At Texas Workforce Commission (TWC), we serve Texas by helping to connect workers with jobs, benefits and training, and employers with a skilled workforce.
Our mission is to promote and support a workforce system that creates value and offers employers, individuals, and communities the opportunity to achieve and sustain economic prosperity.
To learn about the great benefits for our employees, see the Pay & Benefits section below.
TWC is an equal opportunity employer and we are committed to ensuring that our workplace as well as our products and services are accessible for people with disabilities.
Current Job Postings
See the sections below for information on TWC employees’ pay, health and optional benefits, retirement plan, holidays and personal leave, work hours, tuition and reimbursement.
We pay salaries based on education and level of experience. Opportunities for merit increases and promotion are available. The Texas legislature governs cost-of-living salary increases for state employees.
We pay monthly, on the first business day of each month, through direct deposit.
Full-time employees earn $20 per month in longevity pay for every two years of state service, up to a maximum of $420 per month.
For details on state of Texas job classifications, job descriptions and salary schedules, see the Texas State Auditor’s Compensation and Classification information.
Health & Optional Benefits
TWC employees participate in the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) and the Texas Employees Group Benefits Program managed by ERS, which includes a variety of health, retirement and optional benefits. According to ERS, for the average state agency employee, the total value of the State of Texas compensation package with benefits is equal to your base salary plus 32.3%. The ERS New Employee Overview provides details on benefits, including the current New Employee Benefits Guide.
Highlights of the benefits plan:
- The State of Texas currently offers free, comprehensive medical insurance for employees and pays 50 percent of the premium cost for eligible dependents. Coverage is effective after 60 days with no pre-existing conditions exclusions.
- The state pays for $5,000 basic term life insurance coverage plus $5,000 for accidental death and dismemberment. You may purchase optional additional life insurance, voluntary accidental death and dismemberment insurance, or dependent life insurance.
- You may create a TexFlex health care or TexFlex day care flexible spending account to set aside pre-tax money from your paycheck to use for eligible out-of-pocket expenses.
- TWC employment qualifies you to enroll in the optional Texas Legal.
- manages a discount purchase program for state employees offering discounts on many products and services, from computers to theme park passes.
The Employee’s Retirement System offers a full range of scientifically based health & wellness programs. In addition TWC provides:
- Wellness Leave: TWC offers 8 hours of additional leave each year to employees who complete an authorized health risk assessment and obtain an annual physical examination from a licensed physician.
- Get Fit Program: Each year TWC participates in the state’s Get Fit Program.
State employees participate in the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) retirement program. You contribute a percentage of your gross salary and the state matches your contribution. New employees begin their participation in the program on the first day of work.
Supplemental retirement programs are also available through a Deferred Compensation Plan (457) and Texa$aver (401k) as well as a Roth option for both plans.
For details on our retirement plan and additional optional retirement savings programs, see Your ERS Retirement.
Holidays & Personal Leave
State employees get an average of 15 paid holidays per year. The State Auditor’s Office publishes the annual state holiday schedule.
New, full-time employees earn eight hours of vacation leave per month. The amount of vacation earned monthly increases with additional years of state service.
Full-time employees earn eight hours of sick leave per month. Accrued leave may be used for your own illness or when needed to care for an immediate family member who is ill.
Most full-time TWC employees work no more than 40 hours per week. Our primary business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Tuition & Reimbursement
TWC professional development programs are designed to provide employees with training and development opportunities to pursue educational training from an accredited institution of higher education, and to obtain and maintain professional credentials.