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How to Calculate and Report Earnings



Tl/l tO Tial COT’ltent You can go through this tutorial page

by page, or you can skip to any of
In this tutorial, you will learn about calculating these main sections by selecting the
earnings and reporting work, earnings, and other appropriate links:

income when you submit a payment request.
= TWC Definition of Work

If you have no earnings or other income to report, = Work and Benefits
go to the How to Request Benefit Payments tutorial.

= Reporting Work

Only visit twc.texas.gov webpages and = Reporting Earnings
workintexas.com when you interact online with the
Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) or WorkInTexas.

= Calculating Earnings

= Work and Other Income

= Don’t Commit Fraud

Truth in Filing

All the information you give must be true and
complete. You may be committing fraud if you do not
accurately report gross earnings when you request
payment. Unemployment benefits fraud is punishable
by law, both felony and misdemeanor. Violators could
face serious penalties and consequences.



https://www.twc.texas.gov/
https://www.workintexas.com/vosnet/default.aspx
https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ui/docs/request-benefit-payments-twc.pdf

TWC Definition of Work

We define work as any type of service
for pay, including but not limited to:

Full-time or part-time work

Paid orientation and training
Temporary and seasonal work
Commissions, draws/advances, and tips
Self-employment, including but not
limited to:

< Running a business in any state

< Helping a friend with his or her business
< Styling or cutting hair for anyone

< Photography or catering for events

< Driving for a rideshare company

< Social media work and influencer services
< Online auctions or sales for profit

< Buying and reselling items for profit
Contract labor and side jobs, including
but not limited to:

< Day labor, such as cleaning houses

< Mowing lawns and doing yard work
Financial compensation from bartering

U.S. military service, National Guard, or
reservist duties

Common Mistake

One of the most common mistakes is believing that you do not
need to report earnings from part-time work. This is not true.
You must report earnings from ALL work, no exceptions. It does
not matter whether you got the job before or after you started
your claim.




Work and Benefits

“Can | work and receive benefits?” Yes! If you work part time, you can earn up to 25 percent of
your weekly benefit amount (WBA) before TWC reduces your payment. If you earn more than
125 percent of your WBA, we cannot pay you benefits for that week.

Example

Juan’s weekly benefit amount (WBA) is $396.

Juan got a job selling cars. He earns minimum wage ($7.25)
plus a S50 commission on every car he sells.

Last week, Juan worked 25 hours and sold one car.

Juan earned $181 for the hours worked (minimum wage
$7.25 x 25 hours) plus a commission of S50 for the one car
he sold. That is a total of $231.

When Juan requests benefit payment, he reports that he
worked 25 hours and earned $231 (S181 + $50).

TWC calculates 125% of his WBA (5396 x 1.25 = $495).

Because Juan meets all other eligibility requirements, TWC
pays him $264, the difference between 125% of his WBA and
his earnings (i.e., $495 - $231).

In addition, Juan receives $231 from his job. In total, Juan
receives S495 for that week, which is more than his WBA
alone, $396.

Working Full Time?

Stop your claim. You are no longer

eligible for unemployment benefits.

To stop your claim, simply stop

requesting payment.

= You may still request payment for
weeks before you start your job
but be sure to report your work

and earnings if you start work

during your payment request
period.

= Report the date you expect to
return to work by going to
WorkInTexas.com, selecting the
Tell Us You’re Hired link, and
completing the message form.



https://www.twc.texas.gov/programs/unemployment-benefits/report-your-work-earnings
http://www.workintexas.com/

Reporting Work

You must report your hours worked and earnings if you continue to request payment while
working.

When requesting a payment, you

must answer these questionS: Claim Week 1 (Mar 17, 2024 - Mar 23, 2024)

= “Did you work in Claim Week 1?” Did you work in Claim Week 1?
and * OYes ONo

Did you earn vacation or holiday pay while on temporary layoff or on vacation from a current job during Claim Week 17

= “Did you work in Claim Week 2?” | 4 5vee ono

If you Worked in either or both Claim Week 2 (Mar 24, 2024 - Mar 30, 2024)

wee ks’ answer ”Yes"’ Did you work in Claim Week 2?
* OYes ONo

- You mUSt report the tOtaI hours Did you earn vacation or holiday pay while on temporary layoff or on vacation from a current job during Claim Week 27
you worked each week. If you * OYes ONo
worked multiple jobs, add the
number of hours worked at each

job and report the total. If you worked and if you answer “No” to the question
= Self-employed? You must report “Did you work in Claim Week . . .?” you may be

the hours worked each week, prosecuted for fraud. According to Texas law, fraud is

even if you did not make a profit. knowingly making a false statement to obtain benefits.

When you get a job, go to www.WorkinTexas.com and report your hire date.



http://www.workintexas.com/

Reporting Earnings

If you are requesting payment and working:

= You must report total gross earnings for the
week you performed the work, not after the

employer(s) pay you.

If you work multiple jobs, add your gross

earnings from each job and report the total.

= You must report total gross earnings before

deductions, not take-home pay.

= You must report gross earnings in whole
dollars. For example, if you earn $100.75,
report $100 (always round down).

THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS.
Unreported and
underreported earnings
cause overpayments

that you must repay.

Self-employed?
If so, you must report all of the following:

= Earnings from any odd jobs, side jobs, and
social media work while you are unemployed

= Net profits (money remaining after paying all
expenses)

= Zero dollars (SO) earned if you worked but
have no profits to report

Contact TWC if you are not sure whether your
work is considered self-employment.

Earnings and Hours Worked

Earnings include wages or salary before deductions, tips, commissions or any kind of pay you receive for work.
Earnings also include vacation or holiday pay if you are on temporary layoff or on vacation fram a current job.

Claim Week 1 (Mar 17, 2024 - Mar 23, 2024)

Earnings Before Deductions: * 5| |
(Whaole dollars only)

* |
(Whaole hours only)

Number of Hours Worked

‘Were you self-employed or working only for commission during Claim Week 17

* OYes ONo

To calculate earnings, go to the next page.
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| Calculating

Earnings

In this section, you will learn to:

Calculate earnings from
wages only

Calculate earnings from
wages + sales commissions
Calculate earnings from
wages + tips

Estimate earnings from
outside sales at 100%
commission

Calculate earnings from
self-employment, including

social media work



Calculating Earnings from Wages Only

Susan applied for unemployment after being laid off from her full-time job. She also has a part-
time job where she continues to work. Her part-time job pays $8.00 an hour. Her hours vary.

Today, Susan is requesting payment. Susan is paid from her part-time job every two weeks, so
she does not get a paycheck for another week. However, because she worked, she must report

hours and earnings.

When requesting payment, Susan must report:

= Her hours worked each week. (She keeps track of her hours on a calendar.)

= The amount of earnings she will be paid. Because she has not been paid, she calculates her
earnings by multiplying her hourly rate by her hours worked.

Susan Requests Payment for Claim Week 1

Susan Requests Payment for Claim Week 2

Two weeks ago, Susan attended 3 hours of training and

Susan must report her work. It doesn’t matter that she had
the job before she applied for benefits.

Last week, Susan worked 21 hours at her part-time job.

worked 7 hours at her part-time job. Total hours = 10 hours.

Susan Answers Required Information

Susan Answers Required Information

Did you work in Claim Week 1? Yes

Number of hours worked: 10
(3 hours of training + 7 hours of work)

Total earnings for the week: $80
($8/hour x 10 hours)

Did you work in Claim Week 2? Yes

Number of hours worked: 21
(21 hours at job)

Earnings before deductions: $168

Susan Calculates Earnings

Wages from job = $168
($8/hour x 21 hours) = $168




Calculating Earnings from Wages + Sales
Commission

Kevin just got a sales job and earns $7.25/hour plus 3% commission on every product he sells.
Today, he is requesting payment. Because he worked, he must report hours and earnings.

To calculate his earnings, Kevin:
= multiplies the number of hours worked by his hourly rate; then

= adds any commission earned.

Kevin Requests Payment for Claim Week 1

Two weeks ago, Kevin:

= began working;

= attended a 3-hour orientation and a 6-hour training
session;

= worked 7 hours; and

* made no sales.

Kevin Requests Payment for Claim Week 2

Last week, Kevin:
= worked 15 hours; and
= made 3 sales: $1,000, $500, and $1,500.

Kevin Answers Required Information

Kevin Answers Required Information

Did you work in Claim Week 1? Yes

Number of hours worked: 16
(3 hours orientation + 6 hours
training + 7 hours work)

Earnings before deductions: $116
($7.25/hour x 16 hours)

Did you work in Claim Week 2? Yes
Number of hours worked: 15
Earnings before deductions: $198

Kevin Calculates Earnings

Wages + commission = $198
$198.75 = ($7.25/hour x 15 hours) + ($1,000 x .03) +
($500 x .03) + ($1,500 x .03)




Calculating Earnings from Wages + Tips

Jasmine works as a waitress. She earns $2.13/hour plus tips. Today, she is requesting
payment. Because she worked, she must report hours and earnings.

To calculate her earnings, Jasmine:

= multiplies the number of hours she worked by her hourly rate; then

= adds any tips earned.

Jasmine Requests Payment for Claim Week 1 Jasmine Requests Payment for Claim Week 2

Two weeks ago, Jasmine: Last week, Jasmine:
= worked 7 hours, and = worked 14 hours, and
* made $36 in tips. = made $115 in tips.

Jasmine Answers Required Information Jasmine Answers Required Information

Did you work in Claim Week 1? Yes Did you work in Claim Week 2? Yes
Number of hours worked: 7 Number of hours worked: 14
Earnings before deductions: S50 Earnings before deductions: s$144

Jasmine Calculates Earnings Jasmine Calculates Earnings

Wages + tips = $50 Wages + tips = $144
$50.91 = ($2.13/hour x 7 hours) + $36 $144.82 = ($2.13/hour x 14 hours) + $115

10



Estimating Earnings from Outside Sales
at 100% Commission

John works outside sales as an independent sales representative and earns only commission.
When John makes a sale, he earns 20% of the gross margin (sales price minus direct expenses).

Today, he is requesting payment and reporting hours and earnings. However, John has not
received a paycheck so he is estimating his commission. If John receives a “draw” (an advance
payment on his expected commission), he should report it as part of his total earnings.

John Requests Payment for Claim Week 1

Two weeks ago, John:
= worked 25 hours;
= spent $200 on travel and samples; and
= made three sales at $500 each.
Customers have 30 days to pay for the items.

John Requests Payment for Claim Week 2

Last week, John:
= worked 25 hours;
= spent $250 on travel and presentation expenses; and
= made no sales.

John Answers Required Information

John Answers Required Information

Were you self-employed or working only for commission

during Claim Week 1? Yes
Number of hours worked: 25
Earnings before deductions: $260

Were you self-employed or working only for commission

during Claim Week 2? Yes
Number of hours worked: 25
Earnings before deductions: S0

John Estimates Commission for Claim Week 1

John Estimates Commission for Claim Week 2

Gross margin = Sales (3 x $500) — Direct Expenses ($200) =
$1,300.

John’s earnings (commission) = 20% (.20) x Gross Margin
(51,300) = $260.

Gross margin = Sales (S 0) — Direct Expenses (-$250) = $0.
John'’s earnings (commission) = 20% (.20) x Gross Margin

(50) = $0.

11




Calculating and Reporting Earnings from
Self-Employment

Maggie is a self-employed hairdresser. Today, Maggie is Week 2 Schedule
. . Day Service Hours worked
requesting benefit payment.
Tuesday Shampoo/blow dry 2
To calculate her earnings, Maggie will calculate her net Thursday Haircut 2
. .. . Buy supplies 2
rofits (money remaining after paying all expenses).
P ( Y 8 paying P ) Friday Color 3
Shampoo/blow dry/flatiron 2
Maggie’s Salon Pricing List Tip Revenue Saturday Color (2) 6
Haircut: $45 + S8 = $53
Shampoo & Blow dry:  $35 + $6 = = 541 Maggie Requests Payment for Claim Week 2
Flat Iron: $10 + S$2 = $12
Color: $65 + S10 = $75 One week ago, Maggie:

* had clients; and
= worked 2 hours buying $50 of supplies.

Maggie Requests Payment for Claim Week 1

Two weeks ago, Maggie: Maggie Answers Required Information
= worked no hours; and Were you self-employed or working only for commission
= made no sales. during Claim Week 2? Yes
Maggie Answers Required Information Number of hours worked: 17
17 = sum of the hours she worked each day
Were you self-employed or working only for commission (2+2+2+3+2+3+3)
during Claim Week 1? Yes . .
Earnings before deductions: $322
Number of hours worked: 0 $322 = revenue ($41 + $53 + $75 + $41 + $12 +
Earnings before deductions: $0 $75 + $75) — expenses ($50)
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Calculating and Reporting Earnings from

Social Media Work

Morgan works as a social media influencer and earns money from several platforms. She also
buys items from thrift stores with the intent to sell them online to make a profit.

Today, she is requesting payment and reporting earnings. However, Morgan has not received all
income from all platforms, so she is estimating her earnings.

Morgan Requests Payment for Claim Week 1

Morgan Requests Payment for Claim Week 2

Two weeks ago, Morgan:
= worked 45 hours;
» spent $400 on tech equipment;
= earned $350 from advertising resulting from visitors;
= earned $60 from affiliate links; and
= earned $270 from teaching online courses.
Morgan has received some, but not all, of these payments.

Last week, Morgan:

= worked 10 hours;

= spent $40 on clothes at thrift stores; and

» sold the clothes for $200 on online marketplaces.
Morgan has received some, but not all, of these payments.

Morgan Answers Required Information

Morgan Answers Required Information

Were you self-employed or working only for commission

during Claim Week 1? Yes
Number of hours worked: 45
Earnings before deductions: $680

Were you self-employed or working only for commission

during Claim Week 2? Yes
Number of hours worked: 10
Earnings before deductions: $200

Morgan Estimates Earnings for Claim Week 2

Morgan Estimates Earnings for Claim Week 1

Estimated earnings = Sales (5680) — Direct Expenses (5400)
= $280.

Estimated earnings = Sales (5200) — Direct Expenses (540) =
$160.

13




Work and Other Income

Other Income
In addition to earnings, you must
report other income including:
= Retirement or pension
= Workers’ compensation -

= Severance pay or wages paid in
lieu of advance notice of layoff

Retirement or Pension

Notify TWC if you are receiving or begin
receiving retirement or pension
payments.

We will determine if your pension affects
your unemployment benefits and will
mail you a decision.

If the pension affects your benefits, we
deduct the weekly amount of your
pension, dollar for dollar, from your
benefits.

What you should know about pensions:

Social Security old-age benefits and
railroad retirement are not deductible.

Other Income

Did you receive other income from any of the sources below that you have not already reported to TWC such as Retirement
or disability pension, Workers' Compensation, or Additional payment, such as severance pay or wages instead of providing
advance notice of work separation?

* @Yes ©No
If Yes, check all that apply:

[¥] Retirement or disability pension
[T] Workers' Compensation
[C] Additional payment when you left your job other than wages you had eamned

Workers’ Compensation

If you receive Workers' Compensation, you may not be eligible for
unemployment benefits. TWC will make that decision based on
what type of disability payment you receive.

If you receive Impairment Income Benefits, you may receive
benefits. If you receive some kinds of Temporary Income Benefits,
Supplement Income Benefits, or Lifetime Income Benefits, TWC
cannot pay you unemployment benefits.

Wages Paid in Lieu of Advance Notice of Layoff

If you received separation/severance pay or wages instead of
advance notice of layoff, you may not be eligible for benefits during
the period covered by those wages.

14



Don’t Commit Fraud

TWC will catch you!

We can detect when
you have worked and
not reported your
earnings because
employers report your
earnings to TWC.

If there is a
discrepancy between
what you and your
employer report, we
will review your claim
for potential
overpayment or fraud.

You commit fraud if you knowingly provide false or misleading
information or fail to disclose facts for yourself or another person to
obtain or increase benefits.

You may be committing fraud if you do not:

= accurately report your work and work hours when you request benefit
payment. Work includes, but is not limited to: full-time work, part-
time work, reduced hours, temporary work, contract labor, casual
work, side jobs, commission, and self-employment profits.

= accurately report gross earnings when you request benefit payment.
= report a job separation (fired, quit, laid off) that occurred while you
were receiving benefits.

Unreported or underreported earnings may be considered fraud.

If you commit unemployment benefits fraud, you must pay back
overpaid benefits, plus a 15% penalty, and could face serious penalties,
including:

= criminal prosecution by state or federal authorities,
= possible jail or prison sentences, and

= potential loss of future benefits.

15



Still Need
Help?

Call the TWC Tele-Center
at 800-939-6631

to speak with one of

our customer service
representatives.

If you want to
request payment,
go to the
How to Request
Benefit Payment
tutorial.



https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ui/docs/request-benefit-payments-twc.pdf
https://www.twc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ui/docs/request-benefit-payments-twc.pdf
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