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A-210-1: Parent or Guardian Signature
The signature of either a parent or guardian is required when the customer is:
· a minor (that is, under 18 years of age); or
· legally incompetent and assigned a legal guardian.
Usually a foster parent is not the legal guardian for his or her foster child and cannot sign an application for services, releases, or the IPE on behalf of the child. The child's managing conservator has the legal authority to sign these documents. Locate the conservator by contacting the nearest office of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services.
Under Texas law, an individual who is under 18 years of age and is legally married is not considered a minor. Customers under 18 years of age must provide documentation of marriage if they assert that they are their own legal guardian.
When required, the parent or guardian sets a PIN in RHW. When parents or guardians set their PIN, VR staff encourages them to use a number that is easy to remember and is not the last four digits of the customer's SSN or the first four digits of the customer’s case ID. (RHW uses the last first four digits of the customer’s case ID to create the parent or guardian pseudo PIN.) The parent or guardian should make a personal note of the PIN and keep it where it can be found easily.
VR staff must not record the PIN or any type of prompts or hints that could inadvertently compromise the confidentiality of the PIN in the customer's case record. For more information about setting a PIN in RHW, see the ReHabWorks User's Guide, Chapter 8: PINs and PIN Procedures for Applications, Individualized Trial Work Plans, Individualized Trial Work Plan Amendments, IPEs and IPE Amendments.
When required, VR staff asks the parent or guardian to:
· enter the PIN in the designated field on the RHW document; or
· sign on the designated signature line on the paper version of the form.
A-210-2: Representative's Signature
A customer or his or her legal guardian may designate an individual to serve as his or her representative in all or part of the rehabilitation process. The representative may be authorized to sign documents, speak on the customer's behalf, or serve in other capacities indicated on the VR1487, Designation of Applicant or Customer Representative. In some cases, a representative can help facilitate communication and help the rehabilitation process move forward to a successful outcome.
When required, the representative sets a PIN in RHW. When the representative is setting the PIN, VR staff encourages him or her to use a number that is easy to remember and is not the last four digits of the customer's SSN or the last four digits of the customer’s case ID. (RHW uses the last four digits of the customer’s case ID to create the representative pseudo PIN.) The representative should make a personal note of the PIN and keep it where it can be found easily.
VR staff must not record the PIN or any type of prompts or hints that could inadvertently compromise the confidentiality of the PIN in the customer's case record. For more information about setting a PIN in RHW, see the ReHabWorks User's Guide, Chapter 8: PINs.
When required, VR staff asks the representative to:
· enter the PIN in the designated PIN field on the RHW document; or
· sign on the signature line on the paper version of the form.
To learn how to reset the customer's representative, parent, or guardian PIN, see the ReHabWorks User's Guide, Chapter 8: PINs.
…
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