AND OTHER CHARGES

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter I:

17 18 19

<u>§807.151. Fee Schedule</u>

20 Section 807.151(5), (9), (10), (11), and (13) are amended to modify language for clarity.

21 22

Section 807.151(8) is deleted. These changes do not require the reissuance of approval. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

232425

Renumbered §807.151(10) is amended to remove the application fee for an administrative staff member.

26 27

28 29

<u>§807.152. Renewal Fees</u>

Section 807.152(c) is amended to correct the terminology of the late renewal fee as identified in statute.

30 31 32

§807.153. Installment Payments

Section 807.153(b)(3) is amended to specify that failure to meet an installment agreement may result in revocation of the school's certificate of approval.

35 36

Section 807.153(c) is added to provide rule authority to take administrative action against a school that has received a multi-year certificate for not submitting required renewal payments.

373839

SUBCHAPTER J. ADVERTISING

40 TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter J:

41 42

§807.171. General Information for Advertising

- Section 807.171(a) is amended to clarify that the intent is not limited only to deceptive
- statements, but also misleading statements, concerning enrollment.

§807.173. Advertisement Content

2 Section 807.173 is amended to include "and Monitoring" in the section title to reflect TWC's

3 authority to monitor schools' advertising content.

4

1

5 Section 807.173(d) is amended to allow the use of the student's abbreviated name in endorsements and to review schools to maintain records of the student endorsement. 6

7

Section 807.173(g) is added to allow TWC to order steps counteracting advertisement violations.

8 9

- 10 §807.175. Catalog
- 11 Section 807.175(a)(14), (b), (c), and (d) are amended to adjust language to align with other 12 changes in Chapter 807.

13 14

- §807.176. Advertisement Monitoring
- Section 807.176 is repealed to eliminate extraneous language. The language in §807.176(a) and 15 16 (b) are moved to §807.173 for better alignment.

17

- 18 SUBCHAPTER K. ADMISSION
- 19 TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter K:

20 21

- §807.191. General Information for Admission
- 22 Section 807.191(a) and (b) are amended to clarify that specific admission requirements apply to 23 all schools.

24 25

- §807.192. Admission Requirements
- Section 807.192(a)(3) is amended to replace "certificate" with "nondegree" to encompass all 26 27 courses of instruction.

28 29

- §807.193. Receipt of Enrollment Policies
- Section 807.193(a) is amended to require all schools meeting criteria to use TWC-approved 30 31 document.

32

33 Section 807.193(b) is amended to update administrative requirements.

34

- 35 §807.194. Enrollment Agreement
- Section 807.194(a) is deleted, which excludes seminar schools from being required to complete 36 37 enrollment agreements. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

38

- 39 Section 807.194(h) is deleted because it allows schools to submit abbreviated enrollment 40 agreements. Schools are required to submit all enrollment agreements to TWC for approval prior
- 41 to use.

42

- §807.196. Tuition and Fees 43
- 44 Section 807.196(a) is amended to clarify the element to which the charge is related.

§807.197. Admission Requirements for Degree Granting Schools

Section 807.197(a) is amended to clarify that this restriction does not apply to TWC-approved
 teach-outs.

4 5

1

SUBCHAPTER M. ATTENDANCE STANDARDS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter M:

6 7 8

§807.243. Termination of Enrollment

- 9 Section 807.243(b) is amended to clarify the amount of time associated with the academic term
- and §807.243(c) is removed because it is no longer needed. The subsequent subsection is
- 11 relettered accordingly.

12

13 **§807.244. Make-up Work**

- 14 Section 807.244(a) is amended to clarify that work may be made up, the appropriate increments,
- and note that the time itself cannot be made up.

16 17

§807.245. Leaves of Absence

- 18 Section 807.245(a) is amended to clarify that this is specific to the program length and not just
- 19 applicable to small schools.

20

21 Section 807.245(c) is amended to clarify the time period.

22 23

SUBCHAPTER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter N:

242526

§807.261. Requirement for Tour

27 Section 807.261(b) is amended to remove the exclusion for hybrid or blended programs.

28

29 Section 807.261(c) is amended to add the tour conditions for hybrid or blended programs.

30

31 §807.263. Refund Requirements

- 32 Section 807.263(a) is amended to clarify that refunds to students are contingent upon the
- outcome of TWC's review of facts associated with the school's conduct and that TWC may order
- full or partial refunds.

35 36

SUBCHAPTER O. RECORDS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter O:

3738

39 <u>**§807.282. Student Records**</u>

- Section 807.282(b) is added to require schools to maintain records electronically. The subsequent
- subsections are relettered accordingly.

42

New §807.282(g) is added to address possible need for translation.

§807.283. Attendance Record Keeping

- 2 Current §807.283(a)(1) is deleted so that schools must maintain attendance records for all
- 3 programs. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

4

1

Renumbered §807.283(a)(1) is amended to specify what information must be on school master record of attendance.

7

Renumbered §807.283(a)(2) requiring attendance records is amended to include instructor name, course name, date, class hours scheduled for each day and absence(s).

10

Section 807.283(b) is deleted to remove the attendance record keeping requirements for Title IV schools. Verifiable academically related activity is already addressed in refunds. The subsequent subsection is relettered accordingly.

14

- 15 **§807.284. Reporting**
- 16 Section 807.284(d) is amended to remove redundant language.

17

- 18 **SUBCHAPTER P. COMPLAINTS**
 - TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter P:

19 20

- 21 §807.301. School Policy Regarding Complaints
- Section 807.301(a)(5)(C) is deleted to remove redundant guidance for addressing complaints.
- 23 The subsequent subparagraphs are relettered accordingly.

2425

- §807.302. Complaints and Investigations
- Section 807.302(d) is amended to substitute course of instruction for program to clarify that
- seminars are included and indicate that the investigation for a complaint not filed timely may be declined.

20

29 30

- **SUBCHAPTER Q. TRUCK DRIVER TRAINING PROGRAMS**
- TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter Q:

31 32 33

- §807.321. General Information Regarding Truck Driver Training
- 34 Section 807.321(b) is added to require all truck driver training programs to comply with
- 35 applicable requirements outlined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations Part 380.

36 37

- SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS
- TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter R:

38 39

- 40 **§807.341. School Closures**
- Section 807.341(a) is added to establish the requirement for owners to notify TWC of pending closure as soon as possible.

43

- Section 807.341(b) is added to list information that a school must provide TWC upon
- 45 notification of closure.

Section 807.341(c) is added to grant TWC the ability to impose sanctions for schools failing to comply with this section. The subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

§807.342. Tuition Trust Account

Section 807.342(e) is deleted, because it is part of the renewal amounts and not a line itemed fee.

SUBCHAPTER S. SANCTIONS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter S:

§807.352. Sanctions

Section 807.352 is amended to change references of program to course, which is inclusive of programs and seminars.

Section 807.352(a)(2) is deleted because it is not a form of sanction, but a required element of renewal, if applicable, per the Act. The subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered §807.352(a)(8) and (9) are amended to align with language from the Act and other sections of Chapter 807.

§807.353. Administrative Penalties

The penalty matrix in §807.353 is amended to reflect addition of failure of notice as required per §807.15; reduce the penalty, in conjunction with redefining an instance, for unlicensed instructors as a deterrent; and include a penalty for failure to grant credit, when required.

SUBCHAPTER U. CAREER SCHOOLS HEARINGS

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter U:

§807.387. Hearing Procedures

Section 807.387(a) is amended to change the default hearing format from in person to telephonically.

PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS

Chris Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, determined that for each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply:

There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or revenue of the state or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

There are no anticipated economic costs to individuals required to comply with the rules.

1 2 3

There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural communities as a result of enforcing or administering the rules.

4 5 6

7

Based on the analyses required by Texas Government Code, §2001.024, TWC determined that the requirement to repeal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking.

8 9 10

11

12 13

14

15

Takings Impact Assessment

- Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means a governmental action that affects private real property, in whole or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires the governmental entity to compensate the private real property owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution or the Texas Constitution, Article I, §17 or §19, or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, and is the producing cause of a
- would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, and is the producing cause of a reduction of at least 25 percent in the market value of the affected private real property, determined by comparing the market value of the property as if the governmental action is not in
- effect and the market value of the property determined as if the governmental action is in effect.
- 20 TWC completed a Takings Impact Analysis for the proposed rulemaking action under Texas
- Government Code, §2007.043. The primary purpose of this proposed rulemaking action, as
- discussed elsewhere in this preamble, is to support TWC's ability to effectively and efficiently
- protect students, regulate career schools and colleges, meet employer needs, and improve
- consumer disclosures that allow informed choices. TWC proposes amendments in several key areas. The amendments enumerate TWC's expectations and use of its regulatory authority in areas in which recent violations and possible abuses have been identified. Additionally, the

areas in which recent violations and possible abuses have been identified. Additionally, the
amendments are intended to increase transparency of the regulatory requirements and the overall

28 performance of career schools and colleges.

29 30

31 32

33

34

The proposed rulemaking action will not create any additional burden on private real property or affect private real property in a manner that would require compensation to private real property owners under the United States Constitution or the Texas Constitution. The proposal also will not affect private real property in a manner that restricts or limits an owner's right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action. Therefore, the proposed rulemaking will not cause a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.

35 36 37

Government Growth Impact Statement

- TWC determined that during the first five years the rules will be in effect, they will not:
- 39 --create or eliminate a government program;
- 40 -- require the creation or elimination of employee positions;
- 41 --require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to TWC;
- 42 -- require an increase or decrease in fees paid to TWC;
- 43 --create a new regulation;
- 44 --expand, limit, or eliminate an existing regulation;
- 45 -- change the number of individuals subject to the rules; and
- 46 --positively or adversely affect the state's economy.

1	
2	

4

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

TWC determined that the rules will not have an adverse economic impact on small businesses or rural communities, as the proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses or rural communities.

5 6 7

Mariana Vega, Director, Labor Market Information, determined that there is not a significant negative impact upon employment conditions in the state as a result of the rules.

8 9 10

11

12 13 Courtney Arbour, Director, Workforce Development Division, determined that for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the proposed rules will be to gain further efficiencies in the investigation of complaints, review of policies and procedural systems of state agencies, and reporting of data to elected state leadership and the public.

14 15 16

TWC hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within TWC's legal authority to adopt.

17 18 19

PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES

- 20 In the development of these rules for publication and public comment, TWC sought the
- involvement of Texas' 28 Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards). TWC provided the 21
- 22 policy concept regarding these rule amendments to the Boards for consideration and review on
- 23 February 8, 2022. TWC also conducted a conference call with Board executive directors and
- 24 Board staff on February 11, 2022, to discuss the policy concept. During the rulemaking process,
- 25 TWC considered all information gathered in order to develop rules that provide clear and concise direction to all parties involved.

26

27 28

PART V. PUBLIC COMMENT

- 29 Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to <u>TWCPolicyComments@twc.texas.gov</u>.
- 30 Comments must be received no later than July 11, 2022.

31 32

PART VI. STATUTORY AUTHORITY

33 The rules are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter 132 which provide TWC with the 34 authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effective 35 administration of TWC services and activities.

36 37

The proposed rules affect Title 3, Texas Education Code, particularly Chapter 132.

CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

§807.1. Title and Purpose.

- (a) This chapter These rules may be cited as the Career Schools and Colleges rules.
- (b) The purpose of this chapterthese rules is to implement and interpret the provisions of the Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges (the Act). The Agency Commission shall evaluate each school according to the standards of practice set forth in the Act and this chapter. The Agency Commission will provide assistance, whenever possible, in complying with this chapter.

§807.2. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions contained in §800.2 of this title, the following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

- (1) Academic quarter--A period of instruction that includes at least ten weeks of instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency.
- (2) Academic semester--A period of instruction that includes at least 15 weeks of instruction, unless otherwise approved by the Agency.
- (3) Academic term--An academic quarter, academic semester, or other progress evaluation period.
- (4) Academically related activity--An exam, tutorial, computer-assisted instruction, academic counseling, academic advisement, turning in a class assignment, or attending a study group that is assigned by the institution, or other activity as determined by the Agency.
- (5) Accountant--An independent certified public accountant properly registered with the appropriate state board of accountancy.
- (6) Act--Texas Education Code, Chapter 132, Career Schools and Colleges.
- (7) Address of record--In addition to the mailing address contained in the application for a certificate of approval, each career school or college shall establish an emaile-mail address of record for a distribution list that consistently maintains a minimum of two current subscribers, with the format of the address to be "School#Director@xdomain," for examplee.g., S1111Director@gmail.com.

1 2 3	(8)	AdvertisingAny affirmative act designed to call attention to a school or program for the purpose of encouraging enrollment.
4 5 6 7 8 9	(9)	AgencyThe unit of state government established under Texas Labor Code, Chapter 301, that is presided over by the Commission and administered by the executive director to operate the integrated workforce development system and administer the unemployment compensation insurance program in this state as established under the Texas Unemployment Compensation Act, Texas Labor Code Annotated, Title 4, Subtitle A, as amended. The definition of Agency
10 11 12 13	(10)	applies shall apply to all uses of the term in rules contained in this chapter. AppellantThe party or the party's authorized hearing representative who files an appeal from an appealable determination or decision.
14 15 16 17	(11)	Asynchronous distance educationDistance education training that the Agency determines is not synchronous.
18 19 20	(12)	Class, course, or course of instructionAn identifiable unit of organized instruction that is part of a program of instruction.
21 22 23 24 25 26 27	(13)	CommissionThe body of governance of the Texas Workforce Commission composed of three members appointed by the governor as established under Texas Labor Code, §301.002 that includes one representative of labor, one representative of employers, and one representative of the public. The definition of Commission applies shall apply to all uses of the term in rules contained in this chapter subchapter.
28 29	(14)	Coordinating BoardThe Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
30 31	(15)	Course of instruction—A program or seminar.
32 33	<u>(15)</u> (Course time or course time hourA course or class period that is:
34 35 36		(A) a 50-minute to 60-minute lecture, recitation, or class, including a laboratory class or shop training, in a 60-minute period;
37 38		(B) a 50-minute to 60-minute <u>externship</u> in a 60-minute period; or
39 40		(C) 60 minutes of preparation in asynchronous distance education.
41 42 43	<u>(16)</u> (17) Date of noticeThe date the notice is mailed, unless good cause exists for the hearing officer to determine otherwise.
44 45 46	<u>(17)</u> (18) Date of request of hearingThe date on which the appellant or the hearing representative filed a written notice of appeal with the Agency by hand delivery, facsimile, or mail. If an appeal is mailed to the Agency, then the

	1
	1
	2
	3
	<i>J</i>
	4
	5
ĺ	6
	O
	7
	8
	0
	9
	10
	11
ļ	11
	12
	13
i	1.4
	14
	15
	16
i	10
	17
	18
	10
	19
	20
	21
	21
	22
	23
	24
ı	24
	25
	26
	20
	27
	28
	20
	29
	30
	31
ı	22
	32
	33
	34
ı	
	35
	36
l	37
	38
	39
ı	
	40
	41
1	
ı	42
	43
	44
	45
	46

appeal is perfected as of the postmark date on the envelope containing the appeal request unless good cause exists for the hearing officer to determine otherwise. If an appeal is delivered by hand or facsimile after 5:00 p.m., the date of request shall be the next day.

- (18)(19) Distance education course--Either a seminar or a program that is offered to nonresidence non-residence school students delivered either synchronously or asynchronously to the student via correspondence or other media from a remote site on a self paced schedule, excluding programs using interactive instruction.
- (19)(20) Distance education school--A school that offers only distance education courses.
- (20)(21) Employment--A graduating or graduate student's employment in the same or substantially similar occupation for which the student was trained.
- (21)(22) Good reputation--The possession of honesty and truthfulness, trustworthiness and reliability, and a professional commitment to the educational process and the training or preparing of a person for a field of endeavor in a business, trade, technical, or industrial occupation, as well as the condition of being regarded as possessing such qualities. In determining whether a person is of good reputation, the Agency is not limited to the following acts or omissions. The Agency may consider similar acts or omissions and rehabilitation efforts in response to prior convictions in making its determination. A person may be considered to lack be of good reputation if the person:
 - (A) has never been convicted of a felony or any other crime that would constitute risk of harm to the school or students as determined by the Agency;
 - (B) has not been successfully sued for fraud or deceptive trade practices, or breach of contract, within the last 10 years;
 - (C) <u>owns</u>does not own or <u>administers</u>administer a school currently in violation of legal requirements, has <u>never</u> owned or administered a school with repeated violations, <u>orand</u> has <u>never</u> owned or administered a school that closed with violations including, but not limited to, unpaid refunds <u>or administrative penalties</u>; or
 - (D) has not knowingly falsified or withheld information from the Agency.
- (22)(23) Hearing--An informal, orderly, and readily available proceeding held before an impartial hearing officer. A party or hearing representative may present evidence to show that the Agency's determination should be reversed, affirmed, or modified.

1 2 3	(23)(24) Hearing officerAn Agency employee designated to conduct impartial hearings and issue final administrative decisions.
4 5 6 7 8 9	(24)(25) Hearing representativeAny individual authorized by a party to assist the party in presenting the party's appeal. A hearing representative may be legal counsel or another individual. Each party may have a hearing representative to assist in presenting the party's appeal.
9 10 11 12 13 14	(25)(26) Human <u>trafficking Trafficking</u> -The action or practice of illegally transporting people for the purposes of forced labor or commercial sexual exploitation, including all offenses referred to in <u>Texas Penal Code</u> , Chapter 20A-of the <u>Texas Penal Code</u> .
15 16	(26) Hybrid program or blended programA program that has any combination of residence and synchronous distance education offerings.
17 18 19 20 21 22	(27) Job placementAn <u>active</u> affirmative effort by the school to assist the student in obtaining employment in the same or substantially similar stated occupation for which the student was trained. <u>Active efforts include</u> , <u>but are not limited to the school:</u>
22 23 24 25	(A) arranging an interview;(B) contacting potential employers; and/or
26 27 28	(C) bringing potential employers to the school to assist the student.
29 30 31 32	(28) Master <u>Student Registration List (MSRL)</u> student registration listA comprehensive list with an entry made for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a payment to attend the school, or attends a class. The entry shall be made on the date the first of these events occurs.
33 34 35 36	(29) Military serviceService as a member of the armed forces of the United States, including service in the National Guard or Reserves.
37	(30) Owner
38 39 40	(A) In the case of a career school or college owned by an individual or married couple, that individual or married couple;
41 42 43 44	(B) In the case of a career school or college owned by a partnership, all full, silent, and limited partners;
45	(C) In the case of a limited liability company, all members and managers;

1 2 3	(D) In the case of professional associations, the members and governing persons;
3 4 5 6 7 8	(E) In the case of a career school or college owned by a corporation, the corporation, its directors, officers, and each shareholder owning shares of issued and outstanding stock aggregating at least 10 percent of the total of the issued and outstanding shares;
9 10 11	(F) In the case of a career school or college in which the ownership interest is held in trust, the beneficiary of that trust;
12 13 14	(G) In the case of a career school or college owned by another legal entity, a person who owns at least 10 percent ownership interest in the entity; or
15 16 17 18	(H) In all instances, for any entity owned by a parent or holding entity, whether in whole or part, the definition of an owner shall extend to those entities and corresponding person.
19 20 21	(31) Owner designeeA person designated in writing by an owner to act on behalf of the ownership, including having signatory authority.
22 23 24	(32)(29) PartyThe person or entity with the right to participate in a hearing authorized in applicable statute or rule.
25 26 27 28	(33)(30) Program or program of instructionA postsecondary sequence program of organized instruction or study that may lead to an academic, professional, or vocational degree, certificate, or other recognized educational credential.
29 30 31	(34)(31) RefundThe completed payment of a refund such that the refund instrument has been negotiated or credited into the proper account(s).
31 32 33 34 35	(35)(32) Reimbursement contract basisA school operating, or proposing to operate, under a contract with a state or federal entity in which the school receives payment upon completion of the training.
36 37 38	(36)(33) Residence schoolA school that offers at least one program that includes classroom instruction or synchronous distance education.
38 39 40 41 42	(37)(34) Response deadlineDeadlines that fall on a weekend, an official state holiday, a state holiday for which minimal staffing is required, or a federal holiday are extended one working day.
43 44 45 46	(38)(35) SanctionsAdministrative or civil actions, including, but not limited to, penalties, revocation of approvals, or cease and desist orders taken by the Agency against an entity in response to violations of the Act or this chapter.

PR-Ch. 8	307, HB	33 - CS	C Rule	Revisions ((5.24.22))Notebool
----------	---------	---------	--------	-------------	-----------	-----------

- (39) School authorized official--Any identified owner, director, or owner designee of a school.
- (40)(36) School, educational institution, or training program--A "career school or career college," as defined in the Act, that includes each location where courses of instruction shall be offered.
- (41)(37) Secondary education--Successful completion of public, private, or home schooling at the high school level or obtainment of a recognized high school equivalency credential, recognized by an institution of higher education or a private or independent institution of higher education, as defined by Texas Education Code, §61.003.
- (42)(38) Seminar or workshop--A type of program course of instruction that enhances a student's career, as opposed to a program that teaches the skills and fundamental knowledge required for a stated occupation. A seminar may include a workshop, an introduction to an occupation or cluster of occupations, a short course that teaches part of the skills and knowledge for a particular occupation, language training, continuing professional education, and review for postsecondary examination.
- (43)(39) Seminar school--A school that offers only seminars.
- (44)(40) Small school--A "small career school or college" as defined in the Act.
- (45)(41) Stated occupation--An occupation for which a program is offered that:
 - (A) is recognized by a state or federal law or by a state or federal agency as existing or emerging;
 - (B) is in demand; and
 - (C) requires training to achieve entry-level proficiencies.
- (46)(42) Student--Any individual solicited, enrolled, or trained in Texas by a school.
- (47) Subject--An identifiable unit of instruction or study that imparts specific knowledge or skills, which is a subpart of a program or seminar.
- (48)(43) Suspension of enrollments--A sanction that requires the school to suspend enrollments, re-enrollments, advertising, and solicitation, and to cease, in any way, advising prospective students, either directly or indirectly, of the available courses of instruction.

1 1	(49)(44) Synchronous distance educationThe Agency may determine distance
2 3	education to be synchronous under the following conditions:
4	(A) the training is conducted simultaneously in real time, or the training is
5	conducted so that the manner of delivery ensures that even if the
6	instructor and student are separated by time, the course time of
7	instruction that the student experiences can be determined; and
8	mention in the control of the contro
9	(B) there is consistent interaction between the student(s) and the instructor on
10	a schedule that includes a definite time for completion of the program
11	and periodic verifiable student completion/performance measures that
12	allow the application of the progress standards of Subchapter L of this
13	chapter and attendance standards of Subchapter M of this chapter.
14	
15	(50)(45) Title IV schoolA career school or college that participates in student
16	financial aid programs under Title IV, Higher Education Act of 1965 (20
17	<u>United States Code</u> U.S.C. Section 1070 et seq.).
18	
19	(51)(46) TourA required, in-person inspection of the facilities and equipment
20	pertaining to a course of instruction.
21	(50) (47) W. 1 G
22	(52)(47) WeekSeven consecutive calendar days.
23 24	§807.3. Memorandum of Understanding for Regulation of Schools.
25	goo7.5. Memorandum of Chacistanding for Regulation of Schools.
26	The Act requires the Agency Commission to execute a memorandum of understanding
27	with Trellis Company, formerly known as the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan
28	Corporation, and each state agency regulating schools to reduce default rates at the
29	regulated schools and to improve the overall quality of the programs. Copies of the
30	required memoranda of understanding shall be maintained and madeare available upon
31	requestat the Texas Workforce Commission, 101 East 15th Street, Austin, Texas 78778.
32	
33	
34	§807.5. Suspensions.
35	
36	The executive director may suspend the operation of one or more of the provisions in this
37	chapter, not statutorily imposed, if he or she finds that a public emergency or imperative
38	public necessity exists, and that the suspension will best serve the public health, safety, or
, ,,,	welfare.
39	worldie.
40	
40 41	§807.6. Application Processing Periods.
40 41 42	§807.6. Application Processing Periods.
40 41	

periods:-

1	
2	(1) Initial notification of acceptance or return of original application, to include the
3	reason for the return is 10 days; The first period is the time from the receipt of an
4	application to the date of the issuance of a written notice approving the application or
5	outlining the reasons why the application is unacceptable. The time periods for each
6	application are:
7	application are.
8	(2)(A) original contificate of approval 0040 days
	(2)(A) original certificate of approval9040 days;
9	
10	(3)(B) renewed certificate of approval45 days from the expiration of the current
11	certificate 40 days;
12	
13	(C) change in ownership certificate of approval-40 days;
14	
15	(D) original representatives-21 days;
16	
17	(E) renewed representatives21 days;
18	
19	(F) school directors and instructors (approval contingent on issuance of school's
20	approval) 40 days; and
21	
22	(G) school directors and instructors (approval not contingent on issuance of school's
23	approval) -55 days.
24	approvar) 55 days.
25	(2) The second period is the time from receipt of the last item necessary to complete
	the application to the date of issues as a first provided parties and applications and applications.
26	the application to the date of issuance of written notice approving or denying
27	approval of the application. The time periods for each application are:
28	
29	(A) original certificate of approval—40 days;
30	
31	(B) renewed certificate of approval-40 days;
32	
33	(C) change in ownership certificate of approval-40 days;
34	
35	(D) original representative (approval contingent upon issuance of school's approval)-
36	21 days;
37	
38	(E) original representative (approval not contingent upon issuance of school's
39	approval) -21 days;
40	
41	(F) renewed representative (approval contingent upon issuance of school's approval)
42	21 days;
43	
44	(G) school directors and instructors (approval contingent on issuance of school's
45	approval) -40 days; and
46	approvar) - 40 days, and
4 0	

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	
8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19	
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	
32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39	
40 41 42 43 44 45 46	

- (H) school directors and instructors (approval not contingent on issuance of school's approval) -55 days.
- (b) In the event the application is not processed in the time periods as stated in this section, the applicant has the right to request of the Commission full reimbursement of all filing fees paid in that particular application process. If the Commission does not agree that the established time periods have been violated or finds that good cause existed for exceeding the established periods, the request will be denied. Good cause for exceeding the period established is considered to exist if:
 - (1) the number of applications for certificates of approval, representatives, school directors, or instructors as appropriate to be processed exceeds by 15% or more the number processed in the same calendar quarter of the preceding year;
 - (2) another public or private entity utilized in the application process caused the delay; or
 - (3) other conditions exist that give good cause for exceeding the established periods.
- (c) If the request for full reimbursement authorized in this section is denied, the applicant may then request a hearing by appealing to the Commission for a resolution of the dispute. The appeal will be processed in the same manner as other appeals involving schools pursuant to the Act.

§807.7. Exemptions.

- (a) A school seeking an exemption must may apply for approval to the Agency Commission for an exemption under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Act Texas Education Code.
- (b) The Commission shall grant the requested exemption if the Commission determines that the school meets the requirements for an exemption under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
- (c) The Commission may deny or revoke an exemption in the same manner as a denial or revocation of a certificate of approval, if the Commission determines that the school does not meet the requirements for the exemption under §132.002 or §132.003 of the Texas Education Code.
- (b)(d) A school may appeal the denial or revocation of an exemption in accordance with the provisions of Subchapter D of the Act Texas Education Code.
- (c) Schools shall be required to provide documentation and additional information, as requested by the Agency, to facilitate the determination of whether a school meets

1 2 3	the requirements of an exemption set out in the Act. All requests for exemption must provide:
4 5 6	(1) the school's legal name, physical address, telephone number, and website, if applicable, along with the name and phone number of the ownership and owner partners; and
7 8	(2) the name, objective, length, and cost of the course(s) offered.
9 10 (4	e) A school applying for an exemption from the provisions of Texas Education Code
11	§132.002(a)(6) must provide evidence that:
12 13 14 15 16	(1) the school has a certificate of authorization from the Coordinating Board to grant baccalaureate or higher-level degrees or a letter from the Coordinating Board indicating that Coordinating Board approval is not required;
17 18 19 20	(2) the school is accredited by a Coordinating Board—recognized accrediting body;
21 22 23	(3) the school is in good standing with the designated accrediting body and not subject to:
24	(A) probation;
25 26 27 28	(B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked; or
29 30 31	(C) any other action that, as defined by the accrediting agency, will prevent the school from seeking approval of its degree programs; and
32 33 34 35	(4) at least a simple majority (51 percent) of credits earned in the educational programs of the school are transferable to educational programs that are:
36 37 38	(A) at an equivalent or higher academic level (e.g., baccalaureate to baccalaureate or higher);
39 40 41	(B) at a junior college, college, or university supported entirely or partly by taxation from a local or state source; and
42 43 44	(C) within the same local/regional service area as the offered program, as determined by the Agency.

§807.8. Confidentiality of Information.

1 2

8 9

10 11

12 13 14

15 16 17

18

19 20 21

23 24

22

29 30

31

32 33 34

35 36 37

> 38 39

40 41 42

43 44 All student-specific information obtained from or about any school by the Agency, including, but not limited to, data submitted under §807.284(a) of this chapter, is confidential information and not releasable, and is not public information under Texas Government Code, Chapter 552, but may be compiled and reported to the public at a summary level of information that does not include the personally identifiable information of any student or allow for the identification of any student through combination with other publicly publically available information.

SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATES OF APPROVAL

§807.11. Original Approvals.

- (a) A complete application for an original certificate of approval shall consist of the following:
 - a completed application form provided by the Agency Commission; (1)
 - (2) complete and correct financial statements, as specified in this chapter, demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its commitments for training;
 - (3) the application fee as specified in this chapter; and
 - any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for (4) approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the Agency Commission.
- (b) Schools shall fully satisfy the Agency application requirements within 90 days of receipt of the original application, or else the application may be considered withdrawn.
- (c) If a school fails to respond to a request for additional information within 21days, the Agency Commission may withdraw the application.
- (d) To reapply, a school shall submit:
 - (1) a complete application as required in subsection (a) of this section, including applicable fees; and
 - an affidavit stating that the school will not reopen until it has been issued a (2) Certificate of Approval.

1 §807.12. Renewal. 2 3 (a) For small schools holding a multiyear certificate, the certificate of approval shall be 4 renewed at least every three years, or more frequently as determined by the 5 Agency Commission. A complete application for renewal of a certificate of approval 6 shall consist of the following: 7 8 complete and correct annual financial statements, as specified in this chapter, (1) 9 demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its 10 commitments for training; 11 12 the renewal fee and the fee for the tuition trust account, if applicable, specified (2) 13 in this chapter; and 14 15 any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for (3) approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the 16 17 Agency Commission. 18 19 (b) For all other schools, the certificate of approval shall be renewed annually. A 20 complete application for renewal of a certificate of approval shall consist of the 21 following: 22 23 a completed application for renewal form provided by the (1) 24 Agency Commission; 25 26 complete and correct annual financial statements for the most recent fiscal year (2) 27 demonstrating the school is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its 28 commitments for training; 29 30 the renewal fee and the fee for the tuition trust account, if applicable, specified (3) 31 by this chapter; and 32 33 (4) any other revisions or evidence necessary to bring the school's application for 34 approval to a current and accurate status as requested by the 35 Agency Commission.

36 37 38

39

40

(c) The effective, expiration, and issuance dates are indicated on the certificate of approval. The <u>AgencyCommission</u> may reflect the date of renewal as the date following the date of expiration of the prior certificate of approval, if the school submitted a timely request for renewal and met all of the requirements contained in this chapter for renewal.

41 42 43

(d) The complete renewal application shall be postmarked on or before the due date as indicated in the Act.

1 §807.13. Change in ownership. 2 3 (a) The Agency Commission may consider the addition or deletion of any person defined 4 as an owner under the Act as a change in school ownership. The school may notify 5 the Agency Commission of the change in ownership a minimum of 45 days before 6 the change in ownership to request that the Agency Commission in lieu of a full 7 application accept a partial application. 8 9 (b) The Agency Commission may require submission of a full application for approval 10 for a change in ownership if: 11 12 the Agency Commission has a reasonable basis to believe the change in (1) 13 ownership of the school may significantly affect the school's continued ability 14 to meet the criteria for approval; or 15 16 (2) the school fails to file notice of the change of ownership at least 45 days prior 17 to the ownership transfer. 18 19 (c) The Agency Commission may require a partial application for approval for a change 20 in ownership if the Agency Commission reasonably believes the change in ownership 21 will not significantly affect the school's continued ability to meet the criteria for 22 approval. 23 24 (d) The purchaser of a school shall accept responsibility for all refund liabilities. 25 26 (e) Management Agreements must be disclosed to the Agency Commission. Parties to a 27 management agreement shall be of good reputation and character. 28 29 §807.14. Locations. 30 31 (a) A school shall obtain a certificate of approval for each location where courses of 32 instruction will be offered, unless the school has a certificate of approval and meets 33 one of the exceptions in this section. 34 35 (b) The Agency Commission may approve the following as exempt from applying for 36 approval for a new or additional location, if requested at least 30 days in advance: 37 38 seminars, including preparation for licensing examinations, educational (1) 39 institution entrance examinations, and reading improvement; 40 41 (2) classes in no more than one location at a time as an itinerant school; 42

and student services; or

classes at facilities used for additional classrooms for instructional services

dependent on the main campus for administration, supervision, fiscal control,

only, which are within a one-mile radius of the main campus and are

43

44

45

- (3)(4) short-term programs. Short term programs:
 - (A) include course time of 200 hours or less of instruction; and
 - (B) are conducted with at least a 90-day interval between cessation of one program and the beginning of the next.
- (c) The school shall file an application for a certificate of approval to reflect a new or additional location, including all documents deemed necessary by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, and the appropriate fee. The <u>Agency Commission</u> may issue the certificate of approval after inspection of the new facilities.
- (d) If the <u>AgencyCommission</u> determines that a move of the school presents an unreasonable transportation hardship which would prevent a student from completing the training at the new location, the school shall provide a full refund of all monies paid and a release from all obligations to the student.

§807.15. Notification of Actions.

- (a) Unless otherwise instructed by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, a school shall notify the <u>Agency Commission</u> in writing of any legal action to which the school, any of its owners, representatives, or management employees is a party.
- (b) A school shall notify the <u>Agency Commission</u> in writing of any legal action described in this section no later than five business days after the action is known to be filed or the school, owner, representative, or management employee is served.
- (c) An owner shall notify the Agency in writing no later than five business days of each instance of:
 - (1) lease or mortgage default; or
 - (2) lease or mortgage payment(s) being past due greater than 30 days.
- (d)(e) A school shall include, with the notice required in this section, a file-marked copy of the <u>legal notice</u>, petition, complaint, or other legal instrument, including copies of any judgments.
- (e)(d) A school shall notify the Agency Commission in writing no later than five business days after receiving notice of any change in accreditation status or Title IV status, including but not limited to, Heightened Cash Monitoring 1 or 2, loss of eligibility, composite score, 90/10 ratio or default rate problems, or other similar changes.

1	§807.16. Degrees.
2	
3 4	(a) For approval to grant degrees, the school shall make application to the Coordinating Board.
5	Board.
6	(b) The Agency Commission may recognize the approval to grant degrees upon receipt
7	of notice issued by the Coordinating Board and. Additional notice by the school's
8	accreditor also may be required.
9	
10	§807.17. Unlicensed Schools.
11	
12	If a career school or college, as defined in the Act, operates, solicits, or enrolls students,
13	or conducts any course of instruction before receiving a certificate of approval or an
14 15	exemption from the Agency, the Agency may take one or more of the following actions:
16	(1) assess a penalty;
17	(1) assess a penarty,
18	(2) require full refunds to all students; or
19	
20	(3) issue a cease and desist order.
21	
21 22 23	SUBCHAPTER C. FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS
	\$907.21 Definitions Deleting to Financial Dequipments
24 25	§807.31. Definitions Relating to Financial Requirements.
25 26	The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following
27	meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
28	, and the second
29	(1) Attest servicesAn audit, review, compilation, or other assurance engagemen
30	that must be performed in accordance with standards promulgated by the
31	American Institute of Certified Public Accountants or other Commission-
32	recognized accountancy organization.
33 34	(2)(1) GAAPGenerally Accepted Accounting Principles.
3 4 35	(2)(1) GAAPGenerally Accepted Accounting Principles.
36	(3)(2) GAASGenerally Accepted Auditing Standards.
37	(2) Civil Societary Proopted Plantage
38	(4)(3) Sworn statementA notarized statement including the following language:
39	"I swear or affirm that the information in these statements is true and correct t
40	the best of my knowledge."
41	
42	(5)(4) Unearned tuition affidavitA statement of the highest amount of unearned
43 44	tuition at any time during the most recent fiscal year, the projected highest
44 45	unearned tuition at any time during the next fiscal year, and the gross amount minus refunds of student tuition and fees earned during the fiscal year in all
45 46	courses programs approved under the Act.
r U	coursesprograms approved under the Act.

§807.32. Financial Standards.

- (a) The balance sheet required in this subchapter shall, at a minimum, reflect the following:
 - (1) positive equity or net worth balance;
 - (2) unearned tuition as a current liability;
 - (2)(3) a current ratio of at least one-to-one; and
 - (3)(4) stockholder's equity or net worth exceeding the amount shown for goodwill, if applicable, under assets in the balance sheet.
- (b) <u>All financial statements Compilations</u> shall be accompanied by the <u>unearned tuition</u> <u>affidavit and owner's sworn statement certifying that the unearned tuition affidavit and financial statements are true and correct.</u>
- (c) All financial statements shall identify the name, license number, and licensing state of the accountant associated with the statements and be prepared in accordance with GAAP.
- (d) All financial statement attest services shall be completed in accordance with GAAS, or other standards promulgated by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, as applicable, and comply with jurisdictional laws.
- (e)(d) A school that maintains a financial responsibility composite score that meets the general standards established in federal regulations by the <u>United States U.S.</u>

 Department of Education for postsecondary institutions participating in student financial assistance programs authorized under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, shall be considered to have met the financial standards of this subchapter. A school that qualifies under an alternative standard but not the general standard of these federal regulations will not be considered to have met the financial standards of this subchapter unless the school meets the other requirements stated in this subchapter.

§807.33. Financial Requirements for Original Approvals.

- (a) The prospective owner shall furnish the Agency Commission with the following:
 - (1) for a school owned by a sole proprietor, a reviewed personal balance sheet with notes that disclose the amount of payments for the next five years to meet debt agreements as required by GAAP; or

1 2		(2) for all other ownership structures, an audited balance sheet consistent with GAAP and GAAS and certified by an accountant.
3 4 5 6 7 8 9	(b)	The school shall submit a balance sheet, a list of the expected school-related expenses for the first three <u>full calendar</u> months of operation of the school, and a sworn statement signed by the owner affirming the availability of sufficient cash to cover projected expenses at the date of licensure. A school currently operating, or proposing to operate, on a reimbursement contract basis may request a waiver of this section from the Commission. Projected expenses may include the following:
10 11 12 13		(1) employee salaries, listed by position title, including withholding, unemployment taxes, and any other related expenses;
14 15		(2) lease payments for equipment listed by the name of the equipment;
16 17		(3) lease payments for facilities;
17 18 19		(4) accounting, legal, and other specifically identified professional fees; and
20 21 22 23		(5) an estimate of other expenses such as advertising, travel, textbooks, office supplies, classroom supplies, printing, telephone, utilities, taxes, and sales commissions.
24 25 26	(c)	The school shall submit a projection of the gross amount of tuition and fees to be collected during each of the first two years of operation.
27 28 29	(d)	The prospective owner shall also furnish such other evidence as may be deemed appropriate by the <u>Agency Commission</u> to establish financial stability.
30 31	§807.3 4	4. Financial Requirements for Changes in Ownership.
32 33 34 35 36	Age for o	or to a change in ownership of a school, the purchaser shall furnish the ency Commission a balance sheet meeting the requirements outlined in this subchapter original approvals, excluding the sufficient cash requirement for initial expenses. The chaser shall furnish any other evidence deemed appropriate by the ency Commission to establish financial stability.
37 38	§807.35	5. Financial Requirements for Annual Reporting Renewal.
39 40 41 42	(a)	A school shall submit annual financial statements as set forth in this section that shall be:
43 44		(1) audited by an accountant and consistent with GAAP;
45 46		(2) reviewed by an accountant and consistent with GAAP (except for the first renewal, which must be audited or compiled); or

- (3) compiled by an accountant, containing an unearned tuition affidavit and at least one note disclosing the current and long-term liabilities. This note shall be similar to that required by GAAP for reviewed and audited statements.

 Compiled statements are acceptable under the following conditions:
 - (A) the gross annual revenue from student tuition and fees, less refunds, is less than or equal to \$100,000; or;
 - (B) the <u>programs</u>eourses of instruction are less than <u>30 consecutive calendar</u> daysone month in length.
- (b) Each school shall furnish <u>true and correct</u> financial statements <u>in association with an accountant</u> annually and not later than 180 days from the close of the school's fiscal year. These statements shall include the following:
 - (1) balance sheet;
 - (2) statement of results of operation, which includes a statement of income and retained earnings;
 - (3) statement of cash flows; and
 - (4) the gross amount minus refunds of annual student tuition and fees for each school, separated from other revenues unrelated to training.
- (c) A school with a gross annual revenue from student tuition and fees, less refunds, less than or equal to \$100,000 may submit all of the following in lieu of the financial statements required in this section:
 - (1) an unearned tuition affidavit;
 - (2) a copy of the annual <u>federal</u> income tax <u>form(s)</u> form filed specifically for the business; and
 - (3) an owner's sworn statement certifying that the unearned tuition affidavit and the copy of the annual <u>federal</u> income tax <u>form(s)form</u> are true and correct.
- (d) A school that is a subsidiary of a corporation may submit, in lieu of the statements required in this section, the annual audited financial statements of the parent corporation provided that:
 - (1) said statements are accompanied by an audited list of any student tuition refunds payable by the subsidiary school at the close of its fiscal year. The statements shall also be accompanied by an owner's sworn statement reflecting

1	
2	
2	
3	
4	
5	
5	
6	
7	
0	
8	
9	
10	
11	
11	
12	
13	
1.4	
14	
15	
16	
10	
$\Gamma /$	
18	
10	
17	
20	
21	
22	
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30	
23	
24	
25	
23 2	
26	
27	
20	
28	
29	
30	
21	
31 32	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	

- the gross amount minus refunds of student tuition and fees earned during the fiscal year on all programs approved under the Act; and
- (2) the parent corporation ensures that each student enrolled in the subsidiary school receives either the training agreed upon or a refund as provided in the Act, and submits either a certified resolution of its board of directors to this effect or any other evidence as deemed appropriate by the Agency Commission to establish financial responsibility by the parent corporation.
- (e) A school or college that fails Failure of a career school or college to provide financial statements that comply with the requirements in this section and the standards identified in §807.32 of this subchapter, and requirements in this section within 60 days of the date that they receive notice of any deficiencies, may have their certificate of approval revokednotice by the Agency, that the financial statements previously submitted do not comply, may result in revocation of its certificate of approval.

§807.37. Agency-Commission-Ordered Audits.

If the <u>Agency Commission</u> determines that reasonable cause exists to question the validity of any financial information submitted, or the financial stability of the school, the <u>Agency Commission</u> may <u>orderrequire</u> at the school's expense:

- (1) an audit of a <u>school's financial statements in accordance with this subchapter;</u> and <u>school that has been certified by an accountant; or</u>
- (2) the owner to furnish any other evidence deemed appropriate by the Agency Commission to establish financial stability. Failure of a career school or college to provide compliant financial statements or other evidence required by the Agency, by the date noted in such order, may result in revocation of its certificate of approval.

SUBCHAPTER D. REPRESENTATIVES

§807.51. Representative Requirements.

- (a) All school personnel soliciting or enrolling students must be registered as a representative. This registration requirement does not apply to individuals owning and operating a school in the capacity as a sole proprietor, joint venturer, or general partner, due to their direct nature of ownership.
- (b)(a) The school shall apply annually to register representatives on forms provided by the Agency and with the appropriate fee.
- (c)(b) A representative shall be of good reputation and under the control of the school and is deemed to be the agent of the school. The school is responsible for any

		I
		2
		3
		4
ı		5
		ر
		6
		7
		8
		9
ı	1	9 0
	1	1
	1	1
	1	2
	1	3
	1	3 4
	1	5
	1	6
	1	7
ı	1	/
	1	8
	1	/ 8 9 0
	2	0
	2	1
	2	っ
	2	3
	2	3
	2	4
	2	5
	2	6
	~ つ	7
	2	0
	2 2 2 3 3 3	8
	2	9
	3	0
	3	1
	3	2
ı	3	2
	2	ر 1
i		4
	3	5
	3	6
	3	7
	3	8
	2	9
	<i>3</i>	ブハ
	4	U
	4	
	4	2
	4	3
•	4	4
	4	5
	4	J

representations or misrepresentations, expressed or implied, made by a representative.

- (d)(c) Any student solicited or enrolled by an unregistered representative is entitled to a refund of all monies paid and a release from all obligations to the school. Any contract signed by a prospective student as a result of solicitation or enrollment by an unregistered representative is null and void and unenforceable.
- (e)(d) Representatives shall participate in training approved by the Agency that covers the Act and Commission rules relative to representatives, admissions, advertising, and any other topics as required by the Agency to support the legal and ethical solicitation and enrollment of students.

§807.53. Representative Limitations.

- (a) The representative shall not begin solicitation of students until the school receives notice of approval for the school and registration of the representative from the Agency Commission.
- (b) Employees and other agents of recruiting firms shall not serve as representatives.
- (c) A representative shall not:
 - (1) solicit in public places other than educational settings, job fairs, or organized meetings;
 - (1)(2) offer as an inducement or enticement any material consideration to a prospective student prior to enrollment, such as cash, food, housing, or gifts;
 - (2)(3) administer the entrance test;
 - (3)(4) advise students about financial aid, other than informing the students of the general availability of financial aid;
 - (4)(5) give false, misleading, or deceptive information about any aspect of the school's operation, <u>courses</u>, programs, completion or employment rates, examination success rates, job placement, or salary potential;
 - (5)(6) concurrently solicit for or represent more than one school, unless the owner of each school being represented is informed that the representative is also soliciting for or representing other schools;
 - (6)(7) engage in acts or practices that have a tendency to intimidate, coerce, or mislead a prospective student into accepting an enrollment;

- (7)(8) represent that a school, course, or program has sponsorship, credentials, approval, characteristics, credit transferability, uses, benefits, or qualities that it does not have;
- (8)(9) discredit another school or its <u>courses or programs</u> by false or misleading representation of facts;
- (9)(10) solicit enrollments in a <u>course or program</u> that has not been approved by the Agency Commission;
- (10)(11) solicit students for a school through an employment agency; or
- (11) omit advising students on the school's policies and procedures regarding granting of credit; or
- (12) violate any legal requirement or prohibition contained in the Act or this chapter.

§807.54. Representative Compliance.

The Agency may hold representatives liable for violations of statute, Commission rules, policies, and procedures notwithstanding §807.51(c)§807.51(b) of this subchapter. Violations may result in sanctions up to and including revocation of approval to serve as a representative in Texas, in accordance with the matrix in this section.below:

Figure: 40 TAC §807.54

GRADI	GRADUATED CORRECTIVE ACTIONS		
	Sanction to Representative (to serve as a representative in a school licensed in Texas)		
Initial Violation	Conditional registration and retraining		
Multiple Violations	Suspension of registration and retraining		
Repeat Violation	Revocation or denial of registration		
Felony Conviction	Denial, suspension, or revocation of registration		
	VIOLATIONS		
Representative Approval			
Soliciting or enrolling student	s without registration as a representative		
Failure to provide required or application	accurate information in the representative registration		
Soliciting or enrolling students for multiple schools, without agreement of all school owners			
Soliciting or enrolling students without taking required training			
Representative Behavior			
Misrepresentation of the school	ol's courses or programs		

Providing incomplete or inaccurate information about the school (such as employment outcomes, extent of transferability of credits)

Discrediting other schools

Soliciting students in disallowed locations

Soliciting or enrolling students into unapproved courses or programs

Soliciting students in disallowed locations

Soliciting or enrolling students into unapproved courses or programs

Offering students financial inducements to enroll

Coercing students to enroll

Administering entrance tests

Advising students on financial aid

Soliciting as, or on behalf of, an employment agency

Failing to invite students to tour the school's facility and inspect the equipment

Omitting advising students on the school's policies and procedures regarding granting of credit

Violating any other provision of statute or rule relating to career schools and colleges

SUBCHAPTER E. SCHOOL DIRECTOR AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

§807.62. School Director Qualifications and Duties.

- (a) A school director shall be of good reputation. A school director of a small school must have at minimum one year of administration or management experience. A school director of other than a small school must have at minimum five years of administration or management experience or at least two years of experience as a director of a career school or college. An equivalent duration of higher education, college or university, may be substituted, year for year, for administration or management experience.
- (a) A school director of a small school shall have administrative or management experience and shall be of good reputation.
- (b) A school director of other than a small school shall be of good reputation and have a total of five years of administrative or management experience. An equivalent duration of higher education, college or university, may be substituted for each year of experience.
- (b)(c) The school shall obtain <u>AgencyCommission</u> approval for the school director before employment of the school director.
- (c)(d) The school director is responsible for the courses of instruction, organization of classes, designation of a liaison for <u>Agency Commission</u> compliance visits, maintenance of the school facilities and proper administrative records, and all other matters related to the administration of the school, as determined by the <u>Agency Commission</u>.

5 6

4

13 14 15

16

12

17 18 19

20

212223

24

25262728

1	(d)(e) The Agency Commission may require the school director to attend additional		
2 3	training to continue approved director status if a school has more than one substantiated complaint from students during a one-year period. If the school has		
4	repeat violations from a previous year under the same director, the		
5	Agency Commission may revoke the approval of the school director.		
6	() () TI		
7 8	(e)(f) The school director shall:		
9	(1) ensure that all facilities, including housing endorsed by the school, comply		
10	with local, city, county, municipal, state, and federal regulations such as, but		
11	not limited to, fire, building, and sanitation codes; and		
12 13	(2) inspect facilities, including housing, before endorsement.		
14	(2) mopest resinces, mereanig nearing, cereic endorsement		
15	§807.63. Acting School Director.		
16 17	(a) The Agency Commission may allow a school to designate an acting school director		
18	for a period not to exceed 90 days or as otherwise approved by the		
19	Agency Commission, who is:		
20			
21 22	(1) a currently approved school director at another location with the same owner to facilitate the approval process at a new location;		
23	racinate the approval process at a new rotation,		
24	(2) a new school director pending approval by the <u>Agency Commission</u> ; or		
25 26	(3) required by an emergency as determined by the <u>AgencyCommission</u> .		
27 28	(b) The school shall provide written notice to the Agency Commission, delivered by the		
29	end of the first day following the appointment of the acting school director.		
30			
31	§807.64. Director of Education Requirements.		
32 33	(a) A school may have a director of education.		
34			
35	(b) If the school employs a director of education, the director shall meet the same		
36 37	qualifications as an instructor and, in addition, shall have:		
38	(1) one year of employment as a postsecondary instructor;		
39			
40	(2) one year of <u>supervisory</u> employment <u>experience</u> as a <u>supervisor</u> ; and		
41 42	(3) a bachelor's degree, appropriate for the skills required, as determined by the		
43	Agency Commission.		
44			
45 46	§807.66. Director of Admissions Requirements.		
TU			

1 2 3	(a)	direc	tor of	hay have a director of admissions. An individual employed by a school as a admissions prior to the effective date of this section is not subject to (1) and §807.66(b)(2).
4 5 6	(b)	If the	e scho	ol employs a director of admissions, the director shall be of good and, in addition, shall have:
7 8 9		(1)		year of management or <u>administration</u> administrative experience; and
10 11		(2)	one y	year of admissions experience.
12	SUBCHA	PTER	F. IN	ISTRUCTORS
13 14	§807.8	1. Ins	tructo	or Qualifications.
15 16 17 18	(a)	same	or sir	ctor shall be of good reputation and shall not be a current student in the milar course of instruction, as determined by the Agency, in which the teaches.
19 20 21 22 23 24	(b)	Instructors shall possess and affirm on forms provided by the Agency that the instructor has one of the following qualifications that applies to the <u>subject</u> eourse area to be taught. In such cases where the practical experience is gained on a seasonal basis as an industry standard, the season of at least three <u>full calendar</u> months of experience shall be considered as one year of experience.		
25 26		(1)	The	instructor has a master's degree or higher that:
27 28 29			(A)	includes satisfactory completion of six semester credit hours or eight quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u> elass to be taught;
30 31 32 33 34 35			(B)	includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u> eourse area and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u> elass to be taught is in a technical field;
36 37 38 39 40			(C)	includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours, or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subjecteourse</u> area to be taught, if the <u>subjectelass</u> to be taught is in a <u>nontechnical</u> non-technical field; or
41 42 43 44			(D)	is supplemented by one year of related practical experience in the <u>subject</u> elass to be taught within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u> elass to be taught is in a <u>nontechnical</u> field.
45 46		(2)	The	instructor has a bachelor's degree that:

- (A) includes satisfactory completion of nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours related to the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught;
- (B) includes satisfactory completion of six semester credit hours or eight quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u>elass to be taught is in a technical field;
- (C) includes satisfactory completion of three semester credit hours or four quarter credit hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area and one year of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school, if the <u>subject</u>elass to be taught is in a <u>nontechnical</u> field; or
- (D) is supplemented by two years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (3) The instructor has an associate associate's degree that:
 - (A) includes satisfactory completion of nine semester credit hours or 12 quarter hours in the <u>subject</u>eourse area to be taught and two years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school; or
 - (B) is supplemented by three years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (4) The instructor has a secondary education that includes a certificate of completion from a recognized postsecondary school for a program with course time of at least 900 hours in a relevant course area and four years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school; or
- (5) The instructor has proof of satisfactory completion of secondary education and five years of related practical experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
- (c) In addition to the other applicable requirements for instructors, including the good reputation requirement, the following qualifications apply to the specific instructors listed in this subsection.
 - (1) The <u>Agency Commission</u> requires that a court reporting instructor of only machine shorthand theory and speedbuilding shall have:

1 2 3		(A)	an <u>associateassociate's</u> degree or higher and certificate of completion of machine shorthand theory requirements in an accredited court reporting program;
4 5 6		(B)	an <u>associate</u> degree in court reporting from any state-recognized school;
7 8 9		(C)	a Registered Professional Reporter or Certified Shorthand Reporter certification from any state; or
10 11 12		(D)	a certificate of completion of a court reporting program from a state- certified school.
13 14 15	(2)	· ·	gency Commission requires that a court procedures and technology uctor shall have:
16 17 18		(A)	a Registered Professional Reporter or Certified Shorthand Reporter certification; and
19 20 21		(B)	one year of court reporting experience.
22 23 24	(3)		<u>seency</u> requires that a modeling instructor shall have, at a mum:
25 26 27 28		(A)	a secondary education and certificate of completion from a modeling program of at least 45 hours of course time from a state recognized school and at least five verifiable paid modeling jobs completed within the past five years; or
29 30 31		(B)	a secondary education and at least ten verifiable paid modeling jobs completed within the past five years.
32 33 34	(4)		Agency Commission requires that a truck driving instructor shall have, at a mum:
35 36 37		(A)	a secondary education;
38 39 40		(B)	certified proof of successful completion of course time of 40 hours in safety education and driver training as required by this chapter; and
41 42 43		(C)	three years of full-time tractor trailer driving experience within the ten years immediately preceding employment by the school.
44 45 46	(5)	by th	Agency Commission requires that a bartending instructor shall be certified the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission as having completed the ired seller training program.

- (d) The director shall ensure that an instructor applicant demonstrates sufficient language proficiency to teach the class for which the instructor is applying to teach.
- (e) For those instructors who return to the school prior to one full year of absence, and who will be teaching the same <u>subjects</u> as previously approved, the school shall document the leave and reinstatement dates in the instructor's personnel file. When an instructor begins teaching new <u>subjects</u> or the absence was more than one year, the school shall submit a new application to the Agency Commission.

§807.82. Temporary Instructors.

- (a) The Agency may allow a school to use a previously unapproved instructor to teach temporarily for a <u>period not to exceed 90 days</u> reasonable amount of time in the case of an emergency, as determined by the Agency.
- (b) In such circumstances, the school shall provide written notice to the Agency delivered no later than the first day the temporary instructor begins teaching. The notice shall include:
 - (1) the <u>subject(s)</u> elass to be taught;
 - (2) the name of the approved instructor;
 - (2) the name of the temporary instructor; and
 - (3)(4) the reason for the temporary instructor; and
 - (4) any other information as required by the Agency.
- (c) Failure to properly notify the Agency shall result in sanctions for the use of an unapproved instructor.
- (c)(d) The temporary instructor shall have <u>sufficient</u> practical experience or education in the <u>subject</u> area to be taught, and shall not have been previously disapproved to teach the class.
- (d)(e) There shall be no more than one temporary instructor per <u>academic termgrading</u> period in an individual <u>subject</u>elass, unless specifically approved in advance by the Agency.
- (e)(f) Failure to comply with this section <u>mayshall</u> result in sanctions, a full refund to all students attending such classes, or both.

§807.83. Instructor Application.

- (a) A school that has been licensed for at least one year and is accredited by an agency recognized by the <u>United States U. S.</u> Secretary of Education is not required to submit instructor applications to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for approval. Documentation that the instructor meets the requirements of this chapter must be kept on file at the school and available for review immediately upon request.
- (b) The school shall file an application for approval of an instructor on forms provided by the <u>Agency Commission</u> in accordance with the following criteria and ensure that the instructor is of good reputation.
 - (1) The application shall be postmarked within five calendar days of employment as an instructor subject to the conditions outlined in this subchapter. A school may employ an instructor pending approval by the Agency Commission.
 - (2) Depending upon the qualifications indicated on the application, the application shall include one or more of the following:
 - (A) a legible copy of the postsecondary certificate or degree, or a transcript indicating appropriate coursework completed, as applicable;
 - (B) proof of a current occupational license; and
 - (C) proof of secondary education.
- (c) A school with degree programs shall ensure that instructors are of good reputation and meet all the qualifications required by the Coordinating Board.
- (d) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve a variance from the specific qualifications contained in §807.81 of this subchapter with sufficient justification and an assurance that the program quality will not be lessened.
- (e) The <u>AgencyCommission</u> may consider current approvals of instructors by other Texas state agencies responsible for approval and regulation of the program, or any professional certifications held by the instructor when submitted with the <u>Agency'sCommission's</u> instructor application. The <u>AgencyCommission</u> will accept notification, in lieu of a new instructor application, for any instructor that has a current approval by the <u>AgencyCommission</u> to teach the same classes at other schools that have the same owners.
- (f) The Agency Commission may require the school director of an accredited school to file applications for instructors if there have been two substantiated complaints regarding instructors in the previous year, or if the school is unable to produce, when requested, documentation that all instructors meet the requirements of this subchapter.

(g) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may require a school director to submit and receive approvals for instructor applications in advance of employing the instructors for a period of one year if the school has had three instructor applications finally disapproved within the previous two years.

§807.84. School Responsibilities Regarding Instructors.

- (a) The school shall ensure that an appropriate number of instructors, as determined by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>, have proper licensure or certificates required for the stated occupation's objective. The holder of the license or certificate shall actively participate in <u>courseprogram</u> development and revisions.
- (b) The school shall ensure continuity of instruction through reasonable retention of instructors to provide students with a quality education.
- (c) The school director or director of education shall formally evaluate each instructor in writing at least annually, subject to review by the <u>Agency Commission</u>.
- (d) The school director or director of education shall ensure that students are allowed the opportunity to formally evaluate each instructor, including temporary instructors, in writing at least annually and incorporate said evaluation in the instructor's overall evaluation. These student evaluations are subject to review by the Agency Commission.
- (e) The school shall ensure that classes are taught only by approved instructors. Failure to meet this requirement may entitle students to a refund and may subject the school to sanctions.

SUBCHAPTER G. STAFF EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

§807.101. Initial Training.

- (a) A school director shall complete the online training contained in the Director's Resource Guide or attend a Commission sponsored workshop and demonstrate a proficiency of the knowledge required to operate a school before final Agency Commission approval may be granted. The Commission may require a school director to retrain in order to maintain skills and continue as an approved school director.
- (b) The school shall provide in-service training within the first three <u>full calendar</u> months of teaching to those instructors hired lacking teaching experience. In-service training includes planned professional development opportunities that enable inexperienced instructors to learn and develop effective teaching strategies and skills. Topics shall include competency-based training, instructional methods, adult learning styles, and student learning and skills assessment. Competency-based training specifies the skills and skill levels required to complete a training program,

develops and organizes teaching and learning methods to enable students to achieve the identified skills and levels of proficiency, and uses criterion-referenced evaluation to measure achievement.

§807.102. Continuing Education.

- (a) Except for exempt providers as defined in the Act, providers shall submit an application for approval of continuing education training. In selecting approving continuing education training, the school Commission shall consider the factors set out in §132.0551 of the Act. A school's selection of a continuing education provider is subject to approval by the Agency.
- (b) If a continuing education training provider submits an application for approval prior to September 1, 2006, and the application and courses are approved, all training conducted on or after January 1, 2006, will be considered as approved continuing education if the training is determined by the Commission to be substantially similar to the application.
- (b)(c) The school shall implement, maintain, and update annually a written plan for staff development, which includes at a minimum, continuing education, staff meetings, attendance at trade and professional conferences, and observation of, or participation in, on-the-job activities.
- (c)(d) Each school director, full-time instructor, and director of admissions shall complete a minimum of six hours of course time of continuing education applicable to the position within 12 months of employment in the position and each calendar year thereafter.
- (d)(e) The school shall provide and document in-service training that provides updates on skills, knowledge, and technology required by business and industry for those instructors who have taught for two years; but have not gained relevant work experience during the two-year period.

SUBCHAPTER H. PROGRAMS COURSES OF INSTRUCTION

§807.121. Definitions Relating to Programs Courses of Instruction.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Externship--Practical, program-related, off-campus training under direct or indirect instructor supervision, with a preplanned outline of experiences and competencies. For purposes of determining whether a program is residence, distance education, or a hybrid combination, the externship component will not be a determining factor.

- (2) Laboratory experience <u>or lab</u>--A specific experience of observation, experimentation, practice, study, technical investigation, analysis, and practical application of theory or verbal instruction involving hands-on supervised study in a selected vocation or courseclass.
- (3) Lecture--A presentation of theories, concepts, procedures, or information about a particular <u>subject</u>elass.
- (4) New program--A program:
 - (A) not previously offered;
 - (B) previously offered and then discontinued;
 - (C) with a revised objective such that the program provides preparation for different jobs than those for which the program was originally approved (examples: legal secretary to paralegal; dental technician to medical technician; computer operator to computer programmer); or
 - (D) with a 25 percent or more change within a 12-month period to the total number of hours, content, or lessons (examples: course time from 1,000 hours to 750, 600 hours to 900, 20 lessons to 30, 60 semester credit hours to 80).
- (5) New seminar--A seminar:
 - (A) not previously offered;
 - (B) previously offered and then discontinued;
 - (C) with a revised objective; or
 - (D) with a 25 percent or more change in a 12-month period to the total number of hours of the approved seminar.
- (6) Revised program or seminar--Revisions include changes in admission requirements, title, class title, objective description (but not the detailed objective), class course time hours or credit hours, or class hours of lecture, laboratory, or externship. School calendars, class schedules, School calendar
- (7) Military service course credit directory--The Agency-published list of any course types, with Classification for Instructional Program Codes (CIP codes), that are identified by the Agency and the relevant military experience, education, or training that may align with those programs or courses.

<u>(a)</u>	Each program of instruction submitted for approval shall be identified by a title.
<u>(b)</u>	The Agency will not approve false, misleading, or deceptive titles.
<u>(c)</u>	The school shall ensure that each program prepares the student for the stated occupation.
<u>(d)</u>	The school shall identify a demonstrable occupational demand for the stated occupation. The Agency may consider the following in evaluating the school's statement of occupational demand:
	(1) publications of established relevant occupational associations;
	(2) targeted occupation lists of Local Workforce Development Boards, if approved by the Agency, or other local or state entities;
	(3) references to advertisements in media for employment;
	(4) occupation employment rate of students;
	(5) percentage of graduating students who have previously completed the same or a substantially similar program and who have obtained employment in the same or substantially similar stated occupation for which they have been trained;
	(6) relative supply and demand for the stated occupation, including letters from potential employers that describe their need for trained employees; or
	(7) reports or publications relating to the specific occupational demand.
<u>(e)</u>	The school shall:
	(1) ensure the program and stated occupation comply with statutory and regulatory requirements of the State of Texas, as well as codes adopted by the local municipality or other authority having jurisdiction where the school is located, and statutory and regulatory requirements of the location of the school, if it is located out of state.
	(2) provide competency-based programs;
	(3) assess skills using primarily performance-based methods;
	(4) use instructional media, methods, and materials appropriate for the program content and students' knowledge and abilities;

- (5) offer programs in a logical sequence of knowledge and skills;
- (6) if deemed appropriate by the Agency, provide an externship or a simulation of the workplace for the program; and
- (7) for any course listed in the military service course credit directory, provide credit to a student toward any course time required for the program of study or course for skills obtained by the student through military experience, education, or training, unless the school or college can demonstrate that those skills are not appropriately aligned with the program of study or course. This requirement prevails regardless of a course requiring Agency approval or having obtained accreditor approval.
- (f) Each program submitted for approval shall identify the courses and course time hours allocated to that program. A program of a disproportionate length reasonable to prepare the student for the stated occupation, as determined by the Agency, shall not be approved.
- (g)(a) A school shall not apply for approval of a program that is substantially similar to a discontinued or revoked program, unless the application for approval is submitted at least one year after the date of discontinuation or revocation, and:
 - (1) the school's approved programs are all meeting the employment rate as referenced in §807.131(b) of this subchapter, at the time of application; and
 - (2) the school submits a reimplementation plan to the Agency.
- (h)(b) A school is not required to submit applications for additional courses of instruction or for course revisions to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> for approval, if the school:
 - (1) has been licensed for at least one year under the current ownership;
 - (2) is accredited by an agency recognized by the <u>United States U.S.</u> Secretary of Education; and
 - (3) is in good standing with its designated accrediting agency and not subject to:
 - (A) probation;
 - (B) a directive to show cause as to why accreditation should not be revoked; or

1 2	(C) any other action, as defined by the accrediting agency, that would otherwise prevent the school from seeking approval to add or revise a
3 4	course of instruction.
5 6	(i)(e) Upon receipt of the approval of the course of instruction from the accrediting agency, the school shall provide a copy to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> .
7 8 9 10	(j)(d) The Agency Commission may require the school director of an accredited school to file applications for nondegree programs if there have been two substantiated complaints regarding courses programs in the previous year.
11 12 13 14	(k)(e) A school submitting applications for approval of seminars shall use abbreviated forms provided by the <u>Agency</u> Commission.
15 16 17 18	(I)(f) No class or program shall be approved by the Agency Commission unless the school demonstrates that the program's quality, content, and length reasonably and adequately imparts the job skills and knowledge necessary for the student to obtain employment in the stated occupation.
20 21 22 23 24 25	(m)(g) A school may not solicit students, otherwise advertise, or conduct classes for a course of instruction prior to the <u>Agency's Commission's</u> approval of the course of instruction. Any such activity by the school, prior to the <u>Agency's Commission's</u> approval of the course of instruction, shall constitute a misrepresentation by the school and shall entitle each student in the course of instruction to a full refund of all tuition and fees paid by the student and release from all obligations.
26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38	(n)(h) The school shall establish and maintain a formal advisory committee of at least five members, unless the Agency Commission approves a lesser number of persons in advance, for each type of program with course time in excess of 200 hours in length. A simple majority of the members of the advisory committee shall not have an ownership or financial interest in the school, nor shall they be employees of the school. At least annually, the committee shall evaluate the curriculum, instructional materials and media, equipment, and facilities to ensure they meet the needs of the job market. The school shall have written documentation of the evaluation available for review by the Agency Commission. If the school does not follow an advisory committee recommendation, the school shall maintain written documentation of the justification for not following the recommendation.
39 40 41	(o)(i) If the applicant requests approval to measure courses of instruction in credit hours, the following conversion table shall be used.
42 43	(1) One academic quarter credit hour equals a minimum course time of:
44 45 46	(A) 10 hours of classroom lecture;(B) 20 hours of laboratory experience; or
10	(D) 20 hours of involutory experience, or

- (b) Each class in the program shall teach the practical skills and knowledge required for employment in the stated occupation. The proportion of lecture, laboratory, and externship hours for each class and for the program shall be reasonable for the skills and knowledge to be learned for the stated occupation.
- (c) The Commission may use or validate existing skill standards or competencies, or develop statewide skill standards with the assistance of industry, schools, and other relevant entities as determined by the Commission.

§807.126. Curriculum Length.

- (a) Each class submitted for approval shall identify the course time or credit hours allocated to that class. A class or program that exceeds a length reasonable to prepare the student for the stated occupation shall not be approved.
- (b) The Commission may establish minimum and maximum program lengths for stated occupations consistent with the intent of the Act.

§807.127. Program Title.

- (a) Each program submitted for approval shall be identified by a title.
- (b) The title shall clearly identify the stated occupation and shall be a title commonly used by business or industry.
- (c) The Commission shall not approve false, misleading, or deceptive program titles.

§807.129. Facilities.

- (a) In determining adequate space for lecture and laboratory experiences, the <u>Agency Commission</u> shall consider that the amount of lecture and laboratory space meets the use requirements of the maximum number of current students in class with appropriate seating facilities and/or workstations, as needed by the activity patterns of the program.
- (b) Enrollment shall not exceed the design characteristics of the available <u>seating and/or</u> workstations.

§807.130. Admission Requirements Relating to Programs Courses of Instruction.

(a) The school shall submit, for approval by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, its admission requirements for each <u>programeourse</u> of instruction with justification for the requirements.

(b) The school shall ensure that the student demonstrates to the school sufficient proficiency in the language of instruction to successfully complete the programtraining course of instruction.

§807.131. School Responsibilities Relating to **Programs Courses** of Instruction.

- (a) As a condition of program approval or renewal, the school shall identify any portion of instruction that is self-paced, conducted by distance education, or not conducted in English.
- (b) To maintain program approval, the school shall demonstrate the following:
 - (1) a reasonable student completion rate, as determined by the Agency, for each program; and
 - (2) a minimum employment rate, as established by the Commission, for program graduates in jobs related to the stated occupation.
- (c) When a school is approved to offer a program, the school shall maintain sufficient instructors to teach all subjects for completing the program during the length of time stipulated in the school catalog, regardless of the size of the class.
- (d) The school shall schedule classes so that students will be able to complete the program during the length of time stipulated in the school catalog.
- (e) The school shall ensure that students receive the lecture and laboratory experience hours with sufficient instructors and scheduling. An instructor may not be simultaneously supervising a laboratory experience and a lecture even if they are in the same room.
- (f) A school shall provide course outlines to students at the beginning of each subject which lists students' performance objectives, references and resources, and a general content outline for the subject.
- (g) A school shall have and use lesson plans for all subjects.
- (h) A school may not use classes from one or more approved programs to create a new program and award a certificate of completion without prior approval.
- (i) The student-to-instructor ratio shall be sufficient for students to learn, practice, and demonstrate the necessary knowledge and skills. These ratios may be varied at the discretion of the <u>AgencyCommission</u> to conform to conditions in an individual school. The <u>recommendedfollowing</u> student-instructor <u>ratio per class does not exceedratios may be acceptable for single classes</u>:
 - (1) lectures business lecture or laboratory -- 30 to one;

- (2) technical, vocational, or allied health lecture--30 to one;
- (2)(3) <u>labstechnical lab (examples: computer programming, data processing, electronics)</u>--20 to one; and
- (4) vocational lab (examples: auto mechanics, air conditioning and refrigeration, drafting) 20 to one; and
- (3)(5) intensive language instruction (beginning)--15 to one; (intermediate to advanced)--20 to one.

§807.132. Program Course of Instruction Revisions.

- (a) The school shall submit a revised <u>programeourse</u> of instruction application for any proposed changes in the <u>programeourse</u> of instruction that shall be reflected in the school catalog's course of instruction information.
- (b) The school shall receive approval of proposed <u>programeourse</u> of instruction revisions in writing from the <u>Agency Commission</u> before implementing the revisions.
- (c) The school shall work closely with employers in its job market to ensure that the course of instruction meets employers' needs..

§807.133. Program Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

A school shall provide evidence to the <u>Agency Commission</u> that they are authorized by the Coordinating Board to offer degree programs.

§807.134. Sanctions Relating to Programs Courses of Instruction.

- (a) If an approved <u>programeourse</u> of instruction is discontinued for any reason, the <u>school shall notify the</u> Agency <u>shall be notified</u> within 72 hours of discontinuance and furnished with the names and addresses of any students who were prevented from completion of the <u>programeourse</u> of instruction due to discontinuance. Should the school fail to make arrangements satisfactory to the students and the Agency for the completion of the <u>programeourse</u> of instruction, the full amount of all tuition and fees paid by the students are then due and refundable. Any <u>programeourse</u> of instruction discontinued will be removed from the list of approved <u>programseourses</u> of instruction.
- (b) The Agency may suspend enrollments in a particular <u>programeourse</u> of instruction at any time the <u>AgencyCommission</u> finds cause. For purposes of this subsection, cause includes, but is not limited to:
 - (1) inadequate instruction;

- (2) unapproved or inadequate curriculum;
- (3) inadequate equipment; or
- (4) inadequate facilities.
- (c) If a school begins teaching a <u>program course</u> of instruction or revised <u>program course</u> of instruction that has not been approved by the Agency, the Agency may require the school to refund to the enrolled students all or a portion of the tuition fees.
- (d) If upon review and consideration of an original, renewal, or revised application for programeourse of instruction approval, the Agency determines that the applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Act or this chapter, the Agency willshall notify the school, setting forth in writing the reasons for the denial. This may include summaries of peer evaluations from both educators and employers offering similar programseourses of instruction.
- (e) The Agency may revoke approval of a school's <u>program</u> of instruction at any time the Agency finds cause. For purposes of this subsection, cause includes, but is not limited to:
 - (1) any statement contained in the application for the <u>program course</u> of instruction approval which is untrue;
 - (2) the school's failure to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or programseourses of instruction, or programseourse of instruction outcomes on the basis of which approval was issued;
 - (3) advertising made on behalf of the school which is false, misleading, or deceptive, including those that use the words commonly associated with a degree other than those approved by the Coordinating Board;
 - (4) <u>programs</u>courses of instruction without clearly stated limited transferability if there are no articulation agreements with other postsecondary institutions in the same geographic area;
 - (5) <u>programs</u> courses of instruction for which financial aid is advertised but is not available;
 - (6) repeated violations by the school that negatively impact the quality of a particular <u>programeourse</u> of instruction; or
 - (7) violations by the school of any applicable provision of the Act or this chapter.

1 2 3	(f) A school whose <u>programeourse</u> of instruction approval is denied or revoked shall have the right to appeal. The Agency will conduct hearings in accordance with Agency policies and procedures applicable to the appeal.
4 5	SUBCHAPTER I. APPLICATION FEES AND OTHER CHARGES
6	
7	§807.151. Fee Schedule.
8	
9 10	The Agency Commission shall collect fees according to the following schedule.
11	(1) The initial fee for a certificate of approval for a small school is \$1,001.
12	(1) The limital fee for a certificate of approval for a small school is \$1,001.
13	(2) The initial fee for any other school is \$3,000.
14	
15	(3) In the event of a change in ownership of the school, the new owner shall pay
16	the same fee as that charged for an initial fee for a school.
17	
18	(4) The initial registration fee for a representative is \$90.
19	(5) The second or intention and 1 for form and 1 for \$1.50 for \$1.
20 21	(5) The annual <u>registration</u> renewal fee for a representative is \$45.
22	(6) The fee for a change of name of the school or owner is \$150.
23	(b) The fee for a change of hame of the school of owner is \$130.
24	(7) The fee for a change of address of a school is \$270.
25	(1)
26	(8) The fee for a change in the name or address of a representative or a change of
27	the name or address of a school that causes the reissuance of the notice of
28	permitted representative is \$15.
29	
30	(8)(9) The application fee for a course of instruction that is an additional program
31	is \$225.
32	(0)(10) The application for form and divine all accounts of instruction that is remined
33 34	(9)(10) The application fee for <u>an additional</u> a course of instruction that is seminar program is \$35.
35	program is \$55.
36	(10)(11) The application fee for a school director, administrative staff member, or
37	instructor is \$20.
38	
39	(11)(12) The fee for an inspection of classroom facilities that are separate from the
40	main campus is \$375.
41	
42	(12)(13) The fee for an <u>on-site</u> investigation of a complaint against a school is \$600
43	if assessed.
44	2007 172 D
45	§807.152. Renewal Fees.

students.

(b) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may require a school to furnish proof to the <u>Agency Commission</u> of any of its advertising claims, when requested.

§807.172. Advertisement Method.

- (a) A school may advertise for prospective students under "instruction," "education," "training," or a similarly titled classification.
- (b) A school shall not be advertised under any "help wanted," "employment," or similar classification.
- (c) No school advertisements shall use the word "wanted," "help wanted," or "trainee," either in the headline or the body of the advertisement, nor shall any advertisement indicate, in any manner, that the school has or knows of employment of any nature available to prospective students; only "placement assistance," if offered, may be advertised.
- (d) A school shall not use terms to describe the significance of the approval that specify or connote greater approval. Terms that schools may not use to connote greater approval by the AgencyCommission include, but are not limited to, "accredited," "supervised," "endorsed," and "recommended." A school shall not use the words "guarantee," "guaranteed," or "free" unless approved in writing by the AgencyCommission.
- (e) Any advertisement that includes a reference to awarding of credit hours shall include the statement, "limited transferability." Where a school has an arrangement with a college or university to accept transfer hours, such information may be advertised, but any limitations shall be included in the advertisement.

§807.173. Advertisement Content and Monitoring.

- (a) Advertisement content shall include, and clearly indicate, the full and correct name of the school and its address, including city, as they appear on the certificate of approval.
- (b) Advertisements shall not include:
 - (1) statements that the school or its programs are accredited unless the accreditation is that of an agency recognized by the United States Department of Education;
 - (2) statements that the school or its courses of instruction have been approved unless the approval can be substantiated by an appropriate certificate of approval issued by an agency of the state or federal government; or

- (3) representation of the school as an employment agency under the same name, or a confusingly similar name, or at the same location of the school.
- (c) A school holding a franchise to offer specialized programs or classes not available to other schools shall not advertise such programs in such a manner as to diminish the value and scope of programs offered by other schools not holding such a franchise. Advertising of special classes or programs offered under a franchise shall be limited to the classes or programs offered.
- (d) A school shall not use endorsements, commendations, or recommendations by students in favor of a school except with the consent of the student and without any offer of financial or other material compensation. Endorsements shall bear the student's legal or professional name of the student. A school may abbreviate the student's name if requested by the student. The school shall maintain a written record of the endorsement, including the full legal name and contact information for the student, associated with any advertisements referenced in this section.
- (e) A school shall not use a photograph, cut, engraving, illustration or graphic in advertising in such a manner as to:
 - (1) convey a false impression of size, importance, or location of the school, equipment, or facilities associated with the school, or
 - (2) circumvent any of the requirements of this chapter regarding written or oral statements.
- (f) Every advertisement must clearly indicate that training is being offered, and shall not, either by actual statement, omission, or intimation, imply that prospective employees are being sought.
- (g) The Agency may order corrective action to counteract the effect of advertising in violation of the Act or this chapter, including:
 - (1) retraction by the school of such advertising claims published in the same manner as the claims themselves;
 - (2) a prohibition against the use of an automatic forwarding message; and
 - (3) submission of all advertisements to the Agency for pre-approval at least 30 days before proposed submission of the advertisements to the advertising medium.

§807.175. Catalog.

(a) The catalog shall include the following:

1 2	(1)	table of contents or index;
3	(2)	name and complete street address of the school;
4 5	(3)	volume number, date of publication, and effective dates;
6		
7 8	(4)	history of any accreditations or approvals, including statement of approval and regulation by the <u>Agency Commission</u> ;
9 10	(5)	description of space, facilities, and equipment;
11	(3)	description of space, facilities, and equipment,
12 13	(6)	list of all trustees, directors, officers of the corporation, and owners;
14 15	(7)	list of management staff and faculty, including education relating to the areas of instruction;
16		of instruction,
17	(8)	tuition, fees, other charges, and applicable scholarship terms;
18	(0)	tution, rees, other charges, and applicable scholarship terms,
19	(9)	school calendar;
20	(2)	School calchaur,
21	(10)	school hours of operation and class schedule, including the amount of time
22	(10)	allocated for breaks and mealtimes;
23		anotated for oreans and meanines,
24	(11)	policies regarding enrollment, including entrance requirements, previous
25	(11)	education credit, cancellation and refund, progress, attendance, leave of
26		absence, and conduct;
27		abblice, and conduct,
28	(12)	veterans administration refund policy as required by the United States
29	(12)	Department of Veterans Affairs, if applicable;
30		<u>soparment of voterano rittains</u> , if approacte,
31	(13)	description of programs courses of instruction, including the number of hours
32	(15)	of course time hours of a seminar, class or courseseminar topic, lecture, lab,
33		and externship, as well as credit hours in each class or course, if applicable;
34		
35	(14)	description of each subjectelass;
36	()	
37	(15)	description of the grading policy, including requirements for graduation;
38	()	
39	(16)	description of placement assistance, if available;
40	()	
41	(17)	statement of polices regarding grievances; and
42	(')	
43	(18)	a statement signed by the owner or director indicating that all of the
44	(-)	information contained in the catalog is true and correct.
45		
46	(b) Ans	courses classes defined as self-naced shall be noted as such in the catalog

- (c) In addition to the information contained in subsections (a) and (b) of this sectionabove, the catalog for a school that charges tuition and fees for a residence program or a synchronous distance education course based on more than one academic termperiod shall also include a complete description of the following:
 - (1) the number of periods of time and the course time scheduled in each termperiod;
 - (2) the amount of tuition charged for each termperiod;
 - (3) the type and amount of fees charged for each termperiod; and
 - (4) any other charges for each termperiod.
- (d) All changes to the catalog shall be disclosed to the Agency, using forms provided by the Agency. Failure to disclose changes <u>may</u> result in <u>penalties and</u> sanctions; <u>including refunds</u>.

§807.176. Advertisement Monitoring.

- (a) The Commission may order corrective action to counteract the effect of advertising in violation of the Act or rules, including:
 - (1) retraction by the school of such advertising claims published in the same manner as the claims themselves; and
 - (2) cancellation of telephone numbers without an automatic forwarding message.
- (b) As corrective action for violations of the Act or rules, the Commission may require schools to submit all advertisements to the Commission for pre-approval at least 30 days before proposed submission of the advertisements to the advertising medium.
- (c) Nothing in these guidelines shall prohibit release of information to students as required by a state or federal agency.

SUBCHAPTER K. ADMISSION

§807.191. General Information for Admission.

- (a) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve specific admission requirements for seminars and small schools.
- (b) <u>Programs Small schools with programs</u> with course time of 40 hours or less, individual class offerings, and seminars are not required to grant credit for previous

- education and training, unless the course type is listed in the military service course credit directory.
- (c) The school shall make appropriate adjustments to the program length and price based upon credit granted for previous education and training, where warranted.
- (d) For a school having specific term-beginning dates, a school may not start students after the third day of classes during any given term, except in those cases where appropriate credit for previous education and training has been given according to the Act and this chapter.
- (e) A continuously enrolled student has the right to graduate under the academic requirements stated in the catalog in effect at the time of the student's enrollment.

§807.192. Admission Requirements.

- (a) The school shall require for admission into its programs proof of one of the following:
 - (1) secondary education;
 - (2) successful completion or the equivalent of one full-time academic semester (12 academic semester hours) or academic quarter (18 academic quarter hours) at an accredited college, university, or other postsecondary school; or
 - (3) for <u>nondegree</u> ertificate programs only, proven ability-to-benefit by obtaining a satisfactory score on the approved entrance test.
- (b) Entrance test requirements shall be in accordance with the following provisions.
 - (1) Any entrance test shall be a nationally recognized standardized test or a nonstandardized test developed by the appropriate industry and approved by the Agency Commission. A nonstandardized test shall be validated by a qualified third party, such as an expert in tests and measurements, for both appropriateness and the specific score level required for admission into the program. The name of the test and its publisher, any time limitations, a minimum acceptable score, and an explanation of score meanings, as referenced in the test material, shall be provided to the student prior to taking with a copy of the test, if the test is not already on file with the Commission.
 - (2) If multiple opportunities are allowed for retaking the same entrance test, such students shall wait a minimum of five calendar days prior to retaking the test. A student may take a second entrance test on the same day provided a substantially different test is administered. This shall be stated in the admissions policy published in the school catalog.

- (3) A representative is not allowed to administer the test, nor is anyone allowed to assist the student in answering the questions.
- (4) If the entrance test reveals the student to be ineligible as an ability-to-benefit student, the student may be enrolled as a remedial student. The school shall have an evaluation procedure approved by the AgencyCommission to determine remedial needs and to determine when the required level of remediation has been reached. The school shall also have a remediation plan for such students consisting of classes approved by the AgencyCommission as a part of the program. The students may be charged for the remedial portion of the program on an hourly pro rata basis, but the student is not obligated for the tuition and fees of the program until the entrance requirements are met.
- (c) Evidence shall be maintained in each student's file to show the admissions requirements have been met. A full refund of all monies paid and a full release from all obligations mayshall be due, as determined by the Agency Commission, to any student for whom the school cannot establish that the admission requirements were met.

§807.193. Receipt of Enrollment Policies.

- (a) For all enrollments other than for seminars, individual classes, and small schools with programs of course time of 40 hours or less, each school shall use the form provided by the Agency Commission to verify the prospective student's receipt of the information required in this section.
- (b) Unless otherwise required in this chapter, prior to enrollment the school shall furnish the following to each prospective student:
 - (1) a school catalog-and program outline, unless the prospective student enrolls in a seminar;
 - (2) a schedule of tuition, fees, and other charges;
 - (3) the cancellation and refund policy;
 - (4) the progress and grievance policies and, for non-Title IV schools, attendance policies;
 - (5) the rules of operation and conduct;
 - (6) if available, the average starting salary per pay period and annually for the prospective student's stated occupation, and information regarding the number of job openings in the program objective field in a specified area within the last calendar year 12 months, including the name of the information source;

- (7) the regulations pertaining to incomplete grades;
- (8) written and verbal information regarding loans and grants and their differences, if the school participates in a loan or grant program;
- (9) the requirements, if any, for any state or national licensing, certifications, or registrations;
- (10) the exam passage rates for programs that prepare students for state licensing, certification, or registration exams;
- (11) the job placement and employment data for the stated occupation as required in this chapter; and
- (12) notice of all policies related to program interruption prior to completion and written information informing the student that if the student withdraws, it is the student's responsibility to inform the school or college.
- (c) Any school that refers to the awarding of credit hours shall explain to each student during the enrollment process that transferability of such hours may be limited. Each student shall sign a statement indicating such an explanation has been provided.
- (d) Should a school have an articulation agreement with an accredited college or university, or other postsecondary school, such information shall be provided to the student, including any known agreement limitations. Such schools shall also provide a list of known Texas postsecondary schools that accept any or all of the credit hours so earned.
- (e) Students shall acknowledge receipt of each piece of information or documentation as set forth in this section by initialing each page and providing a complete signature at the end of the receipt of the enrollment policy form.
- (f) A copy of the receipt of the enrollment policies form shall be given to the student and a copy maintained as a part of the student's files.

§807.194. Enrollment Agreement.

- (a) A school does not need an enrollment agreement to enroll a student in a seminar that will be completed within three consecutive calendar days.
- (a)(b) For distance education schools, the enrollment agreement shall specify the amount of time allotted to the student to complete the program.
- (b)(c) A school shall submit an enrollment agreement to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> for approval.

- (c)(d) A school shall use only an approved enrollment agreement to enroll students.
- (d)(e) The executed enrollment agreement shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
 - (1) full and correct name and location of the school;
 - (2) program title, tuition, fees, reasonable estimate cost of books and supplies, any other expenses, total cost of the program, items subject to cost change, method of payment and payment schedule, disclosure statement if interest is charged on more than three payments, and detachable buyer's right to cancel if enrollment is procured off campus;
 - (3) date training is to begin and program length;
 - (4) name, address, and signature of the student;
 - (5) student's <u>emaile mail</u> address if any part of the instruction or academically related activity is <u>web based</u>;
 - (6) statement by the school that the student will receive a copy of the school enrollment agreement and catalog at the time of signing by the student;
 - (7) cancellation and refund policy; and
 - (8) a Federal Trade Commission statement for holder in due course, unless no loans, grants, or installment payments are involved.
- (e)(f) The school shall provide a notice of cancellation, attached to the enrollment agreement, for any student enrolled off the school premises. The notice shall:
 - (1) include at least two copies be in duplicate;
 - (2) be easily detachable;
 - (3) be printed in boldface type, with a minimum font of 10 point;
 - (4) contain the date of the enrollment agreement, name and address of school, the date on which the statutory 72-hour cancellation privilege will expire, and any other provisions as determined by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>;
 - (5) be printed in the same language as used in the enrollment agreement; and

	1 2 3 4
	5
	6 7
	8
	9 10
	10 11
	12 13
	11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
	15
	16
	15 16 17 18 19 20
	19
	20
	21 22
	2223
	24
	25 26
	27
	28
	29 30
_	26 27 28 29 30 31 32
	32
	33 34
	35
	36 37
	37
ı	39
ĺ	40
	41 42
	43
	44
	45 46

- (6) be in such a form that can be used by the student to notify the school of the student's desire to cancel by dating, signing, and mailing or otherwise delivering the form to the school's address shown.
- (f)(g) A copy of the enrollment agreement form shall be given to the student and a copy maintained as a part of the student's file.
- (h) The Commission may permit a school to submit an abbreviated enrollment agreement for students enrolled on a reimbursement contract basis.

§807.196. Tuition and Fees.

- (a) A school shall disclose to potential students all tuition, fees, and other charges, and state such information in the school's application for a certificate of approval. The school may not use an estimated tuition amount, nor may the school increase the student's tuition if the student remains continuously enrolled and completes the training as approved at the time of admission. If the school charges to repeat coursesclasses, the amount of the charges must be disclosed to the student.
- (b) A school shall make available for review by the Agency Commission upon request:
 - (1) a description of the methods of payment that are available to enrolling students;
 - (2) the names and addresses of lending institutions used by the school for student tuition loans; and
 - (3) the true annual percentage rate and any other fees or charges associated with student tuition loans.
- (c) A school shall refund or forfeit any tuition, fees, or other charges not previously disclosed to the <u>Agency Commission</u>.
- (d) A school may offer scholarships providing the terms of scholarships are disclosed to the Agency Commission.
- (e) The school shall maintain, in a permanent format that is acceptable and readily accessible to the <u>Agency Commission</u>, a record of any funds received from, or on behalf of, the student. A school shall clearly identify the payor, the type of funding, and the reason for the charges. These records shall be posted and kept current.
- (f) A school shall issue written receipts of any charges or payments to the student and maintain such records for review upon request by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>. Each separately charged item shall be clearly itemized on a student-signed receipt.

§807.197. Admission Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

- (a) Students who transfer from other postsecondary schools shall complete at least 20 academic semester hours or 30 academic quarter hours in residency at the school that will grant the degree. This does not apply to transfers within the same school system or teach-outs approved by the Agency.
- (b) A school shall allow students attending at the time a school becomes a degree granting school to earn a degree, providing the student:
 - (1) meets all the prerequisites for acceptance into the degree program; and
 - (2) satisfactorily completes all courses or equivalent courses of the degree program.
- (c) Former students shall meet all the prerequisites for acceptance into the degree program and shall satisfactorily complete all courses or equivalent courses in the approved degree program to qualify for a degree.

SUBCHAPTER L. PROGRESS STANDARDS

§807.221. General Requirements for Progress Standards.

- (a) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve specific progress standards for self-paced, competency-based programs.
- (b) Seminars, because of their nature and duration, are not required to have progress standards.
- (c) The progress evaluation records shall be of the type and nature to reflect whether the student is making satisfactory progress to the point of being able to complete all subject matter within the allotted time provided in the course curriculum.
- (d) The school shall submit its policies pertaining to incomplete grades to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for approval and publish those policies in the school's catalog. The policies shall address the possibility of the classes being discontinued when the student returns and clarify options available to that student pursuant to the Act.
- (e) Approved court reporting program students may receive one grade of "IP" (in progress) in any speedbuilding class if they have not achieved the required speed at the end of the grading period.

§807.223. Progress Requirements for Asynchronous Distance Education Schools.

(a) Asynchronous distance education schools shall evaluate progress as the school receives each lesson assignment. The school shall maintain the record of progress on forms approved by the Agency Commission. Forms shall include:

- (1) the date course materials are mailed to the student;
- (2) the date the lesson assignment is received from the student;
- (3) the grade on a per-lesson basis;
- (4) the instructor's name;
- (5) the date graded assignments are returned to the student; and
- (6) the final grade for the program with completion date indicated.
- (b) If at the end of the time period specified in the enrollment agreement, the student has not completed the program, the student's enrollment shall be terminated.

§807.224. Progress Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

For a school offering degree programs, the progress standards shall include the following:

- (1) a student progress evaluation every academic semester, academic quarter, or at least every eight weeks in <u>other academic termblock-time</u> programs;
- (2) a minimum grade point average for graduation from all degree programs of 2.0 based on a 4.0 scale, and that a student <u>achieves</u> a passing grade in all required <u>courses</u>elasses;
- (3) a probationary period of one academic semester, academic quarter, or approved grading period following the end of the academic semester, academic quarter, or approved grading period in which the student's grades become unsatisfactory; and
- (4) provisions for termination at the end of not more than two consecutive probationary periods if the student's cumulative grade point average does not improve to the level required for graduation.

SUBCHAPTER M. ATTENDANCE STANDARDS

§807.241. General Requirements for Attendance.

- (a) Seminar programs that begin and end <u>on the same</u>during one day are not required to maintain an attendance policy.
- (b) Title IV schools are not required to take attendance.

- (c) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may approve specific attendance requirements for self-paced, competency-based programs.
- (d) No provision in this subchapter shall require a school to terminate the enrollment of a student for lack of attendance at a point at which a refund would not be due.
- (e) A school shall charge for a full day of absence when the student fails to attend all of the scheduled classes on that day. The school shall charge for a partial day of absence for any period of absence during the day.
- (f) A school shall not consider school holidays, such as summer vacation and Christmas holidays, and so forthete., as days of absence.

§807.242. Attendance Requirements for Degree Granting Schools.

- (a) The following requirements are for non-Title IV schools and Title IV schools that voluntarily take attendance.
- (b) For a school offering degree programs, the attendance standards shall include the following:
 - (1) provisions for termination or probation during the next academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term when a student is absent for more than 20 percent 20% of the scheduled course time hours during an academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term;
 - (2) provisions for termination when a student is absent for more than <u>20</u> percent <u>20%</u> of the scheduled course time hours during the probationary academic quarter, academic semester, or approved term; and
 - (3) provisions for termination prior to the last quarter, when a student is absent in excess of 10 consecutive school days or 20 percent 20% of the total course time hours in the course, whichever occurs first.

§807.243. Termination of Enrollment.

- (a) A school shall terminate the enrollment of a student who accumulates the lesser of the following amounts of absences:
 - (1) more than 10 consecutive school days;
 - (2) more than 20 percent 20% of the total course time hours in a program with course time of more than 200 hours;
 - (3) more than 25 percent25% of the total course time hours in a program or individual course class with course time of 41 to 200 hours;

- (4) more than 25 percent25% of the total course time hours for seminars, individual courseselasses, or programs with course time of 40 hours or less; or
- (5) any number of days if the student fails to return as scheduled from an approved leave of absence.
- (b) A Title IV school that does not voluntarily take attendance shall terminate the enrollment of a student if the student's participation in an academically related activity cannot be documented:
 - (1) at the end of the first calendar week of the academic term;
 - (2) at the end of the first four calendar weeksmonth of the academic term;
 - (3) at the midpoint of each academic term; and
 - (4) at the end of each academic term.
- (c) For purposes of this section, "month" is defined as four weeks.
- (c)(d) Students whose enrollments are terminated for violation of the attendance policy may not reenroll before the start of the next progress evaluation period. This provision does not circumvent the approved refund policy.

§807.244. Make-up Work.

- (a) No more than 5 percent 5% of the total course time hours for a program, rounded down to the closest one-half hour increment, may be made up. Attendance course time hours, for purposes of Subchapters M O of this chapter, may not be made up.
- (b) The school shall submit make-up work policies to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> for approval.
- (c) Make-up work shall:
 - (1) be supervised by an instructor approved for the class being made up;
 - (2) require the student to demonstrate substantially the same level of knowledge or competence expected of a student who attended the scheduled class session;
 - (3) be completed within two weeks of the end of the grading period during which the absence occurred;

- (4) be documented by the school as being completed, recording the date, time, duration of the make-up session, and the name of the supervising instructor; and
- (5) be signed and dated by the student to acknowledge the make-up session.

§807.245. Leaves of Absence.

- (a) Seminars, and small schools with programs, and individual subjects with course times time of 40 hours or fewerless shall not grant leaves of absence.
- (b) A school director may grant a leave of absence after determining that good cause is shown.
- (c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, in a 12-month ealendar period, a student may have no more than two leaves of absence. For a program with course time of 200 hours or less, a student may be on leave of absence for a total of 30 calendar days. For programs with course time of more than 200 hours, a student may be on leave of absence for a total of 60 calendar days.
- (d) Programs with a course time of more than 600 hours, and that are eligible for Title IV funding, may have a leave of absence policy consistent with the <u>United States U.S.</u> Department of Education policy at 34 <u>Code of Federal Regulations C.F.R.</u> §668.22(d).
- (e) School attendance records shall clearly define the dates of the leave of absence. A written statement as to why the leave of absence was granted, signed by both the student and the school director indicating approval, shall be placed in the student's permanent file.
- (f) In addition to the requirements concerning leaves of absence in this subchapter, a school offering degree programs that schedules their courses on an academic quarter or academic semester basis may include in their attendance policies provisions for summer leaves of absence. These leaves of absence shall not exceed the lesser of 120 days or the interval between the end of the spring academic quarter or academic semester and the start of the fall academic quarter or academic semester.

SUBCHAPTER N. CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICY

§807.261. Requirement for Tour.

(a) Schools Notwithstanding subsection (b) of this section, schools are required to provide a tour on or before the first scheduled class day.

ı		
		I
		2
		3
		4
i		_ _
		ک
		6
		7
		8
		a
	1	ノ ハ
	1	V
	1	1
	1	2
	1	3
	1	1
	1	_ _
ļ	1	<u>ح</u>
	1	6
	1	7
	1	8
	1	g
	<u>ユ</u>	Λ
	2	U
	2	l
	2	2
	2	3
	2	4
	2	-
	2	S
	2	6
	2	7
	2	8
	2	9
	2	0
	2	~
	3	1
	3	
	3	3
	3	4
	3	5
	2	6
	3	7
	3	8
	3	9
	4	
	4	
	4	1
	4	2
	4	3
	4	
	4	5
	-	-

- (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, distance Distance education programs, combination distance education residence, and seminars are not required to provide the student a tour.
- (c) Students enrolled in a hybrid or blended program are required to be provided a tour on or before the first scheduled class day.
- (d)(c) The student shall sign and date an acknowledgement form certifying the completion of the tour.

§807.263. Refund Requirements.

- (a) The Agency, after considering the specific facts associated with a school's conduct, may order Students are entitled to a full or partial refund to affected students for classes attended if the school:
 - (1) does not provide a class with:
 - (A) an approved instructor;
 - (B) an instructor for whom an application has been properly submitted to the Agency; or
 - (C) a temporary instructor for whom the school submitted notice to the Agency;
 - (2) fails to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or courses of instruction on the basis of which Agency approval was issued or student enrollment was obtained, or to submit timely requests for approval of substantive changes thereto;
 - (3) violates any provision of this chapter in the process of soliciting and enrolling the student;
 - (4) fails to adhere to applicable academic, attendance, and refund policies that meet state requirements and apply to the course enrolled in, as published at the time of the student's enrollment in the course;
 - (5) fails to undertake a good faith effort to furnish the student, upon satisfactory completion of the program, with a certificate of completion. A school may withhold the transcript or certificate until the student has paid outstanding financial obligations to the school. Evidence of a good faith effort shall be maintained in the student's file in one of the following forms:
 - (A) An acknowledgement of receipt of certificate signed and dated by the student;

- (B) Proof of a certified mailing to the student's last known address;
- (C) Proof of a certified mailing to the student's permanent address, if different from the student's last known address; or
- (D) Proof of a certified mailing to the address of the student's parent or legal guardian, if known and different from the student's last known or permanent addresses; or
- (6) does not have course approval or the required certificate of approval from the Agency.
- (b) To be considered a violation subject to refund under subsection (a)(1) (6) of this section, a school's action shall be determined to be more than a technical error or a nonsubstantive change in operations.
- (c) If any of the violations in subsection (a)(1) (6) of this section apply to more than one class period, students are entitled to a full refund for each such class attended.
- (d) The length of a program, for purposes of calculating refunds owed, is the shortest scheduled time period in which the program may be completed by continuous attendance of a full-time student.
- (e) A non-Title IV school, or a Title IV school voluntarily taking attendance, shall calculate refunds for students based upon scheduled hours of classes through the last date of attendance. A Title IV school shall calculate refunds for students based upon scheduled hours of classes through the last documented day of an academically related activity. Neither type of school shall count leaves of absence, suspensions, school holidays, days when classes are not offered, and summer vacations for purposes of calculating a student's refund.
- (f) For all <u>programs</u> schools other than seminars, a student may cancel enrollment, request a full refund, and request a release from any obligations to the school within the first three scheduled class days.
- (g) A school may withhold from the full-refund required by subsections (a) (c) and (f) of this section any amount provided for in statute as retainable by the school pursuant to Texas Education Code §132.061 of the Act. More specifically, the school may withhold items of extra expense to the student referenced in §132.061(b)(6) of the Act, as long as they are necessary for the portion of the program attended and are separately stated in the enrollment agreement. Any items of extra expense not required for the portion of the program attended must be included in the refund.
- (h) Students are entitled to a refund paid in accordance with the school's policy, which must provide for refunds at least equivalent to the provisions in §132.061 and

1 2		§132.0611 of the Act, if students withdraw or are discontinued from a program prior to completion.
3 4	SUBCHA	PTER O. RECORDS
5	§807.2	81. General Information for Records.
7 8	(a)	A school shall permanently maintain a master student registration list (MSRL). If the
9		school maintains the MSRL in electronic form, the school must be able to produce a printed copy immediately upon request. The MSRL must contain at least the
1 2		following information:
3		(1) date of applicable entry;
5		(2) name of student;
16		(3) address of student including city, state, and zip code;
8 9		(4) telephone number;
20 21		(5) social security number;
22 23		(6) date of birth; and
21 22 23 24 25 26		(7) name of program.
26 27	(b)	A school shall maintain current records and necessary data (physical or electronic)
28 29	,	for each student required to be on the master student registration list to show compliance with the Act and this chapter. These records shall be:
30 31		(1) maintained on-site;
32 33 34		(2) protected against damage, loss (<u>for example e.g.</u> , fire, water, theft, tampering), or misuse; and
35 36		(3) made available to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for inspection upon request.
37 38 39 40	(c)	If applicable, the school shall maintain and ensure that copies of the accreditation authorization and letter of eligibility from the United States Department of Education are available for <u>AgencyCommission</u> review.
11 12 13 14	(d)	Degree granting schools shall maintain a copy of the certificate of authorization from the Coordinating Board for each authorized degree program.
14 15	(e)	The Agency Commission may conduct unannounced compliance inspections.

(f) A school shall maintain complete records of all advertising, sales, and enrollment materials used by or on behalf of the school for a five-year period. Materials maintained shall include, but not be limited to, direct mail pieces, brochures, printed literature, films, leaflets, handbills, fliers, video and audiotapes disseminated through the broadcast media, materials disseminated through the print media or Internet, and sales and recruitment manuals used to instruct sales personnel.

§807.282. Student Records.

- (a) A school shall permanently maintain student transcripts of academic records. A school shall provide such transcripts to students and prospective employers at a reasonable charge if the student has fulfilled the financial obligation to the school and is neither in default nor owes a refund to any federal or state student financial aid program.
- (b) Transcripts of academic records, student payment ledgers, and enrollment agreements must be maintained in electronic format or converted to electronic format within 12 months of their creation or revision. A scanned copy of original paper transcripts is an acceptable electronic format for transcripts of academic records.
- (c)(b) A school shall retain financial records in accordance with federal retention requirements.
- (d)(c) A school shall retain all student records for at least a five-year period and these records shall include:
 - (1) a written record of previous education and training on a form provided by the Agency Commission; and
 - (2) official transcripts from all previous postsecondary schools attended by the student.
- (e)(d) The school director shall implement and maintain reasonable procedures, including taking any appropriate corrective action, to protect from improper use or disclosure of any sensitive personal information collected or maintained by the school.
- (f)(e) A school shall destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information within the school's custody or control, after any required retention periods, by:
 - (1) shredding;
 - (2) permanently removing or deleting electronic records; or

- (3) otherwise modifying the sensitive personal information in the records to make the information unreadable or indecipherable through any means; or
- (4) destroying the information in accordance with any other more restrictive law or regulation the school is required to follow.
- (g) All records created and maintained in languages other than English are subject to translation by the Agency.

§807.283. Attendance Record Keeping.

- (a) The following requirements are for non-Title IV schools:
 - (1) A school offering seminars or other programs where students do not change instructors during the school day is not required to maintain a separate master record of attendance.
 - (1)(2) A school shall maintain a master record of attendance on each student that clearly indicates the <u>name of the program, program begin and end dates, dates of attendance, and the scheduled hours each day number of scheduled hours each day and the hours of absence.</u>
 - (2)(3) Each instructor shall maintain a record of attendance, which shall indicate a positive record the instructor's name, program name, subject name, date, number of scheduled hours for that date, and the hours of absence of each student's attendance. Entries in the record of attendance shall be made in ink or other permanent medium, including other permanent computer records, and shall not be changed in a manner that precludes reading the original entry.
- (b) The following requirements are for Title IV schools:
 - (1) The school shall maintain a form signed and dated by the student to document the student's participation in an academically related activity. An e-mail sent from the student's e-mail account listed on the enrollment agreement fulfills this requirement.
 - (2) The school shall maintain a master record for each student that clearly indicates the student's class schedule as well as the number of scheduled hours for each class day. For synchronous distance education students, the record shall indicate the number of scheduled hours for each week.
- (b)(e) Nothing in this chapter prevents a Title IV school from voluntarily using attendance as a manner of fulfilling the requirements of this chapter.

§807.284. Reporting.

1	
2 3 4	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 31 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32 32	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
46	

- (a) Schools shall report to the Agency, as directed, the facts and information about their programs and operations deemed necessary for the proper administration of the Act and any rules adopted under the Act.
 - (1) The data to be reported by a school shall include:
 - (A) student enrollment information for all programs;
 - (B) completion, employment, and job placement information for all programs approved for an occupational objective; and
 - (C) any other required information.
 - (2) The school shall submit the required data to the Agency on or before the specified date.
 - (3) The school shall provide the data in an electronic format prescribed by the Agency unless a different format is approved in writing by the Agency.
 - (4) When good cause is shown, the Agency may extend the deadline for submission of the data required under this section; however, the extension shall be effective only if authorized in writing.
 - (5) The Agency may require schools to maintain on file the verifiable documentation supporting the data reported and make it available to the Agency upon request.
- (b) The Agency will shall develop and apply data monitoring and audit protocols for the data reported under subsection (a) of this section, in a manner sufficient to reasonably determine the accuracy of the reported information.
- (c) The Agency may impose penalties or sanctions, or both, for failure to submit data under subsection (a) of this section by the due dates required, or for submission of data that is shown to contain inaccuracies.
- (d) For any programs not meeting a minimum employment rate for program graduates in jobs related to the stated occupation, as referenced in §807.131(b), the following graduated corrective actions will be taken:
 - (1) For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the first year, the school will be required to develop and submit a performance improvement plan acceptable to the Agency;
 - (2) For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the second consecutive year, but showing improvement of at least 50 percent 50% of the difference between the reported rate and the minimum employment rate of the

1 2 3			previous year, the school will be required to reexamine and submit modifications to the performance improvement plan acceptable to the Agency;
4 5 6 7 8 9		(3)	For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the second consecutive year and not showing improvement of at least 50 percent 50% of the difference between the reported rate and the minimum employment rate of the previous year, conditions will be placed on the school's certificate, which include:
10 11			(A) modification of the performance improvement plan; and
12 13			(B) suspension of new enrollment of students funded with Local Workforce Development Board-allocated funds in the program; and
14 15 16		(4)	For a program not meeting the minimum employment rate for the third consecutive year, the Agency will revoke approval of the program.
17 18 19	(e)	The	Agency will shall publish on its website information compiled from:
20 21		(1)	data reported under subsection (a) of this section; and
22 23 24		(2)	any other information collected about schools and programs deemed appropriate and useful to the public, which:
25 26 27			(A) assists a person in deciding whether to enroll in a school or in identifying or choosing which postsecondary institution, school, or college to attend; and
28 29 30			(B) addresses regulatory compliance and performance of schools.
31 32 33		(3)	The Agency, to the extent practical, shall present the published information in a manner that is consistent among institutions, schools, and colleges; easy to understand; and accessible to the public.
34 35 36	SUBCHA	PTE	R P. COMPLAINTS
37 38	§807.3	01. S	chool Policy Regarding Complaints.
39 40	The	e scho	ool shall:
41 42 43		(1)	submit a written grievance procedure designed to resolve disputes between current and former students and the school for <u>Agency</u> Commission approval;
44 45 46		(2)	provide a copy of the grievance procedure to each student and maintain proof of such delivery;

	1
	1
	2
	3
	1
4	4
	5
	6
'	-
,	7
	8
	<u> </u>
	9
1	0
1	1
1	1
1.	2
1	3
1	1
14	4
1:	5
10 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	6
1	_
1	7
13	8
1.	n.
13	9
2	0
2	1
_	1
2	2
2	3
2	1
۷,	4
2	5
2	6
2	_
2	/
2	8
2	<u> </u>
2	9
3	0
3	1
2	1
3.	2
3.	3
3	
3	5
3	6
3	7
3	/
3	8
3	
4	0
4	
-	_
4	
4	3
4	
4:	5

- (5) the feasibility of investigations; and
- (6) any other reasonable matter deemed appropriate.
- (c) The Agency may require adequate documentation or other evidence of the violation before initiating a complaint investigation. Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, anonymous complaints will not be investigated but will be reviewed to identify any action needed.
- (d) Unless good cause is shown, a complaint is timely only if it is filed with the Agency while the student who files the complaint is enrolled or within two years of the date the student withdraws, terminates, or graduates from the course-program that is the subject of the complaint. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, fraud. If a complaint is not timely, the Agency may decline to investigate it.
- (e) The investigation fee authorized by the Act is based on a per site visit. The school director shall be notified that an on-site visit was conducted when the investigation results in assessment of a fee.

SUBCHAPTER Q. TRUCK DRIVER TRAINING PROGRAMS

§807.321. General Information Regarding Truck Driver Training.

- (a) A school providing truck driver training shall ensure that the truck driver instructors complete a truck driver instructor development course with at least 40 hours of course time.
- (b) All truck driver training programs shall comply with applicable requirements outlined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations Part 380, its successors, and any other applicable legal requirements, and must be listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration registry, called the Training Provider Registry.

§807.322. Truck Driver Instructor Development Course.

- (a) A school shall apply to the <u>Agency Commission</u> for approval to provide a truck driver instructor development course.
- (b) The instructor development course shall consist of 40 hours of course time, which includes at least the following topics.
 - (1) Five hours shall cover techniques of instruction including: qualities of a competent instructor, the learning process, methods of teaching, development of efficient teaching habits, demonstration teaching, the use of instruction material and training aids, course preparation, lesson plans, testing and evaluation, and the duration and frequency of lessons.

- (2) Two hours shall cover personality factors affecting the driver and pedestrian including: natural abilities; senses; mind and nerves; bones and muscles; knowledge of vehicle, road, traffic, and self; attitudes and emotions; reaction time; and reactions to alcohol, carbon monoxide, over-the-counter drugs, prescription drugs, illegal drugs, heart ailments, epilepsy, diabetes, insanity, exhaustion, tension, and monotony.
- (3) Six hours shall cover state laws as located in the Texas Motor Vehicle Law book relating to the operation of motor vehicles including: driver's license, vehicle registration, certificate of title, operation of vehicles, uniform act, miscellaneous offenses, and safety responsibility.
- (4) Eight hours shall cover driving procedures including: handling--city, rural, night, mountain, and freeway driving; fog, rain, sandstorms, and other hazardous weather conditions; road hazards and recovery procedures for slick roads; blowout hazards and running off the road; traffic signs, markings, and signals; use of rearview mirrors; vehicle braking and stopping distances; following distances; right-of-way, when and how to yield it; vehicle acceleration and deceleration; yielding right-of-way to emergency vehicles; driver signals; proper passing procedures; procedures and problems for passing on two and three-lane roadways; and super-size motorized equipment.
- (5) Three hours shall cover physical forces affecting the motor vehicle in motion including: forces of gravity; friction; acceleration, mass, and force; inertia and centrifugal force; kinetic energy and momentum; kinetic energy and braking; and horsepower and acceleration.
- (6) Two hours shall cover highway characteristics including: primary, secondary, expressway, freeway, farm or ranch road, two-way two-lane, two-way three-lane, two-way multilane, two-way multilane divided, one-way multilane, parking, and traffic controls. Traffic control topics consist of the following:
 - (A) sign topics including shape, color, location and importance;
 - (B) traffic marking topics including center and lane lines, no passing zone, transition markings, turn lane marking, stop lines, crosswalk lines, and so forthete.; and
 - (C) signal topics including classification, location, type, timing.
- (7) Two hours shall cover automobile systems and maintenance including: electrical system--generator, alternator, battery, lighting, and electric-powered equipment; cooling system--lubrication and fuel systems; power train--engine, transmission, and differential; brake system--wheels and tires, caster, camber, toe-in, balance, inflation, tire condition, and care; exhaust system; instruments and gauges; compartment adjustments--seat, ventilation, mirrors, headrests,

	1
	2
	3
)
	4
	_
)
	6
	_
	/
	Q
	2
	9
1	Λ
1	v
1	1
1	2
1	_
1	3
1	345678901234567890123
I	4
1	5
1	,
1	6
1	7
1	/
1	8
1	O
1	7
2	0
2	1
2	1
2	2
_	2
2	3
2	4
_	-
2	5
2	6
_	_
2	7
2	Q
_	O
2	9
2	2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2
3	U
3	1
2	<u> </u>
3	2
3	3
3	4
3	5
3	6
3	7
3	8
	9
	4
_	
4	
	0
4	0
4	0
	0 1 2

- seat belts, and shoulder harness; starting the engine and warm-up procedures; safety devices--door locks, headrests; and miscellaneous features--windshield wipers, heater, and defroster.
- (8) Two hours shall cover behind-the-wheel elementary lessons with demonstration in an appropriate vehicle and practice to be performed in the presence of the instructor including: starting; steering; stopping; shifting gears; backing; turning--right and left; and parking and starting on grade.
- (9) Six hours shall cover behind-the-wheel driving safety lessons with demonstration in an appropriate vehicle and practice to be performed in the presence of the instructor including: developing good seeing habits; speed control; safe following; lane driving and lane changing; intersections and right-of-way; proper signaling; correct turn procedures; detecting of and handling problems--vehicle, cycle, pedestrian; freeway driving--ramp use, entering, exiting, lane use, emergency stopping; parking procedures; entering traffic from parked position; and night driving.
- (10) Two hours shall cover school and instructor approval requirements including the following: school approval requirements, instructor approval requirements, classroom and automotive equipment requirements, required student records, contract requirements, and deportment of instructors.
- (11) Two hours shall cover specialized training regarding the following: students with physical, mental, or emotional handicaps; illiterate students; non-English-speaking students; and habitual violators and problem drivers.

§807.324. Motor Vehicle Insurance.

A school providing truck driver training shall ensure that:

- (1) a current list of vehicles used in truck driver training is filed with the <u>AgencyCommission</u> on a form provided by the <u>AgencyCommission</u>;
- (2) an insurance certificate accompanies each motor vehicle used in training and is filed with the <u>AgencyCommission</u> on or before the date the school files an original or renewal application for approval of the program with the <u>AgencyCommission</u>;
- (3) an insuring company or carrier issues an insurance certificate on a form furnished by the <u>AgencyCommission</u> directly to the <u>AgencyCommission</u>, which states the insurance company or carrier has issued a policy or policies of insurance, and the amounts of insurance for each vehicle listed on the list of vehicles used in truck driver training;

- (4) a written notice is provided to the <u>Agency Commission</u> by registered or certified mail at least 10 days prior to the expiration date of insurance coverage of a listed vehicle; and
- (5) a copy of the written notice of cancellation of insurance on any listed vehicle is provided to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> by registered or certified mail immediately upon receipt of notice by the school.

§807.325. Prohibited Activities Regarding Truck Driver Training.

- (a) A school, a trainer of truck driver instructors, or a truck driver instructor shall not:
 - (1) allow an instructor to give instruction or allow a student to secure instruction in the classroom or in a motor vehicle if that instructor or student is using or exhibits any evidence or effect of an alcoholic beverage, controlled substance, or other such impairment;
 - (2) permit a student to operate a motor vehicle without a valid driver's license or instruction permit in the student's possession during behind-the-wheel instruction;
 - (3) permit more than a ratio of four students per vehicle and three vehicles per instructor on truck driving ranges;
 - (4) permit more than four students per vehicle per instructor during street instruction for truck driver training; or
 - (5) advertise or otherwise state or imply that a driver's license or permit is guaranteed or assured to any student or individual who may take or complete any instruction or course of instruction, enroll, or otherwise receive instruction in any truck driver training school.
- (b) The <u>Agency Commission</u> may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew approval of a truck driver instructor or a trainer of truck driver instructors, upon determining that the applicant or instructor has been:
 - (1) convicted under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States of any felony; of an offense of criminally negligent homicide committed as a result of the person's operation of a motor vehicle; of an offense involving driving while intoxicated or under the influence; or of an offense involving tampering with a governmental record; or
 - (2) found incompetent or is incompetent to:
 - (A) safely operate a motor vehicle; or

1	(B) properly conduct classroom or behind-the-wheel instruction.
2 3	SUBCHAPTER R. CLOSED SCHOOLS
5	§807.341. School Closures.
6 7 8	(a) Owners with knowledge of a school's impending closure shall notify the Agency as soon as possible or practical.
9	(b) Prior to closure a school must:
11 12 13	 contact the Agency regarding a school survey visit and the process required to close out the school records;
14 15	(2) complete any closure documents required by the Agency;
16 17 18	(3) provide information on any teach out plans or arrangements; and
19 20	(4) complete any other requirements deemed necessary by the Agency for an orderly closure.
21 22 23 24	(c) The Agency may impose penalties, sanctions, or both on an owner, as defined by §807.2(30) of this chapter, or on a person associated with a school closure for a school's failure to comply with proper closure procedures.
25 26	(d)(a) The Agency Commission may declare a school to be closed when:
27 28 29	(1) written notification is received by the <u>AgencyCommission</u> from the school owner stating the school will close;
30 31 32 33	(2) <u>AgencyCommission</u> determines that the school facility has been vacated without prior notification of a change of address given to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> ;
34 35 36 37	(3) an owner with multiple school locations transfers all students from one school location to another school location;
38 39 40	(4) the school dismisses all students, contrary to the school's class schedule as printed in the school catalog; or
41 42 43	(5) the school fails to maintain the faculty, facilities, equipment, or courses of instruction on the basis for which approval was issued.
44 45 46	(e)(b) After the <u>AgencyCommission</u> determines that a school will close or is closed, the <u>AgencyCommission</u> will attempt to notify students concerning their options to accept a teach-out or to receive a proportional tuition refund based on available

	1	
	2	
	3 4	
l	5	
	6 7 8 9	
	8	
	1 1	
	10 11	
ı	12	
	13 14	
	15	
	16 17	
	18	
	19	
	21	
	10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25	
	23 24	
	24 25	
	26 27 28 29	
	28	
	29	
	30 31 32	
	33 34	
	35	
	3637	
	38	
	39 40	
	41	
	42	
	43 44	
	45	
	46	

funds. Notification to students may include constructive notice in news media, student meetings, or mailings to students.

- (f)(e) Each teach-out requires approval of the <u>Agency Commission</u> to determine whether the course of instruction is available, reasonable, and comparable with the course of instruction of the closed school. The teach-out is subject to the following conditions:
 - (1) Transfers of students from a closed school to another school under the same ownership shall not constitute a teach-out.
 - (2) In order to be eligible for a teach-out, students shall submit a signed statement of acceptance to the teach-out school by the deadline as established by the Agency Commission.
 - (3) The school offering the teach-out shall give credit for all comparable training received at the closed school, as determined by the <u>Agency Commission</u>.

§807.342. Tuition Trust Account.

- (a) In a year in which the <u>Agency Commission</u> determines it is necessary to charge a fee under §132.2415(b) of the Act, each school shall make a payment to the tuition trust account at the time the school renewal fee is paid.
- (b) The amount in the tuition trust account, as provided in the Act, is an accrued balance. The accrued balance is the cash balance of the tuition trust account less the sum of the accrued liabilities from unpaid student refunds and teach-out claims.
- (c) Disbursements shall be made from the tuition trust account for student refunds and reimbursable teach-out expenses incurred during each 12-month period ending August 31, and shall be:
 - (1) made first for student refunds in accordance with §132.2415(d) of the Act and §807.262 of this chapter;
 - (2) calculated after refunds or discharges from other funding sources have been determined;
 - (3) disbursed to other funding sources from any amount remaining under the limitation of §132.242(e) of the Act; and
 - (4) disbursed for reimbursable teach-out expenses based upon remaining funds in the account.
- (d) Following the graduation or termination of the students from the teach-out school, the teach-out school shall determine actual expenses and submit a claim for reimbursement to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> on or before the date provided in the application packet. The teach-out school shall:

- (1) not claim expenses for facilities, equipment, utilities, or other items which were owned, rented, used, or otherwise obligated by the school prior to the Agency's Commission's approval of the teach-out program, even though such items may be used for the teach-out program;
- (2) be limited to expenses for tuition and fees that are <u>nonrecoverable</u> nonrecoverable from all financial resources, including grants and loans; and
- (3) ensure that the sum of the tuition and fees paid to the student's account at the closed school and the teach-out school is the lesser amount the student would have been charged for the complete program at the closed school or the teach-out school.
- (e) For schools in their first two years of operation that have not been required to furnish financial statements to comply with §807.35(b), the payment to the tuition trust account shall be calculated at the rate determined by the Commission using the projected gross amount of tuition and fees, as required in §807.33(c), to be charged by the school for the year in which the payment is collected. Once the school has submitted the actual amount of tuition and fees collected by the school in compliance with §807.35(b), the Commission shall reconcile the projected and actual amounts of tuition and fees collected. Upon reconciliation, the Commission shall determine if the school is entitled to a refund or must pay an additional amount to the tuition trust account.

SUBCHAPER S. SANCTIONS

§807.351. Notice and Administration of Sanctions.

- (a) Pursuant to its authority under §132.152 of the Act, the Agency may impose administrative penalties or other sanctions on an entity for violations of §132.151 of the Act or this chapter.
- (b) The Agency willshall serve notice of a sanction, with determination of the violation on which it is based, by both email U.S. mail and certified mail, return receipt requested, mailed to the owner's address of record as listed on the application for certificate of approval. Unless there is other evidence of receipt, notice is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed by the Agency.
- (c) In imposing administrative penalties or other sanctions, the Agency <u>mayshall</u> consider all the factors that it deems relevant, including, but not limited to, the following:
 - (1) The amount of administrative penalty or level of sanction necessary to ensure immediate and continued compliance with statutes and regulations;

1 2 3		(2) The conduct of the entity in taking all reasonable steps or procedures necessary and appropriate to comply with statutes and regulations and to correct the violation; and
4 5 6		(3) The entity's prior violations of statutes, regulations, or orders administered, adopted, or issued by the <u>AgencyCommission</u> .
7 8 9	(d)	Notwithstanding subsections (a) - (c) of this section, the Agency <u>may</u> shall order refunds pursuant to applicable statute and rules.
10 11	§807.3	52. Sanctions.
12	()	
13 14	(a)	Sanctions may include:
15		(1) administrative penalties outlined in §807.353 of this subchapter;
16		(2)
17 18		(2) collecting a late renewal fee from the school;
19		(2)(3) denying the school's application for a certificate of approval;
20		(e) acing in consers approximenter a continuous or approxim,
21		(3)(4) revoking the school's certificate of approval;
22 23		(4)(5) placing conditions on the school's certificate of approval;
24 25		(5)(6) suspending the admission of students to the school or a program;
26		
27		(6)(7) denying a program approval;
28		
29		(7)(8) revoking a program approval;
30 31		(8)(9) <u>disapproving denying</u> or revoking approval of an owner, school director,
32		instructor, or other staff member whose approval may be required;
33		
34		(9)(10) denying, suspending, <u>placing condition on</u> , or revoking the registration of
35 36		the school's representatives;
37		(10)(11) assessing a late refund penalty;
38		assessing a face returned penanty,
39		(11)(12) charging the school an investigation fee to resolve a complaint against the
40		school;
41		
42		(12)(13) charging the school interest and penalties on late payments of fee
43		installments;
44		
45		(13)(14) applying for an injunction against the school;
46		

- (14)(15) asking the attorney general to collect a civil penalty from any person who violates the Act or this chapter;
- (15)(16) ordering a peer review of the school; and
- (16)(17) issuing a cease and desist order to an unlicensed school.
- (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a)(1) (16)(17) of this section, the Agency mayshall order refunds pursuant to violations of the Act and this chapter applicable statutes and rules.

§807.353. Administrative Penalties.

- (a) An administrative penalty shall not exceed the amount specified in Texas Education Code §132.152 of the Act for each instance of a violation and shall be assessed in accordance with that section.
- (b) The administrative penalty is calculated based on a penalty dollar amount and the number of instances of violation.
- (c) A violation is considered a repeat violation only where notice of a violation or an administrative penalty has been issued previously for that same violation.
- (d) The assessment of an administrative penalty shall not preclude the Agency from administering other sanctions, up to and including revocation of a school's certificate of approval.
- (e) The following penalty matrix is for determining and assessing an administrative penalty. The absence of a particular violation from the matrix shall not preclude the Agency from assessing an administrative penalty.

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure of a small school transitioning to a large school to notify the Agency of status change, timely apply, or remit increased fees	\$250	NA	Per violation
Failure to disclose to the Agency changes in tuition, fees, or other charges	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to provide the Agency notice of a change of address prior to permanently vacating the school facility	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain records demonstrating compliance with requirements of statute or rule	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to properly destroy or arrange for the destruction of sensitive personal information in the school's custody or control	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to protect student records against damage, loss, or misuse	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per record or student record
Failure to provide complete and accurate information as required by the Agency	\$250	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	<u>\$250</u>	Second Offense: \$500 Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor, per course
Failure to ensure a staff member has taken required training and been approved by the Agency	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per staff member
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor
Failure to provide an instructor who meets necessary qualifications and whose application was submitted within required time frames	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per instructor

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to make arrangements satisfactory to the Agency for the completion of a discontinued program course of instruction	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per program course of instruction
Making a false statement in an application to the Agency	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation
Failure to maintain the instructors, facilities, equipment, or programs courses of instruction and outcomes on the basis of which approval was issued	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per programeourse of instruction
Failure to disclose limitations on transferability of courses of instruction to a prospective student	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Advertising that financial aid is available or advertising that financial aid may be available for a program for which it is not available	\$500	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to establish that a student met the approved admission requirements when the student was enrolled	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to submit the annual program completion, job placement, and employment data required by the Agency by the required due date	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Failure to submit annual financial statements no later than 180 days from the close of the school's or college's fiscal year	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school
Transfer of all students from one school location to another school location, by an owner with multiple school locations, without Agency approval	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per violation

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Dismissal of all students contrary to the school's class schedule as printed in the school catalog for reasons not approved by the Agency	\$750	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per dismissal event
Failure to notify the Agency in writing of any legal actions or any change in accreditation status or Title IV status	<u>\$750</u>	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per action
Operating a school without a certificate of approval	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per school <u>, per program</u>
Teaching a program course of instruction or revised program course of instruction that has not been approved by the Agency	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per programeourse of instruction
Using advertising that is false, misleading, or deceptive, including the misrepresentation of degrees other than those approved by the Coordinating Board	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Failure to notify the Agency of the discontinuance of the program course of instruction or the operation of a school or college within 72 hours of cessation of classes, and to make available accurate records as required	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per programeourse of instruction
Solicitation of a prospective student in violation of statutory and rule requirements	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected
Any misrepresentation	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per misrepresentation
Failure to grant appropriate credit, both in time and monetarily, to any student based on the required evaluation of prior experience, education, or training	\$1,000	Subsequent Offenses: \$1,000	Per student affected

Violation	First Offense: Penalty	Repeat Offenses: Penalty	Definition of Instance
Failure to pay any fee or penalty installment by the required due date	50% of the total amount of the fee	50% of the total amount of the fee	Per failure
Paying a refund late	A rate established annually by the Commission	A rate established annually by the Commission	Per refund, per day

SUBCHAPTER T. CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS

§807.362. Contents of Statement of Charges and Notice of Hearing.

The statement of charges and notice of hearing issued by the Agency willshall contain the following information:

- (1) The name and last known address of the person against whom the order may be entered:
- (2) A short and plain statement of the reasons the Agency believes the person is operating a career school or college without a certificate of approval; and
- (3) The date, time, and location of the hearing.

§807.365. Hearing Decision and Final Review by the Agency Commission.

- (a) Within 10 days after the hearing is held, the hearing officer shall issue a written decision granting or denying the request for the issuance of a cease and desist order that includes findings of fact and conclusions of law. The hearing decision shall be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed. The hearing officer's decision becomes final the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision unless an appeal is filed under subsection (b) of this section.
- (b) A party that is not satisfied with the decision of the hearing officer may file a written appeal of the decision to the <u>AgencyCommission</u> for a final review no later than the 15th day after receipt of the hearing decision. The written appeal shall contain the party's arguments as to why the decision of the hearing officer should be reversed.
- (c) Upon receipt of the written appeal of the hearing officer's decision, the <u>AgencyCommission</u> shall consider the appeal and issue a decision promptly. The <u>AgencyCommission</u> shall consider the appeal on the basis of the record made before the hearing officer. The decision of the <u>AgencyCommission</u> shall be mailed by

1	
2	
3	
4	
2 3 4 5	
6 7	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20	
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29 30	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	

41 42

43

44

certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed.

§807.366. Cease and Desist Order.

- (a) If the request for the issuance of a cease and desist order becomes final under the provisions of §807.365(a) of this subchapter or, if after an appeal the decision under §807.365(c) of this subchapter upholds the issuance of a cease and desist order by the Agency Commission, the hearing officer shall issue a cease and desist order against the person who is found operating a career school or college without a certificate of approval in violation of §132.151 of the Act.
- (b) The cease and desist order shall be delivered by certified mail, return receipt requested, and is presumed received five days from the date it is mailed.
- (c) From the date of receipt of the issuance of the cease and desist order, the person must completely cease and desist operating the career school or college.
- (d) The cease and desist order shall remain in effect until the person comes into complete compliance with the Act as determined by the <u>Agency Commission</u>, or unless otherwise provided by the order of the <u>Agency Commission</u>.

SUBCHAPTER U. CAREER SCHOOLS HEARINGS

§807.385. Setting of Hearing.

- (a) Upon receipt of request for a hearing, the Agency willshall promptly mail a notice of hearing that sets the hearing for a reasonable time and place within 30 days from receipt of the request for a hearing.
- (b) The notice of hearing shall be in writing and include a:
 - (1) statement of the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing;
 - (2) statement of the legal authority under which the hearing is to be held; and
 - (3) short and plain statement of the issues to be considered during the hearing.
- (c) The notice of hearing shall be issued at least 10 days before the date of the hearing unless a shorter period is permitted by statute.
- (d) The hearing notice shall state whether the hearing shall be conducted by telephone or in-person. The hearing notice shall also include the location of an in-person hearing.

(e) Parties needing special accommodations, including a bilingual or sign language interpreter, may request such before the setting of the hearing, if possible, or as soon as practical.

§807.386. Hearing Officer Independence and Impartiality.

- (a) A hearing officer presiding over a hearing shall have all powers necessary and appropriate to conduct a full, fair, and impartial hearing. Hearing officers shall remain independent and impartial in all matters regarding the handling of any issues during the pendency of a case and in issuing their written decisions.
- (b) A hearing officer shall be disqualified if the hearing officer has a personal interest in the outcome of the appeal or if the hearing officer directly or indirectly participated in the determination on appeal. Any party may present facts to the Agency in support of a request to disqualify a hearing officer.
- (c) The hearing officer may withdraw from a hearing to avoid the appearance of impropriety or partiality.
- (d) Following any disqualification or withdrawal of a hearing officer, the Agency willshall assign an alternate hearing officer to the case. The alternate hearing officer shall not be bound by any findings or conclusions made by the disqualified or withdrawn hearing officer.

§807.387. Hearing Procedures.

- (a) The hearing shall be conducted <u>telephonically</u>in person in Austin, Texas, unless <u>an</u> in-person hearing is requested and the hearing officer deems an in-person hearing appropriate or the hearing officer determines that another method of conducting the hearing is appropriate the parties agree to a telephonic hearing or request a different location.
- (b) The hearing shall be conducted informally and in such a manner as to ascertain the substantive rights of the parties. All issues relevant to the appeal shall be considered and addressed, and may include:
 - (1) Presentation of Evidence. The parties to an appeal may present evidence that is material and relevant, as determined by the hearing officer. In conducting a hearing, the hearing officer shall actively develop the record on the relevant circumstances and facts to resolve all issues. To be considered as evidence in a decision, any document or physical evidence must be entered as an exhibit at the hearing. A party has the right to object to evidence offered at the hearing by the hearing officer or other parties.
 - (2) Examination of Parties and Witnesses. After placing the witnesses under oath, the hearing officer shall examine parties and any witnesses and shall allow

1 2 3		cross-examination to the extent the hearing officer deems necessary to afford the parties due process.
5 6 7 8		(3) Additional Evidence. The hearing officer, with or without notice to any of the parties, may take additional evidence as deemed necessary, provided that a party shall be given an opportunity to rebut the evidence if it is to be used against the party's interest.
9 10 11 12 13		(4) Appropriate Hearing Behavior. All parties shall conduct themselves in an appropriate manner. The hearing officer may expel any individual or party who fails to correct behavior the hearing officer identifies as disruptive. After expulsion, the hearing officer may proceed with the hearing and render a decision.
15 16	(c)	Records.
17 18 19 20		(1) The hearing record shall include the audio recording of the proceeding and any other relevant evidence relied on by the hearing officer, including documents and other physical evidence entered as exhibits.
		(2) The hearing record shall be maintained in accordance with federal and state law.
21 22 23 24 25 26		(3) Confidentiality of information contained in the hearing record shall be maintained in accordance with federal and state law.
27 28 29		(4) Upon request, a party has the right to obtain a copy of the hearing record at no charge. However, a party requesting a transcript of the hearing record shall pay the costs of the transcription.
30 31	§807.3	95. Finality of Decision.
32 33 34 35	(a)	The decision of the hearing officer is the final decision of the Agency after the expiration of 30 calendar days from the mailing date of the decision unless within that time:
36 37 38		(1) a request for reopening is filed with the Agency;
39		(2) a request for rehearing is filed with the Agency; or
40 41		(3) the Agency assumes continuing jurisdiction to modify or correct the decision.
12 13 14 15 16	(b)	Any decision issued in response to a request for reopening or rehearing or a modification or correction issued by the Agency becomes shall be final on the expiration of 30 calendar days from the mailing date of the decision, modification, or correction.