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Texas Rising Star Four-Year Review, Proposed Guidelines Amendments 

Discussion Paper 

 
Background 1 

The Texas Rising Star program is administered based on the Texas Workforce Commission’s 2 

(TWC) Child Care Services rules, Subchapter G. In addition, the Texas Rising Star program is 3 

also administered based upon further parameters set forth in the Texas Rising Star Guidelines.  4 

TWC’s Child Care Services (CCS) rules, §809.130(e), note that the Commission shall review, 5 

amend and adopt the Guidelines in an open meeting. 6 

 7 

TWC has recently conducted the required four-year review of Texas Rising Star, pursuant to 8 

§2308.3155(b) of the Texas Government Code, and §809.130(e) of the CCS rules. Through this 9 

review, staff are recommending several changes to both the Texas Rising Star rules, as well as 10 

the Texas Rising Star Guidelines. 11 

 12 

Below are several of the key rule changes related to Texas Rising Star which were considered by 13 

the Commission at the April 30, 2024: 14 

• Modify the CCR licensing review period from 12 months to 6 months (as proposed in 15 

§809.131(b)(2) for entry level designation and §809.132 for impacts while certified). 16 

 17 

• Clarify that an Entry Level designated provider may receive new referrals if it is 18 

determined that the provider’s licensing history will meet certification criteria by the end 19 

of the 24-month Entry Level period (proposed changes to §809.131(e).  20 

 21 

• Modify the probationary period relating to the total deficiencies. Currently a provider is 22 

placed on probation if they have received 10-14 high and/or medium-high deficiencies. 23 

Revision proposed to base probation on a points threshold to align with the process used 24 

for Entry Level designation eligibility (as proposed in §809.132(d)). The number of 25 

points is defined in the Guidelines.  26 

In addition to the Texas Rising Star rule amendments, there are several additional changes 27 

recommended for the Texas Rising Star Guidelines. 28 

Issue 1: 29 

Staff recommend the following proposed changes to the Texas Rising Star Guidelines 30 

• Entry Level Designation – reduce points from 75 to 40 (this accompanies the rule change 31 

to reduce the licensing review period from 12 months to 6 months) 32 

 33 

• Initial Screening Form (for new Texas Rising Star providers) 34 

o Modify the time period that a child care program’s CCR deficiencies are 35 

reviewed, from 12 months to 6 months.  36 

o Modify the specific licensing deficiencies that prevent a program from being 37 

eligible for initial certification, by reducing them from 12 to 4. 38 

o With the reduction in the specific licensing deficiencies as noted above, add in a 39 

new points threshold of 25, based on a look-back period of 6 months (based on a 40 

review of CCR high and medium-high weighted deficiencies, with high 41 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=40&pt=20&ch=809&sch=G&rl=Y
https://cliengage.org/clirep/TRS-website/English/TRS-Guidelines.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=20&ch=809&rl=130
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.2308.htm#2308.3155
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=40&pt=20&ch=809&rl=130
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deficiencies receiving 5 points and medium-high deficiencies receiving 3 points) 1 

that the program must meet to be eligible for initial certification. 2 

 3 

• Certified Screening Form (for existing Texas Rising Star providers) 4 

o Modify the time period that a child care program’s CCR deficiencies are 5 

reviewed, from 12 months to 6 months. 6 

o Modify the specific licensing deficiencies that place a program on Probation A. 7 

o Modify the initially proposed Probation B total points that a child care program 8 

can receive, and still be eligible for certification.  9 

▪ Previously proposed with the 12-month look back, a child care program is 10 

placed on Probation B if they receive more than 50 points but less than 75 11 

points (based on a review of CCR high and medium-high weighted 12 

deficiencies, with high deficiencies receiving 5 points and medium-high 13 

deficiencies receiving 3 points).  14 

▪ With the change to 6 months, reduce the points to more than 25 but less 15 

than 40 (if they reach 41, they are no longer eligible to participate in 16 

CCS). 17 

o Automate the CCR licensing quarterly screening of all certified programs and 18 

have the screening occur daily. 19 

 20 

• Allow Texas Rising Star-certified providers to retain certification for up to six (6) months 21 

if the program undergoes a facility change and is issued an initial permit from CCR.  The 22 

facility must be assessed within 3 months of the change. 23 

• Modify the list of TWC-Recognized National Accreditations to include Department of 24 

Defense-recognized accrediting entities. 25 

 26 

• Provide additional clarification and guidance related to current Texas Rising Star 27 

protocols and procedures. 28 

 29 

Decision Point 30 

Staff recommends that the Commission approve the draft amendments to the Texas Rising Star 31 

Guidelines and authorize TWC staff to share the draft Guideline amendments (along with the 32 

proposed rule amendments) to child care stakeholders for their input. 33 

 34 

Attachments: 35 

Initial Screening Form (Centers) REVISED  36 

Certified Screening Form (Centers) REVISED  37 

https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ccel/docs/draft-trs-screening-form-initial-centers-revised-4-2024-twc.docx
https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ccel/docs/draft-trs-screening-form-certified-centers-revised-4-2024-twc.docx

